DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-14, 16, 21, 23, 25, & 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chopra (US 2014/0275997).
Regarding claim 1, Chopra teaches a medical tracking system comprising:
a flexible elongate device (flexible catheter body 254, [0049], Figure 3);
a shape sensor (optical fiber shape sensor 253, [0049], Figure 3); and
a controller (control system 112, [0030]) comprising at least one processor (processor, [0030]), the controller configured to:
register a reference shape (predetermined configuration, [0058]) of the flexible elongate device to an anatomical reference frame (image reference frame, [0058]);
identify, using the shape sensor, the reference shape at a first portion of the flexible elongate device (reference portion 251 of the shape sensor fiber 253, [0058]);
determine, using the shape sensor, a spatial relationship between a second portion of the flexible elongate device (pose of the distal end (or any other portion) of the shape sensor fiber 253, [0058]) and the first portion ([0058]); and
determine a position of the second portion of the flexible elongate device in the anatomical reference frame based on the registration of the reference shape to the anatomical reference frame and the spatial relationship between the first portion and the second portion of the flexible elongate device ([0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein the flexible elongate device includes an articulable portion (cables, linkages, or other steering controls, [0047]; Figure 2) configured to be manually articulated by an operator ([0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein registering the reference shape comprises measuring the shape of a second elongate device (elongated flexible instrument, Claim 11) with a second shape sensor (second shape sensor, [0007] & Claims 10-11 or optical fiber shape sensor 470, [0066], Figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein the reference shape is a lumen shape of a lumen of a reference object (interventional instrument 252, [0049]), wherein the flexible elongate device is configured to conform to the lumen shape when disposed in the lumen ([0049] & [0058], Figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Chopra teaching the medical tracking system of claim 4, wherein the reference object is an adapter (reference fixture 462, [0065]) having a known shape and pose in the anatomical reference frame (“The reference fixture holds the proximal ends of the sensor fibers 470, 451 in fixed positions and orientations relative to each other and to the reference fixture”, [0070]).
Regarding claim 6, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 5, wherein the adapter comprises a first straight portion and a second straight portion angled relative to the first straight portion ([0070] & Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 4, wherein the reference object is an endotracheal tube ([0048]).
Paragraph [0048] states that the interventional instrument system 202 may be a bronchial catheter. This comprises a tube that passes through the trachea. Nevertheless, one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that the teachings of Chopra, which pertain to inserting a shape sensor into a catheter, can be applied to an endotracheal tube.
Regarding claim 8, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein identifying the reference shape at the first portion comprises:
identifying a plurality of reference points in the reference shape ([0056]);
Paragraph [0056] teaches determining the pose and shape of the shape sensor fiber 253 (and, thus, the catheter body 254) in both the reference portion 251 and the distal tip. In order to determine the shape of the entire fiber, the relative positions of a plurality of points throughout the fiber must be known.
identifying a plurality of measured points at the first portion ([0056]); and
comparing the relative positions of the plurality of reference points and the plurality of measured points ([0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein identifying the reference shape at the first portion comprises:
identifying a plurality of reference vectors in the reference shape ([0056]);
identifying a plurality of measured vectors at the first portion ([0056]); and
comparing the relative directions of the plurality of reference vectors and the plurality of measured vectors ([0056]).
Per the instant application, “vectors” refer to the direction of the shape sensor/reference object. By connecting any amount of consecutive points of the tracked points of the shape sensor, a vector can be deduced at any point of the sensor.
Regarding claim 11, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein the anatomical reference frame includes a reference landmark located at a proximal portion of an internal cavity of a patient (“the fiduciary apparatus may be attached to the internal patient anatomy, e.g., trans-nasal, trans-rectal, trans-vaginal, trans-esophageal”, [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein the controller is further configured to determine the position of the flexible elongate device relative to a system base reference frame different from the anatomical reference frame ([0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Chopra teaches the medical tracking system of claim 1, wherein the second portion is disposed distal relative to the first portion ([0058] & Figure 3).
Claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1. Chopra further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions ([0030]).
Claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 3.
Claim 21 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 8.
Claim 23 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 10.
Claim 25 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 12.
Claim 27 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chopra, as applied to claims 8 & 21, above, in view of Donhowe (US 11,202,680).
Regarding claim 9, Chopra teaching the medical tracking system of claim 8.
However, Chopra fails to disclose that identifying the reference shape at the first portion comprises matching the plurality of measured points to the plurality of reference points within a similarity threshold.
Donhowe teaches that identifying the reference shape at the first portion comprises matching the plurality of measured points to the plurality of reference points (Column 21, Lines 22-24) within a similarity threshold (maximum distance threshold, Column 21, Line 36).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Chopra such that identifying the reference shape at the first portion comprises matching the plurality of measured points to the plurality of reference points within a similarity threshold, as taught by Donhowe. This results in a more accurate tracking of the device, as the measured points can only be associated with the reference points if they are substantially close.
Claim 22 is rejected for similar reasons to claim 9.
Conclusion
/ADAM D. KOLKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH M RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798