DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the first economizer is configured to discharge the first liquid working fluid flow to the second economizer” which renders the claim indefinite in view of independent claim 1. Claim 1 from which claim 10 depends recites “the first compressor stage is configured to receive the second vapor working fluid flow from the second economizer via the second inlet”. Therefore, referring to the drawings (Fig. 5 for example), Applicant disclosed “second economizer” in claim 1 is referencing the economizer labeled “Economizer 3” in the drawings. As such and still referring to the drawings, it is then unclear how the first economizer is “configured to discharge the first liquid working fluid flow to the second economizer” when there is an economizer connected between the “first economizer” and the “second economizer”. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a third vapor working fluid flow … a first working fluid flow” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it seems to indicate that the disclosed “third vapor working fluid flow” and “first working fluid flow” are referencing separate and distinct flows. However, referring to the drawings and specification, it is unclear how those two flows are separate and distinct from each other. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a second vapor working fluid flow … a second working fluid flow” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it seems to indicate that the disclosed “second vapor working fluid flow” and “second working fluid flow” are referencing separate and distinct flows. However, referring to the drawings and specification, it is unclear how those two flows are separate and distinct from each other. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “a first vapor working fluid flow … a third working fluid flow” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it seems to indicate that the disclosed “first vapor working fluid flow” and “third working fluid flow” are referencing separate and distinct flows. However, referring to the drawings and specification, it is unclear how those two flows are separate and distinct from each other. More clarity is requested.
Claims 12-14 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukuda et al. (US 20230015175 A1, herein after referred to as Fukuda).
Regarding claim 1, Fukuda teaches a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system (refrigeration apparatus 100 Fig. 26) configured to circulate a working fluid (corresponds to the disclosed “fluid” that is circulated as described in paragraph [0148]) therethrough (paragraph [0148]), wherein the HVAC&R system comprises: an economizer system (economizer circuit 110 Fig. 26) comprising a first economizer (second economizer circuit 112 Fig. 26) and a second economizer (first economizer circuit 111 Fig. 26), wherein the first economizer is configured to reduce a first pressure of the working fluid (referring to paragraph [0155], a person skilled in the art would recognize that the refrigerant flowing into branch passage 115 of second economizer circuit 112 would go through a pressure reduction due to the use of electronic expansion valve 117) in the first economizer to provide a first vapor working fluid flow (paragraph [0156] where it is disclosed that the liquid refrigerant flowing through branch passage 115 of second economizer circuit 112 evaporates after passing through heat exchange section 116), and the second economizer is configured to reduce a second pressure of the working fluid (referring to paragraph [0152], a person skilled in the art would recognize that the refrigerant flowing into branch passage 115 of first economizer circuit 111 would go through a pressure reduction due to the use of electronic expansion valve 117) in the second economizer to provide a second vapor working fluid flow (paragraph [0153] where it is disclosed that the liquid refrigerant flowing through branch passage 115 of first economizer circuit 111 evaporates after passing through heat exchange section 116); and a compressor system (screw compressor 1 Fig. 26), comprising: a first compressor stage (first compression chamber 24 Fig. 3) comprising a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda) and a second inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda), wherein the first compressor stage is configured to receive the second vapor working fluid flow from the second economizer via the second inlet (Fig. 26 and paragraph [0153]), and the first compressor stage is configured to receive an additional working fluid flow (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of evaporator 104 Fig. 26), separate from the second vapor working fluid flow, via the first inlet (Fig. 26); and a second compressor stage (compression chamber 25 Fig. 3) comprising a third inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda), wherein the second compressor stage is configured to receive the first vapor working fluid flow from the first economizer via the third inlet (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 3, Fukuda teaches wherein the first compressor stage is configured to pressurize the second vapor working fluid flow and the additional working fluid flow for discharge as a pressurized working fluid flow (corresponds to the “low-stage discharge” fluid Fig. 26) to the second compressor stage (Fig. 26), and the second compressor stage is configured to receive the pressurized working fluid flow from the first compressor stage via a fourth inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda).
Regarding claim 4, Fukuda teaches wherein the second compressor stage is configured to pressurize the first vapor working fluid flow and the pressurized working fluid flow (Fig. 26) for discharge to a condenser (condenser 102 Fig. 26) for cooling via the condenser (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 5, Fukuda teaches wherein the economizer system comprises a third economizer (third economizer circuit 113 Fig. 26) configured to reduce a third pressure of the working fluid (referring to paragraph [0158], a person skilled in the art would recognize that the refrigerant flowing into branch passage 115 of third economizer circuit 113 would go through a pressure reduction due to the use of electronic expansion valve 117) in the third economizer to provide a third vapor working fluid flow (paragraph [0159] where it is disclosed that the liquid refrigerant flowing through branch passage 115 of third economizer circuit 113 evaporates after passing through heat exchange section 116), and the second compressor stage is configured to receive the third vapor working fluid flow from the third economizer via the fourth inlet (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 6, Fukuda teaches wherein the second compressor stage is configured to receive the pressurized working fluid flow and the third vapor working fluid flow via the fourth inlet as a combined working fluid flow (Fig. 26 and paragraph [0157]).
