DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments on page 7, it is stated that “Contrarily, the "transforming" mentioned in claim 1 is a different process with an entirely different objective.”.
However, the examiner disagrees and asserts that under the BRI of transform as currently worded in the claim, any type of modification of the data (normalization with distribution parameters) could be considered a transform.
Therefore, the rejection, as set forth in the previous office action, stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,6-8,10,11,18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi US 20220051017 in view of Meltzer US 20220156415.
Regarding claim 1, Choi disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
A learning-based point cloud geometry processing block method, the method comprising:
accessing a first feature map (i.e. feature map determined using an image. If the feature map was coded, decoding would be required to access.) [64; fig. 2],
wherein the first feature map has a quantity of C channels and is an input to the processing block (i.e. feature maps has a number of channels) [64], and
wherein the first feature map is generated by a first set of neural network layers (i.e. object detection layer use neural networks to generate probability distribution) [67];
accessing a set of distribution parameters (i.e. probability distribution used to classify objects in an image) [67]; and
Choi do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
transforming the first feature map to a second feature map based on the set of distribution parameters.
However, in the same field of endeavor Meltzer discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
transforming the first feature map to a second feature map based on the set of distribution parameters (i.e. normalize feature map using distribution parameters from a neural network processed feature map) [80].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Choi with Meltzer to transform the first feature map to a second feature map based on the set of distribution parameters.
It would be advantageous because "Accordingly, unlike prior-art approaches, the disclosed techniques can be used to compare the geometric styles of pairs of different 3D CAD objects represented by B-reps, thereby increasing the accuracy of geometric style comparisons relative to the prior art. These technical advantages provide one or more technological advancements over prior art approaches.” [9].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Choi with Meltzer to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Meltzer meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising updating the first feature map by normalizing vector elements of the first feature map (i.e. normalize feature map using distribution parameters from a neural network processed feature map) [80,89].
Regarding claim 6, Meltzer meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1,wherein the set of distribution parameters is determined using a back-propagation technique during a training period [124].
Regarding claim 7, Choi meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1,wherein the set of distribution parameters is determined on a per feature channel basis [64].
Regarding claim 8, Choi meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1,further comprising updating the second feature map by performing downsampling using a function of average pooling or max pooling [65].
Regarding claim 10, Choi meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein prior to encoding the second feature map, performing a process comprising: accessing a second set of distribution parameters; and updating the second feature map by transforming the second feature map based on the second set of distribution parameters; and encoding the second feature map into a bitstream (i.e. multiple feature maps may be used and would produce different parameters and be encoded into a bitstream) [61].
Regarding claim 11, Choi meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: aggregating the feature map using a second neural network; and encoding the second feature map into a bitstream [61,85].
Claim 18 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1 and further below. Choi teaches the processor and storage medium in fig. 6b and 10.
Claim 20 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 2.
Claim(s) 9,14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Meltzer in view of Kim US 11200639.
Regarding claim 9, Choi and Meltzer do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
determining a third feature map by filtering the second feature map using a smoothing filter; and updating the second feature map by concatenating the third feature map to the second feature map.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kim discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
determining a third feature map by filtering the second feature map using a smoothing filter; and updating the second feature map by concatenating the third feature map to the second feature map [31:42-52].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Choi and Meltzer with Kim to determine a third feature map by filtering the second feature map using a smoothing filter; and updating the second feature map by concatenating the third feature map to the second feature map.
It would be advantageous because there is a need for improving image encoding and decoding efficiency [5:60-64].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Choi and Meltzer with Kim to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Kim meets the claim limitations, as follows:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a fourth feature map by aggregating the first feature map using a neural network in parallel to transforming the first feature map to the second feature map; and updating the second feature map by concatenating the fourth feature map to the second feature map (i.e. fourth reduced image would produce a fourth feature map) [31:42-52].
Claim 19 is rejected using similar rationale as claim 1 and further below. Kim teaches decoding and reconstructing [6:7-29]
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Meltzer in view of Lee US 20210160522.
Regarding claim 12, Choi and Meltzer do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein the second neural network is selected from the group consisting of a sparse convolutional neural network (CNN) and multi-perceptron layers (MLP)
However, in the same field of endeavor Lee discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the second neural network is selected from the group consisting of a sparse convolutional neural network (CNN) and multi-perceptron layers (MLP) [120,122].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Choi and Meltzer with Lee to have the second neural network is selected from the group consisting of a sparse convolutional neural network (CNN) and multi-perceptron layers (MLP).
It would be advantageous because "By performing prediction based on a trained deep neural network (DNN), signaling of prediction information may be omitted and encoding and decoding efficiencies may be increased.” [22].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Choi and Meltzer with Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Meltzer in view of Yang US 20240223790.
Regarding claim 13, Choi and Meltzer do/does not explicitly disclose(s) the following claim limitations:
wherein aggregating the second feature map comprises using a Residual Network (ResNet) architecture.
However, in the same field of endeavor Yang discloses the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein aggregating the second feature map comprises using a Residual Network (ResNet) architecture [114].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the teachings of Choi and Meltzer with Yang to have the wherein aggregating the second feature map comprises using a Residual Network (ResNet) architecture.
It would be advantageous because "In a case of a limited network resource and a continuously increasing requirement for higher video quality, compression and decompression technologies need to be improved. The improved technologies can improve a compression rate almost without affecting picture quality.” [4].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art at the time of filing, to modify the teachings of Choi and Meltzer with Yang to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Jared Walker/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426