Status of claims
1. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1-15 are examined on merits in the present Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. Initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 filed in the papers of 01/23/2025. and 04/08/2026 are attached to the instant Office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copies of Application Nos. JAPAN 2022-120869, filed July 28, 2022, 2022 and JAPAN 2022-158419, filed September 30, 2022, 2022 have been received
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 3, 4, 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9 and 10 are objected for not reciting different options as a part of Markush Group for the clarity of claimed subject matter. The claims are also objected for not using correct English language in claim construction. It has resulted in multiple claim interpretations.
Claim Interpretations: The claims read on any amino acid sequence having mutations at positions 82, 332-333 or 334 as claimed. For example, The recitation “an amino acid residue at an 82nd position in an amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 is a residue of tyrosine or tryptophan” also implies that position 82 by reference to SEQ ID NO:1’s numbering, which under a normal reading in this art means the position aligned to residue 82 of SEQ ID NO:1 (via sequence alignment), not necessarily residue 82 counted directly along the candidate protein itself. That’s the standard convention when sequence variant claims say “residue at position X of SEQ ID NO:1” — it lets the claim reach homologs or truncated/extended variants where the numbering wouldn’t literally line up residue-for-residue, as long as alignment maps that spot to the recited residue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that the enzyme is “a protein having an amino acid sequence that satisfies at least one condition selected from the following (a1), (a4), (a5) and (a6), or a condition of (b),” where (a1), (a4), (a5), and (a6) each recite that “an amino acid residue at a[n] [N]th position in an amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO:1 is a residue of [specified amino acid(s)].”
Applicant has provided SEQ ID NO:1. Inspection of SEQ ID NO:1 shows that the residues actually present at the recited positions are:
Position 82: Phe (not Tyr or Trp, as required by (a1))
Position 332: Val (not Arg, Thr, or Lys, as required by (a4))
Position 333: Phe (not Ile, Gln, Ser, His, Gly, Val, or Leu, as required by (a5))
Position 334: Phe (not Leu, Ser, Arg, Cys, Ile, Gly, Asn, or Met, as required by (a6))
Consequently, none of conditions (a1), (a4), (a5), or (a6), as literally written, is satisfied by “an amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO:1” itself.
By reading literally, it implies that the claim describes a sequence that does not exist, since the very sequence it purports to define (SEQ ID NO:1) fails every one of its own recited conditions. A claim cannot be construed to require an internally self-contradictory limitation, and a person of ordinary skill in the art has no way to determine, from the claim language alone, what structure is actually being claimed.
It appears applicant intends the recited positions to serve as reference/index positions obtained by aligning a candidate enzyme sequence against SEQ ID NO:1, such that the residue “at position 82” refers to whatever residue in the candidate enzyme aligns with position 82 of SEQ ID NO:1 — not to position 82 of SEQ ID NO:1 itself. This intent, however, is nowhere recited in the claims. The claims do not (i) recite an alignment step, (ii) identify an alignment algorithm or parameters (e.g., gap-open/gap-extension penalties, global versus local alignment, full-length versus mature-protein numbering), or (iii) recite that the numbering is relative to an aligned candidate sequence rather than to SEQ ID NO:1 as literally stated. Nor do conditions (a1), (a4), (a5), and (a6) recite any minimum percent sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1 — that requirement appears only in option (b), which is explicitly presented as an alternative to, not a qualifier of, (a1)/(a4)/(a5)/(a6). As a result, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined: it is unclear whether the claim covers only enzymes structurally related to SEQ ID NO:1 at the aligned positions, or any enzyme whatsoever possessing the recited residue type at a nominally numbered position in its own sequence, unconnected to SEQ ID NO:1.
Claims 3-6 and 9 incorporate the same (a1)/(a4)/(a5)/(a6) limitations by reference to claim 1, or restate them verbatim (claim 9), and are indefinite for the same reason. Claim 10 recites the identical disjunctive limitation as a stand-alone composition claim and is indefinite for the same reason, further compounded by the term “modified enzyme,” which is undefined by any recited reference/wild-type sequence against which the “modification” is measured. Claims 2, 7, 8, and 11-15 depend from independent claims 1, 1, 1, and 10, respectively, and are indefinite by dependency.
A rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is made here because the claim, as literally drafted, is not merely broad but is unclear: it recites conditions that are facially unsatisfiable by the very sequence (SEQ ID NO:1) the claim uses as its own reference point, and it omits the alignment/correspondence methodology necessary to give the position-based limitations any ascertainable meaning relative to a candidate enzyme. This is not a matter of claim breadth (which is not by itself indefinite) but of genuine uncertainty as to what comparison, if any, the claim requires and against what standard “position 82,” “position 332,” etc. are to be counted. Applicant is required to amend the claims to positively recite the alignment/correspondence step and the enzyme (not SEQ ID NO:1) as the entity bearing the recited residues, to render the claims definite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The Federal Circuit has recently clarified the application of the written description requirement. The court stated that a written description of an invention "requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name, of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568; 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The court also concluded that "naming a type of material generally known to exist, in the absence of knowledge as to what that material consists of, is not a description of that material." Id. Further, the court held that to adequately describe a claimed genus, Patent Owner must describe a representative number of the species of the claimed genus, and that one of skill in the art should be able to "visualize or recognize the identity of the members of the genus." Id.
Finally, the court held:
A description of a genus of cDNAs may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of cDNAs, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. Id.
See also MPEP Section 2163, page 174 of Chapter 2100 of the August 2005 version, column 1, bottom paragraph, where it is taught that
[T]he claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art-recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function. A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed sequence.
See also Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ 2d 1016 at 1021, (Fed. Cir. 1991) where it is taught that a gene is not reduced to practice until the inventor can define it by "its physical or chemical properties" (e.g. a DNA sequence).
Claims are broadly drawn to a method of producing a phenolic compound, or a modified enzyme having an activity to cleave a carbon-carbon double bond in a phenolic compound, comprising
a protein having an amino acid sequence that satisfies at least one condition selected from the following (a1), (a4), (a5) and (a6), or a condition of (b): (a1) an amino acid residue at an 82nd position in an amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 is a residue of tyrosine or tryptophan; (a4) an amino acid residue at a 332nd position in the amino acids sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 is a residue of arginine, threonine or lysine; (a5) an amino acid residue at a 333rd position in the amino acid sequence represented by SEQ IDNO: 1 is a residue of isoleucine, glutamine, serine, histidine, glycine, valine or leucine; (a6) an amino acid residue at a 334th position in the amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1 is a residue of leucine, serine, arginine, cysteine, isoleucine, glycine, asparagine or methionine; and (b) satisfying at least one condition selected from (a1), (a4), (a5) and (a6), and having an amino acid sequence identity of 70%, 80% or 90% or more with respect to an amino acid sequence that satisfies at least one condition selected from (a1), (a4), (a5) and (a6), except for the amino acid sequence represented by SEQ ID NO: 1, or wherein a composition, a polynucleotide encoding said modified enzyme, an expression vector or a transformant comprising said polynucleotide.
Breadth of claims define the recited enzyme not by a single, fixed amino acid sequence, but by a combination of (i) a functional characteristic, namely an activity to cleave a carbon-carbon double bond in a phenolic substrate, and (ii) alternative structural criteria drawn from conditions (a1), (a4), (a5) and (a6), which specify only a single amino acid residue, at one of four discrete positions (82, 332, 333 or 334) of SEQ ID NO:1, or, under condition (b), any protein sharing 70% or more sequence identity with a protein that itself only satisfies one of those single-residue conditions. Breadth of some claims broaden this same genus by raising the identity threshold to 80% and 90%, respectively, without narrowing which residues outside the specified positions may vary.
A claim to a genus of proteins defined principally by a desired function, together with an arbitrary percent-identity cutoff, is adequately described only if the specification discloses either a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus, or structural features common to the members of the genus that permit one of skill to visualize or recognize the members of the claimed genus and to reasonably associate that structure with the claimed function. See Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2010); Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 598 U.S. 594 (2023).
The specification, as reflected in the present record, discloses one reference sequence, SEQ ID NO:1, and data apparently associated with substitutions at four positions considered individually. It does not disclose a representative number of species across the sequence space encompassed by condition (b), nor does it identify what structural features, beyond the single specified residue, are responsible for or necessary to retention of carbon-carbon cleavage activity when up to 30%, 20%, or 10% of the remaining several-hundred-residue protein is permitted to vary.
For a protein of this size, a 70% identity threshold alone corresponds to an enormous number of possible sequences, the great majority of which are not described, exemplified, or structurally characterized in the specification. Reciting a numerical identity threshold is not equivalent to describing the actual variety of species that fall within it, and percent identity by itself is not a structural feature that reliably correlates with retention of a specific catalytic function of this kind.
Applicant has therefore not demonstrated possession of the full scope of the claimed genus as of the filing date. All claims are rejected as depending from, or incorporating, the same unsupported genus.
