DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/26/2025 was filed after the filing date of this application on 01/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14, 21, 23, 26, and 27: the claims recite “temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils” which renders the claims indefinite. Referring to the drawings and the specification, it is not entirely clear what parameters or properties of the evaporator coils the disclosed “temperature characteristic values” are referring to. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 18, 22, 24, and 31, the terms “maximum” and “minimum” are relative terms which render the claims indefinite. The terms “maximum” and “minimum” are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. These terms render the claims indefinite because it is unclear what “a frequency range from a maximum frequency value to a minimum frequency value of the compressor” is. Thus, as used to qualify the frequency of the compressor, these terms render the same indeterminate and the claims (and all claims depending therefrom) indefinite with regard to the scope of protection sought thereby.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the result of the rounding” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the result of the rounding” will be interpreted as -- a result of the rounding --
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the actual capability requirement” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the actual capability requirement” will be interpreted as -- the actual capacity requirement --
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the result of the rounding” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the result of the rounding” will be interpreted as -- a result of the rounding --
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the evaporation temperature threshold” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the evaporation temperature threshold” will be interpreted as -- the preset evaporation temperature threshold --
Claim 32 recites the limitation “the actual capability requirement” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the actual capability requirement” will be interpreted as -- the actual capacity requirement --
Claims 15-17, 20, 25, 28-30, and 33 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibo et al. (US 20160252284 A1, herein after referred to as Kibo), in view of Tsuji et al. (US 20180274836 A1, herein after referred to as Tsuji), and in further view of Zhang et al. (WO2021223616A1, herein after referred to as Zhang).
Regarding claim 14, Kibo teaches a method (the method illustrated in Fig. 3) for controlling a multi-split air conditioning system (air conditioning apparatus 10 Fig. 1) comprising: determining an actual capacity requirement (required capabilities Q21, Q22, and Q23 paragraph [0079] and step S12 of Fig. 3) and a target evaporation temperature (required evaporation temperatures Ter1, Ter2, and Ter3 paragraphs [0083] to [0084] and steps S14 or S15 Fig. 3) of each of a plurality of indoor units of the multi-split air conditioning system (indoor units 40, 50, and 60 Fig. 1); calculating a total capacity requirement (disclosed “operating capacity” of compressor 21 in paragraph [0086] and step S17 Fig. 3) of an outdoor unit of the multi-split air conditioning system (outdoor unit 20 Fig. 1) according to the actual capacity requirements of the plurality of indoor units (paragraphs [0083] to [0086]); determining an initial frequency (referring to paragraph [0055], compressor 21 is described as “a compressor of which the operating capacity can be varied”, therefore the initial frequency of compressor 21corresponds to the frequency associated with compressor 21 when its operating capacity is determined in step S17 as described in paragraph [0086]) of a compressor (compressor 21 Fig. 1) according to the total capacity requirement (paragraphs [0055] and [0086]); in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in an air blowing mode (disclosed “automatic-airflow-volume-control mode” and “constant-airflow-volume mode” in paragraph [0082] and step S13 Fig. 3): determining the target evaporation temperature corresponding to an indoor unit (any of indoor units 40, 50, or 60 Fig. 1) having a lowest dew point temperature (paragraph [0088] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that condensation occurs when a surface temperature is below the air dew point, therefore the indoor unit with the lowest evaporating temperature would correspond to the indoor unit with the lowest evaporator surface temperature and therefore the lowest dew point temperature) as a reference evaporation temperature (paragraph [0088]).
Kibo teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode: adjusting a frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature”.
However, Tsuji teaches in response to all indoor units (indoor units 4a, 4b, 4c Fig. 1 correspond to the indoor units of Kibo) operating in an air blowing mode (the illustrated “Air-Cooling Operation” in Fig. 6 corresponds to the air blowing mode of Kibo): adjusting a frequency of a compressor (disclosed “rotation speed” of compressor 21 in paragraph [0106] where compressor 21 Fig. 1 corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) based on an initial frequency (paragraph [0106] and Fig. 7 where the frequency of compressor 21 prior to step ST3 corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) and according to temperature characteristic values (correspond to the evaporation temperatures associated to the respective air-cooling capacity request values
∆
Q
C
a
,
∆
Q
C
b
,
∆
Q
C
c
as described in paragraphs [0071] and [0106]) of evaporator coils of all the indoor units (indoor heat exchangers 42a, 42b, 42c Fig. 1 and paragraph [0033]) and a reference evaporation temperature (paragraph [0106] where the disclosed “target evaporation temperature Tes” corresponds to the reference evaporation temperature of Kibo) to keep a low compressor rotational speed (paragraph [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Kibo to include “in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode: adjusting a frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature” in view of the teachings of Tsuji to keep a low compressor rotational speed.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “in response to not all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode, adjusting the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold”.
