DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claim 42 recites the limitation "the mapping" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
2. Claims 28-45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 28, 30-32, 34-39, 41-43, and 45 of copending Application No. 19/083,014 (see Claims dated 7/2/2026 for Application 19/083,014). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
The Examiner notes U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014) is not available for viewing yet. The latest claim set for application 19/083,014 dated 7/2/2026 will be used.
Claim 28 of the instant application is anticipated by U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014 – claims dated 7/2/2026) claim 28. For example, the instant application is a broader version therefore is an obvious variant. Claim 28 of the instant application recites all the elements of claim 28 in U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014) with the exception of “wherein the position of the terminal device is determined based on synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices; receive, from a network entity, the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices; and determine the position of the terminal device based on the measurements and the synchronization offsets mapping among the plurality of supporting terminal devices”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitation from claim 28 of the present application makes the claim a broader version of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014). Therefore, since the omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963), claim 28 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 28 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014)
Claim 37 of the instant application is anticipated by U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014 – claims dated 7/2/2026) claim 37. For example, the instant application is a broader version therefore is an obvious variant. Claim 37 of the instant application recites all the elements of claim 37 in U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014) with the exception of “provide, to a location management entity, a synchronization offset between the terminal device and another terminal device, wherein the position of the target terminal device is determined based on provided by the location management entity, synchronization offsets mapping among the plurality of supporting terminal devices”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitation from claim 37 of the present application makes the claim a broader version of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014). Therefore, since the omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963), claim 37 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 37 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014)
Claim 43 of the instant application is anticipated by U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014 – claims dated 7/2/2026) claim 43. For example, the instant application is a broader version therefore is an obvious variant. Claim 43 of the instant application recites all the elements of claim 43 in U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014) with the exception of “acquire synchronization offsets from among the plurality of supporting terminal devices; and provide, to the target terminal device, the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices, wherein the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices are used to determine a position of the target terminal device”. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitation from claim 43 of the present application makes the claim a broader version of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014). Therefore, since the omission of an element and its function in a combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same functions as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963), claim 43 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 28 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claim 29 of the instant application is met by claim 28 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claims 30-32 of the instant application are met by claims 30-32 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claim 33 of the instant application is met by claim 28 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claims 34-36 of the instant application are met by claims 34-36 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claims 38-42 of the instant application are met by claims 38-42 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claim 44 of the instant application is met by claim 43 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
Claims 45 of the instant application is met by claim 45 of U.S. Patent 12,732,947 (e.g., copending application 19/083,014).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 28, 30-32, 35, 37-38 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al (2025/0159645).
Regarding claim 28. Manolakos teaches a terminal device for communication, comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device at least to:
receive, from a plurality of supporting terminal devices, information indicative of corresponding sidelink synchronization sources to which each of the plurality of supporting terminal devices is synchronized (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)); and
obtain, a position of the terminal device, which is based on the indicated information of the corresponding sidelink synchronization sources (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)).
Regarding claim 37. Manolakos teaches a terminal device for
communication, comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory
including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause
the terminal device at least to:
indicate, to a target terminal device of a sidelink synchronization source to
which the terminal device is synchronized (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 - Sidelink
based positioning of a UE sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which
are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)); and
transmit, to the target terminal device, a sidelink position reference signal
to enable a determination of a position of the target terminal device, which is
based on the sidelink position reference signal and the sidelink synchronization
source (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 - Sidelink based positioning of a UE sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)).
Regarding claim 43. Manolakos teaches a location management entity for communication, comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device at least two:
receive, from a plurality of supporting terminal devices, information indicative of corresponding sidelink synchronization sources to which each of the plurality of supporting terminal devices is synchronized (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)); and
support positioning determination of a target terminal device using the indicated information (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)).
Regarding claims 30 and 38. Manolakos teaches wherein the receiving of the information is responsive to a request by the terminal device, for the corresponding sidelink synchronization sources to which each of the plurality of supporting terminal devices is synchronized (0092 – the target UE may detect multiple sidelink UEs that are available for sidelink positioning, e.g., in a discover process, 0100 – a discovered synchronization positioning cluster, 0105-0106 – discovery phase, 0134 – discovery message).
Regarding claim 31. Manolakos teaches perform respective measurements, on one or more sidelink position reference signals from the plurality of supporting terminal devices (abstract – perform SL positioning measurements, 0027 – sidelink positioning measurements, 0095 – RSTD measurements from sidelink UEs, 0101 – RSTD for sidelink, 0114 – RSTD for sidelink, 0118-0119 – RSTD based positioning methods, 0124 – perform sidelink positioning methods, such as RSTD based, 0127 – sidelink positioning method, such as RSTD, 0139 – sidelink positioning method, such as RSTD measurements).