The disclosure does not establish that every amino acid is tolerated at positions other than at positions 82, 332, 333 or 334 of SEQ ID NO: 1. It also does not establish that the result obtained from a tested substitution predicts the effect of a chemically or structurally different, untested substitution at the other positions in SEQ ID NO: 1 as encompassed by the breadth and scope of claims. The specification further does not establish that the effect of a substitution at one position predicts the effect of a substitution at another position. Nor does it demonstrate that substitutions that are individually compatible with luciferase activity will remain compatible when combined.
A claim reciting a genus of proteins defined largely by function (carbon-carbon-bond-cleaving activity) together with a small number of representative species and a percent-identity threshold does not, without more, demonstrate that the inventor possessed the full genus as of the filing date, particularly where (as here) the art recognizes that sequence identity outside the specifically identified residues does not reliably predict retention of enzymatic function. The specification should be reviewed to determine whether it discloses either (i) a sufficient number of representative species reasonably spanning the claimed genus (including species at or near the 70%/80% or 90% identity floor), or (ii) structural features common to the members of the genus that correlate with the claimed function, so as to distinguish the claimed genus from other members of the enzyme family that do not possess the required activity
Amino-acid substitutions may affect protein folding, catalytic activity, substrate recognition, emission intensity, emission spectrum, stability, and expression. The tested substitutions therefore do not, without an applicable structure–function correlation, necessarily represent all other substitutions encompassed by claims.
The state of the art for inferring a structure function relationship based on sequence homology is highly unpredictable. The functional prediction of a protein based on structural comparison is not consistent with an empirical assessment of its function.
See for example, Doerks et al., (TIG, 14:248-250, 1998) who teach that sequence homology is not sufficient to determine functionality of an uncharacterized protein. The homologs that scored best in PSI-BLAST analysis failed to share same catalytic activity. The reference clearly emphasizes that computer analysis of genome sequences is flawed, and overpredictions are common because the highest scoring database protein does not necessarily share the same or even similar functions. See in particular, page 248, 1st paragraph; page 248, right column, 2nd paragraph.
Also see Smith et al. (Nature Biotechnology, 15:1222-1223, 1997) who teach that there are numerous cases in which proteins of very different functions are homologous. See in particular, page 1222, last paragraph.
Also see Bork et al. (TIG, 12:425-427, 1996) who teach that homology search methods are stretched and spurious hits are taken as real. The reference further teaches that similarities determined by homology search might only be restricted to certain domains of the uncharacterized protein, whereas the whole protein is required for the functionality of the protein. See page 426, right column, 1st paragraph.
The specification does not disclose a structural principle or structure–function relationship that would permit a skilled artisan to extrapolate from the tested mutants to every untested substitution and combination covered by the breadth and scope of claims as possible mutation sites shows where additional mutants could be made and tested, but it does not demonstrate possession of every possible mutant at those positions.
One of skill in the art would not recognize that Applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the genus in view of the disclosed species. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, cited mutations positions 82, 332, 333 or 334 of SEQ ID NO: 1 are insufficient to describe the claimed genus.
Therefore, given the lack of written description in the specification with regard to the structural and functional characteristics of the claimed compositions, it is not clear that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus at the time this application was filed.
Accordingly, there is lack of adequate description to inform a skilled artisan that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. See Written Description guidelines published in Federal Register/Vol.66, No. 4/Friday, January 5, 2001/Notices; p. 1099-1111.
Accordingly, the specification does not reasonably convey that the inventors possessed the full scope of the mutant-luciferase genera recited in claims 1 and 3, or the subject matter of claims 6-10 insofar as those claims incorporate the unsupported genus of claim 1, as of the filing date.
6. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a), or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph, because the specification, while enabling for, (a) a method of producing a phenolic compound comprising a mutant enzyme or modified enzyme having increased activity to cleave a carbon-carbon double bond than its wild-type counterpart enzyme, wherein the mutant or modified enzyme has following mutations corresponding to the wild-type enzyme having the amino acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1: (i) at position 82 phenylalanine in SEQ ID NO: 1 is substituted with tyrosine or tryptophan residues, (ii) at position 332 valine in SEQ ID NO: 1 is substituted with arginine, threonine or lysine residues, (iii) at position 333 in SEQ ID NO: 1 phenylalanine is substituted with isoleucine, glutamine, serine, histidine, glycine, valine or leucine residues, or (iv) at position 334 in SEQ ID NO: 1 phenylalanine is substituted with leucine, serine, cysteine, isoleucine, glycine, asparagine or methionine; (b) a composition comprising said modified enzyme as set forth in part (a); (c) a polynucleotide encoding said modified enzyme as set forth in part (a), an expression vector or a transformant comprising said polynucleotide as set forth in part (b), does not reasonably provide enablement for (A) mutants or modified enzymes having any amino acid sequence with mutations as set forth in subparts (i)-(iv) of part (a) above; and (B) mutants or modified enzymes having at least 70%, 80% or 90% amino acid sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and having mutations as set forth in subparts (i)-(iv) of part (a) above.
