Detailed Action
Claims 1-18 are pending and are examined.
Response to Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2026-02-27 is acknowledged. Claims 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2026-02-27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Step 1 of the eligibility analysis asks is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter (See MPEP § 2106.03, subsections I and II). Claims 1-10 are directed to a computer-implemented method (i.e., process). Claims 11-18 are directed to a computer-implemented system (i.e., machine, and manufacture). Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Prong One asks does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(1)). Claims 1, and 11 under a broadest reasonable interpretation recite an abstract idea because the claims describe relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2), subsection II). The claim limitations reciting the abstract idea are grouped within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas because the limitations describe commercial or legal interactions, including agreements in the form of contracts of financial account relationships and authorization rules enforced by an authorizing entity.
The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
Claim 1:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a processing computer from a digital wallet provided on a first user device, a processing request message comprising supplemental data and transaction data elements regarding a transaction between a first user operating the first user device and a second user operating a second user device;
storing, by the processing computer in a database, the supplemental data as being associated with the transaction data elements;
transmitting, by the processing computer, to an authorizing entity computer holding an account of the second user, a push request message comprising the transaction data elements without the supplemental data, wherein the push request message conforms to a format that the authorizing entity computer is configured to process;
receiving, by the processing computer from the authorizing entity computer, a push response message comprising the transaction data elements;
searching, by the processing computer, the database for the supplemental data using one or more of the transaction data elements received in the push response message;
identifying, by the processing computer, the supplemental data in the database based on a match between the one or more of the transaction data elements received in the push response message with one or more of transaction data elements stored on the database;
retrieving, by the processing computer, the supplemental data corresponding to matched transaction data elements;
generating, by the processing computer, a notification message comprising the supplemental data; and
transmitting, by the processing computer, the notification message comprising the supplemental data to a digital wallet provided on the second user device, wherein the supplemental data is output on the second user device in connection with a notification associated with the transaction.
Claim 11:
A system comprising:
a processing computer comprising one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising code executable by the one or more processors for performing steps comprising:
receiving, from a digital wallet provided on a first user device, a processing request message comprising supplemental data and transaction data elements regarding a transaction between a first user operating the first user device and a second user operating a second user device;
storing, in a database, the supplemental data as being associated with the transaction data elements;
transmitting to an authorizing entity computer holding an account of the second user, a push request message comprising the transaction data elements without the supplemental data, wherein the push request message conforms to a format that the authorizing entity computer is configured to process;
receiving, from the authorizing entity computer, a push response message comprising the transaction data elements;
searching the database for the supplemental data using one or more of the transaction data elements received in the push response message;
identifying the supplemental data in the database based on a match between the one or more of the transaction data elements received in the push response message with one or more of transaction data elements stored on the database;
retrieving the supplemental data corresponding to matched transaction data elements;
generating a notification message comprising the supplemental data; and
transmitting the notification message comprising the supplemental data to a digital wallet provided on the second user device, wherein the supplemental data is output on the second user device in connection with a notification associated with the transaction.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Prong Two asks does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (MPEP § 2106.04(II)(A)(2)). Here, the additional elements of digital wallet and device, individually and in combination, are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional elements merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (MPEP § 2106.05(h)). The description of the additional elements evidences that they are generic and conventional elements used as tools to perform the abstract idea. The digital wallet may be a generic and conventional digital wallet (See Spec. 0024). The user device may be a generic and conventional user device (See Spec. 0023). The processing computer may be a generic and conventional processing computer (See Spec. 0030 and 0032). The database may be a generic and conventional database (See Spec. 0031 and 0034). The authorizing entity computer may be a generic and conventional authorizing entity computer (See Spec. 0022). The push may be a generic and conventional push (See Spec. 0035). The server may be a generic and conventional server (See Spec. 0017 and 0029).