However, Zhang teaches in response to not all indoor units (the disclosed “three indoor units” in paragraph [18] corresponds to the indoor units of Kibo) operating in an air blowing mode (understood to be when at least one of the three indoor units is not operating which is understood to be a case where
∆
E
=
0
as described in paragraph [30] and Fig. 3 with the disclosed “cooling mode” in paragraph [28] corresponding to the blowing mode of Kibo), adjusting a frequency of a compressor (paragraph [37] where the disclosed “compressor” corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) based on an initial frequency (paragraph [27] and [37] where the disclosed “initial operating frequency” corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) and according to temperature characteristic values (the disclosed “original target evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] which is understood to be shared by all operating indoor units corresponds to the temperature characteristic values of Tsuji) of evaporator coils (a person skilled in the art would recognize that each indoor unit would be provided with an evaporator that would corresponds to the evaporator coils of Tsuji in order to evaporate the refrigerant) of all the indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold (disclosed “first preset evaporation temperature R” and “second preset evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] and Fig. 4) to ensure precise control of the system (paragraph [36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “in response to not all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode, adjusting the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold” in view of the teachings of Zhang to ensure precise control of the system.
Regarding claim 26, Kibo teaches a controller (operation control device 80 Fig. 2) comprising: a memory (memories 37b, 47c, 57c, and 67c Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062]) storing a computer program (disclosed “various data” in paragraph [0062]); and a processor (disclosed “microcomputer” in paragraphs [0051] and [0061]) configured to execute the computer program to (paragraph [0062]): determine an actual capacity requirement (required capabilities Q21, Q22, and Q23 paragraph [0079] and step S12 of Fig. 3) and a target evaporation temperature (required evaporation temperatures Ter1, Ter2, and Ter3 paragraphs [0083] to [0084] and steps S14 or S15 Fig. 3) of each of a plurality of indoor units (indoor units 40, 50, and 60 Fig. 1) of a multi-split air conditioning system (air conditioning apparatus 10 Fig. 1); calculate a total capacity requirement (disclosed “operating capacity” of compressor 21 in paragraph [0086] and step S17 Fig. 3) of an outdoor unit of the multi-split air conditioning system (outdoor unit 20 Fig. 1) according to the actual capacity requirements of the plurality of indoor units (paragraphs [0083] to [0086]); determine an initial frequency (referring to paragraph [0055], compressor 21 is described as “a compressor of which the operating capacity can be varied”, therefore the initial frequency of compressor 21corresponds to the frequency associated with compressor 21 when its operating capacity is determined in step S17 as described in paragraph [0086]) of a compressor (compressor 21 Fig. 1) according to the total capacity requirement (paragraphs [0055] and [0086]); in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in an air blowing mode (disclosed “automatic-airflow-volume-control mode” and “constant-airflow-volume mode” in paragraph [0082] and step S13 Fig. 3): determine the target evaporation temperature corresponding to an indoor unit (any of indoor units 40, 50, or 60 Fig. 1) having a lowest dew point temperature (paragraph [0088] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that condensation occurs when a surface temperature is below the air dew point, therefore the indoor unit with the lowest evaporating temperature would correspond to the indoor unit with the lowest evaporator surface temperature and therefore the lowest dew point temperature) as a reference evaporation temperature (paragraph [0088]).
Kibo teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode: and adjust a frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature”.
However, Tsuji teaches in response to all indoor units (indoor units 4a, 4b, 4c Fig. 1 correspond to the indoor units of Kibo) operating in an air blowing mode (the illustrated “Air-Cooling Operation” in Fig. 6 corresponds to the air blowing mode of Kibo): adjust a frequency of a compressor (disclosed “rotation speed” of compressor 21 in paragraph [0106] where compressor 21 Fig. 1 corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) based on an initial frequency (paragraph [0106] and Fig. 7 where the frequency of compressor 21 prior to step ST3 corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) and according to temperature characteristic values (correspond to the evaporation temperatures associated to the respective air-cooling capacity request values
∆
Q
C
a
,
∆
Q
C
b
,
∆
Q
C
c
as described in paragraphs [0071] and [0106]) of evaporator coils of all the indoor units (indoor heat exchangers 42a, 42b, 42c Fig. 1 and paragraph [0033]) and a reference evaporation temperature (paragraph [0106] where the disclosed “target evaporation temperature Tes” corresponds to the reference evaporation temperature of Kibo) to keep a low compressor rotational speed (paragraph [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kibo to include “in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode: and adjust a frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature” in view of the teachings of Tsuji to keep a low compressor rotational speed.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “in response to not all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode, adjust the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold”.
