1. This office action, in response to the amendment filed 3/9/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
2. Regarding the rejection of claim 19, after summarizing applicant’s interpretation of the Johansson reference and embodiments of the present invention on pages 8-9 of the remarks, applicant states Johansson fails to explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 19 as stated on page 10 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Johansson discloses the features of claim 19. Johansson discloses a radio that is configured to distribute a total amplification power for each of a plurality of radio frequency (RF) ports of the radio among a plurality of RF sub-streams. Figure 2 of Johansson discloses a transmitter for transmitting a total amplification power for each of the RF ports. Each port will transmit 100% of the amplification power from that port. Paragraph 0030 discloses combiner 4 receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL and amplifying the combined signal. The radio chain is phase matched all the way to the output ports of the RF front end. The amplification will be distributed between these substreams. Johansson discloses wherein each of the RF ports is configured to output together a first RF power and a second RF power that collectively equal 100% of the total amplification power. Figure 2 discloses a transmitter for transmitting a total amplification power for each of the RF ports. Each port will transmit 100% of the amplification power. Paragraph 0030 discloses combiner 4 receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL and amplifying the combined signal. The amplification will be distributed between these substreams. The total amplification from the amplifier 5a will be distributed between the signals that are combined in combiner 4 and then transmitted from each port. Johansson further discloses wherein each of the plurality of RF sub-streams is transmitted through consecutive first and second columns of radiating elements of an antenna. Paragraph 0039 of Johansson discloses that reference is also made to figure 2 schematically illustrating a dual-polarized N/2 column arrangement 11a according to one embodiment. In the N/2 column arrangement 11a of figure 2, a coupler module 12 is applied between the RF front end and the antenna columns 6a, 6b. therefore, each of the plurality of sub-streams are transmitted through consecutive first and second columns of elements of the antenna. Paragraph 0040 discloses coupler 12 directs a first summation of energy from signals from a distinct set of power amplifiers 5a of an N channel radio to a first single output port to a first polarization of a first column 6a of the dual polarized N/2 column antenna arrangement. The coupler module 12 is arranged to direct a second summation of energy from signals from a second distinct set of power amplifiers 5b of the N-channel radio to a second dingle output port connected to a second polarization of a second column 6b of the dual polarized N/2 column antenna arrangement.
Applicant discusses an embodiment of the instant application shown in figure 3B on pages 10-11 of the remarks.
Applicant states Johansson discloses that each stream is not provided to two adjacent columns of the antenna and that the opposite is true, that two signal streams are provided to a single antenna column for orthogonal polarization on page 11 of the remarks. Johansson discloses the circuit in figure 2. Johansson discloses each of the plurality of RF substreams are transmitted through consecutive first and second columns of radiating elements of an antenna. Figure 2 shows each of the substreams a1, a2, a3, a4 are transmitted through the consecutive first and second columns 6a and 6b of radiating elements of an antenna. In addition, Johansson discloses the legacy signal aL. Figure 2 shows each of the plurality of substreams of aL is transmitted through consecutive first and second columns of radiating elements of an antenna.
Paragraph 0040 discloses coupler 12 directs a first summation of energy from signals from a distinct set of power amplifiers 5a of an N channel radio to a first single output port to a first polarization of a first column 6a of the dual polarized N/2 column antenna arrangement. The coupler module 12 is arranged to direct a second summation of energy from signals from a second distinct set of power amplifiers 5b of the N-channel radio to a second dingle output port connected to a second polarization of a second column 6b of the dual polarized N/2 column antenna arrangement.
The rejection of claim 19 is maintained and stated below.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-10, 11-18 and 21, independent claims 1 and 11 are amended to added new features to the claims. The amendments have overcome the previous rejections of the claims. The previous rejections to claims 1-3, 6-10 and 11-18 are withdrawn in view of these amendments. New claim 21 is dependent on claim 1 and is also allowed.
Claim 20 is rejected as stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansson et al (US 2015/0180121).
Regarding claim 19, Johansson discloses a radio that is configured to distribute a total amplification power for each of a plurality of radio frequency (RF) ports of the radio among a plurality of RF sub-streams (Figure 2 discloses a transmitter for transmitting a total amplification power for each of the RF ports. Each port will transmit 100% of the amplification power. Paragraph 0030 discloses combiner 4 receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL and amplifying the combined signal. The radio chain is phase matched all the way to the output ports of the RF front end. The amplification will be distributed between these substreams.), wherein each of the RF ports is configured to output together a first RF power and a second RF power that collectively equal 100% of the total amplification power (Figure 2 discloses a transmitter for transmitting a total amplification power for each of the RF ports. Each port will transmit 100% of the amplification power. Paragraph 0030 discloses combiner 4 receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL and amplifying the combined signal. The radio chain is phase matched all the way to the output ports of the RF front end. The amplification will be distributed between these substreams. The total amplification from the amplifier 5a will be distributed between the signals that are combined in combiner 4.), and wherein each of the plurality of RF sub-streams is transmitted through consecutive first and second columns of radiating elements of an antenna (Paragraph 0039: reference is also made to figure 2 schematically illustrating a dual-polarized N/2 column arrangement 11a according to one embodiment. In the N/2 column arrangement 11a of figure 2, a coupler module 12 is applied between the RF front end and the antenna columns 6a, 6b. therefore, each of the plurality of sub-streams are transmitted through consecutive first and second columns of elements of the antenna.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johansson et al (US 2015/0180121) in view of Ai et al (US 2024/0347911).
