DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This first non-final rejection is in response to Applicant’s original filing of 01/23/2025.
Claims 9-12 and 14-17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "… deactivate the automated lateral guidance in response to detecting the at least one deactivation event..." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no introduction to “at least one deactivation event” preceding this recitation to make clear what this limitation is referring to.
For the purposes of continued compact prosecution and examination, the Examiner presumes this limitation refers to preceding limitation “…at least one sensor configured to detect at least one driver-intervention event;...” The Applicant should clarify if the “at least one driver-intervention event” is the same as “the at least one deactivation event.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Künzer (DE 102018210320 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Künzer discloses a lane guidance assistant for a vehicle (see at least ¶ [0001-0003] of the machine translation), comprising:
at least one sensor configured to detect at least one driver-intervention event (see at least ¶ [0020-0030] of the machine translation and Fig. 2 disclosing sensors on a steering wheel to detect a driver’s hands and determine intervention);
an electronic control unit, configured to perform a method for operating the lane guidance assistant of the vehicle (see at least ¶ [0002] and [0010] of the machine translation disclosing an electronic control unit for automated longitudinal or lateral control), comprising:
activating an automated lateral guidance of the vehicle, wherein in accordance with the activation a steering torque is applied by means of a steering system (see at least ¶ [0002], [0006], [0010-0011], [0046], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing an electronic control unit for automated longitudinal or lateral control);
deactivating the automated lateral guidance in response to detecting at least one deactivation event, wherein in accordance with the deactivation the applied steering torque is reduced within a deactivation duration (see at least ¶ [0010-0011], [0020-0030], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing deactivating automated lateral control for a vehicle when the control unit detects a steering torque from a driver intervening on the steering wheel within a period of time);
determining that the at least one deactivation event is a driver-intervention event initiated by a driver of the vehicle (see at least ¶ [0010-0011], [0020-0030], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing deactivating automated lateral control for a vehicle when the control unit detects a steering torque from a driver intervening on the steering wheel within a period of time);
reducing the deactivation duration to a reduced deactivation duration in response to determining that the deactivation event is the driver-intervention event (see at least ¶ [0010-0011], [0020-0030], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing deactivating automated lateral control for a vehicle when the control unit detects a steering torque from a driver intervening on the steering wheel within a period of time, where the minimum time duration decreases if the driver inputs a larger steering angle or a stronger steering torque);
and in accordance with the deactivation, reducing the steering torque within the reduced deactivation duration (see at least ¶ [0010-0011], [0020-0030], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing deactivating automated lateral control for a vehicle when the control unit detects a steering torque from a driver intervening on the steering wheel within a period of time, where the minimum time duration decreases if the driver inputs a larger steering angle or a stronger steering torque).
Regarding claim 10, Künzer discloses the driver-intervention event comprises: driver-applied steering wheel torque and/or steering wheel angle change (see at least ¶ [0010-0011], [0020-0030], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing deactivating automated lateral control for a vehicle when the control unit detects a steering torque from a driver intervening on the steering wheel within a period of time).
Regarding claim 14, Künzer discloses determining a type and/or an intensity of the driver intervention event, wherein the reduced deactivation duration is determined based on the determined type and/or intensity of the driver intervention event (see at least ¶ [0010-0011], [0020-0030], and [0074-0075] of the machine translation disclosing deactivating automated lateral control for a vehicle when the control unit detects a steering torque from a driver intervening on the steering wheel within a period of time, where the minimum time duration decreases if the driver inputs a larger steering angle or a stronger steering torque).
Regarding claim 17, Künzer discloses a vehicle with a lane guidance assistant of claim 16 (see at least ¶ [0001-0003] of the machine translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Künzer, as applied to claim 9 above, and in view of Inomata (US 20160272202 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Künzer does not explicitly disclose the driver-intervention event comprises: driver-initiated turn-signal activation.
However, Inomata suggests the driver-intervention event comprises: driver-initiated turn-signal activation (see at least ¶ [0031] disclosing a lane keeping assist function being interrupted when a turn signal is activated).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the turn signal based deactivation of the lane keeping assistance of Inomata into the lateral guidance control of Künzer with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward lane assistance systems while accounting for situations to deactivate the lane assistance system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that activating a turn signal would present a situation where lane assistance would not be necessary or potentially hinder vehicle operations.
Regarding claim 12 Künzer does not explicitly disclose the driver-intervention event comprises: driver-initiated braking.
However, Inomata suggests the driver-intervention event comprises: driver-initiated braking (see at least ¶ [0031] disclosing a lane keeping assist function being interrupted when braking).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the braking based deactivation of the lane keeping assistance of Inomata into the lateral guidance control of Künzer with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward lane assistance systems while accounting for situations to deactivate the lane assistance system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that braking would present a situation where lane assistance would not be necessary or potentially hinder vehicle operations.
Regarding claim 15, Künzer does not explicitly disclose the deactivation duration is predetermined as a function of a current speed of the vehicle.
However, Inomata suggests the deactivation duration is predetermined as a function of a current speed of the vehicle (see at least ¶ [0031] disclosing a lane keeping assist function being interrupted when the vehicle falls outside a predetermined range of vehicle speeds).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the vehicle speed based deactivation of the lane keeping assistance of Inomata into the lateral guidance control of Künzer with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward lane assistance systems while accounting for situations to deactivate the lane assistance system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that falling outside a range of vehicle speeds would present a situation where lane assistance would not be necessary or potentially hinder vehicle operations.
Conclusion
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
7/30/26