However, Zhang teaches in response to not all indoor units (the disclosed “three indoor units” in paragraph [18] corresponds to the indoor units of Kibo) operating in an air blowing mode (understood to be when at least one of the three indoor units is not operating which is understood to be a case where
∆
E
=
0
as described in paragraph [30] and Fig. 3 with the disclosed “cooling mode” in paragraph [28] corresponding to the blowing mode of Kibo), adjust a frequency of a compressor (paragraph [37] where the disclosed “compressor” corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) based on an initial frequency (paragraph [27] and [37] where the disclosed “initial operating frequency” corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) and according to temperature characteristic values (the disclosed “original target evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] which is understood to be shared by all operating indoor units corresponds to the temperature characteristic values of Tsuji) of evaporator coils (a person skilled in the art would recognize that each indoor unit would be provided with an evaporator that would corresponds to the evaporator coils of Tsuji in order to evaporate the refrigerant) of all the indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold (disclosed “first preset evaporation temperature R” and “second preset evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] and Fig. 4) to ensure precise control of the system (paragraph [36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “in response to not all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode, adjust the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold” in view of the teachings of Zhang to ensure precise control of the system.
Regarding claim 27, Kibo teaches a multi-split air conditioning system (air conditioning apparatus 10 Fig. 1) comprising: an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 20 Fig. 1); a plurality of indoor units (indoor units 40, 50, and 60 Fig. 1); and a controller (operation control device 80 Fig. 2) including: a memory (memories 37b, 47c, 57c, and 67c Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062]) storing a computer program (disclosed “various data” in paragraph [0062]); and a processor (disclosed “microcomputer” in paragraphs [0051] and [0061]) configured to execute the computer program to (paragraph [0062]): determine an actual capacity requirement (required capabilities Q21, Q22, and Q23 paragraph [0079] and step S12 of Fig. 3) and a target evaporation temperature (required evaporation temperatures Ter1, Ter2, and Ter3 paragraphs [0083] to [0084] and steps S14 or S15 Fig. 3) of each of the plurality of indoor units (paragraphs [0083] to [0084]); calculate a total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit (disclosed “operating capacity” of compressor 21 in paragraph [0086] and step S17 Fig. 3) according to the actual capacity requirements of the plurality of indoor units (paragraphs [0083] to [0086]); determine an initial frequency (referring to paragraph [0055], compressor 21 is described as “a compressor of which the operating capacity can be varied”, therefore the initial frequency of compressor 21corresponds to the frequency associated with compressor 21 when its operating capacity is determined in step S17 as described in paragraph [0086]) of a compressor (compressor 21 Fig. 1) according to the total capacity requirement (paragraphs [0055] and [0086]); in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in an air blowing mode (disclosed “automatic-airflow-volume-control mode” and “constant-airflow-volume mode” in paragraph [0082] and step S13 Fig. 3): determine the target evaporation temperature corresponding to an indoor unit (any of indoor units 40, 50, or 60 Fig. 1) having a lowest dew point temperature (paragraph [0088] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that condensation occurs when a surface temperature is below the air dew point, therefore the indoor unit with the lowest evaporating temperature would correspond to the indoor unit with the lowest evaporator surface temperature and therefore the lowest dew point temperature) as a reference evaporation temperature (paragraph [0088]).
Kibo teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode: adjust a frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature”.
However, Tsuji teaches in response to all indoor units (indoor units 4a, 4b, 4c Fig. 1 correspond to the indoor units of Kibo) operating in an air blowing mode (the illustrated “Air-Cooling Operation” in Fig. 6 corresponds to the air blowing mode of Kibo): adjust a frequency of a compressor (disclosed “rotation speed” of compressor 21 in paragraph [0106] where compressor 21 Fig. 1 corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) based on an initial frequency (paragraph [0106] and Fig. 7 where the frequency of compressor 21 prior to step ST3 corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) and according to temperature characteristic values (correspond to the evaporation temperatures associated to the respective air-cooling capacity request values
∆
Q
C
a
,
∆
Q
C
b
,
∆
Q
C
c
as described in paragraphs [0071] and [0106]) of evaporator coils of all the indoor units (indoor heat exchangers 42a, 42b, 42c Fig. 1 and paragraph [0033]) and a reference evaporation temperature (paragraph [0106] where the disclosed “target evaporation temperature Tes” corresponds to the reference evaporation temperature of Kibo) to keep a low compressor rotational speed (paragraph [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Kibo to include “in response to all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode: adjust a frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature” in view of the teachings of Tsuji to keep a low compressor rotational speed.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “in response to not all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode, adjust the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold”.