Regarding claim 7, Fukuda teaches comprising a condenser (condenser 102 Fig. 26) configured to cool the working fluid (Fig. 26), wherein the economizer system is configured to receive the working fluid from the condenser (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 10, and due to indefiniteness, Fukuda teaches wherein the first economizer is configured to reduce the pressure of the working fluid in the first economizer to provide a first liquid working fluid flow (corresponds to the “liquid refrigerant” flowing out of the portion of refrigerant pipe 101a of second economizer circuit 112 as described in paragraph [0156]) and the first vapor working fluid flow (corresponds to the evaporated refrigerant flowing in branch 115 of second economizer circuit 112 as described in paragraph [0156]), the first economizer is configured to discharge the first liquid working fluid flow to the second economizer (Fig. 26), and the second economizer is configured to reduce the pressure of the first liquid working fluid flow in the second economizer to provide a second liquid working fluid flow (corresponds to the “liquid refrigerant” flowing out of the portion of refrigerant pipe 101a of first economizer circuit 111 as described in paragraph [0153]) and the second vapor working fluid flow (corresponds to the evaporated refrigerant flowing in branch 115 of first economizer circuit 111 as described in paragraph [0153]).
Regarding claim 15, Fukuda teaches a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system (refrigeration apparatus 100 Fig. 26) configured to circulate a working fluid (corresponds to the disclosed “fluid” that is circulated as described in paragraph [0148]) therethrough (paragraph [0148]), wherein the HVAC&R system comprises: an economizer system (economizer circuit 110 Fig. 26) comprising one or more economizers (Fig. 26) configured to reduce a pressure of the working fluid (paragraphs [0152], [0155], and [0158]) in the one or more economizers to provide one or more vapor working fluid flows (paragraphs [0153], [0156], and [0159]); and a compressor system (screw compressor 1 Fig. 26), comprising: a first compressor stage (first compression chamber 24 Fig. 3) comprising a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda) and a second inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda), wherein the first compressor stage is configured to receive a first vapor working fluid flow of the one or more vapor working fluid flows (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of branch 115 of first economizer circuit 111 Fig. 26) via the second inlet (Fig. 26), and the first compressor stage is configured to receive an additional working fluid flow (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of evaporator 104 Fig. 26), separate from the first vapor working fluid flow (Fig. 26), via the first inlet (Fig. 26); and a second compressor stage (compression chamber 25 Fig. 3) comprising a third inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26), wherein the second compressor stage is configured to receive a second vapor working fluid flow of the one or more vapor working fluid flows (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of branch 115 of second economizer circuit 112 Fig. 26) via the third inlet (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 16, Fukuda teaches wherein the second compressor stage comprises a fourth inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda), wherein the first compressor stage is configured to discharge the first vapor working fluid flow and the additional working fluid flow as a pressurized working fluid flow (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda), and wherein the second compressor stage is configured to receive the pressurized working fluid flow via the fourth inlet (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 17, Fukuda teaches wherein the second compressor stage is configured to receive the pressurized working fluid flow and a third vapor working fluid flow of the one or more vapor working fluid flows (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of branch 115 of third economizer circuit 113 Fig. 26) via the fourth inlet as a combined working fluid flow (Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 18, Fukuda teaches wherein a first economizer of the one or more economizers (first economizer circuit 111 Fig. 26) is configured to provide the first vapor working fluid flow (Fig. 26), a second economizer of the one or more economizers (second economizer circuit 112 Fig. 26) is configured to provide the second vapor working fluid flow (Fig. 26), and a third economizer of the one or more economizers (third economizer circuit 113 Fig. 26) is configured to provide the third vapor working fluid flow (Fig. 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11, 13-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda in view of Nickey et al. (US 20110192188 A1, herein after referred to as Nickey).
Regarding claim 2, Fukuda teaches comprising an evaporator (evaporator 104 Fig. 26), and the additional working fluid flow is received from the evaporator (Fig. 26).
Fukuda teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the evaporator configured to place the working fluid in a heat exchange relationship with a cooling fluid”.
