Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 01/22/2025 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “…a detection device for an electrical energy store of a motor vehicle for detecting a fault of at least one energy storage cell of an interconnection of energy storage cells of the energy store…” in lines 1-3 of Claim 10. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “electrical energy store of the motor vehicle” disclosed earlier in Claim 10 or if it refers to a different “energy store”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the electrical energy store of the motor vehicle”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “…a current sensor configured to detect current values of the interconnection …” in line 4 of Claim 10. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “interconnection of energy storage cells” disclosed earlier in Claim 10 or if it refers to a different “interconnection”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the interconnection of energy storage cells”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “…wherein the current sensor comprises a current sensor for each interconnection …” in line 2 of Claim 12. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “interconnection of energy storage cells” disclosed earlier in Claim 10 or if it refers to a different “interconnection”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the interconnection of energy storage cells”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “…further teaches the electrical energy store according to claim 15…” in line 1 of Claim 15. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “electrical energy store for the motor vehicle” disclosed earlier in Claim 15 or if it refers to a different “electrical energy store”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the electrical energy store for the motor vehicle”.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “…detecting current values of the interconnection …” in line 3 of Claim 18. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “interconnection of energy storage cells of the electrical energy store” disclosed earlier in Claim 18 or if it refers to a different “interconnection”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the interconnection of energy storage cells of the electrical energy store”.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “…detecting the current values using a current sensor for each interconnection …” in line 2 of Claim 20. It is not clear if the underlined limitation in question refers to the same “interconnection of energy storage cells of the electrical energy store” disclosed earlier in Claim 18 or if it refers to a different “interconnection”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation in question to “the interconnection of energy storage cells of the electrical energy store”.
Claims 11-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as they further limit rejected Claim 10.
Claims 19-22 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as they further limit rejected Claim 18.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12, 14-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mukaitani et al. US 2014/0285156 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Mukaitani).
Regarding claim 10, Mukaitani teaches a detection device for an electrical energy store of a motor vehicle for detecting a fault of at least one energy storage cell of an interconnection of energy storage cells of the energy store (Figs. 1-3; Claim 13; “A battery-state monitoring system which monitors a state of each of a plurality of storage batteries in an equipment provided with an assembled battery composed of the storage batteries connected in series…”), the detection device comprising:
a current sensor ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “current detecting unit”) configured to detect current values of the interconnection ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “current detecting unit”);
a voltage sensor (Fig. 1; [0021]; Claims 13, 14; “state measuring unit”, 30) configured to detect cell voltage values of the energy storage cells ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “…a state measuring unit which measures a temperature, a voltage, and internal resistance of each of the storage batteries…”); and
a storage and evaluation apparatus (Fig. 1; Claims 13-15, 19; “prime monitoring unit”, 10) configured to:
receive the current values and the cell voltage values (Figs. 1-3; [0076-0078]; “internal memory”, 37; [0099]; “the measurement data of the temperature and voltage is recorded together with a time stamp in the internal memory 37 (S03).”);
temporarily store the current values and the cell voltage values over a predetermined time period (Figs. 1-3; [0076-0078]; “internal memory”, 37; [0099]; “the measurement data of the temperature and voltage is recorded together with a time stamp in the internal memory 37 (S03).”);
compare a respective dynamic of cell voltage curves obtained from the temporarily stored cell voltage values of a time period with a dynamic of the current curve obtained from the temporarily stored current values of the time period (Figs. 1-6; Claim 13; “…the prime monitoring unit estimates degradation of each of the storage batteries based on at least one or more values of the temperature, the voltage, and the internal resistance measured by the state measuring unit and a DC resistance of each of the storage batteries obtained from a ratio between a change in a current value detected by the current detecting unit and a change in a voltage value measured by the state measuring unit during discharging and charging of each of the storage batteries…”); and
detect a fault of at least one energy storage cell on a basis of the comparison (Figs. 1-6; Claim 13; “…the prime monitoring unit estimates degradation of each of the storage batteries based on at least one or more values of the temperature, the voltage, and the internal resistance measured by the state measuring unit and a DC resistance of each of the storage batteries obtained from a ratio between a change in a current value detected by the current detecting unit and a change in a voltage value measured by the state measuring unit during discharging and charging of each of the storage batteries…”).
Regarding claim 11, Mukaitani further teaches the detection device according to claim 10, wherein the voltage sensor comprises a voltage sensor for each energy storage cell ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “…a state measuring unit which measures a temperature, a voltage, and internal resistance of each of the storage batteries…”).
Regarding claim 12, Mukaitani further teaches the detection device according to claim 10, wherein the current sensor comprises a current sensor for each interconnection (Fig. 1; [0057]; “the power supply control device 50 has a function as a current detector capable of detecting a current value flowing through the storage batteries 41 connected in series in the power supply device 40”).
Regarding claim 14, Mukaitani further teaches the detection device according to claim 10, wherein the storage and evaluation apparatus comprises a buffer configured to store the current values and the cell voltage values temporarily and continuously in an ongoing manner over the predetermined time period (Figs. 1-3; Claims 13-15, 19; [0076-0078]; “internal memory”, 37; [0099]; “the measurement data of the temperature and voltage is recorded together with a time stamp in the internal memory 37 (S03).”).
Regarding claim 15, Mukaitani further teaches an electrical energy store for a motor vehicle (Figs. 1-6; Abstract), comprising: at least one interconnection of electrical energy storage cells (Figs. 1-3; Claim 13; “A battery-state monitoring system which monitors a state of each of a plurality of storage batteries in an equipment provided with an assembled battery composed of the storage batteries connected in series…”); and the detection device according to claim 10 (See Rejection of Claim 10).
