DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 2, 5-8, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiya et al (JP2006141223 A).
In regard to claims 1 and 2, Tsuchiya et al discloses “a liquid seasoning can be obtained that provides a sufficient salty taste despite having a salt content of 9% by mass or less” ([0010]). Tsuchiya et al discloses a liquid seasoning comprising flavor enhancer such as salts of organic acids, inorganic carbonates, inorganic ammonium salts, etc ([0014)]. Tsuchiya et al discloses that “examples of inorganic carbonates include alkali metal salts of carbonate such as sodium and potassium, magnesium carbonate salts, and baking soda. One or more of these can be used ([0017]). Tsuchiya et al discloses that “[t]hese are preferably included in the liquid seasoning of the present invention in an amount of 0.01 to 2% by mass, more preferably 0.02 to 1% by mass, from the standpoint of enhancing the saltiness and reducing off-flavors and bitterness, thereby improving the flavor of soy sauce” ([0017]). It is noted that baking soda is sodium bicarbonate (NaHCO₃) (i.e. sodium hydrogen carbonate). Further in regard to claim 1, Tsuchiya et al discloses ammonium chloride as an inorganic ammonium salt ([0018]).
In regard to claims 5 and 6, Tsuchiya et al discloses “a liquid seasoning can be obtained that provides a sufficient salty taste despite having a salt content of 9% by mass or less” ([0010]). Tsuchiya et al discloses a liquid seasoning comprising flavor enhancer such as salts of organic acids, inorganic carbonates, inorganic ammonium salts, etc ([0014)].
In regard to claims 7 and 8, Tsuchiya et al discloses "reduced-sodium soy sauces" refers to soy sauce and soy sauce products with a sodium content of 3,550 mg (9 g as salt) or less per 100 g of product, and is not limited to special dietary foods for sick persons under the Nutrition Improvement Act ([0007]).
In regard to claims 10 and 12, Tsuchiya et al discloses:
To adjust the salt and potassium content to the aforementioned ranges, examples include: a method of producing soy sauce using a mixed solution of salt and, for example, potassium chloride as the brewing water; a method of mixing soy sauce obtained using a potassium chloride solution alone as the brewing water with soy sauce obtained using saline solution alone as the brewing water; and a method of adding potassium chloride to desalted soy sauce obtained by removing salt from ordinary soy sauce made using saline solution as the brewing water by electrodialysis, membrane treatment, etc ([0013]).
Component (C) of the liquid seasoning of the present invention acts as a flavor enhancer and is one or more substances selected from organic acids or salts thereof with a valency of 2 or less, alkali metal salts of phosphoric acid, inorganic carbonates, inorganic ammonium salts, starch hydrolysates, protein hydrolysates, sweeteners, plant extracts, and polysaccharides ([0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 9, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al (JP2006141223 A).
Tsuchiya et al discloses that “[t]hese are preferably included in the liquid seasoning of the present invention in an amount of 0.01 to 2% by mass, more preferably 0.02 to 1% by mass, from the standpoint of enhancing the saltiness and reducing off-flavors and bitterness, thereby improving the flavor of soy sauce” ([0017]). Tsuchiya et al also discloses "reduced-sodium soy sauces" refers to soy sauce and soy sauce products with a sodium content of 3,550 mg (9 g as salt) or less per 100 g of product, and is not limited to special dietary foods for sick persons under the Nutrition Improvement Act ([0007]).
Further in regard to the concentration recitations, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235(CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the concentration ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791