DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama et al. (JP-2018157082A) (hereafter Koyama).
With respect to claim 1, Koyama teaches an ultrasonic welding device comprising: a horn (22) configured to press a first member (8) to ultrasonically weld the first member (8) and a second member (5), wherein the horn includes a knurling portion having a plurality of protrusions (22b) configured to protrude toward the first member to create a concavo-convex shape on the first member, and wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a length m in a direction toward the first member, the length m being greater than or equal to a thickness d (T) of the first member (paragraphs 59-62; and figure 9).
With respect to claim 2, Koyama teaches wherein the plurality of protrusions are regularly provided at regular intervals n (paragraphs 59-62; and figure 9).
With respect to claim 3, Koyama teaches each of the plurality of protrusions is configured to have a narrower cross-sectional area in the direction toward the first member (paragraphs 59-62; and figure 9).
With respect to claim 4, Koyama teaches wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is inclined to have a certain angle θ with respect to the first member (paragraphs 59-62; and figure 9).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN-112222596A) (hereafter Chen).
With respect to claim 1, Chen teaches an ultrasonic welding device comprising: a horn (ultrasonic welding head 2) configured to press a first member to ultrasonically weld the first member and a second member (workpieces), wherein the horn includes a knurling portion having a plurality of protrusions (teeth 1) configured to protrude toward the first member to create a concavo-convex shape on the first member, and wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a length m in a direction toward the first member (figure 1; and the machine translation). Note the explicit teaching that the welding teeth are processed by milling machine inclined 30-45 degrees; the tooth depth is 0.48mm-0.55mm, and the tooth distance is 1.2mm-1.5mm.
Section 2115 of the MPEP is clear that the material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. Accordingly, the language of “the length m being greater than or equal to a thickness d (T) of the first member” does not positively limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. Furthermore, it is the examiner’s position that an apparatus having a tool depth of 0.48mm-0.55mm is intrinsically capable of bonding a film with a thickness less than or equal to 0.48mm.
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches wherein the plurality of protrusions are regularly provided at regular intervals n (figure 1; and the machine translation).
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches each of the plurality of protrusions is configured to have a narrower cross-sectional area in the direction toward the first member (figure 1; and the machine translation).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is inclined to have a certain angle θ with respect to the first member (figure 1; and the machine translation).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US2021/0129453A1) (hereafter Wang).
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches an ultrasonic welding device comprising: a horn (10) configured to press a first member to ultrasonically weld the first member and a second member (first and second workpieces), wherein the horn includes a knurling portion having a plurality of protrusions (knurls 20) configured to protrude toward the first member to create a concavo-convex shape on the first member, and wherein each of the plurality of protrusions has a length m in a direction toward the first member (figures 1 and 3; and paragraph 29, particularly the explicit teaching of knurl pitch d may be provided in the range of 0.75 to 1.25 millimeters, the knurl angle θ may be provided in the range of 30 to 60 degrees).
Section 2115 of the MPEP is clear that the material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. Accordingly, the language of “the length m being greater than or equal to a thickness d (T) of the first member” does not positively limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. Furthermore, it is the examiner’s position that the apparatus of Wang is capable of bonding a foil having a thickness less than the height of the teeth.
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches wherein the plurality of protrusions are regularly provided at regular intervals n (figures 1 and 3; and paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 3, Wang teaches each of the plurality of protrusions is configured to have a narrower cross-sectional area in the direction toward the first member (figures 1 and 3; and paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 4, Wang teaches wherein each of the plurality of protrusions is inclined to have a certain angle θ with respect to the first member (figures 1 and 3; and paragraph 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
With respect to claim 5, Chen teaches wherein the length m (0.48-0.55mm) satisfies the following Equation 1: m=|tan θ|×n/2 (machine translation, particularly angles of 33-36º with a spacing of 1.5mm).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang.
With respect to claim 5, Wang teaches wherein the length m (0.649-1.08mm) satisfies the following Equation 1: m=|tan θ|×n/2 (paragraph 29, particularly an angle of 60º with a spacing of 0.75-1.25mm fulfills the equation). Note that the height of the teeth calculates to 0.649-1.08mm when the pitch d is set between 0.75-1.25mm.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koyama as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Chen or Wang.
With respect to claim 5, Koyama does not explicitly teach wherein the length m (0.649-1.08mm) satisfies the following Equation 1: m=|tan θ|×n/2. However, Chen or Wang teach the claimed relationship as set forth above.
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the claimed height, angle, and interval as taught by Chen or Wang on the ultrasonic horn of Koyama in order to obtain the desired grip and penetration for obtaining a strong ultrasonic weld.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735