DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first deactivatable coupling means” and “second first deactivatable coupling means” in claims 2-4.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Additionally, the limitation “at least one of the first or second electric machines of the first engine and/or second engine being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines” is indefinite because it is unclear whether “the other of the first or second electric machines” refers to the corresponding electric machine (e.g. the first electric machine of the first engine transmits electricity to the first electric machine of the second engine) in the other engine or whether this applies to the other electric machine in the same engine (e.g. the first electric machine of the first engine transmits electricity to the second electric machine of the first engine). Clarification is required.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "at least" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Further, “quick restart phase” appears to be a relative clause. As such is also unclear.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 13 respectively of copending Application No. 18998280 (henceforth 280) in view Poumarede (US 20170184032 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because these claims cover the same subject matter except for limitations which are obvious in light of Poumarede (US 20170184032 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, 280 claims a propulsion assembly for a hybrid aircraft, in particular a multi-engine helicopter, comprising:
- at least a first engine and a second engine each having a gas generator and a free turbine driven in rotation by a gas stream generated by the gas generator,
- a main rotor coupled to the free turbine of the first and second engines,
- the first and second engines each comprising a first electric machine and a second electric machine of lower power than the first electric machine, one of the first or second electric machines being able to be coupled to the gas generator and to set in rotation the gas generator during a start phase of the engine, and being further able to be coupled to the free turbine after the start phase in order to generate electrical energy, the other of the first or second electric machines being coupled to the gas generator only (280, claim 1), except:
at least one of the first or second electric machines of the first engine and/or second engine being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines.
Poumarede (US 20170184032 A1) teaches a first and second electric machine being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines (Poumarede, figure 3, item S11-S22 and CVS1-CVS2, electrical energy generated by M1A can be transmitted to the other electric machine M1B or to M2A).
280 and Poumarede are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aircraft engine designs. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machines of a given engine of 280 with the electric machines being able to transmit electrical energy to the other electric machine of Poumarede with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase redundancy.
Regarding claim 2, 280 claims the propulsion assembly according to claim 1
wherein the first electric machine is coupled to a shaft of the free turbine via first deactivatable coupling means (280, claim 2), and is coupled to a shaft of the gas generator via second deactivatable coupling means,
the first and second deactivatable coupling means being configured so as not to be activated simultaneously (280, claim 4).
Regarding claim 3, 280 claims the propulsion assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the first deactivatable coupling means comprise a first free wheel the second deactivatable coupling means comprise a second free wheel, and the first and second free wheels are mounted in opposition (280, claim 5).
Regarding claim 4, 280 claims the propulsion assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the first deactivatable coupling means comprise a first reduction gear having a first reduction coefficient, while the second deactivatable coupling means comprise a second reduction gear having a second reduction coefficient, and the ratio of the first and second reduction coefficients is smaller than a first limit value (280, claim 6).
Regarding claim 5, 280 claims the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein, when one of the first or second engines alone drives the main rotor, the gas generator of the other of the first or second engines is kept in a standby mode, via the first or second electric machine (280, claim 7).
Regarding claim 6, 280 claims the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second electric machine is coupled to the gas generator only, via a free wheel (280, claim 8).
Regarding claim 7, 280 claims a hybrid aircraft comprising a propulsion assembly according to claim 1, the hybrid aircraft being a multi-engine helicopter, in particular a twin-engine helicopter (280, claim 10).
Regarding claim 8, 280 claims a method for optimizing the operation of a multi-engine aircraft using a propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein,
during a start phase of one of the first or second engines, the first electric machine and/or the second electric machine drive the gas generator of said first or second engine (280, claim 11) without driving the free turbine (280, claim 13), and after the start phase, the free turbine of said first or second engine drives one of the first electric machine or second electric machine in order to generate electrical energy (280, claim 11), the first electric machine or second electric machine generating electrical energy being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines coupled only to the gas generator (Poumarede, figure 3, item S11-S22 and CVS1-CVS2, electrical energy generated by M1A can be transmitted to the other electric machine M1B or to M2A).
Claims 1, 5, and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 7, and 13 respectively of copending Application No. 19484734 (henceforth 734). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter overlaps (see the mapping below).
Regarding claim 1, 734 claims a propulsion assembly for a hybrid aircraft, in particular a multi-engine helicopter, comprising:
- at least a first engine and a second engine each having a gas generator and a free turbine driven in rotation by a gas stream generated by the gas generator,
- a main rotor coupled to the free turbine of the first and second engines,
- the first and second engines each comprising a first electric machine and a second electric machine of lower power than the first electric machine, one of the first or second electric machines being able to be coupled to the gas generator and to set in rotation the gas generator during a start phase of the engine, and being further able to be coupled to the free turbine after the start phase in order to generate electrical energy, the other of the first or second electric machines being coupled to the gas generator only (734, claim 1), at least one of the first or second electric machines of the first engine and/or second engine being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines (734, claim 9).
Regarding claim 5, 734 claims the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein, when one of the first or second engines alone drives the main rotor, the gas generator of the other of the first or second engines is kept in a standby mode, via the first or second electric machine (734, claim 7).