Step 2B
Step 2B determines whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP § 2106.05). Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Individually, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed previously, the description of the additional elements evidences that they are generic and conventional elements used as tools to perform the abstract idea (See Spec. 0022-0024, and 0030-0035). As such, the additional elements merely serve as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The ordered combination recites no more than the individual elements do. Thus, the additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims are directed to the abstract idea identified above without significantly more. The claims are not eligible, warranting a rejection for lack of subject matter eligibility and concluding the eligibility analysis.
Dependent Claims
Claims 2-10, and 12-18 have also been analyzed. However, the subject matter of these claims also fails to recite patent eligible subject matter for the following reasons:
Claim 2 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the supplemental data comprises one or more of text data, image data, audio data, multimedia data, or data embedded in machine readable code.
Claim 3 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the digital wallet provided on the second user device is a second digital wallet managed by a second digital wallet server, wherein a first digital wallet provided on the first user device is managed by a first digital wallet server, wherein the first digital wallet server is different than the second digital wallet server.
Claim 4 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein at least one of the first digital wallet server or the second digital wallet server is unable to support transmission of the supplemental data, and wherein transmission of the notification message comprising the supplemental data by the processing computer to the digital wallet provided on the second user device bypasses the second digital wallet server.
Claim 5 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the first digital wallet is a first transfer application provisioned on the first user device, and the second digital wallet is a second transfer application.
Claim 6 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
further comprising: parsing, by the processing computer, the processing request message to identify one or more fields storing data; identifying, by the processing computer, a data field storing the supplemental data; and retrieving, by the processing computer, the supplemental data to store the supplemental data as being associated with the transaction data elements at the database.
Claim 7 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
further comprising: storing, at a secure database by a digital tag computer in communication with the processing computer, a mapping between a digital tag of the second user and a credential associated with second user; receiving, by the digital tag computer, the digital tag of the second user from the digital wallet provided on the first user device; identifying, by the digital tag computer, the credential associated with second user at the secure database; retrieving, by the digital tag computer, the credential associated with second user from the secure database; and transmitting, by the digital tag computer, the credential associated with second user to the digital wallet provided on the first user device, wherein the transaction data elements received at the processing computer includes the credential associated with second user.
Claim 8 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
further comprising: storing, at a secure database by a digital tag computer in communication with the processing computer, a first mapping between the digital tag of the first user and a first credential associated with the first user; receiving, by the digital tag computer from the processing computer, the digital tag of the first user; identifying, by the digital tag computer, the first credential at the secure database; retrieving, by the digital tag computer, the first credential from the secure database; and transmitting, by the digital tag computer, the first credential to the processing computer, wherein the transaction is settled using funds debited to an account associated with the first credential.
Claim 9 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
further comprising: prior to transmitting, by the processing computer, the push request message to the authorizing entity computer: transmitting, by the processing computer, a confirmation message to the digital wallet provided on the first user device confirming receipt of the supplemental data and the transaction data elements, wherein the confirmation message excludes the supplemental data, wherein the digital wallet provided on the first user device provides the transaction data elements to a transport computer, wherein the transport computer generates the push request message including the transaction data elements; and receiving, by the processing computer, the push request message including the transaction data elements without the supplemental data from the transport computer.
Claim 10 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
further comprising: generating, by the processing computer, a transfer response message; and transmitting, by the processing computer, the transfer response message the digital wallet provided on the first user device, wherein the transfer response message is output on the first user device.
Claim 12 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the supplemental data comprises one or more of text data, image data, audio data, multimedia data, or data embedded in machine readable code.
Claim 13 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the digital wallet provided on the first user device is associated with a first transfer application managed by a first application provider server, and the digital wallet provided on the second user device is associated with a second transfer application managed by a second application provider server, wherein the second transfer application is unable to support transmission of the supplemental data, and wherein transmission of the notification message comprising the supplemental data by the processing computer to the second transfer application bypasses the second application provider server.
Claim 14 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the code, when executed by the one or more processors of the processing computer, performs the steps further comprising: parsing the processing request message to identify one or more fields storing data; identifying a data field storing the supplemental data; and retrieving the supplemental data to store the supplemental data as being associated with the transaction data elements at the database.