However, Zhang teaches in response to not all indoor units (the disclosed “three indoor units” in paragraph [18] corresponds to the indoor units of Kibo) operating in an air blowing mode (understood to be when at least one of the three indoor units is not operating which is understood to be a case where
∆
E
=
0
as described in paragraph [30] and Fig. 3 with the disclosed “cooling mode” in paragraph [28] corresponding to the blowing mode of Kibo), adjust a frequency of a compressor (paragraph [37] where the disclosed “compressor” corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) based on an initial frequency (paragraph [27] and [37] where the disclosed “initial operating frequency” corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) and according to temperature characteristic values (the disclosed “original target evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] which is understood to be shared by all operating indoor units corresponds to the temperature characteristic values of Tsuji) of evaporator coils (a person skilled in the art would recognize that each indoor unit would be provided with an evaporator that would corresponds to the evaporator coils of Tsuji in order to evaporate the refrigerant) of all the indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold (disclosed “first preset evaporation temperature R” and “second preset evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] and Fig. 4) to ensure precise control of the system (paragraph [36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “in response to not all the plurality of indoor units operating in the air blowing mode, adjust the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and a preset evaporation temperature threshold” in view of the teachings of Zhang to ensure precise control of the system.
Regarding claims 15 and 28, the combined teachings teach wherein for each indoor unit, the actual capacity requirement (the disclosed “capacity requirements of the indoor unit” in step S104 of Zhang corresponds to the actual capacity requirement of Kibo) is determined according to a required refrigeration capacity value (capacity requirement coefficient K in step S103 and Fig. 3 of Zhang), a rated cooling capacity (disclosed “nominal capacity” in step S104 of Zhang), a fan speed (disclosed “indoor fan airflow volumes Ga1, Ga2, and Ga3” in paragraph [0077] of Kibo), and an operation mode of the indoor unit (disclosed “cooling mode” in paragraph [28] of Zhang), the required refrigeration capacity value is determined according to an indoor temperature (paragraph [30] and Fig. 3 of Zhang) and a set temperature (paragraph [30] and Fig. 3 of Zhang) corresponding to the indoor unit (paragraph [30] and Fig. 3 of Zhang), and the operation mode is a regular cooling mode (disclosed “cooling mode” in paragraph [28] of Zhang).
Regarding claim 25, the combined teachings teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (memories 37b, 47c, 57c, and 67c Fig. 2 and paragraph [0062] of Kibo) storing computer-executable instructions (disclosed “various data” in paragraph [0062] of Kibo) that, when executed by a processor (disclosed “microcomputer” in paragraphs [0051] and [0061] of Kibo), cause the processor to perform the method (paragraph [0062] of Kibo).
Claims 17-18 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibo in view of Tsuji and Zhang as applied to claims 14 and 27 above, and further in view of Hou et al. (CN106352484A, herein after referred to as Hou).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein determining the initial frequency includes: rounding the total capacity requirement as a frequency level of the compressor; and determining a frequency value corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency”.
However, Hou teaches wherein determining an initial frequency (the operating frequency obtained from the method described in paragraph [79] corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) includes: rounding a total capacity requirement (paragraph [79] where correction value P corresponds to the total capacity requirement of Kibo) as a frequency level of a compressor (disclosed “frequency sequence” in paragraph [79]); and determining a frequency value (understood to be the disclosed “compressor's operating frequency corresponding to that frequency sequence value” in paragraph [79]) corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency (paragraph [79]) to provide a system with better energy efficiency (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein determining the initial frequency includes: rounding the total capacity requirement as a frequency level of the compressor; and determining a frequency value corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency” in view of the teachings of Hou to provide a system with better energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein determining the frequency value corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency includes: dividing a frequency range (disclosed “1-100Hz” in paragraph [79] of Hou) from a maximum frequency value (disclosed “100Hz” in paragraph [79] of Hou) to a minimum frequency value of the compressor (disclosed “1Hz” in paragraph [79] of Hou) into a plurality of frequency levels (disclosed “frequency sequences of 1-50” in paragraph [79] of Hou) according to a preset frequency interval (corresponds to the preset frequency interval associated with the disclosed “mapping relationship” in paragraph [79] of Hou]); and calculating the initial frequency according to a result of the rounding (floor function Fr in paragraph [79] of Hou), the preset frequency interval, and the minimum frequency value (paragraph [79] of Hou).