Regarding claim 7, 734 claims a hybrid aircraft comprising a propulsion assembly according to claim 1, the hybrid aircraft being a multi-engine helicopter, in particular a twin-engine helicopter (734, claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poumarede (US 20170184032 A1) in view of Bedrine (US 20110049891 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Poumarede (US 20170184032 A1) discloses a propulsion assembly for a hybrid aircraft, in particular a multi-engine helicopter, comprising:
- at least a first engine and a second engine (Poumarede, figure 3, items GT1 and GT2) each having a gas generator and a free turbine driven in rotation by a gas stream generated by the gas generator (Poumarede, ¶62),
- a main rotor coupled to the free turbine of the first and second engines (Poumarede, ¶1, free turbine drives rotors of helicopter),
- the first and second engines each comprising a first electric machine (Poumarede, figure 3, items M1A and M2A) and a second electric machine (Poumarede, figure 3, items M1B and M2B) of lower power than the first electric machine (Poumarede, ¶91), one of the first or second electric machines being able to be coupled to the gas generator and to set in rotation the gas generator during a start phase of the engine (Poumarede, ¶91, M2B is coupled with the gas generator for starting the engine), and being further able to be coupled to the free turbine after the start phase in order to generate electrical energy, the other of the first or second electric machines being coupled to the gas generator only (Poumarede, ¶91, M2B is coupled with the gas generator for starting the engine), at least one of the first or second electric machines of the first engine and/or second engine being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines (Poumarede, figure 3, item S11-S22 and CVS1-CVS2, electrical energy generated by M1A can be transmitted to the other electric machine M1B), except:
one of the first or second electric machines being able to be coupled to the gas generator and to set in rotation the gas generator during a start phase of the engine, and being further able to be coupled to the free turbine after the start phase in order to generate electrical energy.
Bedrine (US 20110049891 A1) teaches a first electric machine (Bedrine, figure 1, item 30) being able to be coupled to the gas generator (Bedrine, figure 1, item 18, shaft coupling electric machine to gas generator) and to set in rotation the gas generator during a start phase of the engine (Bedrine, ¶79), and being further able to be coupled to the free turbine (Bedrine, figure 1, item 16, shaft coupling electric machine to free turbine) after the start phase in order to generate electrical energy (Bedrine, ¶81).
Poumarede and Bedrine are both considered analogous art as they are both in the same field of aircraft engine designs. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the application for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first electric machine of Poumarede with the first electric machine which is deactivatably couplable with the gas generator for starting the gas generator and deactivatably couplable with the free turbine for generating electricity of Bedrine with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase redundancy.
Regarding claim 2, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 1
wherein the first electric machine is coupled to a shaft of the free turbine via first deactivatable coupling means, and is coupled to a shaft of the gas generator via second deactivatable coupling means,
the first and second deactivatable coupling means being configured so as not to be activated simultaneously (Bedrine, claim 14).
Regarding claim 3, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the first deactivatable coupling means comprise a first free wheel the second deactivatable coupling means comprise a second free wheel, and the first and second free wheels are mounted in opposition (Bedrine, claim 16).
Regarding claim 4, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the first deactivatable coupling means comprise a first reduction gear having a first reduction coefficient, while the second deactivatable coupling means comprise a second reduction gear having a second reduction coefficient, and the ratio of the first and second reduction coefficients is smaller than a first limit value (Bedrine, claim 18).
Regarding claim 5, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein, when one of the first or second engines alone drives the main rotor, the gas generator of the other of the first or second engines is kept in a standby mode, via the first or second electric machine (Poumarede, ¶78, single engine flight with one engine kept in standby).
Regarding claim 6, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second electric machine is coupled to the gas generator only, via a free wheel (Poumarede, ¶91, M2B is coupled with the gas generator for starting the engine).
Regarding claim 7, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches a hybrid aircraft comprising a propulsion assembly according to claim 1, the hybrid aircraft being a multi-engine helicopter, in particular a twin-engine helicopter (Poumarede, ¶61, helicopter having two engines).
Regarding claim 8, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches a method for optimizing the operation of a multi-engine aircraft using a propulsion assembly according to claim 1, wherein, during a start phase of one of the first or second engines,
the first electric machine and/or the second electric machine drive the gas generator of said first or second engine without driving the free turbine (Bedrine, figures 1-2, items 32 and 12, ¶77-¶79), and after the start phase, the free turbine of said first or second engine drives one of the first electric machine or second electric machine in order to generate electrical energy (Bedrine, figures 1-2, items 40 and 14, ¶81), the first electric machine or second electric machine generating electrical energy being able to transmit electrical energy to the other of the first or second electric machines coupled only to the gas generator (Poumarede, figure 3, item S11-S22 and CVS1-CVS2, electrical energy generated by M1A can be transmitted to the other electric machine M1B).
Regarding claim 9, Poumarede as modified by Bedrine teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein one of the first or second engines is able to operate alone, the other engine then operating in a standby mode while being driven at idle by the first or second electric machine (Poumarede, ¶78, single engine flight with the other engine kept in standby), the engine operating in the standby mode being restarted by the first electric machine at least during a quick restart phase (Poumarede, ¶9, gas generator rotated via rotary machine).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130086919 A1 teaches two engines with starter generators (fig 2 items 200a-b) which can provided power to each other
US 20220135239 A1 teaches a two engine system, where a starter generator is provided on a gas generators and another on a free turbine, that other starter generator provides power to the first one
/RYAN ANDREW YANKEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642