Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 12, “removing a wall plate of a wall station from a control unit of the wall station, wherein a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag is attached to the wall plate” is vague and is not consistent with the specification. The specification teaches the wall plate “removably attached to a control unit”. “removably” is an adverb to describe the attachment is removable. On the other hand, “removing a wall plate” in Claim 12 is an active voice. It indicates removing a wall plate is one of the steps of the method. The meaning is not consistent with the specification. Further, it is not understood how removing a wall plate can deliver novelty and useful outcome.
Claims 13 and 14 are vague by virtue of their dependency on claim 12.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westrick Jr (10,694,606) in view of Baldwin et al (11,277,587).
Regarding Claim 1, Westrick Jr (10,694,606) discloses a lighting system, comprising:
a wall station (wall station, Col. 2, lines 14-21, Col. 4, lines 30-51) attached to a control unit (controller) of the wall station,
a light fixture (light fixtures) remotely located from the wall station (wall station (e.g. switches or other control devices)) (Col. 4, lines 30-51) comprising an RFID unit (RFID tag reader, Col. 6, lines 19-40) configured to, during a commissioning mode (initial setup, also referred to herein as commissioning) (Col. 4, lines 30-51),
a wall station identifier (network address or other identifier of the first wall station, Col. 9, lines 61 to Col. 10, lines 18, Col. 10, lines 42-55), is placed from the light fixture (illuminating element) (fig. 1A),
wherein the wall station identifier (network address or other identifier) associates the light fixture with the wall station (Col. 9, lines 61 to Col. 10, lines 18, Col. 10, lines 42-55) or the control unit of the wall station (control, Col. 2, lines 14-21, Col. 4, lines 52-67), and
wherein, subsequent to the commissioning mode (initial setup, also referred to herein as commissioning) (Col. 4, lines 30-51),
the control unit of the wall station is configured to transmit, via a communication interface module (broadcast a command, transmit instructions, Col. 2, lines 14-21, Col. 3, lines 1-21),
a lighting control message (broadcast message from wall station) (Col. 4, lines 60-67) that includes the wall station identifier (identifier) (Col. 9, lines 61 to Col. 10, lines 18, Col. 10, lines 42-55) and
wherein the light fixture is configured to operate based on the lighting control message (Col. 17, lines 5-43) in response to determining that the lighting control message (Col. 20, lies 18-37, Col. 22, lines 12-28) includes the wall station identifier (Col. 2, lines 14-21, Col. 3, lines 1-22).
As discussed above, Westrick Jr discloses RFID tag reader (Col. 6, lines 19-40) but does not explicitly disclose RFID tag.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art that Westrick Jr would have comprised RFID tag as well in order to transfer information via RF technology with the RFID tag reader. RFID tag and RFID tag reader work as a pair.
As discussed above, Westrick Jr essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose wall plate being placed within a threshold distance from the light fixture.
However, Baldwin et al (11,277,587) discloses the electrical wall plate spaced at a distance from the electrical device (Col. 11, lines 15-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided a wall plate to cover the wall switch of Westrick Jr and maintain a distance from the electrical device (e.g. luminaire or light fixture) in order to protect the electrical components of the wall station. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have recognized that the light fixture or luminaire would be spaced within a distance from the wall station in order to illuminate an area away from the switch.
Claim 12 is rejected similarly as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 2, Westrick Jr. discloses the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the RFID unit (sensor) is configured to read the wall station identifier from the RFID tag (RFID tag) (Col. 6, lines 19-40) during the commissioning mode entered in response to a commissioning command (commands) received by the light fixture (Col. 21, line 53 to Col. 22, line 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Westrick Jr discloses the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the RFID tag (RFID tag) is a near-field communication tag (NFC tag) (Col. 6, lines 19-40).
Regarding Claim 4, as Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the threshold distance is less than an installation distance between the wall station and the light fixture.
However, Baldwin et al (11,277,587) discloses the electrical wall plate spaced at a distance from the electrical device (Col. 11, lines 15-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have recognized that the light fixture or luminaire would be spaced within any distance (less than an installation distance) from the wall station in order to illuminate an area away from the switch.
Regarding Claim 9, Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the RFID tag is attached to a surface of the wall plate facing the control unit.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided the RFID attached to the surface of the wall plate facing the control unit in order to allow the technician or user to easily detect or read the identifier of the wall station.
Regarding Claim 10, Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 9, wherein the wall plate is attached to the control unit using one or more snaps.