Regarding claim 30, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, when determining the initial frequency: round the total capacity requirement as a frequency level of the compressor; and determine a frequency value corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency”.
However, Hou teaches wherein a processor (the disclosed “controller” in paragraph [21] corresponds to the processor of Kibo) is further configured to execute a computer program (the steps illustrated in Figs. 1-2 correspond to the computer program of Kibo) to, when determining an initial frequency (the operating frequency obtained from the method described in paragraph [79] corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo): round a total capacity requirement (paragraph [79] where correction value P corresponds to the total capacity requirement of Kibo) as a frequency level of a compressor (disclosed “frequency sequence” in paragraph [79]); and determine a frequency value (understood to be the disclosed “compressor's operating frequency corresponding to that frequency sequence value” in paragraph [79]) corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency (paragraph [79]) to provide a system with better energy efficiency (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, when determining the initial frequency: round the total capacity requirement as a frequency level of the compressor; and determine a frequency value corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency” in view of the teachings of Hou to provide a system with better energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 31, the combined teachings teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, when determining the frequency value corresponding to the frequency level as the initial frequency includes (paragraph [79] and Figs. 1-2 of Hou): divide a frequency range (disclosed “1-100Hz” in paragraph [79] of Hou) from a maximum frequency value (disclosed “100Hz” in paragraph [79] of Hou) to a minimum frequency value of the compressor (disclosed “1Hz” in paragraph [79] of Hou) into a plurality of frequency levels (disclosed “frequency sequences of 1-50” in paragraph [79] of Hou) according to a preset frequency interval (corresponds to the preset frequency interval associated with the disclosed “mapping relationship” in paragraph [79] of Hou]); and calculate the initial frequency according to a result of the rounding (floor function Fr in paragraph [79] of Hou), the preset frequency interval, and the minimum frequency value (paragraph [79] of Hou).
Claims 19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibo in view of Tsuji and Zhang as applied to claims 14 and 27 above, and further in view of Cho et al. (US 20180209683 A1, herein after referred to as Cho).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach wherein the air blowing mode includes a breezeless mode (disclosed “low airflow” in paragraph [0050] of Kibo), a gentle breeze mode (disclosed “medium airflow” in paragraph [0050] of Kibo), or an anti-direct blowing mode (disclosed “high airflow” in paragraph [0050] of Kibo).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method further comprising, for one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units: during acquisition of the actual capacity requirement of the one indoor unit, receiving a mode flag bit sent by the one indoor unit, the mode flag bit indicating to turn on the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode for the one indoor unit; and after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated, returning an executable mode flag bit to the one indoor unit according to the mode flag bit and an operation status of the compressor, the executable mode flag bit being configured to instruct the one indoor unit to execute the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode”.
However, Cho teaches a method (the disclosed “controlling method” in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the method of Kibo) further comprising, for one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units (indoor unit 100 Fig. 5 corresponds to the one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units of Kibo): during acquisition of an actual capacity requirement of the one indoor unit (understood to be when determining the “difference between a correction temperature in the sleep mode and the set temperature” as described in paragraph [0095]), receiving a mode flag bit (corresponds to the disclosed transmitted “operation command for the compressor” in paragraph [0095] which is understood to control the rotation speed of blower fan 120 Fig. 2 as described in paragraph [0096]) sent by the one indoor unit (paragraphs [0095] and [0096]), the mode flag bit indicating to turn on a breezeless mode (paragraph [0096] where the mode in which the rotation speed of blower fan 120 Fig. 2 is reduced corresponds to the breezeless mode of Kibo), or an anti-direct blowing mode (paragraph [0096] where the mode in which the rotation speed of blower fan 120 Fig. 2 is increased corresponds to the anti-direct blowing mode of Kibo) for the one indoor unit (paragraph [0096]); and after a total capacity requirement (the disclosed transmitted “operation command for the compressor” in paragraph [0095] would include the calculated capacity requirement of the compressor of outdoor unit 200 Fig. 1) of an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 200 Fig. 1 corresponds to the outdoor unit of Kibo) is calculated (paragraph [0095]), returning an executable mode flag bit (corresponds to the disclosed received “operation information of the compressor” in paragraph [0096]) to the one indoor unit according to the mode flag bit (paragraphs [0095] and [0096]) and an operation status of the compressor (paragraph [0095]), the executable mode flag bit being configured to instruct the one indoor unit to execute the breezeless mode or the anti-direct blowing mode (paragraphs [0095] and [0096]) to maintain the temperature stratification generated in the air conditioning area for a long period of time (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method further comprising, for one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units: during acquisition of the actual capacity requirement of the one indoor unit, receiving a mode flag bit sent by the one indoor unit, the mode flag bit indicating to turn on the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode for the one indoor unit; and after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated, returning an executable mode flag bit to the one indoor unit according to the mode flag bit and an operation status of the compressor, the executable mode flag bit being configured to instruct the one indoor unit to execute the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode” in view of the teachings of Cho to maintain the temperature stratification generated in the air conditioning area for a long period of time.