However, Nickey teaches an evaporator (evaporator 48 Fig. 8 corresponds to the evaporator of Fukuda) configured to place a working fluid (the disclosed “liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [0032] corresponds to the working fluid of Fukuda) in a heat exchange relationship (paragraph [0032]) with a cooling fluid (disclosed “process fluid” in paragraph [0032]) to use the cooling fluid to cool an enclosed space (paragraph [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Fukuda to include “the evaporator configured to place the working fluid in a heat exchange relationship with a cooling fluid” in view of the teachings of Nickey to use the cooling fluid to cool an enclosed space.
Regarding claim 11, Fukuda teaches a vapor compression system (refrigeration apparatus 100 Fig. 26), wherein the vapor compression system is configured to circulate a working fluid (corresponds to the disclosed “fluid” that is circulated as described in paragraph [0148]) therethrough (paragraph [0148]), and the vapor compression system comprises: a first economizer (second economizer circuit 112 Fig. 26) configured to reduce a first pressure of the working fluid (referring to paragraph [0155], a person skilled in the art would recognize that the refrigerant flowing into branch passage 115 of second economizer circuit 112 would go through a pressure reduction due to the use of electronic expansion valve 117) in the first economizer to provide a first vapor working fluid flow (paragraph [0156] where it is disclosed that the liquid refrigerant flowing through branch passage 115 of second economizer circuit 112 evaporates after passing through heat exchange section 116); a second economizer (first economizer circuit 111 Fig. 26) configured to reduce a second pressure of the working fluid (referring to paragraph [0152], a person skilled in the art would recognize that the refrigerant flowing into branch passage 115 of first economizer circuit 111 would go through a pressure reduction due to the use of electronic expansion valve 117) in the second economizer to provide a second vapor working fluid flow (paragraph [0153] where it is disclosed that the liquid refrigerant flowing through branch passage 115 of first economizer circuit 111 evaporates after passing through heat exchange section 116); an evaporator (evaporator 104 Fig. 26) configured to provide a third vapor working fluid flow (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of evaporator 104 Fig. 26); and a compressor system (screw compressor 1 Fig. 26), comprising: a first compressor stage (first compression chamber 24 Fig. 3) comprising a first inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda) and a second inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda), wherein the first inlet is configured to receive a first working fluid flow (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of evaporator 104 Fig. 26), and the second inlet is configured to receive a second working fluid flow (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of branch 115 of first economizer circuit 111 Fig. 26), separate from the first working fluid flow (Fig. 26); and a second compressor stage (compression chamber 25 Fig. 3) comprising a third inlet (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Fukuda) configured to receive a third working fluid flow (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing out of branch 115 of second economizer circuit 112 Fig. 26), wherein each of the first working fluid flow, the second working fluid flow, and the third working fluid flow comprises a different one of the first vapor working fluid flow, the second vapor working fluid flow, and the third vapor working fluid flow (Fig. 26 where all flows are distinct from one another).
Fukuda teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the vapor compression system for a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system; the evaporator configured to place the working fluid in the evaporator in a heat exchange relationship with a cooling fluid”.
However, Nickey teaches a vapor compression system (the system illustrated in Fig. 8 corresponds to the vapor compression system of Fukuda) for a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system (HVAC&R system 10 Fig. 1); an evaporator (evaporator 48 Fig. 8 corresponds to the evaporator of Fukuda) configured to place a working fluid (the disclosed “liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [0032] corresponds to the working fluid of Fukuda) in the evaporator (Fig. 8) in a heat exchange relationship (paragraph [0032]) with a cooling fluid (disclosed “process fluid” in paragraph [0032]) to use the cooling fluid to cool an enclosed space (paragraph [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Fukuda to include “the vapor compression system for a heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVAC&R) system; the evaporator configured to place the working fluid in the evaporator in a heat exchange relationship with a cooling fluid” in view of the teachings of Nickey to use the cooling fluid to cool an enclosed space.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the first compressor stage is configured to receive the third vapor working fluid flow from the evaporator as the first working fluid flow via the first inlet (Fig. 26 of Fukuda) and configured to separately receive the second vapor working fluid flow from the second economizer as the second working fluid flow via the second inlet (Fig. 26 of Fukuda), and wherein the second compressor stage is configured to receive the first vapor working fluid flow from the first economizer as the third working fluid flow via the third inlet (Fig. 26 of Fukuda).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach comprising a condenser (condenser 102 Fig. 26 of Fukuda) configured to cool the working fluid (Fig. 26 of Fukuda), wherein the first economizer is configured to receive the working fluid from the condenser (Fig. 26 of Fukuda).
Regarding claim 19, Fukuda teaches comprising: a condenser (condenser 102 Fig. 26) configured to cool the working fluid (Fig. 26), wherein the economizer system is configured to receive the working fluid from the condenser (Fig. 26); and an evaporator (evaporator 104 Fig. 26), wherein the first compressor stage is configured to receive the additional working fluid flow from the evaporator (Fig. 26).