Regarding claim 20, Johansson discloses the radio as stated above. Johansson further discloses wherein the radio comprises first through fourth of the RF ports (Figure 2),
wherein the first and third of the RF ports are configured to be coupled to consecutive first and second columns, respectively, of radiating elements of an antenna (Figure 2 shows the first and third ports being coupled to the dural column dual polarized array antenna.),
wherein the RF sub-streams comprise a plurality of RF sub-streams of a first baseband data stream and a plurality of RF sub-streams of a second baseband data stream (Figure 2 shows a combiner 4 for receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL separated into four streams. Paragraph 0030 discloses the description of the input signals to combiner 4.),
wherein distributing the total amplification power comprises outputting:
a first of the RF sub-streams of the first baseband data stream at the first RF power and a first of the RF sub-streams of the second baseband data stream at the second RF power, to the first column via the first of the RF ports (Figure 2 shows a combiner 4 for receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL separated into four streams. The combiner 4 generates four combined signals. The first combined signal is provided to the first column via the first of the RF ports. Each signal input to the combiner will be at a power level. Paragraph 0030 discloses the description of the input signals to combiner 4.); and
the first of the RF sub-streams of the first baseband data stream at the second RF power and the first of the RF sub-streams of the second baseband data stream at the first RF power, to the second column via the third of the RF ports (Figure 2 shows a combiner 4 for receiving a multi-stream signal (a1, a2, a3, a4) and a legacy signal aL separated into four streams. The combiner 4 generates four combined signals. The third combined signal is provided to the second column via the third of the RF ports. Each signal input to the combiner will be at a power level. Paragraph 0030 discloses the description of the input signals to combiner 4.).
Johansson does not disclose whereby an azimuth half power beamwidth of a combined antenna beam corresponding to a portion of the first of the RF sub-streams that is transmitted through the first column and a portion of the first of the RF sub-streams that is transmitted through the second column is narrowed to less than or equal to 65 degrees.
Ai discloses the antenna arrays shown in the figures. Ai discloses in order to generate antenna beams having narrower azimuth HPBWs, two dimensional arrays used that include multiple columns of radiating elements, since using multiple columns increase the aperture of the azimuth plane. All of the radiating elements in the two-dimensional array are coupled to a common RF port (or two RF ports when dual-polarization radiating elements are used). To generate antenna beams having an azimuth HPBW of about 33 degrees, an array will typically include three columns of radiating elements that have element patterns with azimuth HPBWs of about 65 degrees, where columns are spaced apart from each other by about one half wavelength corresponding to the center frequency of the operating band of the radiating elements/array. Paragraphs 0004-0010 provides additional information. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Ai into the radio of Johansson. By utilizing the teaching of Ai, the array will allow for improved communication with the desired destination, improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the radio communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 1-3, 6-18 and 21 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the cited prior art discloses a radio, comprising: a plurality of first-polarization radio frequency (RF) ports that are configured to be coupled to respective first-polarization RF ports of an antenna that are coupled to a plurality of columns, respectively, of dual-polarized radiating elements of the antenna; and a plurality of second-polarization RF ports that are configured to be coupled to respective second-polarization RF ports of the antenna that are coupled to the columns, respectively, wherein the first polarization is different from the second polarization, wherein a first of the first-polarization RF ports of the radio is configured to provide to a first of the columns of dual-polarized radiating elements: a first RF sub-stream of a first baseband data stream at a first RF power represented by (1-x); and a first RF sub-stream of a second baseband data stream at a second RF power represented by x, where x is a percentage of total amplification power of a power amplifier coupled to the first of the first-polarization RF ports of the radio, the second RF power being different from the first RF power, and wherein a second of the first-polarization RF ports of the radio is configured to provide to a second of the columns of dual-polarized radiating elements: the first RF sub-stream of the first baseband data stream at the second RF power represented by x; and the first RF sub-stream of the second baseband data stream at the first RF power represented by (1-x) as recited in claims 1-3, 6-10 and 21 and a method of operating a radio that is coupled to an antenna comprising a plurality of columns of dual-polarized radiating elements, the method comprising: providing to a first of the plurality of columns of dual-polarized radiating elements via a first of a plurality of first-polarization ports of the radio: a first RF sub-stream of a first baseband data stream at a first radio frequency (RF) power of(1-x); and a first RF sub-stream of a second baseband data stream at a second RF power of x, where (1-x) and x represent a percentage of total amplification power of a power amplifier coupled to the first of the first-polarization ports of the radio, providing to a second of the plurality of columns of dual-polarized radiating elements via a second of the plurality of first-polarization ports of the radio: the first RF sub-stream of the first baseband data stream at the second RF power; and the first RF sub-stream of the second baseband data stream at the first RF power; and selecting a value of x to achieve a desired azimuth beamwidth for combined antenna beams generated by signals output through the first and second of the plurality of first- polarization ports of the radio as stated in claims 11-18.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 3/19/2026