Regarding claim 32, the combined teachings teach wherein the air blowing mode includes a breezeless mode (disclosed “low airflow” in paragraph [0050] of Kibo), a gentle breeze mode (disclosed “medium airflow” in paragraph [0050] of Kibo), or an anti-direct blowing mode (disclosed “high airflow” in paragraph [0050] of Kibo).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, for one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units: during acquisition of the actual capacity requirement of the one indoor unit, receive a mode flag bit sent by the one indoor unit, the mode flag bit indicating to turn on the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode for the one indoor unit; and after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated, return an executable mode flag bit to the one indoor unit according to the mode flag bit and an operation status of the compressor, the executable mode flag bit being configured to instruct the one indoor unit to execute the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode”.
However, Cho teaches a processor (processor 140 Fig. 2 corresponds to the processor of Kibo) is further configured to execute a computer program (paragraph [0091] where the disclosed “programs” corresponds to the computer program of Kibo) to, for one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units (indoor unit 100 Fig. 5 corresponds to the one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units of Kibo): during acquisition of an actual capacity requirement of the one indoor unit (understood to be when determining the “difference between a correction temperature in the sleep mode and the set temperature” as described in paragraph [0095]), receive a mode flag bit (corresponds to the disclosed transmitted “operation command for the compressor” in paragraph [0095] which is understood to control the rotation speed of blower fan 120 Fig. 2 as described in paragraph [0096]) sent by the one indoor unit (paragraphs [0095] and [0096]), the mode flag bit indicating to turn on a breezeless mode (paragraph [0096] where the mode in which the rotation speed of blower fan 120 Fig. 2 is reduced corresponds to the breezeless mode of Kibo), or an anti-direct blowing mode (paragraph [0096] where the mode in which the rotation speed of blower fan 120 Fig. 2 is increased corresponds to the anti-direct blowing mode of Kibo) for the one indoor unit (paragraph [0096]); and after a total capacity requirement (the disclosed transmitted “operation command for the compressor” in paragraph [0095] would include the calculated capacity requirement of the compressor of outdoor unit 200 Fig. 1) of an outdoor unit (outdoor unit 200 Fig. 1 corresponds to the outdoor unit of Kibo) is calculated (paragraph [0095]), return an executable mode flag bit (corresponds to the disclosed received “operation information of the compressor” in paragraph [0096]) to the one indoor unit according to the mode flag bit (paragraphs [0095] and [0096]) and an operation status of the compressor (paragraph [0095]), the executable mode flag bit being configured to instruct the one indoor unit to execute the breezeless mode or the anti-direct blowing mode (paragraphs [0095] and [0096]) to maintain the temperature stratification generated in the air conditioning area for a long period of time (paragraph [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, for one indoor unit of the plurality of indoor units: during acquisition of the actual capacity requirement of the one indoor unit, receive a mode flag bit sent by the one indoor unit, the mode flag bit indicating to turn on the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode for the one indoor unit; and after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated, return an executable mode flag bit to the one indoor unit according to the mode flag bit and an operation status of the compressor, the executable mode flag bit being configured to instruct the one indoor unit to execute the breezeless mode, the gentle breeze mode, or the anti-direct blowing mode” in view of the teachings of Cho to maintain the temperature stratification generated in the air conditioning area for a long period of time.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibo in view of Tsuji and Zhang as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yabuta et al (US 20150013365 A1, herein after referred to as Yabuta) and An et al. (US 20210071923 A1, herein after referred to as An).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teachings teach wherein: the preset evaporation temperature threshold is one of a first temperature threshold (first preset evaporation temperature R Fig. 4 of Zhang) and a second temperature threshold (disclosed “second preset evaporation temperature” in paragraph [37] and illustrated as having a value of
12
0
C
in Fig. 4 of Zhang) greater than the first temperature threshold (paragraph [37] and Fig. 4 of Zhang).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “determining an average temperature characteristic value according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units”.
