DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS’s) submitted on 01/08/2025 and 04/08/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Ota et al. (JP 2001157395).
Regarding claim 1, Ota et al. disclose:
An rotor core (7), comprising:
rotor laminations (abstract) that include magnet slots (4) and magnet-fixation holes (5) that are located at a side of the magnet slots; and
magnets (8) located inside the magnet slots (4),
wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are configured to be pushed and deformed toward the magnet slots to press and fix the magnets (Figs 5,7, abstract, paras 5,11).
Regarding claim 2/1, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are located at one side of the magnet slots (4).
Regarding claim 3/1, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5, Fig 7) are located at both sides of the magnet slots (4).
Regarding claim 4/1, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are circular magnet-fixation holes or elliptical magnet-fixation holes (para 12).
Regarding claim 5/1, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are through holes penetrating the rotor laminations (Figs 7-8).
Regarding claim 10/1, Ota et al. disclose a rotor comprising the rotor core according to claim 1 (para 11, abstract).
Regarding claim 11/2, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are through holes penetrating the rotor laminations (Figs 7-8).
Regarding claim 12/3, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are through holes penetrating the rotor laminations (Figs 7-8).
Regarding claim 13/4, Ota et al. disclose wherein the magnet-fixation holes (5) are through holes penetrating the rotor laminations (Figs 7-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (JP 2001157395) in view of Gilde (US 20230246501).
Regarding claim 6/1, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 7/1, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 14/2, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 15/3, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 16/4, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on one side face of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 17/2, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 18/3, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Regarding claim 19/4, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations.
Gilde teaches a device having blind holes (para 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. wherein the magnet-fixation holes are blind holes, and are located on both end faces of the rotor laminations, as Gilde teaches the use of blind holes.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to collect any debris or foreign materials (para 6 of Gilde).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota et al. (JP 2001157395) in view of Utsumi et al. (US 20130002082).
Regarding claim 8/1, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except further comprising tongues that are located on inner walls along a longitudinal direction of the magnet slots and connected with the inner walls, and wherein the tongues abut against the magnets.
Utsumi et al. teach a machine further comprising tongues (52a,b, 53a,b, Fig 21) that are located on inner walls along a longitudinal direction of the magnet slots (by 34) and connected with the inner walls, and wherein the tongues abut against the magnets (34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. to have it further comprising tongues that are located on inner walls along a longitudinal direction of the magnet slots and connected with the inner walls, and wherein the tongues abut against the magnets, as Utsumi et al. teach.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to retain the magnets (para 95 of Utsumi et al.).
Regarding claim 9/8, Ota et al. in view of Utsumi et al. disclose the invention as discussed above. Ota et al. do not teach wherein the tongues and the rotor laminations are integrally formed.
Utsumi et al. teach a machine wherein the tongues and the rotor laminations are integrally formed (Fig 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. in view of Utsumi et al. to have it wherein the tongues and the rotor laminations are integrally formed, as Utsumi et al. teach.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to retain the magnets (para 95 of Utsumi et al.) and be based on simplification of manufacturing and cost.
Regarding claim 20/2, Ota et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except further comprising tongues that are located on inner walls along a longitudinal direction of the magnet slots and connected with the inner walls, and wherein the tongues abut against the magnets.
Utsumi et al. teach a machine further comprising tongues (52a,b, 53a,b, Fig 21) that are located on inner walls along a longitudinal direction of the magnet slots (by 34) and connected with the inner walls, and wherein the tongues abut against the magnets (34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Ota et al. to have it further comprising tongues that are located on inner walls along a longitudinal direction of the magnet slots and connected with the inner walls, and wherein the tongues abut against the magnets, as Utsumi et al. teach.
The motivation to do so it would permit one to retain the magnets (para 95 of Utsumi et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834