Claim 15 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
further comprising: a digital tag computer in communication with the processing computer and another non- transitory computer readable medium comprising code executable by the digital tag computer for performing: storing, at a secure database, a mapping between a digital tag of the second user and a credential associated with second user; receiving the digital tag of the second user from the digital wallet provided on the first user device; identifying the credential associated with second user at the secure database; retrieving the credential associated with second user from the secure database; and transmitting the credential associated with second user to the digital wallet provided on the first user device, wherein the transaction data elements received at the processing computer includes the credential associated with second user.
Claim 16 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the code executable by the digital tag computer further performs: storing, at a secure database, a mapping between the digital tag of the first user and a first credential associated with the first user; receiving, from the processing computer, the digital tag of the first user; identifying the first credential at the secure database; retrieving the first credential from the secure database; and transmitting the first credential to the processing computer, wherein the transaction is settled using funds debited to an account associated with the first credential.
Claim 17 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the code, when executed by the one or more processors of the processing computer, performs the steps further comprising: prior to transmitting the push request message to the authorizing entity computer: transmitting a confirmation message to the digital wallet provided on the first user device confirming receipt of the supplemental data and the transaction data elements, wherein the confirmation message excludes the supplemental data, wherein the digital wallet provided on the first user device provides the transaction data elements to a transport computer, wherein the transport computer generates the push request message including the transaction data elements; and receiving the push request message including the transaction data elements without the supplemental data from the transport computer.
Claim 18 recites an abstract idea because the claim describes using relaying payment approvals while attaching supplemental data, grouped within the certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. The additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The additional elements are not significantly more than the abstract idea because individually and in combination, the additional elements are recited at a high level of generality as generic and conventional computers and components merely serving as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, the claim is not eligible. The following underlined claim limitations recite the abstract idea. The non-underlined claim limitations recite additional elements.
wherein the code, when executed by the one or more processors of the processing computer, performs the steps further comprising: generating a transfer response message; and transmitting the transfer response message the digital wallet provided on the first user device, wherein the transfer response message is output on the first user device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 9-16, and 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coulter et al. (US20100312636A1) (hereinafter “Coulter”) .
As per Claim 1, and 11, Coulter teaches:
A method comprising: receiving, by a processing computer from a digital wallet provided on a first user device, a processing request message comprising supplemental data and transaction data elements regarding a transaction between a first user operating the first user device and a second user operating a second user device; (“The following is an example of an initial authorization request such as might be received from a point of purchase: Transaction Identifier Identifying Information Initial Track 2 Data (optional) Industry Standard Code Merchant Information Transaction Amount Transaction Items.” (Para. 0131-0132); “At block 708, the acquirer 108 sends at least part of the data from the initial authorization request to the intermediary service 204.” (Para. 0130); “The acquirer 108 may also send transaction details, such as the list of transaction items, to the intermediary service 204 so that the receipt message can include additional transaction details.” (Para. 0135))
storing, by the processing computer in a database, the supplemental data as being associated with the transaction data elements; (“The intermediary service 204 also interacts with a storage component 402, which is configured to store configuration information and customer information.” (Para. 0061); “In particular, the storage component 402 stores data linking the identifying information received from the acquirer 104 to customer-specific information, such as the address of the mobile device 206, one or more payment instruments associated with the customer, and a verification code.” (Para. 0061); “The acquirer may store all initial authorization requests, received account information, and modified authorization requests in a data structure so that the acquirer or a third party may subsequently audit the information and confirm that transactions are being appropriately processed.” (Para. 0134))