However, Yabuta teaches determining an average temperature characteristic value (disclosed “average” of the suction temperatures in paragraph [0095]) according to temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils (paragraph [0095] where the disclosed “suction temperature” of sensors 19 correspond to the temperature characteristic values of evaporator coils of Tsuji) of all plurality of indoor units (paragraphs [0094] and [0095] where the disclosed “plurality of indoor units 1” corresponds to the plurality of indoor units of Kibo) to reduce the difference between a set temperature and the temperature of an air-conditioned space (paragraph [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “determining an average temperature characteristic value according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units” in view of the teachings of Yabuta to reduce the difference between a set temperature and the temperature of an air-conditioned space.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method includes: increasing the frequency of the compressor to be greater than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being greater than the second temperature threshold; reducing the frequency of the compressor to be less than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being less than the first temperature threshold; and maintaining the frequency of the compressor unchanged in response to the average temperature characteristic value being between the first temperature threshold and the second temperature threshold”.
However, An teaches a method (the method illustrated in Fig. 3 corresponds to the method of Kibo) includes: increasing a frequency (paragraph [0048] where the disclosed “frequency” corresponds to the frequency of Kibo) of a compressor (paragraph [0048] where the disclosed “compressor” corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) to be greater than an initial frequency (paragraphs [0039] and [0048] where the frequency associated with the disclosed “maximum capacity” corresponds to the initial frequency of Kibo) in response to an average temperature characteristic value (paragraph [0048] where suction temperature TS corresponds to the average temperature characteristic value of Yabuta) being greater than a second temperature threshold (paragraph [0048] where
8
0
C
corresponds to the second temperature threshold of Zhang); reducing the frequency of the compressor to be less than the initial frequency (paragraph [0048]) in response to the average temperature characteristic value being less than a first temperature threshold (paragraph [0048] where
2
0
C
corresponds to the first temperature threshold of Zhang); and maintaining the frequency of the compressor unchanged in response to the average temperature characteristic value being between the first temperature threshold and the second temperature threshold (paragraph [0048]) to prevent poor cooling effect of the air conditioner (paragraph [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method includes: increasing the frequency of the compressor to be greater than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being greater than the second temperature threshold; reducing the frequency of the compressor to be less than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being less than the first temperature threshold; and maintaining the frequency of the compressor unchanged in response to the average temperature characteristic value being between the first temperature threshold and the second temperature threshold” in view of the teachings of An to prevent poor cooling effect of the air conditioner.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kibo in view of Tsuji, Zhang, Yabuta, and An as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Hou.
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein: a frequency range from a maximum frequency value to a minimum frequency value of the compressor is divided into a plurality of frequency levels according to a preset frequency interval; and the frequency of the compressor is increased or reduced by one or more frequency levels each time”.
However, Hou teaches wherein: a frequency range (disclosed “1-100Hz” in paragraph [79]) from a maximum frequency value (disclosed “100Hz” in paragraph [79]) to a minimum frequency value (disclosed “1Hz” in paragraph [79]) of a compressor (paragraph [79] where the disclosed “compressor” corresponds to the compressor of Kibo) is divided into a plurality of frequency levels (disclosed “frequency sequences of 1-50” in paragraph [79]) according to a preset frequency interval (corresponds to the preset frequency interval associated with the disclosed “mapping relationship” in paragraph [79]]); and the frequency of the compressor is increased or reduced by one or more frequency levels each time (paragraph [79] where the frequency is understood to be increased or reduced by one or more frequency levels since a rounding function is used to determine the frequency level) to provide a system with better energy efficiency (paragraph [80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “wherein: a frequency range from a maximum frequency value to a minimum frequency value of the compressor is divided into a plurality of frequency levels according to a preset frequency interval; and the frequency of the compressor is increased or reduced by one or more frequency levels each time” in view of the teachings of Hou to provide a system with better energy efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 20-22, 29, and 33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 16 and 29, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein for each indoor unit, the target evaporation temperature is determined according to a dew point temperature of the indoor unit, a heat transfer temperature difference correction parameter, and a mode correction parameter corresponding to the air blowing mode, and the dew point temperature is determined according to an indoor humidity and an indoor temperature that correspond to the indoor unit”.
