DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 07/28/2022, coinciding with the filing date of the French Republic application to which foreign priority was requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 18, 20, 22, 25, 30, 44-45, 47-48 and 50-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Somerville (US20130090878, referred to as Somerville).
Regarding claim 1: Somerville discloses: A method of calibrating a coordinate positioning machine having a first member that is moveable relative to a second member, wherein the geometry of the machine is characterized by a set of model parameters, and ([0078] It can be seen from FIGS. 4a-4c that changing the stylus, probe head translation and probe head rotation have different effects on the shift in apparent stylus ball position (i.e. the probe offset vector) that occurs as a function of probe head angle. Measuring the probe offset vector (defined in the probe or stylus geometry system) at a plurality of different head orientations can thus be used to assess what effect the disturbance has had on the CMM.) wherein the method comprises: (a) controlling the machine to make point contact between multiple reference surfaces of a tool or artefact mounted on the first member and multiple reference surfaces of an artefact mounted on the second member; and ([0010] Firstly, a set of calibration data is taken that has been established for the coordinate positioning apparatus in the usual manner. In particular, the calibration data set comprises first datum data for a first nominal orientation of the measurement probe and further datum data for further orien tations of the measurement probe. For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system.) (b) updating at least one of the model parameters knowing that the actual separations are zero. ([0023] the error in the (unknown) position of the calibration artefact is preferably separated from the change in the first datum data. This may be achieved by the step of acquiring one or more position measurements using the coordinate positioning apparatus with the measurement probe placed in at least three different nominal orientations. An apparent position of the calibration artefact can then be measured for each of the at least three different nominal orientations of the measurement probe and the first correction calculated from [0050] Probe datuming is the process by which the positional relationship between a reference measurement point of the measurement probe (e.g. the position (t) of the undeflected stylus tip) is established relative to a known point in the machine coordinate system (e.g. the point (h) on the head that has a known position relative to the origin (o) of the machine coordinate geometry). For example, probe qualification may involve establishing datum data in the form of the stylus deflection vector described above. The datum data may also include a value relating to the radius (r) of the spherical tip of the stylus)
Regarding claim 2: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein step (a) comprises (i) making a plurality of point contacts between an end surface of the first artefact/tool and a top surface of the second artefact, with the same orientation of the first artefact/tool for each contact. ([0010] Firstly, a set of calibration data is taken that has been established for the coordinate positioning apparatus in the usual manner. In particular, the calibration data set com prises first datum data for a first nominal orientation of the measurement probe and further datum data for further orien tations of the measurement probe. For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system.)
Regarding claim 3: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein step (a) comprises (ii) making a plurality of point contacts between an end surface of the first artefact/tool and a top surface of the second artefact, with a different orientation of the first artefact/tool for each contact. ([0010] Firstly, a set of calibration data is taken that has been established for the coordinate positioning apparatus in the usual manner. In particular, the calibration data set comprises first datum data for a first nominal orientation of the measurement probe and further datum data for further orientations of the measurement probe. For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system.)
Regarding claim 4: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein step (a) comprises (iii) making a plurality of point contacts between an end surface of the first artefact/tool and a side surface of the second artefact at different positions around the side surface of the second artefact. ([0010] Firstly, a set of calibration data is taken that has been established for the coordinate positioning apparatus in the usual manner. In particular, the calibration data set comprises first datum data for a first nominal orientation of the measurement probe and further datum data for further orientations of the measurement probe. For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system.)
Regarding claim 5: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein step (a) comprises (iv) making a plurality of point contacts between a side surface of the first artefact/tool and a side surface of the second artefact. ([0010] Firstly, a set of calibration data is taken that has been established for the coordinate positioning apparatus in the usual manner. In particular, the calibration data set comprises first datum data for a first nominal orientation of the measurement probe and further datum data for further orientations of the measurement probe. For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system.)
Regarding claim 6: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: comprising performing step (a)(iv) for at least two different positions along the length of the first artefact/tool. ([0010] Firstly, a set of calibration data is taken that has been established for the coordinate positioning apparatus in the usual manner. In particular, the calibration data set comprises first datum data for a first nominal orientation of the measurement probe and further datum data for further orientations of the measurement probe. For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system.)
Regarding claim 7: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the first artefact/tool has a defined and/or identifiable axis. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 8: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein an end surface of the first artefact/tool is spherical or at least revolute, at least where contact is made with the second artefact. ([0010] For a measurement probe comprising a deflectable stylus having a spherical stylus tip, the datum data for each different orientation may comprise information that describes the position of the centre of the (undeflected) stylus tip relative to a common or fixed point in the machine coordinate system. [0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 9: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the centre of the at least part spherical or revolute surface lies substantially on the defined and/or identifiable axis of the first artefact/tool. ([0016] the reference measurement point of Such a measurement probe comprises the centre of the spherical stylus tip when the stylus is in the neutral position. The step of calculating a first correction may thus com prise measuring the offset in the apparent position of the centre of the spherical stylus tip relative to the position of the centre of the spherical stylus tip previously established during US 2013/0090878 A1 calibration. Advantageously, the datum data for each measurement probe orientation includes a stylus tip radius value.)