Regarding claim 32. Manolakos teaches wherein the measurements are sidelink reference signal time difference (SL RSTD) measurements (abstract – perform SL positioning measurements, 0027 – sidelink positioning measurements, 0095 – RSTD measurements from sidelink UEs, 0101 – RSTD for sidelink, 0114 – RSTD for sidelink, 0118-0119 – RSTD based positioning methods, 0124 – perform sidelink positioning methods, such as RSTD based, 0127 – sidelink positioning method, such as RSTD, 0139 – sidelink positioning method, such as RSTD measurements).
Regarding claim 35. Manolakos teaches wherein the terminal device is further configured to perform one or more of: transmit to a network entity, a measurement report comprising the measurements by the terminal device; or transmit to the network entity, an indication indicative of the corresponding sidelink synchronization sources to which each of the plurality of supporting terminal devices is synchronized (0004, 0065 – 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 29 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos et al (2025/0159645) in view of Tang et al (2021/0051613) or Dutta et al (2023/0362846).
Regarding claim 29. Manolakos teaches wherein the position of the terminal device is determined based on synchronization (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)).
Manolakos does not teach offsets.
Tang teaches UEs cannot communicate with one another over SL when they are not synchronized. According to some embodiments of the disclosure, the UEs can receive from a Base Station a signaling indicating the timing offset between SL synchronization timings for the UEs and a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The UEs can then adjust their SL synchronization timings based on the timing offset (0015, 0027-0028).
Dutta teaches the UE receives, from a network entity (e.g., base station, eNB,
NodeB, gNB - 0057, 0090, 0095, 0123-0124, 0126, 0132, 0147-0148, 0151) time offset synchronization regarding one or more synchronization signal resources for ONE
or MORE UEs (0004, 0079, 0151). Accordingly, the UE using the first RAT may account for sidelink synchronization signals of the first RAT and second RAT, and may thereby reduce or eliminate interference, among other advantages.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos to provide sidelink synchronization offsets to the UEs as taught by Tang or Dutta in order to enable the UEs to adjust their sidelink synchronization timings based on timing offsets which enables the UEs to communicate over sidelinks that are synchronized.
Regarding claim 33. Manolakos teaches receive, from a network entity, the synchronization (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)); and
determine the position of the terminal device based on the measurements and the synchronization (abstract, 0005-0008, 0027 – Sidelink based positioning of a UE … sidelink UEs are selected based on their synchronization references (e.g., source). The network may provide SL positioning assistance (0058-0059). The determining the position of the UE may be done at the network and/or at the UE (0062, 0065-0069, 0071, 0080). The corresponding sidelink synchronization sources may be identified by their Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS) ID(s) which are mapped/associated to gNB/eNB(s) (0081-0083, 0107-0109)).
Manolakos does not teach synchronization offsets.
Tang teaches UEs cannot communicate with one another over SL when they are not synchronized. According to some embodiments of the disclosure, the UEs can receive from a Base Station a signaling indicating the timing offset between SL synchronization timings for the UEs and a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The UEs can then adjust their SL synchronization timings based on the timing offset (0015, 0027-0028).
Dutta teaches the UE receives, from a network entity (e.g., base station, eNB,
NodeB, gNB - 0057, 0090, 0095, 0123-0124, 0126, 0132, 0147-0148, 0151) time offset synchronization regarding one or more synchronization signal resources for ONE
or MORE UEs (0004, 0079, 0151). Accordingly, the UE using the first RAT may account for sidelink synchronization signals of the first RAT and second RAT, and may thereby reduce or eliminate interference, among other advantages.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos to provide sidelink synchronization offsets to the UEs as taught by Tang or Dutta in order to enable the UEs to adjust their sidelink synchronization timings based on timing offsets which enables the UEs to communicate over sidelinks that are synchronized.
Regarding claim 34. Manolakos does not teach wherein the terminal device is further configured to: correct, the measurements using the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices; and determine the position of the terminal device using the corrected measurements.
Tang teaches UEs cannot communicate with one another over SL when they are not synchronized. According to some embodiments of the disclosure, the UEs can receive from a Base Station a signaling indicating the timing offset between SL synchronization timings for the UEs and a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The UEs can then adjust (e.g., correct) their SL synchronization timings based on the timing offset (0015, 0027-0028).
Dutta teaches the UE receives, from a network entity (e.g., base station, eNB,
NodeB, gNB - 0057, 0090, 0095, 0123-0124, 0126, 0132, 0147-0148, 0151) time offset synchronization regarding one or more synchronization signal resources for ONE
or MORE UEs (0004, 0079, 0151). Accordingly, the UE using the first RAT may account for sidelink synchronization signals of the first RAT and second RAT, and may thereby reduce or eliminate interference, among other advantages.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos to provide sidelink synchronization offsets to the UEs as taught by Tang or Dutta in order to enable the UEs to adjust (e.g., correct) their sidelink synchronization timings based on timing offsets which enables the UEs to communicate over sidelinks that are synchronized.
5. Claims 36, 40, 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Hoang et al (2024/0056997).
Regarding claim 36. Manolakos does not teach wherein one or more of the following is applicable: the measurement report indicates the corresponding sidelink synchronization sources to which each of the plurality of supporting terminal devices is synchronized; or the measurements by the terminal device are corrected by the network entity using the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices, and the position of the terminal device is determined by the network entity using the corrected measurements.