The closet prior art reference, Dai et al. (CN113418245A, herein after referred to as Dai), teaches “wherein for each indoor unit (the disclosed “evaporator” of air conditioner 200 Fig. 1 in paragraph [26] corresponds to each indoor unit of Kibo), a target evaporation temperature (target evaporation temperature T1 in paragraph [52] corresponds to the target evaporation temperature of Kibo) is determined according to a dew point temperature of the indoor unit (dew point temperature T2 paragraph [52]), and the dew point temperature is determined according to an indoor humidity (disclosed “set humidity” in paragraph [53]) and an indoor temperature (disclosed “set temperature” in paragraph [53]) that correspond to the indoor unit (paragraph [53]) to provide better dehumidification capabilities for the system”.
However, the reference fails to disclose, suggest or teach “wherein for each indoor unit, the target evaporation temperature is determined according to a heat transfer temperature difference correction parameter, and a mode correction parameter corresponding to the air blowing mode”.
Therefore, claims 16 and 29 are considered allowable.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “further comprising, after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated: recording a continuous operating duration of the compressor; determining that not all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being less than or equal to a preset time or one or more of the plurality of indoor units operating in a regular cooling mode; and determining that all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being greater than the preset time and each of the indoor units including the mode flag bit”.
The closet prior art references Kibo (US 20160252284 A1), Tsuji (US 20180274836 A1), Zhang (WO2021223616A1), and Cho et al. (US 20180209683 A1), teach “further comprising, after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated: determining that not all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to one or more of the plurality of indoor units operating in a regular cooling mode”.
However, the references fail to disclose, suggest or teach “further comprising, after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated: recording a continuous operating duration of the compressor; determining that not all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being less than or equal to a preset time; and determining that all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being greater than the preset time and each of the indoor units including the mode flag bit”.
Therefore, claim 20 is considered allowable.
Regarding claim 21, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein adjusting the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature includes: determining an average temperature characteristic value according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units; determining a first evaporation temperature and a second evaporation temperature greater than the first evaporation temperature according to the reference evaporation temperature and a correction temperature; increasing the frequency of the compressor to be greater than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being greater than the second evaporation temperature; reducing the frequency of the compressor to be less than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being less than the first evaporation temperature; and maintaining the frequency of the compressor unchanged in response to the average temperature characteristic value being between the first evaporation temperature and the second evaporation temperature”.
The closet prior art references Kibo (US 20160252284 A1), Tsuji (US 20180274836 A1), and Zhang (WO2021223616A1), teach “adjusting the frequency of the compressor based on the initial frequency and according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units and the reference evaporation temperature”.
However, the references fail to disclose, suggest or teach “determining an average temperature characteristic value according to the temperature characteristic values of the evaporator coils of all the plurality of indoor units; determining a first evaporation temperature and a second evaporation temperature greater than the first evaporation temperature according to the reference evaporation temperature and a correction temperature; increasing the frequency of the compressor to be greater than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being greater than the second evaporation temperature; reducing the frequency of the compressor to be less than the initial frequency in response to the average temperature characteristic value being less than the first evaporation temperature; and maintaining the frequency of the compressor unchanged in response to the average temperature characteristic value being between the first evaporation temperature and the second evaporation temperature”.
Therefore, claim 21 with dependent claim therefrom (claim 22) are considered allowable.
Regarding claim 33, the prior art of record when consider as a whole, alone or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated: record a continuous operating duration of the compressor; determine that not all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being less than or equal to a preset time or one or more of the plurality of indoor units operating in a regular cooling mode; and determine that all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being greater than the preset time and each of the indoor units including the mode flag bit”.
The closet prior art references Kibo (US 20160252284 A1), Tsuji (US 20180274836 A1), Zhang (WO2021223616A1), and Cho et al. (US 20180209683 A1), teach “wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated: determine that not all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to one or more of the plurality of indoor units operating in a regular cooling mode”.
However, the references fail to disclose, suggest or teach “wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to, after the total capacity requirement of the outdoor unit is calculated: record a continuous operating duration of the compressor; determine that not all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being less than or equal to a preset time; and determine that all the plurality of indoor units operate in the air blowing mode in response to the continuous operating duration being greater than the preset time and each of the indoor units including the mode flag bit”.
Therefore, claim 33 is considered allowable.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763