Regarding claim 10: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein a side surface of the first artefact/tool is cylindrical, at least where contact is made with the second artefact. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 11: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 10,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the axis of the at least part cylindrical surface is substantially parallel to the defined and/or identifiable axis of the first artefact/tool, for example substantially in line with the axis. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 12: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein a top surface of the second artefact is planar, at least where contact is made with the first artefact/tool. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 13: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein a side surface of the second artefact is spherical, at least where contact is made with the first artefact/tool. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 14: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: further comprising, in the case where the first artefact/tool is an artefact rather than a tool, mounting a tool on the first member in place of the first artefact, and making at least one further contact between an end surface of the tool and a top surface of the second artefact to determine a length associated with the tool, and optionally updating a tool centre point associated with the tool based on the length. ([0013] The platform carrying the measurement probe is preferably moveable within the working space of the coordinate positioning apparatus. For example, the platform may comprise a quill that can be moved along three mutually orthogonal (e.g. X,Y,Z) machine axes. The position of the platform may be measured in a machine coordinate system by, for example, position encoders provided on each of the machine axes. The measurement probe preferably has a reference measurement point Such as a point located on, or at a certain fixed position relative to, the body of the measurement probe. Position measurements may then be acquired by the measurement probe in a local coordinate system and linked to the reference measurement point that has an invariant position in the local coordinate system. The reference measurement point may define the origin of the local coordinate system of the measurement probe. 0014. The first datum data advantageously comprises a vector or other positional data describing, for the first nominal orientation of the measurement probe, the position of the reference measurement point of the measurement probe relative to a point in the machine coordinate system. The point in the machine coordinate system may, for example, be a point that moves with the platform and is thus known or has a certain relationship to a known or defined point (e.g. an origin) in the machine coordinate System. 00.15 Advantageously, the first correction comprises a first offset or first offset vector describing a shift in the reference measurement point of the measurement probe relative to the point in the machine coordinate system for the first nominal orientation of the measurement probe. In other word, the first correction may describe the change or shift in the vector that describes the position of the reference measurement point of the measurement probe relative to a point in the machine coordinate system. It has been found that, to a good approximation, the first offset calculated for the first orientation of the measurement probe is applicable (after appropriate rotation) to all other orientations of the measurement probe that have been previously calibrated. The datum data for one or more different orientations can then be updated using the first offset. In this manner, the previously acquired set of calibration data is adjusted to compensate for the first offset or shift in the reference measurement point of the probe due to the disturbance.)
Regarding claim 18: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the reference surfaces of the second artefact are metrological surfaces and/or wherein, in the case where the first artefact/tool is an artefact rather than a tool, the reference surfaces of the first artefact are metrological surfaces. ([0053] Performing a one-off calibration when commissioning a CMM or a new measurement probe is time consuming, but Such an event can be pre-planned to fit in with a production schedule. Furthermore, once calibrated the CMM can be used to acquire measurements for prolonged periods. There are, however, instances where CMM recalibration is suddenly required due to an unexpected disturbance to the machine, Such as a crash that breaks a stylus and/or misaligns the probe head. In Such cases, the operator is faced with having to take the machine offline in order to perform the recalibration process that is necessary to ensure metrology performance is maintained. This can be seriously disruptive to a production process.)
Regarding claim 20: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: comprising sensing contact between the first artefact/tool and the second artefact using a sensor, wherein the sensor is optionally mounted on the second member and is optionally a touch probe or a tool setter. ([0003] One known type of contact measurement probe used with coordinate positioning apparatus comprises a probe housing and a deflectable stylus. Typically, the probe housing is mounted to the moveable platform or quill of the coordinate positioning apparatus and moved so as to bring the tip of the stylus into contact with the object to be measured. On contacting the object, the Stylus deflects away from its so-called undeflected, rest or neutral position with respect to the probe housing and this stylus deflection is sensed by appropriate sensors. Measurement probes of this type may be broadly categorised as either touch trigger probes or scanning probes. Touch trigger probes (also known as digital or Switching probes) produce a trigger signal whenever the stylus deflection exceeds a certain threshold.)
Regarding claim 22: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 20,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the sensor is a contact sensor having a deflectable stylus and a contacting member for contacting an object being sensed, and wherein the second artefact is optionally used as the contacting member of the contact sensor. ([0003] One known type of contact measurement probe used with coordinate positioning apparatus comprises a probe housing and a deflectable stylus. Typically, the probe housing is mounted to the moveable platform or quill of the coordinate positioning apparatus and moved so as to bring the tip of the stylus into contact with the object to be measured. On contacting the object, the Stylus deflects away from its so-called undeflected, rest or neutral position with respect to the probe housing and this stylus deflection is sensed by appropriate sensors. Measurement probes of this type may be broadly categorised as either touch trigger probes or scanning probes. Touch trigger probes (also known as digital or Switching probes) produce a trigger signal whenever the stylus deflection exceeds a certain threshold.)