Fukuda teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the evaporator configured to place the working fluid in a heat exchange relationship with a cooling fluid”.
However, Nickey teaches an evaporator (evaporator 48 Fig. 8 corresponds to the evaporator of Fukuda) configured to place a working fluid (the disclosed “liquid refrigerant” in paragraph [0032] corresponds to the working fluid of Fukuda) in a heat exchange relationship (paragraph [0032]) with a cooling fluid (disclosed “process fluid” in paragraph [0032]) to use the cooling fluid to cool an enclosed space (paragraph [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Fukuda to include “the evaporator configured to place the working fluid in a heat exchange relationship with a cooling fluid” in view of the teachings of Nickey to use the cooling fluid to cool an enclosed space.
Claim(s) 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Bae et al. (US 20200400160 A1, herein after referred to as Bae).
Regarding claim 8, Fukuda teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and the first impeller and the second impeller are attached to a common shaft”.
However, Bae teaches wherein a first compressor stage (the disclosed “first-stage side” in paragraph [0101] corresponds to the first compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a first impeller (first impeller 230 Fig. 3), a second compressor stage (the disclosed “second-stage side” in paragraph [0101] corresponds to the second compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a second impeller (first impeller 240 Fig. 3), and the first impeller and the second impeller are attached to a common shaft (driving shaft 210 Fig. 3) to provide a compressor in which the refrigerant is compressed and discharged by converting kinetic energy of the refrigerant into static pressure energy through a rotation body such as an impeller or a blade (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Fukuda to include “wherein the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and the first impeller and the second impeller are attached to a common shaft” in view of the teachings of Bae to provide a compressor in which the refrigerant is compressed and discharged by converting kinetic energy of the refrigerant into static pressure energy through a rotation body such as an impeller or a blade.
Regarding claim 20, Fukuda teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and wherein the first impeller and the second impeller are coupled to a common shaft”.
However, Bae teaches wherein a first compressor stage (the disclosed “first-stage side” in paragraph [0101] corresponds to the first compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a first impeller (first impeller 230 Fig. 3), a second compressor stage (the disclosed “second-stage side” in paragraph [0101] corresponds to the second compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a second impeller (first impeller 240 Fig. 3), and wherein the first impeller and the second impeller are coupled to a common shaft (driving shaft 210 Fig. 3) to provide a compressor in which the refrigerant is compressed and discharged by converting kinetic energy of the refrigerant into static pressure energy through a rotation body such as an impeller or a blade (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Fukuda to include “wherein the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and wherein the first impeller and the second impeller are coupled to a common shaft” in view of the teachings of Bae to provide a compressor in which the refrigerant is compressed and discharged by converting kinetic energy of the refrigerant into static pressure energy through a rotation body such as an impeller or a blade.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson et al. (US 20180073779 A1, herein after referred to as Johnson).
Regarding claim 9, Fukuda teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and the first impeller and the second impeller are attached to separate shafts”.
However, Johnson teaches wherein a first compressor stage (first stage 23a Fig. 1 corresponds to the first compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a first impeller (first impeller 34a Fig. 5), a second compressor stage (second stage 23b Fig. 1 corresponds to the second compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a second impeller (second impeller 34b Fig. 5), and the first impeller and the second impeller are attached to separate shafts (first shaft 42a and second shaft 42b Fig. 5) to provide a compressor where the rotation speeds of the first and second impeller are independently variable (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Fukuda to include “wherein the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and the first impeller and the second impeller are attached to separate shafts” in view of the teachings of Johnson to provide a compressor where the rotation speeds of the first and second impeller are independently variable.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda in view of Nickey as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Johnson.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein each of the first compressor stage and the second compressor stage is a single stage economized compressor (Fig. 3 and 26 of Fukuda).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and the first impeller and the second impeller are coupled to different shafts”.
However, Johnson teaches a first compressor stage (first stage 23a Fig. 1 corresponds to the first compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a first impeller (first impeller 34a Fig. 5), a second compressor stage (second stage 23b Fig. 1 corresponds to the second compressor stage of Fukuda) comprises a second impeller (second impeller 34b Fig. 5), and the first impeller and the second impeller are coupled to different shafts (first shaft 42a and second shaft 42b Fig. 5) to provide a compressor where the rotation speeds of the first and second impeller are independently variable (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the first compressor stage comprises a first impeller, the second compressor stage comprises a second impeller, and the first impeller and the second impeller are coupled to different shafts” in view of the teachings of Johnson to provide a compressor where the rotation speeds of the first and second impeller are independently variable.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763