The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claimed invention is not supported by an enabling disclosure taking into account the Wands factors. In re Wands, 858/F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988). In re Wands lists a number of factors for determining whether or not undue experimentation would be required by one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention. These factors are: the quantity of experimentation necessary, the amount of direction or guidance presented, the presence or absence of working examples of the invention, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, the predictability or unpredictability of the art, and the breadth of the claim.
The breadth of the claims is substantial: claims 1, 9 or 10, and claims dependent thereon for example, are not limited to a single enzyme sequence but reads on any protein, of any origin, that happens to satisfy one of four single-residue conditions, or that shares as little as 70% overall identity with such a protein, so long as it exhibits the recited carbon-carbon cleavage activity on the recited class of phenolic substrates.
The nature of the invention and the state of the art favor a finding of high unpredictability. Enzymology and protein engineering are recognized as fields in which the relationship between primary sequence and catalytic function cannot be reliably predicted from sequence identity or homology alone, so that even conservative or seemingly minor substitutions can unpredictably abolish, reduce, or alter enzymatic activity, while other substitutions distant from an active site can have compensating or synergistic effects that are not derivable from studying single substitutions in isolation.
While it is known that many amino acid substitutions, additions or deletions are generally possible in any given protein the positions within the protein's sequence where such amino acid changes can be made with a reasonable expectation of success (without altering protein function) are limited. Certain positions in the sequence are critical to the protein's structure/function relationship, e.g. such as various sites or regions directly involved in binding, activity and in providing the correct three-dimensional spatial orientation of binding and active sites. These regions can tolerate only relatively conservative substitutions or no substitutions (see for example, Wells, Biochemistry 29:8509-8517, 1990, see pages 8511-8512, tables 1-2; Ngo et al., pp. 492-495,1994, see page 491, 1st paragraph).
Also See, Bork, P., “Powers and Pitfalls in Sequence Analysis: The 70% Hurdle,” Genome Research, 10:398–400 (2000) (discussing the unreliability of a 70% sequence identity threshold as a predictor of shared function among proteins).
Also, see Guo et al. (PNAS, 101: 9205-9210, 2004, see page 9205, abstract; page 9206, table 1; page 9208, figure 1) who teach that there is a probability factor of 34% that a random amino acid replacement in a given protein will lead to its functional inactivation.
Also see, Keskin et al. (Protein Science, 13:1043-1055, 2004, see page 1043, abstract) who teach that proteins with similar structure may have different functions. Furthermore, Thornton et al. (Nature structural Biology, structural genomics supplement, November 2000, page 992, 2nd paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2) teach that structural data may carry information about the biochemical function of the protein. Its biological role in the cell or organism is much more complex and actual experimentation is needed to elucidate actual biological function under in vivo conditions.
Also see McConnell et al. (Nature, 411:709-713, 2001; see in particular, abstract; figure 2) who teach that a single amino acid change (glycine to aspartic acid) in START domain of either PHABULOSA or PHAVOLUTA (homeodomain leucine zipper domain containing transcription factor) was sufficient to alter sterol/lipid binding domain activity.
This unpredictability is compounded here because condition (b) does not merely tolerate isolated substitutions but permits simultaneous variation at a substantial fraction of the protein’s residues, a situation in which the combined effect of multiple changes on a specific catalytic activity is particularly unpredictable and cannot be assumed to be additive.
Against this backdrop, the guidance provided in the specification appears limited to a small number of working examples involving single-position variants of one reference sequence, with no examples spanning the outer boundaries of the claimed 70%, 80%, or 90% identity ranges, and no disclosure of a method by which a skilled artisan could reliably predict, without experimentation, which sequences within those ranges would retain the required activity. Because the claims are not limited to the enzymes actually exemplified, and because the art is unpredictable as to which of the vast number of sequences falling within the claimed identity ranges will retain the specific carbon-carbon cleaving activity recited, a person of ordinary skill would be required to synthesize and individually test an unreasonably large number of candidate sequences, amounting to undue experimentation,
Given the breadth of the claims, unpredictability of the art and lack of guidance of the specification, as discussed above, undue experimentation would be required by one skilled in the art to make and use the claimed invention commensurate in scope with the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gasson et al. (J. Biol. Chem. 273(7):4163–4170, 1998).