Regarding claim 25: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the second artefact comprises a planar surface and an at least part spherical surface, wherein the at least part spherical surface optionally defines a plurality of possible contact points in an at least part circular arrangement in a plane that is substantially parallel to the planar surface of the second artifact. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 30: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein at least one of the surfaces of the first artefact/tool and/or the second artefact is a revolute surface, for example having at least one revolute axis. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 44: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the model parameters comprise a plurality of tool frame parameters, and wherein step (b) comprises updating at least three of the tool frame parameters, for example three tool frame parameters defining the position of a tool centre point. ([0023] the error in the (unknown) position of the calibration artefact is preferably separated from the change in the first datum data. This may be achieved by the step of acquiring one or more position measurements using the coordinate positioning apparatus with the measurement probe placed in at least three different nominal orientations. An apparent position of the calibration artefact can then be measured for each of the at least three different nominal orientations of the measurement probe and the first correction calculated from [0050] Probe datuming is the process by which the positional relationship between a reference measurement point of the measurement probe (e.g. the position (t) of the undeflected stylus tip) is established relative to a known point in the machine coordinate system (e.g. the point (h) on the head that has a known position relative to the origin (o) of the machine coordinate geometry). For example, probe qualification may involve establishing datum data in the form of the stylus deflection vector described above. The datum data may also include a value relating to the radius (r) of the spherical tip of the stylus)
Regarding claim 45: Somerville discloses: A method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: wherein the model parameters comprise a plurality of part frame parameters, and wherein step (b) comprises updating at least three of the part frame parameters, for example three part frame parameters defining the position of a point of interest of the part frame. ([0023] the error in the (unknown) position of the calibration artefact is preferably separated from the change in the first datum data. This may be achieved by the step of acquiring one or more position measurements using the coordinate positioning apparatus with the measurement probe placed in at least three different nominal orientations. An apparent position of the calibration artefact can then be measured for each of the at least three different nominal orientations of the measurement probe and the first correction calculated from [0050] Probe datuming is the process by which the positional relationship between a reference measurement point of the measurement probe (e.g. the position (t) of the undeflected stylus tip) is established relative to a known point in the machine coordinate system (e.g. the point (h) on the head that has a known position relative to the origin (o) of the machine coordinate geometry). For example, probe qualification may involve establishing datum data in the form of the stylus deflection vector described above. The datum data may also include a value relating to the radius (r) of the spherical tip of the stylus)
Regarding claim 47: Somerville discloses: comprising performing a method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: A method of calibrating the axis of a spindle mounted to a coordinate positioning machine such as a robot arm, and wherein step (b) comprises determining at least the orientation of the axis. ([0045] The Scanning probe 12, which may comprise a Renishaw SP25 probe, includes internal transducers that measure any deflection of the stylus 14 away from a so-called neutral or rest position. Any deflection of the stylus 14 is thus measured by the Scanning probe 12 in its local (probe) coordinate (a,b,c) system. To improve the ability to Scan complex objects, the indexing probe head 10 allows the scanning probe 12 to be rotated, relative to the quill, about the orthogonal axes A and B and locked in any one of multiple indexed positions. In the case of a Renishaw PH10 probe head, the probe may be indexed into any one of 720 different indexed positions. A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 48: Somerville discloses: comprising performing a method as claimed in claim 1,
Somerville further discloses: A method of checking and/or updating the tool or part frame of a tool or part mounted to a coordinate positioning machine such as a robot arm, and wherein step (b) comprises checking and/or updating one or more parameters of the tool or part frame. ([0023] the error in the (unknown) position of the calibration artefact is preferably separated from the change in the first datum data. This may be achieved by the step of acquiring one or more position measurements using the coordinate positioning apparatus with the measurement probe placed in at least three different nominal orientations. An apparent position of the calibration artefact can then be measured for each of the at least three different nominal orientations of the measurement probe and the first correction calculated from [0050] Probe datuming is the process by which the positional relationship between a reference measurement point of the measurement probe (e.g. the position (t) of the undeflected stylus tip) is established relative to a known point in the machine coordinate system (e.g. the point (h) on the head that has a known position relative to the origin (o) of the machine coordinate geometry). For example, probe qualification may involve establishing datum data in the form of the stylus deflection vector described above. The datum data may also include a value relating to the radius (r) of the spherical tip of the stylus)
Regarding claim 50: Somerville discloses: a method as claimed in claim 1.
Somerville further discloses: A computer-readable medium having stored therein computer program instructions for controlling a computer or a machine controller to perform one or more steps of … ([0045] A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Regarding claim 51: Somerville discloses: a method as claimed in claim 1.
Somerville further discloses: A computer or machine controller configured to perform one or more steps of … ([0045] A controller 16 controls operation of the CMM.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A