transmitting, by the processing computer, to an authorizing entity computer holding an account of the second user, a push request message (“the intermediary service 204 sends a wake-up message to the mobile device client 418 before sending a transaction notification message. The wake-up message may be transmitted on a different messaging channel, such as via a binary SMS message or via a WAP push message or other remote push service.” (Para. 0096);
comprising the transaction data elements without the supplemental data, wherein the push request message conforms to a format that the authorizing entity computer is configured to process; (“The customer information is accessed from the storage component 402 based on the identifying information contained in the initial authorization request.” (Para. 0064); “After the modified authorization request is generated, processing then proceeds to block 714 where the acquirer 108 sends the modified authorization request to the payment association 112.” (Para. 0135); “Validating initial authorization requests may include, for example, verifying that the request is correctly structured and includes all of the required data fields. In some embodiments, the authorization request is specified in extensible markup language (XML). In these embodiments, validation includes determining that the XML is well-formed.” (Para. 0062))
receiving, by the processing computer from the authorizing entity computer, a push response message comprising the transaction data elements; (“In block 716, the acquirer 108 receives an authorization or a denial in response to the modified authorization request.” (Para. 0135); “the intermediary service 204 receives an initial authorization request from the acquirer 108 and transmits an information request to the issuing institution 110. The intermediary service 204 receives account information in response to the information request.” (Para. 0061); “The encryption module 408 is also used to encrypt messages sent from the intermediary service 204 to mobile devices 206, issuing institutions 110, and the data storage service 208. In some embodiments, the encryption module also decrypts messages received from the issuing institution and encrypts messages sent to the acquirer 108.” (Para. 0063))
searching, by the processing computer, the database for the supplemental data using one or more of the transaction data elements received in the push response message; (“a transaction identifier may be assigned to each transaction and used by the acquirer and the intermediary server to ensure that all sent and received messages are correctly correlated.” (Para. 0134); “The customer information is accessed from the storage component 402 based on the identifying information contained in the initial authorization request.” (Para. 0064); “the storage component 402 stores data linking the identifying information received from the acquirer 104 to customer-specific information, such as the address of the mobile device 206, one or more payment instruments associated with the customer, and a verification code or codes associated with the customer, the token, or the payment instruments.” (Para. 0061))
identifying, by the processing computer, the supplemental data in the database based on a match between the one or more of the transaction data elements received in the push response message with one or more of transaction data elements stored on the database; (“The determination may include, for example, assessing whether an identifying number contained in the initial authorization request falls within a range of identifying numbers or has a particular prefix associated with the intermediary service 204.” (Para. 0130); “the identifying information may be an alpha-numeric code, a sixteen digit number similar to a credit card number, or one or more pieces of data that uniquely identifies the customer (e.g., a customer nickname).” (Para. 0064); “the storage component 402 stores data linking the identifying information received from the acquirer 104 to customer-specific information.” (Para. 0061))
retrieving, by the processing computer, the supplemental data corresponding to matched transaction data elements; (“a customer management module 410, which is configured to retrieve customer information associated with the initial authorization request.” (Para. 0064); “After the customer management module 410 retrieves the stored customer information.” (Para. 0065); “The stored customer information include an address of a mobile device associated with the customer, information defining one or more payment instruments that may be utilized by the customer to complete a purchase transaction, and a verification code or codes.” (Para. 0064))
generating, by the processing computer, a notification message comprising the supplemental data; and (“at a step 4 a the intermediary service 204 transmits a transaction notification message to a mobile device 206 that is associated with the customer.” (Para. 0043); “The transaction notification message includes transaction information such as the amount, time, or location of the transaction.” (Para. 0043); “The transaction notification message may also request the customer 102 to provide information to continue the transaction, such as to provide a transaction confirmation, a customer-specific, token-specific, or payment instrument specific) verification code, and/or a selection of a payment instrument to use for the transaction.” (Para. 0043))
transmitting, by the processing computer, the notification message comprising the supplemental data to a digital wallet provided on the second user device, wherein the supplemental data is output on the second user device in connection with a notification associated with the transaction. (“After authenticating the initial authorization request from the acquirer 108, at a step 4 a the intermediary service 204 transmits a transaction notification message to a mobile device 206.” (Para. 0043); “The transaction notification message is transmitted to the mobile device via an XMPP message using the retrieved address of the mobile device.” (Para. 0043); “FIGS. 3A-3D are representative screenshots of a transaction notification message that may appear to a customer of a mobile device.” (Para. 0045))