Gasson et al. disclose that a gene encoding a novel enoyl-SCoA hydratase/lyase enzyme was isolated from Pseudomonas fluorescens biovar V, strain AN103, the enzyme catalyzing hydration and non-oxidative cleavage of the carbon–carbon double bond of feruloyl-SCoA — a thioester derivative of ferulic acid (4-hydroxy-3-methoxy-trans-cinnamic acid) falling within the genus of Formula (1)/(3), where R¹ is broadly recited as hydrogen or an alkyl group — to yield vanillin (falling within Formula (2)/(4)) and acetyl-SCoA. This discloses the “method of producing a phenolic compound… from a compound represented by Formula (1) [or (3)]… comprising a process of contacting the compound… with an enzyme… having an activity to cleave a carbon-carbon double bond in the compound” of instant claims 1 and 9. See Abstract; page 4163, column 1.
Gasson et al. further disclose isolation of the gene by mutant complementation, determination of the deduced amino acid sequence of the enoyl-SCoA hydratase/lyase protein, and heterologous expression of the gene in Escherichia coli under control of a T7 RNA polymerase promoter, with confirmation of enzymatic activity in extracts of the recombinant host, disclosing: an isolated protein/“modified enzyme” (claim 10); a polynucleotide encoding it (claim 13); an expression vector comprising that polynucleotide operably linked to the T7 promoter (claim 14); a transformed E. coli host cell comprising the vector (claim 15); a composition (cell extract) comprising the enzyme (claim 12); and use of the enzyme in a method of producing a phenolic compound (claim 11). See page 4163, column 2 – page 4164).
Gasson et al. expressly identifies ferulic acid as the acid from which the feruloyl-SCoA substrate derives and vanillin as the product, disclosing the substrate/product species of claims 7 and 8. Rhodes (Abstract) independently and cumulatively discloses the same three-enzyme conversion of trans-ferulic acid to vanillin via trans-feruloyl-SCoA hydratase (enzyme activity II) and HMPHP-SCoA cleavage (enzyme activity III) activities obtainable from Pseudomonas fluorescens Fe3, “or a mutant or derivative thereof,” together with the corresponding polypeptides, encoding polynucleotides, and their use in vanillin production, disclosing the same claim elements as Gasson. See page 4163, column 1.
As to the amino-acid-sequence limitations of claims 1, 3-6, 9, and 10 — conditions (a1), (a4), (a5), (a6), and (b) — the enoyl-SCoA hydratase/lyase protein disclosed by Gasson et al. is a sequenced polypeptide of substantial length (deduced from the cloned gene). Consistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation compelled by the claim language discussed in the § 112(b) rejection above (i.e., that conditions (a1)/(a4)/(a5)/(a6) require only that the recited residue type appear at a nominally numbered position, without any recited requirement that the position be established by alignment to, or share identity with, SEQ ID NO:1), the enoyl-SCoA hydratase/lyase sequence necessarily presents residues of the recited types at positions nominally reachable as 82, 332, 333, and 334, and thereby satisfies at least one of (a1)/(a4)/(a5)/(a6) as required by claims 1, 9, and 10, and the further narrowed selections thereof recited in claims 3, 4, 5, and 6 (the identity thresholds of claims 5 and 6 attach only to option (b) and do not narrow the scope otherwise reachable through the (a)-prong selected in each claim).
This rejection is made because of following reasons:
The claim language itself — as explained in the accompanying § 112(b) rejection above — does not require any alignment or identity relationship between the claimed enzyme and SEQ ID NO:1 for conditions (a1), (a4), (a5), or (a6) to be met. Because the claims, given their broadest reasonable interpretation under their present ambiguous wording, reach any sufficiently long enzyme having the recited residue type at a nominally numbered position and the recited carbon-carbon-bond-cleaving activity, the previously disclosed and fully characterized Gasson et al. enzyme falls within that scope and anticipates the claims. This rejection is presented in the alternative to, and is contingent on the resolution of, the indefiniteness rejection above: should applicant amend the claims to require that the recited positions be established by alignment of the candidate enzyme to full-length SEQ ID NO:1 with a defined methodology, the anticipation rejection would be withdrawn.
Conclusion
8. Claims 1-15 are rejected.
Contact Information
/VINOD KUMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1663