DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a plurality of clamping portions configured to” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the clamping portions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “one of the plurality of clamping portions”
Claim 3 recites “the clamping portion” while claim 2 recites “the clamping portions”. It is unclear if the clamping portion of claim 3 is one of those in claim 2 or not. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “the one of the plurality of clamping portions”.
Claim 4 recites “the clamping portion” while claim 1 recites “a plurality of clamping portions”. It is unclear if the clamping portion of claim 4 is one of those in claim 1, if the fixed-side clamping portion and movable-side clamping portions are of the plurality, or if this “clamping portion” is something else altogether. For the purposes of this examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “the plurality of clamping portions”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the pad member”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JP S56-80889-U.
Regarding claim 1, ‘889 discloses:
A clamp device [pipe clamp; figure 2] configured to clamp outer circumferential surfaces of a pair of pipe members while having end surfaces of the pair of pipe members to be welded facing each other [figures 1 and 2], the clamp device comprising:
a plurality of clamping portions [angle (3)] configured to clamp the outer circumferential surfaces of the pair of pipe members [see figures 1 and 3]; and
a projecting piece [gap plate (2)] that is provided on at least one of the clamping portions and that is inserted between the end surfaces of the pair of pipe members.
Regarding claim 2, ‘889 discloses:
wherein the clamping portions have a flat surface [angles (3) have flat surfaces] configured to abut the outer circumferential surface of the pair of pipe members, and the projecting piece is provided so as to protrude from the flat surface [see figure 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penny (US 5,135,209) in view of JP S56-80889-U.
Regarding claim 1, Penny teaches:
A clamp device [pipe clamp apparatus; figures 1, 6A, 14, and 15] configured to clamp outer circumferential surfaces of a pair of pipe members while having end surfaces of the pair of pipe members to be welded facing each other [figure 14], the clamp device comprising:
a plurality of clamping portions [socket (38) and V-shaped brackets (24, 31) each comprising recesses (29, 30 and 36, 37); figures 6A, and 15 and 4:62-68] configured to clamp the outer circumferential surfaces of the pair of pipe members [figure 14].
Penny does not teach:
a projecting piece that is provided on at least one of the clamping portions and that is inserted between the end surfaces of the pair of pipe members.
Note that the recesses are aligned relative to one another when secured together to provide access to a pipe joint positioned within the recesses for a machining procedure and the like; abstract.
‘889 teaches a pipe clamp wherein angle (3) comprises gap plate (2) in order to set the root gap between pipes; description.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the ‘889 gap plate onto the V-shaped brackets in order to be able to set the root gap between pipes prior to tack welding
Regarding claim 2, Penny teaches:
wherein the clamping portions have a flat surface [plates (25, 26 and 32, 33) have flat surfaces] configured to abut the outer circumferential surface of the pair of pipe members [see figure 14], and the projecting piece is provided so as to protrude from the flat surface [this is addressed by the incorporation of gap plate (2) in the rejection of claim 1].
Regarding claim 3, Penny teaches:
wherein the clamping portion comprises:
a support member [socket (38)]; and
a pair of pad members [plates (25, 26 and 32, 33)] that are swingably supported by the support member [socket (38) swivels on swivel connection (23b)], each of the pair of pad members having the flat surface [plates (25, 26 and 32, 33) have flat surfaces], and
wherein each of the flat surfaces of the pair of pad members receives a pressing load and abuts the outer circumferential surfaces of the pair of pipe members [see figure 14].
Regarding claim 4, Penny teaches:
wherein the clamping portion is constituted by:
a fixed-side clamping portion [V-shaped bracket (24) is fixed to first leg (13) via threaded rod (23) or slotted connection (39)]; and
a movable-side clamping portion [V-shaped bracket (31) is fixed to second leg (14) via threaded rod (20) so as to move] that approaches or moves away with respect to the fixed-side clamping portion.
Penny does not teach:
the projecting piece is provided only on the pad member of the fixed-side clamping portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place the gap plate only onto one of the V-shaped brackets in order to avoid having complications due to the need for perfect alignment if both brackets have the gap plate, reduce manufacturing cost, or one is not worried about distortion due to the heat of tack welding due to the size of the pipes. As for specifically picking the fixed-side clamping portion, there are only two options so either is as viable as the other, minus any unexpected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; see PTO 892.
/CARLOS J GAMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735