As per Claim 2 and 12, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the supplemental data comprises one or more of text data, image data, audio data, multimedia data, or data embedded in machine readable code. (“representative screenshots of a transaction notification message that may appear to a customer of a mobile device. Although the figures depict each example message separately, portions of the messages shown in FIGS. 3A-3D may in some cases be combined in a single message. FIG. 3A depicts a representative screenshot 220 associated with a first notification message. The notification message includes a region 222 that contains details of the financial transaction, such as a vendor (in the depicted example, a Barnes & Noble bookstore), a total amount being charged ($21.36), and a financial instrument that is being used to complete the transaction (a personal Visa card, automatically selected as a result of a service, customer, or merchant rule). For transactions under a first threshold, the service may not require a customer to confirm that the transaction should take place.” (Para. 0045); “The mobile device may be a mobile phone, a smart phone, a media player (e.g., an Apple iPod, or iTouch), a mobile game device (e.g. a Nintendo GameBoy, a Sony PSP), a personal digital assistant (PDA), an email device (e.g., a Blackberry), or any other device that may send and receive wireless transmissions.” (Para. 0043); “In some embodiments, the intermediary service may call the mobile device (if the mobile device has voice capability) and may use an Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system to solicit the confirmation from the customers. If the mobile device cannot be reached via any channel, in some embodiments the intermediary service 204 transmits the transaction notification message to a different device capable of receiving data messages that is associated with the customer, such as a personal computer.” (Para. 0044))
As per Claim 3, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the digital wallet provided on the second user device is a second digital wallet managed by a second digital wallet server, wherein a first digital wallet provided on the first user device is managed by a first digital wallet server, wherein the first digital wallet server is different than the second digital wallet server. (“the transaction notification is transmitted to mobile devices 206 via an asynchronous XMPP message. To allow a mobile device to receive an XMPP-encoded message, the mobile device includes a mobile device client 418 that runs in the background of the device. The mobile device client 418 may be pre-installed on the mobile device 206, or may be downloaded to the mobile device 206 when a customer opens an account with the intermediary service. In some embodiments, the mobile device client 418 operates continuously, since it is impossible to predict when a customer might attempt to make a purchase.” (Para. 0096); “The intermediary service 204 also includes a mobile device communication module 414, which is configured to communicate with mobile devices 206.” (Para. 0096).
As per Claim 4, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein at least one of the first digital wallet server or the second digital wallet server is unable to support transmission of the supplemental data, and wherein transmission of the notification message comprising the supplemental data by the processing computer to the digital wallet provided on the second user device bypasses the second digital wallet server. (“In the event that the intermediary service 204 is unable to transmit the transaction notification message to the mobile device, the intermediary service may support fallback methods for transmitting a transaction notification message to the customer. For example, in the event that the intermediary service is unable to communicate with the mobile device using an XMPP-formatted message, the service may also send the transaction notification message to the device using a short message service (SMS) message, an email message, or through another messaging channel.” (Para. 0044); “The intermediary service may maintain a prioritized list of fallback methods to use, and may proceed through the list until the transaction notification message is delivered to the customer or until a certain period has elapsed and the service declares a delivery failure.” (Para. 0044)
As per Claim 5, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the first digital wallet is a first transfer application provisioned on the first user device, and the second digital wallet is a second transfer application. (“the mobile device includes a mobile device client 418 that runs in the background of the device.” (Para. 0096); “The mobile device client 418 may be pre-installed on the mobile device 206, or may be downloaded to the mobile device 206 when a customer opens an account with the intermediary service.” (Para. 0096)
As per Claim 6 and 14, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: parsing, by the processing computer, the processing request message to identify one or more fields storing data; identifying, by the processing computer, a data field storing the supplemental data; and retrieving, by the processing computer, the supplemental data to store the supplemental data as being associated with the transaction data elements at the database. (“Validating initial authorization requests may include, for example, verifying that the request is correctly structured and includes all of the required data fields.” (Para. 0062); “determining that the XML is well-formed.” (Para. 0062); “The intermediary service 204 includes a customer management module 410, which is configured to retrieve customer information associated with the initial authorization request.” (Para. 0064))
