DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a beam-scanning guide device configured to” in claim 10.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Objections
6. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1, line 4, change “an signal” to –a signal--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0182978 A1 by Maleki et al. (hereinafter Maleki).
Regarding Claim 1, Maleki teaches a Frequency-Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) frequency-sweeping method applied to a Light Detection And Ranging (LiDAR) system (Fig. 1, Par. [0033, 0049-0052, 0079]), comprising (Fig. 1-18):
obtaining a frequency-sweeping light beam (Fig. 1 @ 102, 108, Par. [0034, 0037, 0100]. Also See Fig. 6-7 and 14);
splitting (Fig. 1 @ 108, Par. [0034, 0100]) the frequency-sweeping light beam into an signal light beam (Fig. 1 @ 108 to 110, Par. [0034, 0100, 0101]) and a local oscillation light beam (Fig. 1 @ 108 to 114, Par. [0034, 0100, 0121]), wherein frequency modulation waveforms of the signal light beam and the local oscillation light beam are completely same (Par. [0100]);
transmitting the signal light beam (Fig. 1 @ 116, Abstract, Par. [0034, 0096, 0102]), wherein the transmitted light beam is reflected after encountering an obstacle (Fig. 1 @ 130, Abstract, Par. [0034, 0096, 0102]) to generate a reflected light beam (Fig. 1 @ 130 to 112, Abstract, Par. [0005-0011, 0033, 0102, 0121]); and
detecting (Fig. 1 @ 120, Par. [0121-0122]) a beat frequency (Par. [0141-0142]) between the local oscillation light beam and the reflected light beam to determine a distance of the obstacle (Abstract, Par. [0005-0011, 0033, 0141-0142]),
wherein the frequency-sweeping light beam performs n times of frequency-rising based on a preset frequency-rising slope (Fig. 7 @ 702, Par. [0050]) and performs n times of frequency-falling based on a preset frequency-falling slope (Fig. 7 @ 704, Par. [0050]) in a preset frequency-sweeping ranging period (Fig. 7, Par. [0010, 0047-0048, 0053, 0089, 0098, 0155]: chirp bandwidth), wherein n ≥ 2 (Fig. 7 @ 702, 704, illustrates n ≥ 2), and a frequency-sweeping bandwidth of the frequency-sweeping light beam and a preset frequency-sweeping total bandwidth meet the following relationship:
f = fc/n
wherein fc is the preset frequency-sweeping total bandwidth, and f is the frequency- sweeping bandwidth (Fig. 7 @ 702, 704, illustrates n ≥ 2, thus satisfy the equation. Note: value of n depends on the preset frequency-sweeping total bandwidth. Triangular FMCW, sweep requires 2 sweeps (up and down) by the frequency-sweeping bandwidth (f), therefore, the preset frequency-sweeping total bandwidth (fc) is double of the frequency-sweeping bandwidth (f) which is 2f = fc and thus f = fc/n can be calculated).
Regarding Claim 2, Maleki teaches the frequency-sweeping light beam sequentially and continuously performs [n] times of complete periodic frequency-rising and [n] times of complete periodic frequency-falling in the preset frequency-sweeping ranging period, [n] indicates that n is rounded down (Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Maleki teaches the frequency-sweeping light beam continuously and alternately executes [n] times of complete periodic frequency-rising and [n] times of complete periodic frequency-falling in the preset frequency-sweeping ranging period, [n] indicates that n is rounded down (Fig. 7 @ 702, 704, raising (702) then falling (704) again raisin (702) and then falling (704) thus teaches continuously and alternately).
Regarding Claim 4, Maleki teaches a distance R of the obstacle measured by the FMCW LiDAR system satisfies the following relationship:
wherein tc is one half of the preset frequency-sweeping ranging period (Fig. 7 @ 702, Fig. 14A @ 1400), fc is the preset frequency-sweeping total bandwidth (Fig. 7, 14A, Par. [0010, 0047-0048, 0053, 0089, 0098, 0155]: chirp bandwidth), fb₁ is a frequency-rising beat frequency in a frequency-rising stage (Fig. 14A @ 1404, Par. [0142]), and fb2 is a frequency-falling beat frequency in a frequency-falling stage (Fig. 14A @ 1406, Par. [0142], thus satisfy the equation).
Regarding Claim 5, Maleki teaches a speed V of the obstacle measured by the FMCW LiDAR system satisfies the following relationship:
wherein tc is one half of the preset frequency-sweeping ranging period (Fig. 7 @ 702, Fig. 14A @ 1400), C₀ is the speed of light, fb₁ is a frequency-rising beat frequency of a frequency-rising stage (Fig. 14A @ 1404, Par. [0142]), fb2 is a frequency-falling beat frequency in a frequency-falling stage (Fig. 14A @ 1406, Par. [0142]), and fo is a frequency of an unmodulated light beam (Par. [0003, 0005, 0011, 0033, 0050, 0142], thus satisfy the equation).
Regarding Claim 6, Maleki teaches n satisfies the following relationship:
wherein tc is one half of the preset frequency-sweeping ranging period (Fig. 7 @ 702, Fig. 14A @ 1400), Rmax is a preset maximum ranging distance, and C₀ is the speed of light (Par. [0008, 0037, 0107-0114, 0142], thus satisfy the equation).
Regarding Claim 7, Maleki teaches a Frequency-Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) Light Detection And Ranging (LiDAR) system (See Claim 1 rejection above), comprising:
a laser light source configured to generate a frequency-sweeping light beam (See Claim 1 rejection above);
an optical splitter configured to split the frequency-sweeping light beam into a signal light beam and a local oscillation light beam, wherein frequency modulation waveforms of the signal light beam and the local oscillation light beam are completely the same (See Claim 1 rejection above);
an optical transmitter configured to transmit the signal light beam, wherein the transmitted light beam is reflected to generate a reflected light beam after encountering an obstacle (See Claim 1 rejection above);
an optical receiver configured to receive the reflected light beam (See Claim 1 rejection above);
a detector configured to detect a beat frequency between the local oscillation light beam and the reflected light beam to determine a distance of the obstacle (See Claim 1 rejection above),
wherein the frequency-sweeping light beam performs n times of frequency-rising based on a preset frequency-rising slope and performs n times of frequency-falling based on a preset frequency-falling slope in a preset frequency-sweeping ranging period, wherein n≥2, and a frequency-sweeping bandwidth of the frequency-sweeping light beam and a preset frequency- sweeping total bandwidth meet the following relationship:
f = fc/n
wherein fc is the preset frequency-sweeping total bandwidth, and f is the frequency- sweeping bandwidth (See Claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 8, Maleki teaches the frequency-sweeping light beam sequentially and continuously performs [n] times of complete periodic frequency-rising and [n] times of complete periodic frequency-falling in the preset frequency- sweeping ranging period, [n] indicates that n is rounded down (See Claim 2 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 9, Maleki teaches the frequency- sweeping light beam continuously and alternately executes [n] times of complete periodic frequency-rising and [n] times of complete periodic frequency-falling in the preset frequency- sweeping ranging period, [n] indicates that n is rounded down (See Claim 3 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 10, Maleki teaches a beam-scanning guide device (Fig. 1 @ 116, Par. [0034]), configured to adjust an emission direction of the transmitted light beam emitted from the optical transmitter over time to realize beam scanning (Par. [0096, 0101]).
Additional Prior Art
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of LiDAR.
US Patent Pub. No. 2020/0241139 A1 by Rose et al (Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877