DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231. The claims in the present applications are anticipated by claims in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231 discloses in claim 1 a sensing device, comprising:
a stationary portion configured for attachment to a vehicle;
a rotating portion, wherein the rotating portion is spaced apart from the stationary portion by a gap and is configured to rotate relative to the stationary portion;
a wireless data transformer configured for data communication across the gap, the wireless data transformer comprising a first conductive structure in the stationary portion and a second conductive structure in the rotating portion;
a wireless power transformer configured to transmit power across the gap, the wireless power transformer comprising a primary winding in the stationary portion and a secondary winding in the rotating portion;
a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device in the rotating portion, wherein the LIDAR device is configured to generate data; and
a communication interface in the rotating portion, wherein the communication interface is configured to (i) encode the data generated by the LIDAR device with error correction codes to provide encoded data, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the LIDAR device, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231 discloses in claim 9, a system, comprising:
a first platform configured for attachment to a vehicle;
a second platform spaced apart from the first platform by a gap, wherein the second platform is configured to rotate relative to the first platform;
an apparatus coupled to the second platform, wherein the apparatus comprises a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device configured to generate data;
a wireless data transformer configured to transmit the data generated by the LIDAR device via the gap, wherein the wireless data transformer comprises a first conductive structure in the first platform and a second conductive structure in the second platform;
a wireless power transformer configured to transmit power to the apparatus via the gap, wherein the wireless power transformer comprises a primary winding in the first platform and a secondary winding in the second platform; and
a communication interface in the second platform, wherein the communication interface is configured to (i) encode the data generated by the LIDAR device with error correction codes to provide encoded data, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the LIDAR device, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231 discloses in claim 15, a method comprising:
rotating a rotating portion of a sensing device relative to a stationary portion of the sensing device, wherein the rotating portion is spaced apart from the stationary portion by a gap, and wherein the stationary portion is coupled to a vehicle;
transmitting power to the rotating portion via a wireless power transformer, wherein the wireless power transformer comprises a primary winding in the stationary portion and a secondary winding in the rotating portion;
generating data by a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device in the rotating portion;
encoding, by a communication interface in the rotating portion, the data generated by the LIDAR device with error correction codes to provide encoded data;
modulating, by the communication interface, a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal; and
transmitting, by the communication interface, the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via a wireless data transformer, wherein the wireless data transformer comprises a first conductive structure in the stationary portion and a second conductive structure in the rotating portion, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the LIDAR device, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle.
Claim 2 in the present application corresponds to claim 1 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 3 in the present application corresponds to claim 1 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 4 in the present application corresponds to claim 8 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 5 in the present application corresponds to claim 7 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 6 in the present application corresponds to claim 2 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 7 in the present application corresponds to claim 3 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 8 in the present application corresponds to claims 4 and 5 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 9 in the present application corresponds to claim 6 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 11 in the present application corresponds to claim 9 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 12 in the present application corresponds to claim 11 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 13 in the present application corresponds to claim 9 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 14 in the present application corresponds to claim 10 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 15 in the present application corresponds to claim 12 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 16 in the present application corresponds to claim 13 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 18 in the present application corresponds to claim 16 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 19 in the present application corresponds to claim 17 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim 20 in the present application corresponds to claim 18 in U.S. Patent No. 12,216,231.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180123412 A1 (Karplus et al., hereinafter Karplus) in view of US 20210126414 A1 (Cram et al., hereinafter Cram), and further in view of US 2018/0081361 A1 (Robinson et al., hereinafter Robinson).
