DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement
Applicant’s response, dated 07/29/2026, to a non-final Office Action, dated 04/29/2026, is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are currently pending. Claims 10-16 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borland et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0085401, hereafter Borland, in view of CN215266318, hereafter ‘318.
Regarding claim 1, Borland discloses (Figs 3-4, par. [0032]-[0046]) a method for producing the producing a semiconductor-metal contact structure of a solar cell, in which a first paste (silver paste, par. [0033]), ink or suspension containing metal particles (par. [0034]) is first applied locally to the semiconductor surface [320] at a plurality of points and fired or sintered (par. [0039]) in a first firing or sintering process, so that local, mutually separate semiconductor-metal contact regions [351] are produced (Fig. 3C), and in which local, mutually separated semiconductor-metal contacts thus produced are subsequently bonded together [380] to form the semiconductor-metal contact structure of the solar cell by a second application of a paste (par. [0041]-[0042]), ink or suspension containing metal particles and a second, separate firing or sintering or curing process.
Borland fails to explicitly disclose said plurality of points corresponding to both n and p polarity regions of the solar cell and the semiconductor-metal contact structure of the solar cell on said n and p polarity regions of the solar cell.
However, ‘318 discloses (bottom of p.4 of translation starting from description of IBC battery- top paragraph on p. 5, IBC, or interdigitated back contact battery has a surface of both n and p type contacts), said plurality of points corresponding to both n and p polarity regions of the solar cell and the semiconductor-metal contact structure of the solar cell on said n and p polarity regions of the solar cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to replace a grid line solar cell electrode structure of Borland with the solar cell grid line structure of ‘318, because ‘318 teaches (abstract) that such a structure reduces both series resistance of the solar cell and metallization cost.
Regarding claim 2, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. Borland further discloses (par. [0045]) characterized in that the second firing or sintering or curing process takes place at a lower temperature than the first firing or sintering process.
Regarding claim 3, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. The limitation of claim 3, “characterized in that the first firing or sintering process is a fast process with a peak temperature above 700°C for less than 60 seconds” is obvious over Borland.
Borland discloses (par. [0039]) a preferable range of temperature which lies inside the claimed range and a time range (from several seconds to several tens of minutes) which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP, latest edition, 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 4, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. ‘318 further discloses (Figs 1,2, p.4, top line) characterized in that the area of the individual local semiconductor-metal contacts separated from each other is smaller than 50,000um² , preferably smaller than 12, 500µm², most preferably smaller than 4, 000µm² (the disclosed diameter of contacts [4] is 35 um as average diameter, p.4 of translation, top line).
Regarding claim 5, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. ‘318 further discloses (Figs 1, 2, p.4, top line)
characterized in that the individual local, mutually separated semiconductor-metal contacts [4] are circular and that their largest dimension (35 µm) is less than 100µm, preferably less than 40µm.
Regarding claim 6, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. ‘318 further discloses (Figs 1, 2, p.4, top line)
characterized in that the individual local semiconductor-metal contacts separated from each other are shaped with a length (35 µm) which is less than 500µm and with a width which is less than 100 µm.
Borland in view of ‘318 fails to explicitly disclose line-shaped contacts as claimed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the circular contact shape of ‘318 to a line contact shape because changes in shape of contacts or electrodes are normally within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP, latest edition, 2144.04.IV.B)
Regarding claim 7, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. ‘318 further
discloses (Figs 1, 2) characterized in that the individual local semiconductor-metal contacts [4] separated from each other are connected to each other [1] in the second step to form a pattern of parallel lines [1].
Regarding claim 8, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. Borland
further discloses (Fig. 3B, par. [0039]) characterized in that the first paste [350], ink or suspension containing metal particles is silver-containing.
Regarding claim 17, Borland in view of ‘318 discloses everything as applied above. Borland further discloses (Fig. 3D, par. [0041]-[0042]) characterized in that the second metal particle-containing paste, ink or suspension is a copper-containing or aluminum- containing paste, ink or suspension.
Regarding claim 18, Borland discloses (Figs 3-4, par. [0032]-[0046]) a method for producing the producing a semiconductor-metal contact structure of a solar cell, in which a first paste (silver paste, par. [0033]), ink or suspension containing metal particles (par. [0034]) is first applied locally to the semiconductor surface [320] at a plurality of points and fired or sintered (par. [0039]) in a first firing or sintering process, so that local, mutually separate semiconductor-metal contact regions [351] are produced (Fig. 3C), and in which local, mutually separated semiconductor-metal contacts thus produced are subsequently bonded together [380] to form the semiconductor-metal contact structure of the solar cell by a second application of a paste (par. [0041]-[0042]), ink or suspension containing metal particles and a second, separate firing or sintering or curing process.
Borland fails to explicitly disclose
said plurality of points corresponding to both n and p polarity regions of the solar cell;
wherein the plurality of points corresponding to both n and p polarity regions of the solar cell is arranged on a back of the solar cell.
However, ‘318 discloses (bottom of p.4 of translation starting from description of IBC battery- top paragraph on p. 5, IBC, or interdigitated back contact battery has a surface of both n and p type contacts)
said plurality of points corresponding to both n and p polarity regions of the solar cell;
wherein the plurality of points corresponding to both n and p polarity regions of the solar cell is arranged on a back of the solar cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to replace a grid line solar cell electrode structure of Borland with the solar cell grid line structure of ‘318, because ‘318 teaches (abstract) that such a structure reduces both series resistance of the solar cell and metallization cost.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments overcome claim objections and rejection under 35U.S.C. 112 (b) in the non-final Office Action.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTOR V BARZYKIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893