DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/17/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NAKAYAMA et al. (US 20200125311; hereinafter NAKAYAMA).
Regarding claim 1, NAKAYAMA discloses in figure(s) 1-18 An estimation device (ECU 18, controller 30; fig. 1) for estimating deterioration of an energy storage device (battery 10), wherein
the estimation device is configured such that, during an initial period of an operation of the energy storage device in which characteristics are maintained (capacity > C1 for period L1; fig 2) or enhanced, a deterioration value that indicates the deterioration is not substantially increased (deterioration degree low; fig. 2; capacity retention rate within range in fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, NAKAYAMA discloses in figure(s) 1-18 the estimation device according to claim 1, wherein a determination relating to an increase in the deterioration value is made based on a magnitude of a fluctuation in a state of charge (SOC) (soc fluctuations in fig. 3) during the initial period of the operation of the energy storage device.
Regarding claim 5, NAKAYAMA discloses in figure(s) 1-18 the estimation device according to claim 1, wherein a determination relating to an increase in the deterioration value is made based on a temperature (battery temperature Tb in fig. 3) during the initial period of the operation of the energy storage device.
Regarding claim 6, NAKAYAMA discloses in figure(s) 1-18 An estimation method (ECU 18, controller 30; fig. 1) of estimating deterioration of an energy storage device (battery 10), the estimation method comprising:
not substantially increasing a deterioration value that indicates the deterioration (deterioration degree low; fig. 2; capacity retention rate within range in fig. 7) during an initial period of an operation of the energy storage device in which characteristics are maintained (capacity > C1 for period L1; fig 2) or enhanced.
Regarding claim 7, NAKAYAMA discloses in figure(s) 1-18 a computer program allowing a computer that estimates deterioration (deterioration step S270 in fig. 7; para. 108 - controller 30 include program for operating; figs. 1,7) of an energy storage device (battery 10; fig. 1) to perform processing of not substantially increasing a deterioration value (deterioration degree low; fig. 2; capacity retention rate within range in fig. 7) that indicates the deterioration during an initial period of an operation of the energy storage device in which characteristics are maintained (capacity > C1 for period L1; fig 2) or enhanced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAYAMA in view of OGUMA et al. (US 20170113560).
Regarding claim 3, NAKAYAMA teaches in figure(s) 1-18 the estimation device according to claim 2,
NAKAYAMA does not teach explicitly wherein as the magnitude of the fluctuation in the SOC is larger, a full charge capacity of the energy storage device during the initial period of the operation is more largely increased, and the deterioration value of the energy storage device having the increased full charge capacity is increased.
However, OGUMA teaches in figure(s) 1-9 wherein as the magnitude of the fluctuation in the SOC is larger, a full charge capacity of the energy storage device during the initial period of the operation is more largely increased, and the deterioration value of the energy storage device having the increased full charge capacity is increased (para. 28 - capacity deterioration factor of the high-output battery ES-P largely fluctuates with respect to the SOC; fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NAKAYAMA by having wherein as the magnitude of the fluctuation in the SOC is larger, a full charge capacity of the energy storage device during the initial period of the operation is more largely increased, and the deterioration value of the energy storage device having the increased full charge capacity is increased as taught by OGUMA in order to provide "circuitry is configured to control the converter to discharge one of the first energy storage and the second energy storage to charge another of the first energy storage and the second energy storage alternately when first temperature of the first energy storage and second temperature of the second energy storage are equal to or lower than a temperature threshold" (para. 6).
Claim(s) 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAYAMA in view of Aoyama et al. (US 20200247268).
Regarding claim 4, NAKAYAMA teaches in figure(s) 1-18 the estimation device according to claim 2,
NAKAYAMA does not teach explicitly wherein when the SOC of the energy storage device fluctuates up to a predetermined number of cycles with a first magnitude, and then the SOC of the energy storage device fluctuates with a second magnitude that is larger than the first magnitude, a full charge capacity of the energy storage device during the initial period of the operation is increased based on the second magnitude, and the deterioration value of the energy storage device having the increased full charge capacity is increased.
However, Aoyama teaches in figure(s) 1-4 wherein when the SOC of the energy storage device fluctuates up to a predetermined number of cycles with a first magnitude, and then the SOC of the energy storage device fluctuates with a second magnitude that is larger than the first magnitude, a full charge capacity of the energy storage device during the initial period of the operation is increased based on the second magnitude, and the deterioration value of the energy storage device having the increased full charge capacity is increased (para. 5 - a first deterioration state of the battery is calculated for each predetermined period of time, a second deterioration state of the battery is calculated based on a change amount of a state of charge of the battery … within a predetermined period of time; para. 20 - as the value of deterioration state (SOH) becomes greater, the state is close to the initial state. In other words, the deterioration state (SOH) is a present full-charge state of the battery 20 represented on the basis of a full-charge capacity in an initial state; fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NAKAYAMA by having wherein when the SOC of the energy storage device fluctuates up to a predetermined number of cycles with a first magnitude, and then the SOC of the energy storage device fluctuates with a second magnitude that is larger than the first magnitude, a full charge capacity of the energy storage device during the initial period of the operation is increased based on the second magnitude, and the deterioration value of the energy storage device having the increased full charge capacity is increased as taught by Aoyama in order to provide "calculating a correction value of the deterioration state based on the second deterioration state with the reliability of the predetermined reliability or higher; and calculating the deterioration state by correcting the first deterioration state" (abstract).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mitsui et al. (US 7443139) discloses "A battery ECU estimates the SOC by integrating the battery current measured by a current sensor, and the battery voltage V.sub.nis measured by a voltage sensor, and the battery temperature T.sub.nis measured by a thermometer if the fluctuation of the charging/discharging current is great.".
Tomura et al. (US 20110161025) discloses "A battery state estimating unit estimates an internal state of a secondary battery in accordance with a battery model equation in every arithmetic cycle, and estimates a charging rate and a battery current based on a result of the estimation.".
OTA et al. (US 20230395884) discloses "degradation suppression system includes a secondary battery, a usage history acquisition unit, a degradation amount estimation unit, a degradation factor identification unit, and a suppression control unit".
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858