Regarding claim 16, Mukaitani further teaches the electrical energy store according to claim 15, wherein the interconnection of the energy storage cells has at least one parallel circuit made of at least two energy storage cells (Figs. 1-3; Claim 13; “A battery-state monitoring system which monitors a state of each of a plurality of storage batteries in an equipment provided with an assembled battery composed of the storage batteries connected in series…”).
Regarding claim 17, Mukaitani further teaches the a motor vehicle comprising: the electrical energy store according to claim 15 (See Rejection of Claim 10).
Regarding claim 18, Mukaitani teaches a method for detecting a fault of at least one energy storage cell of an interconnection of energy storage cells of an electrical energy store (Figs. 1-3; Claim 13; “A battery-state monitoring system which monitors a state of each of a plurality of storage batteries in an equipment provided with an assembled battery composed of the storage batteries connected in series…”), the method comprising:
detecting current values of the interconnection ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “current detecting unit”);
detecting cell voltage values (Fig. 1; [0021]; Claims 13, 14; “state measuring unit”, 30) of the energy storage cells ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “…a state measuring unit which measures a temperature, a voltage, and internal resistance of each of the storage batteries…”);
receiving and temporarily storing (Fig. 1; Claims 13-15, 19; “prime monitoring unit”, 10) the current values and the cell voltage values over a predetermined time period (Figs. 1-3; [0076-0078]; “internal memory”, 37; [0099]; “the measurement data of the temperature and voltage is recorded together with a time stamp in the internal memory 37 (S03).”);
comparing a respective dynamic of cell voltage curves obtained from the temporarily stored cell voltage values of a time period with a dynamic of the current curve obtained from the temporarily stored current values of the time period (Figs. 1-6; Claim 13; “…the prime monitoring unit estimates degradation of each of the storage batteries based on at least one or more values of the temperature, the voltage, and the internal resistance measured by the state measuring unit and a DC resistance of each of the storage batteries obtained from a ratio between a change in a current value detected by the current detecting unit and a change in a voltage value measured by the state measuring unit during discharging and charging of each of the storage batteries…”); and
detecting a fault of at least one energy storage cell on a basis of the comparison (Figs. 1-6; Claim 13; “…the prime monitoring unit estimates degradation of each of the storage batteries based on at least one or more values of the temperature, the voltage, and the internal resistance measured by the state measuring unit and a DC resistance of each of the storage batteries obtained from a ratio between a change in a current value detected by the current detecting unit and a change in a voltage value measured by the state measuring unit during discharging and charging of each of the storage batteries…”).
Regarding claim 19, Mukaitani further teaches the method according to claim 18, comprising: detecting the cell voltage values using a voltage sensor for each energy storage cell ([0021]; Claims 13, 14; “…a state measuring unit which measures a temperature, a voltage, and internal resistance of each of the storage batteries…”).
Regarding claim 20, Mukaitani further teaches the method according to claim 18, comprising: detecting the current values using a current sensor for each interconnection (Fig. 1; [0057]; “the power supply control device 50 has a function as a current detector capable of detecting a current value flowing through the storage batteries 41 connected in series in the power supply device 40”).
Regarding claim 22, Mukaitani further teaches the method according to claim 18, comprising: storing the current values and the cell voltage values in a buffer temporarily and continuously in an ongoing manner over the predetermined time period (Figs. 1-3; Claims 13-15, 19; [0076-0078]; “internal memory”, 37; [0099]; “the measurement data of the temperature and voltage is recorded together with a time stamp in the internal memory 37 (S03).”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 13, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 10,
“…wherein the storage and evaluation apparatus is configured to: determine gradients of the cell voltage curves and the current curve; and detect the fault of at least one energy storage cell in response to a gradient of the associated cell voltage curve being directed oppositely to a gradient of the current curve at least in sections.”
Regarding claim 21, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 18,
“…determining gradients of the cell voltage curves and the current curve; and detecting the fault of at least one energy storage cell in response to a gradient of the associated cell voltage curve being directed oppositely to a gradient of the current curve at least in sections.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Butzmann US 2013/0300426 - A battery system with at least one module includes a plurality of battery cells. A cell voltage detecting circuit is associated with each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells. The cell voltage detecting circuits of the at least one module are connected to a multiplexer. An output of the multiplexer is connected to a communication bus via an analog-digital converter. The communication bus is connected to an evaluating unit.
Thomson et al. US 2020/0014219 - A battery system includes a battery module, an active cell balancing circuit, and a battery controller. Each cell has diametrically-opposed positive and negative cell tabs. The circuit includes voltage sensors and, at each end of the battery module, first and second tiers of switches and an energy storage element. Each voltage sensor is located between a different pair of adjacent cells. The controller receives measured voltages from the sensors indicative of an electric potential between adjacent battery cells. Responsive to the measured voltages, the controller commands the first tier to selectively connect or disconnect designated pairs of cells to the corresponding second tier.
Maier US 2022/0144129 - A method for determining a cell voltage of a battery cell of a traction battery of a vehicle includes filtering the cell voltage of the battery cell by a filtering device, sampling the filtered cell voltage by an analogue to digital converter, transferring the filtered and sampled cell voltage as a cell voltage signal to a computing device, evaluating the cell voltage signal by the computing device, determining a ripple value which describes a ripple of the cell voltage, and evaluating the cell voltage signal depending on the ripple value.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858