DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on January 14, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on January 14, 2025.
Claims 12-21 have been presented for examination.
Claims 12-21 are currently rejected.
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0323846).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2023/0323846).
Regarding claim 12, Ishii discloses a method of controlling a vehicle (Ishii ¶ 80 discloses that a vehicle may be a “hybrid electric vehicle”) having an engine (Ishii ¶ 3 “an engine”), a generator driven by the engine and generating power (Ishii ¶ 25 “electric motor MG is a motor generator”, an automatic driving electric load including a first electric load and a second electric load that form a redundant system (Ishii ¶ 25 “high voltage battery 26 is an electric-power storage device for supplying and receiving the electric power to and from the electric motor MG”), a lithium-ion battery charged by power generated by the generator (Ishii ¶ 30 “high voltage battery 26 is a second battery such as lithium-ion battery”) and supplying power necessary for automatic driving of the vehicle to the automatic driving electric load (Ishii ¶ 50 “DC/DC power supply voltage VLdc is increased”), a second power storage device charged by power generated by the generator (Ishii ¶ 30 discloses a “low voltage battery 34 is a low-voltage power supply device which is to be chargeable by the high voltage battery 26”), and a disconnecting device provided between the generator and the lithium-ion battery (Ishii ¶ 50 “open circuit”), the method comprising:
executing a fuel efficiency improvement control that reduces driving energy of the generator when predetermined conditions are satisfied; (Ishii ¶ 9 discloses allowing “execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control, in the case in which the plurality of conditions are satisfied,” wherein the execution of idle-stop control constitutes a “fuel efficient improvement control” in accordance with ¶ 10 of the instant specification. The Examiner notes that the limitation “that reduces driving energy” appears to recite an intended outcome or use and is not expressly required to be performed by the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2111.01.)
prohibiting the fuel efficiency improvement control when temperature of the lithium-ion battery is a predetermined temperature or higher; (Ishii ¶ 8 discloses “the starting control portion is configured to not allow the execution of the idle-stop control ... in a case in which at least one of the plurality of conditions is not satisfied”)
controlling the disconnecting device to be brought into an interruption state when executing the fuel efficiency improvement control; and (Ishii ¶ 50 discloses that “As the operation of the starter motor 32 is initiated, the DC/DC power supply voltage VLdc is reduced from an open circuit voltage OCV” wherein one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an open circuit is an interruption state. Also see ¶ 33 “IG-OFF state is a state that disables the vehicle 10 to run and disables also a part of functions that is not involved in running of the vehicle 10.” One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an off state of a circuit disconnects the power from being provided. Also see Fig. 1)
when the disconnecting device is in the interruption state, supplying power to the first electric load from the lithium-ion battery, and supplying power to the second electric load from the second power storage device. (Ishii in at least ¶ 50 discloses “When the engine 12 has been successfully started and the operation of the starter motor 32 has been completed, the DC/DC power supply voltage VLdc is increased toward the open circuit voltage OCV (see time point t2 and thereafter). The value of the DC/DC power supply voltage VLdc at the time point t2 at which the start of the engine 12 is successfully done and the operation of the starter motor 32 is completed, corresponds to the engine-start voltage VLst.” Also see at least ¶¶ 26, 30 and Fig. 2.)
While Ishii does not expressly disclose that the idle-stop control reduces driving energy of the generator, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the execution of the idle-stop control to expressly teach that performing the idle-stop control would result in reducing the driving energy of the generator, with reasonable expectation of success, because it would be possible to suppress the execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control First Idling Stop (FIS) from being erroneously allowed while suppressing loss of the opportunity of the execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control FIS (Ishii ¶ 74), rendering the limitation to be an obvious modification.
Regarding claim 13, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 12, further comprising:
when the temperature of the lithium-ion battery is a second predetermined temperature or higher, prohibiting the automatic driving of the vehicle (Ishii ¶ 71 discloses “step S50 is implemented to determine whether the low-voltage-battery temperature Thlowb is at least the predetermined temperature value THlowbf” such that “step S50 is implemented to determine whether the low-voltage-battery temperature Thlowb is at least the predetermined temperature value THlowbf” and “When an affirmative determination is made at step S50, namely, when the above-described second and third conditions are satisfied, step S60 is implemented to make the FIS determination that allows the execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control FIS and to place the FIS allowance flag into the ON state, whereby the determination (as to whether the execution of the idle-stop control CTspidl is to be allowed or not) is completed” which includes “allowing the execution of the idle-stop control CTspidl includes (i) allowing the pre-start-stage idle-stop control FIS in a next trip of the vehicle 10 after the vehicle power is placed into the IG-ON state from the IG-OFF state.” One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that executing idle-stop control prohibits automatic driving.), wherein the predetermined temperature is lower than the second predetermined temperature. (Ishii ¶ 37 discloses a temperature range. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a range includes and upper and lower threshold, a first value defining the lower threshold being lower than a second upper limit threshold.)
Regarding claim 14, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein:
the fuel efficiency improvement control is a control that stops the drive and the power generation of the generator by the engine. (Ishii ¶ 9 discloses “a pre-start-stage idle-stop control executed to keep stopping the engine without starting the engine when the vehicle has not started to run after the power ON of the vehicle and a post-start-stage idle-stop control executed to temporarily stop the engine during running or stop of the vehicle.”)
Regarding claim 15, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein:
the fuel efficiency improvement control is an idling stop control that stops the engine at a time of vehicle stop. (Ishii in at least ¶ 28 “The idle-stop control CTspidl is an automatic engine stop control that is executed to automatically stop the engine 12 by fuel cut or the like”)
Regarding claim 16, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 12, further comprising:
when the fuel efficiency improvement control is prohibited, supplying power generated by the generator to the automatic driving electric load. (Ishii in at least ¶ 64 discloses “When not allowing the execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control FIS [i.e., fuel efficiency improvement control is prohibited], the starting control portion 76 outputs a command requesting the engine 12 to be started for the first time after the vehicle power is placed into the IG-ON state.”)
