Claim Objections
Claims 6-19 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, these claims have not been further treated on the merits. Thus, only claims 1-5 have been treated on the merits as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 are indefinite because it is not clear whether there is a second threshold when the claim depends from claim 1.
Claims 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. See the above claim objections regarding improper multiple dependent claims. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6668239 to Gilbert et al. (“Gilbert”) in view of US 20140200827 to Bhattacharjya et al. ("Bhattacharjya").
Regarding claim 1, Gilbert discloses a method of predicting a cyclic top event in a rail, the method comprising: receiving measurement data indicating variations in height of the rail along the length of the rail at different time points (e.g. see col. 2, ln 66 – col. 3, ln 30);
analysing the measurement data to obtain peaks at points along the rail for one or more wavelengths at each of a plurality of the different time points (e.g. see col. 2, ln 66 – col. 3, ln 30);
for each of the plurality of different time points for at least one wavelength, identifying a length of rail containing at least two amplitude peaks above a first threshold as a risk site for a cyclic top event (e.g. see col. 2, ln 66 – col. 3, ln 30). Gilbert does not disclose for each risk site, predicting an accumulated amplitude value for at least one future point in time based on the measurement data for consecutive peaks within the risk site above the first threshold. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Bhattacharjya discloses such (e.g. see [0054], [0094]-[0096]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate such with the motivation of prioritizing track maintenance based on severity of variations.
Regarding claim 2, Gilbert in view of Bhattacharjya discloses the method of claim 1 wherein a risk site is identified as containing, within a run of consecutive peaks, at least two peaks above the first threshold and at least one peak above a second threshold (e.g. see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 3, Gilbert in view of Bhattacharjya discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the second threshold is lower than the first threshold (e.g. see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 4, Gilbert in view of Bhattacharjya discloses the of claim 1 or claim 2 wherein the start location of a risk site is defined as the location of the first peak below a third predetermined threshold preceding the predetermined number of peaks above the first threshold in the measurement direction (e.g. see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 5, Gilbert in view of Bhattacharjya discloses the method of claim 1, 2 or 3 wherein the end location of a risk site is defined as the location of the first peak below a third predetermined threshold following the predetermined number of peaks above the first threshold in the measurement direction (e.g. see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Conclusion
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666