As per Claim 7 and 15, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing, at a secure database by a digital tag computer in communication with the processing computer, a mapping between a digital tag of the second user and a credential associated with second user; receiving, by the digital tag computer, the digital tag of the second user from the digital wallet provided on the first user device; identifying, by the digital tag computer, the credential associated with second user at the secure database; retrieving, by the digital tag computer, the credential associated with second user from the secure database; and transmitting, by the digital tag computer, the credential associated with second user to the digital wallet provided on the first user device, wherein the transaction data elements received at the processing computer includes the credential associated with second user. (“In particular, the storage component 402 stores data linking the identifying information received from the acquirer 104 to customer-specific information, such as the address of the mobile device 206, one or more payment instruments associated with the customer, and a verification code or codes associated with the customer, the token, or the payment instruments.” (Para. 0061); “The stored customer information includes an address of the customer's mobile device, a reference to one or more payment instruments associated with the customer, and a verification code associated with the customer's intermediary service account.” (Para. 0022); “The customer information is accessed from the storage component 402 based on the identifying information contained in the initial authorization request. As discussed above, the identifying information may be an alpha-numeric code, a sixteen digit number similar to a credit card number, or one or more pieces of data that uniquely identifies the customer (e.g., a customer nickname).” (Para. 0064))
As per Claim 8 and 16, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 7, further comprising: storing, at a secure database by a digital tag computer in communication with the processing computer, a first mapping between the digital tag of the first user and a first credential associated with the first user; receiving, by the digital tag computer from the processing computer, the digital tag of the first user; identifying, by the digital tag computer, the first credential at the secure database; retrieving, by the digital tag computer, the first credential from the secure database; and transmitting, by the digital tag computer, the first credential to the processing computer, wherein the transaction is settled using funds debited to an account associated with the first credential. (“In particular, the storage component 402 stores data linking the identifying information received from the acquirer 104 to customer-specific information, such as the address of the mobile device 206, one or more payment instruments associated with the customer, and a verification code or codes associated with the customer, the token, or the payment instruments.” (Para. 0061); “After receiving the authorization request, the issuing institution 110 evaluates the request by verifying the identifying information and the transaction amount. The issuing institution 110 then authorizes the transaction in step 5 by transmitting an authorization message to the payment association 112, which forwards the message to the acquirer 108 in step 6. In step 7, the acquirer 108 forwards the authorization message to the point of purchase 106, which records the completed transaction.” (Para. 0040); “At a later time, the issuing institution 110 provides payment for the transaction by transmitting the funds in step 8 to the payment association 112, which forwards the payment to the acquirer 108 in step 9. In the final step, the acquirer forwards the funds to the point of purchase 106 in step 10.” (Para. 0040))
As per Claim 10 and 18, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the processing computer, a transfer response message; and transmitting, by the processing computer, the transfer response message the digital wallet provided on the first user device, wherein the transfer response message is output on the first user device. (“The mobile device communication module 416 then generates a receipt message and transmits the receipt message to the mobile device 206 using the methods discussed above.” (Para. 0099); “Processing then proceeds to block 516, where the service receives a reply from the mobile device 206. As discussed above, this step is not executed if the transaction notification message did not require a response from the customer. The service then proceeds to decision block 518 in FIG. 6B, where it uses the reply message to determine whether the transaction was verified by the customer. In some cases, the service may do so by detecting a verification indicator in the reply message, which could simply be a single bit or a “yes” or “no” received from the mobile device 206.” (Para. 0107))