Regarding claim 17, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 16, further comprising:
when the fuel efficiency improvement control is prohibited, controlling the generator so as to become a voltage at which the lithium-ion battery is substantially not charged. (Ishii in at least ¶ 8 discloses “the starting control portion is configured to not allow the execution of the idle-stop control and to crank the engine by using the motor” wherein cranking the engine includes a low voltage battery 34 “connected to the DC/DC converter 20, so as to be charged with the electric power originally supplied from the high voltage battery 26 through the DC/DC converter 20,” see ¶ 30, and wherein the high voltage battery 26 is a “lithium-ion battery,” see ¶ 30. The Examiner notes that “so as to become” appears to recite an intended outcome or use and is therefore not expressly required under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. See MPEP 2111.01.)
Regarding claim 18, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein:
setting a withstand current value of the disconnecting device to be higher than a withstand current value of the lithium-ion battery. (Ishii in at least ¶ 10 “setting an initial value of the smoothed value to a voltage value that is not lower than an open circuit voltage of the power storage device”)
Regarding claim 19, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 18, further comprising:
setting a maximum power generation current value of the generator to be lower than the withstand current value of the lithium-ion battery. (Ishii in at least ¶ 37 discloses that “An outputtable electric power of the low voltage battery 34, i.e., a maximum electric power that can be outputted from the low voltage battery 34.”)
Regarding claim 20, Ishii discloses the method of controlling the vehicle as claimed in claim 12, wherein:
the second power storage device is a lead battery. (Ishii ¶ 30 discloses “The low voltage battery 34 is a secondary battery such as lead-acid battery.”)
Regarding claim 21, Ishii discloses a control device of a vehicle comprising:
an engine; (Ishii in at least ¶ 7)
a generator driven by the engine and generating power; (Ishii ¶ 25 “electric motor MG is a motor generator”),
an automatic driving electric load including a first electric load and a second electric load that form a redundant system; (Ishii ¶ 25 “high voltage battery 26 is an electric-power storage device for supplying and receiving the electric power to and from the electric motor MG”)
a lithium-ion battery charged by power generated by the generator (Ishii ¶ 30 “high voltage battery 26 is a second battery such as lithium-ion battery”) and supplying power necessary for automatic driving of the vehicle to the automatic driving electric load; (Ishii ¶ 25 “high voltage battery 26 is an electric-power storage device for supplying and receiving the electric power to and from the electric motor MG”)
a second power storage device charged by power generated by the generator; (Ishii ¶ 30 “high voltage battery 26 is a second battery such as lithium-ion battery”)
a disconnecting device provided between the generator and the lithium-ion battery; and (Ishii ¶ 33 discloses an “IG-OFF state is a state that disables the vehicle 10 to run and disables also a part of functions that is not involved in running of the vehicle 10.” One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that an off state of a circuit disconnects the power from being provided. Also see at least ¶ 10 “open circuit” and Fig. 1)
a controller configured to execute a fuel efficiency improvement control that reduces driving energy of the generator when predetermined conditions are satisfied, and (Ishii ¶ 9 discloses allowing “execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control, in the case in which the plurality of conditions are satisfied,” wherein the execution of idle-stop control constitutes a “fuel efficient improvement control” in accordance with ¶ 10 of the instant specification. The Examiner notes that the limitation “that reduces driving energy” appears to recite an intended outcome or use and is not expressly required to be performed by the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2111.01.)
prohibit the fuel efficiency improvement control when temperature of the lithium-ion battery is a predetermined temperature or higher control the disconnecting device to be brought into an interruption state when executing the fuel efficiency improvement control, and (Ishii ¶ 9 discloses allowing “execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control, in the case in which the plurality of conditions are satisfied,” wherein the execution of idle-stop control constitutes a “fuel efficient improvement control” in accordance with ¶ 10 of the instant specification. The Examiner notes that the limitation “that reduces driving energy” appears to recite an intended outcome or use and is not expressly required to be performed by the claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2111.01.)
when the disconnecting device is in the interruption state, supply power to the first electric load from the lithium-ion battery, and supply power to the second electric load from the second power storage device. (Ishii in at least ¶ 30 discloses “The low voltage battery 34 is a low-voltage power supply device which is to be chargeable by the high voltage battery 26 and which is configured to supply the electric power to the starter motor 32,” wherein “The high voltage battery 26 is a second battery such as lithium-ion battery”)
While Ishii does not expressly disclose that the idle-stop control reduces driving energy of the generator, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the execution of the idle-stop control to expressly teach that performing the idle-stop control would result in reducing the driving energy of the generator, with reasonable expectation of success, because it would be possible to suppress the execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control First Idling Stop (FIS) from being erroneously allowed while suppressing loss of the opportunity of the execution of the pre-start-stage idle-stop control FIS (Ishii ¶ 74), rendering the limitation to be an obvious modification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Arnot (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0010910) discloses a method for retrofit engine start/stop idle control includes activating a programmable logic controller to control stop and start and idle control functions of an internal combustion engine; measuring an engine block temperature, ambient temperature, and battery system voltage; determining if all of the monitored values exceed corresponding predetermined threshold values for shutdown; and shutting down the engine if all of the monitored values exceed corresponding predetermined threshold values.
Kitamura (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015/0032314) discloses a controller of a vehicle that prohibits auto-stop of the engine when the temperatures of the hybrid devices including the generator motor and the capacitor are measured by the temperature sensor to find that any one of these devices is overheated.
/STEPHANIE T SU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662