Hoang teaches using synchronization offsets between UEs and the synchronization offsets may be provided to the network and/or other UEs to provide for more accurate location estimations (0278, 0281, 0288-0289, 0354, 0356-0357, 0359, 0362, 0360 – These procedures may be motivated to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE accurately). Each UE may broadcast its error information, zone ID, speed, direction, supported positioning methods (0163, 0172, 0198, 0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Manolakos to incorporate Side Link Synchronization Offsets as taught by Hoang in order to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE more accurately.
Regarding claim 40. Manolakos does not teach provide, to a location management entity, a synchronization offset between the terminal device and another terminal device, wherein the synchronization offset is used to determine the position of the target terminal device.
Hoang teaches using synchronization offsets between UEs and the synchronization offsets may be provided to the network and/or other UEs to provide for more accurate location estimations (0278, 0281, 0288 - UE reports synchronization offsets to network, 0289, 0354, 0356-0357, 0359, 0362, 0360 - These procedures may be motivated to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE accurately). Each UE may broadcast its error information, zone ID, speed, direction, supported positioning methods (0163, 0172, 0198, 0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Manolakos to incorporate Side Link Synchronization Offsets as taught by Hoang in order to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE more accurately.
Regarding claim 44. Manolakos does not teach acquire synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices.
Hoang teaches using synchronization offsets between UEs and the synchronization offsets may be provided to the network and/or other UEs to provide for more accurate location estimations (0278, 0281, 0288-0289, 0354, 0356-0357, 0359, 0362, 0360 – These procedures may be motivated to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE accurately). Each UE may broadcast its error information, zone ID, speed, direction, supported positioning methods (0163, 0172, 0198, 0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Manolakos to incorporate Side Link Synchronization Offsets as taught by Hoang in order to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE more accurately.
Regarding claim 45. Manolakos does not teach, wherein the location management entity is further configured to perform one or both of: determine a position of the target terminal device based on the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices; or
provide, to the target terminal device, the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices, wherein the synchronization offsets among the plurality of supporting terminal devices are used to determine a position of the target terminal device.
Hoang teaches using synchronization offsets between UEs and the synchronization offsets may be provided to the network and/or other UEs to provide for more accurate location estimations (0278, 0281, 0288-0289, 0354, 0356-0357, 0359, 0362, 0360 – These procedures may be motivated to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE accurately). Each UE may broadcast its error information, zone ID, speed, direction, supported positioning methods (0163, 0172, 0198, 0262).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Manolakos to incorporate Side Link Synchronization Offsets as taught by Hoang in order to help the UE or network to calculate the position of the UE more accurately.
6. Claims 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Thomas et al (2025/0203572).
Regarding claim 39. Manolakos does not teach transmit to a location management entity, a mapping between the SL synchronization source and a network device serving the terminal device.
Thomas teaches SL positioning (0002) and sends SL report information to the network wherein the report includes RTS offset information between a pair of anchor nodes, which provides time synchronization information between the nodes to enable SL TDOA measurement (0120, Table 5 – SL-PRS-ID-Ref used to uniquely identify a SL-PRS resource and is associated to the reference SL TRP or anchor device, Anchor-device-ID – specifies anchor device ID).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos to report RTD offset in conjunction with anchor device ID information as taught by Thomas which enables the network to correct positioning estimations.
Regarding claim 41. Manolakos does not teach transmit to a location management entity, a mapping between an identifier of the SL synchronization source and a network device serving the terminal device.
Thomas teaches SL positioning (0002) and sends SL report information to the network wherein the report includes RTS offset information between a pair of anchor nodes, which provides time synchronization information between the nodes to enable SL TDOA measurement (0120, Table 5 – SL-PRS-ID-Ref used to uniquely identify a SL-PRS resource and is associated to the reference SL TRP or anchor device, Anchor-device-ID – specifies anchor device ID).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos to report RTD offset in conjunction with anchor device ID information as taught by Thomas which enables the network to correct positioning estimations.
7. Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Hoang further in view of Thomas et al (2025/0203572).
Regarding claim 42. Manolakos in view of Hoang do not teach wherein the mapping is used to determine by the location management entity the position of the target terminal device.
Thomas teaches SL positioning (0002) and sends SL report information to the network wherein the report includes RTS offset information between a pair of anchor nodes, which provides time synchronization information between the nodes to enable SL TDOA measurement (0120, Table 5 – SL-PRS-ID-Ref used to uniquely identify a SL-PRS resource and is associated to the reference SL TRP or anchor device, Anchor-device-ID – specifies anchor device ID).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Manolakos in view of Hoang to report RTD offset in conjunction with anchor device ID information as taught by Thomas which enables the network to correct positioning estimations.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2025/0024305) Manolakos et al teaches the UE itself determines and pre-configures the SL coordination group(s) that it will use (0164).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646