As per Claim 13, Coulter teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the digital wallet provided on the first user device is associated with a first transfer application managed by a first application provider server, and the digital wallet provided on the second user device is associated with a second transfer application managed by a second application provider server, wherein the second transfer application is unable to support transmission of the supplemental data, and wherein transmission of the notification message comprising the supplemental data by the processing computer to the second transfer application bypasses the second application provider server. (“the transaction notification is transmitted to mobile devices 206 via an asynchronous XMPP message. To allow a mobile device to receive an XMPP-encoded message, the mobile device includes a mobile device client 418 that runs in the background of the device. The mobile device client 418 may be pre-installed on the mobile device 206, or may be downloaded to the mobile device 206 when a customer opens an account with the intermediary service.” (Para. 0096); “the intermediary service 204 sends a wake-up message to the mobile device client 418 before sending a transaction notification message. The wake-up message may be transmitted on a different messaging channel, such as via a binary SMS message or via a WAP push message or other remote push service.” (Para. 0096); “The XMPP message may be sent using a data channel, such as a data network implementing TCP/IP provided by a wireless service provider.” (Para. 0043); “, in the event that the intermediary service is unable to communicate with the mobile device using an XMPP-formatted message, the service may also send the transaction notification message to the device using a short message service (SMS) message, an email message, or through another messaging channel. In some embodiments, the intermediary service may call the mobile device (if the mobile device has voice capability) and may use an Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system to solicit the confirmation from the customers. If the mobile device cannot be reached via any channel, in some embodiments the intermediary service 204 transmits the transaction notification message to a different device capable of receiving data messages that is associated with the customer, such as a personal computer.” (Para. 0044)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coulter in view of Mohammed et al. (US20190333055A1) (hereinafter “Mohammed”).
As per Claim 9 and 17, Coulter teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: prior to transmitting, by the processing computer, the push request message to the authorizing entity computer: transmitting, by the processing computer, a confirmation message to the digital wallet provided on the first user device confirming receipt of the supplemental data and the transaction data elements, wherein the confirmation message excludes the supplemental data, wherein the digital wallet provided on the first user device provides the transaction data elements to a . . ., wherein the . . . generates the push request message including the transaction data elements; and receiving, by the processing computer, the push request message including the transaction data elements without the supplemental data from the . . . (“when required by the transaction notification message (such as required by the transaction notification messages in FIGS. 3B-3D), the customer 102 uses the mobile device 206 to send a confirmation message. Such a confirmation message is sent in a step 4 b, and may confirm the transaction or deny the transaction in the transaction notification message.” (Para. 0049) “Rather than send the initial authorization request directly to the payment association 112, the acquirer 108 in step 3 sends at least part of the data from the initial authorization request to the intermediary service 204.” (Para. 0042); “the initial authorization request includes a unique transaction identifier. The transaction identifier may be retained throughout the authorization process such that every participant can use it to identify the transaction.” (Para. 0041))
Coulter does not disclose:
“transport computer” (claim 1).
However, as per Claim 1, Mohammed in the analogous art of secure token-based authentication systems, teaches: “transport computer”. (See “An acquirer may operate an acquirer computer, which can also be generically referred to as a “transport computer”.” (Para. 0066); “In step S8, the resource provider computer 20 may transmit an authorization request message to a transaction processing computer 80 via the transport computer 70.” (Para. 0085); “In step S9, the transaction processing computer 80 may transmit the authorization request message to the authorizing entity computer 90.” (Para. 0087))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the method of Coulter with the technique of Mohammed to include having the wallet-side confirmation occur out-of-band while the network-side push/authorization request is generated and conveyed through a transport computer in the conventional message-routing path. Therefore, the incentives of improving user control and security via out-of-band confirmation while maintaining interoperability provided a reason to make an adaptation, and the invention resulted from application of the prior knowledge in a predictable manner.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US20080243690A1 (Paintin), discussing “receiving a recorded message from the sender and transmitting at least a copy of the recorded message to the host computer system; associating the recorded message with the fund transfer at the host computer system; receiving a request from the recipient to receive the recorded message, wherein the request includes the identifier; and providing the recorded message to the recipient.” (Claim 1).
/Justin Jimenez/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3697
/ARI SHAHABI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697