However, Baldwin discloses the electrical device attached to the wall plate with fasteners as snaps (Col. 13, lines 1-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have provided snaps or fasteners to attach the control unit with the wall plate in Westrick Jr in order to secure and stabilize the device assembly as taught by Baldwin.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westrick Jr (10,694,606) in view of Baldwin et al (11,277,587), further in view of Ando (2017/0231067).
Regarding Claim 5, Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the RFID unit is configured to write a light fixture identifier of the light fixture (light fixture Col. 4, lines 30-51) to the RFID tag (sensor) when the RFID tag is within the threshold distance from the light fixture.
However, Ando (2017/0231067) discloses an external device (writer) that possesses the identification information to the terminal of second identification information transfer interface in lamp (paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a writer to write the identifier or identification to the lamp (associated with the RFID tag in Westrick) in order to update or renew the identification or identifier in Westrick as taught by Ando.
Regarding Claim 6, Westrick Jr discloses the lighting system of claim 5, wherein the control unit (central controller) is configured to read the light fixture identifier of the light fixture (detecting network addresses and identifiers of the light fixtures, Col. 10, lines 19-55, Col. 3, lines 23-33) from the RFID tag (sensor can be RFID tag reader, Col. 6, lines 19-23) when the RFID tag is attached to the control unit (central controller).
Claim 14 is rejected similarly as discussed above in the rejections of Claims 5, 6.
Regarding Claim 7, Westrick Jr. discloses the lighting system of claim 6, wherein the control unit (central controller) is configured to read the light fixture identifier of the light fixture (detecting network addresses and identifiers of the light fixtures, Col. 10, lines 19-55, Col. 3, lines 23-33) from the RFID tag (sensor can be RFID tag reader, Col. 6, lines 19-23).
As discussed above, Westrick Jr essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose detecting or reading the identifiers via a wired connection.
However, Westrick Jr also discloses that physical wiring or wired lighting control system has been well known (Col. 4, line 52 to Col. 5, line 12), therefore it is not novel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have modified the wireless lighting control system to wired lighting control system in order to reduce latency and increase network reliability. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the arts to have recognized wired connection network is not new.
Regarding Claim 8, as discussed above, Westrick Jr essentially discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to write the wall station identifier to the RFID tag.
However, Ando (2017/0231067) discloses an external device (writer) that possesses the identification information to the terminal of second identification information transfer interface in lamp (paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a writer to write the identifier or identification to the lamp (associated with the RFID tag in Westrick) in order to update or renew the identification or identifier in Westrick as taught by Ando.
Regarding Claim 11, Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose the lighting system of claim 1, further comprising a second light fixture comprising a second RFID unit configured to read the wall station identifier from the RFID tag when the RFID tag is within the threshold distance from the second light fixture, wherein the second light fixture is configured to operate based on the lighting control message in response to determining that the lighting control message includes the wall station identifier.
However, Ando (2017/0231067) discloses an external device (writer) that possesses the identification information to the terminal of second identification information transfer interface in lamp (paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a writer to write the identifier or identification to the lamp (associated with the RFID tag in Westrick) in order to update or renew the identification or identifier in Westrick as taught by Ando.
Further, it was held that providing duplication of parts (e.g. second light fixture, second RFID unit in this case) merely involves routine skill in the art. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
As discussed above, Westrick Jr essentially discloses the claimed inventio but does not explicitly disclose the RFID tag is within the threshold distance from the second light fixture.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have recognized that the light fixture or luminaire would be spaced within any distance (less than an installation distance) from RFID tag of the wall station in order to illuminate an area away from the wall station.
Regarding Claim 13, Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising placing the wall plate within the threshold distance of a second light fixture.
However, Baldwin et al (11,277,587) discloses the electrical wall plate spaced at a distance from the electrical device (Col. 11, lines 15-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to have recognized that the light fixture or luminaire would be spaced within any distance (less than an installation distance) from the wall station in order to illuminate an area away from the switch.
Westrick Jr does not explicitly disclose a second RFID unit configured to read the wall station identifier from the RFID tag.
However, Ando (2017/0231067) discloses an external device (writer) that possesses the identification information to the terminal of second identification information transfer interface in lamp (paragraph [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided a writer to write the identifier or identification to the lamp (associated with the RFID tag in Westrick) in order to update or renew the identification or identifier in Westrick as taught by Ando.
Further, it was held that providing duplication of parts (e.g. second light fixture, second RFID unit in this case) merely involves routine skill in the art. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845