Regarding claim 1, Karplus discloses a sensing device (At least Fig. 3, “device 300” reads on “sensing device”), comprising:
a stationary portion (Fig. 3 and par. [0084], “Second Platform 330 can be configured as a stator platform” and Fig. 4, “platform 430”, corresponding to “stationary portion”) configured for attachment to a vehicle (par. [0005], where the stator platform includes a planar mounting surface for mounting/attaching, including mounting/attaching to at least vehicle 100 in Fig. 1);
a rotating portion (Fig. 3, “First Platform 310” and Fig. 4, “platform 410” corresponding to a “rotating portion”), wherein the rotating portion is spaced apart from the stationary portion by a gap (Fig. 3, gap between “First Platform 310” and “Second Platform 330” and Fig. 4, “distance 408” corresponding to “gap”) and is configured to rotate relative to the stationary portion (Figs 3 and 4A-4B, par [0084], “platform 310 rotates relative to platform 330”);
a wireless data transformer (Fig. 3 and par. [0073], “wireless (or wired) transmission of power between platforms 310 and 330… interface 318 may include transformer coil(s) (not shown)”, where the windings for data transmission at both the stationary portion and the rotating portions, read on “data transformer”) configured for data communication across the gap (Fig. 3; pars. [0072] and [0084], “communication interface 316” and “communication interface 336”), the wireless data transformer comprising a first conductive structure in the stationary portion (Fig. 3 and par. [0084],[0087] “plurality of conductive structures 340” and “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”) and a second conductive structure in the rotating portion (Fig. 3, “transformer coil(s) (not shown)”), wherein the first and second conductive structures are inductively coupled together across the gap (par. [0087], “power interface 318 to induce an electrical current through the corresponding transformer coil”);
a wireless power transformer configured to transmit power across the gap (Fig. 3 and par. [0073], “wireless (or wired) transmission of power between platforms 310 and 330… interface 318 may include transformer coil(s) (not shown)”), wherein the wireless power transformer comprises a primary winding in the stationary portion (Fig. 3 and par. [0084],[0087], “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”)) and a secondary winding in the rotating portion (par. [0087], “power interface 318 to induce an electrical current through the corresponding transformer coil”);
a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device (Fig. 3, “sensors 312”; par. [0002], “remote sensing systems (e.g., RADARs, LIDARs…”) in the rotating portion (”First Platform 310”), wherein the LIDAR device is configured to generate data (Par. [0071]-[0072], “data collected by sensor 312” , reads on generating data); and
a communication interface in the rotating portion (Fig. 3, “interface 316”), wherein the communication interface is configured to (i) encode the data generated by the LIDAR device by the one or more sensors (par. [0072], “[C]communication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302…”, where modulated signals are encoded signals) to provide encoded data, (ii) modulate a signal (“modulated electrical signal indicative of the sensor data to communication interface 316”; Communication interface 316 may include any combination of wireless”) to provide a data-modulated signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to [a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle] via the wireless data transformer (par. [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302 for receipt by a light detector included in platform 330….”. par. [0103], similarly to device 300 for example, device 400 can be configured to transmit power and/or communication signals between platforms 410 and 430. At least Pars. [0033], [0035] and [0056] seem to suggest that communication interfaces in the vehicle 200 interact with external sensors such as “device 300”, which themselves comprise “communication interfaces 316 and 336”).
Karplus does not specifically disclose wherein the data is encoded with error correction codes, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle.
In related art concerning techniques for high speed communications through slip rings using modulation and multipath signaling, Cram discloses wherein the data is encoded with error correction codes to provide encoded data (Figs. 1-4 and pars. [0031],[0037], “the transceivers 114 and 116 may support any suitable error correction…LDPC FEC… using the ITU-T G.hn standard (G.9960 and G.9961 specifications)”, where transceivers read on interfaces), (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal (par. [0031], “transceiver 114 generates a modulated data signal 118… using a suitable modulation scheme…. such as OFDM or other modulation” where OFDM splits transmitted signals into multiple orthogonal sub-carriers), and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer (Fig. 3, par. [0056], “an on-board computer, control system, or other internal component of the vehicle 300 to provide data to or receive data from the one or more electronic components 306 through the slip ring 102…”), and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data (pars. [0070]-[0071], where “transceiver 116” demodulates the data and provides it to one or more components within the vehicle 300, the computer 406 or other processing system.”), (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors (par. [0070], “the transceiver 116 optionally performing high-level decoding of the data, such as by reordering the data and performing a decoding of the data (thereby reversing the corresponding operations performed by the transceiver 114.”), and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle (par. [0071], “the transceiver 116 providing the recovered data to one or more components within the vehicle 300, the computer 406.”). Note: the limitation in italics does not have any patentable weight because the claim is directed to a “sensing device” and the vehicle communication interface is not part of the sensing device. Please see par. [0003] in the specification of the current application (“The sensing device may include a stationary portion that is mounted on the vehicle and a rotating portion that rotates relative to the stationary portion. To facilitate rotation, the rotating portion may be spaced apart from the stationary portion by a gap. In such cases, it may be desirable to transmit data wirelessly across the gap (e.g., data generated by one or more sensors in the rotating portion) in order to communicate the data to a computing device or other system in the vehicle.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Cram’s teachings wherein the data is encoded with error correction codes, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle with the device for driving a rotary platform disclosed by Karplus because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that G.hn would provide the advantage of providing higher rate transmissions, lower equipment development, fast network troubleshooting resolution and transmissions among others. In addition, transmitting data/information to the vehicle computer would allow for further processing and use of the data, since the vehicle computer comprises the memory and processing capabilities to analyze the data collected by the sensors and use it according to programed instructions stored in the computer.
Although Cram seems to suggest a transformer, Karplus and Cram do not explicitly disclose where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer.
In related art concerning devices and methods for a sensor platform of a vehicle, Robinson discloses where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer (Figs 4A-4B and par. [0100], “controller 414 can …implemented as a computing system outside device 400 (e.g., computing system 210, etc.)”, where “computer system 210” is located in the vehicle, please see Fig. 2 and where “computing system 210” corresponds to an interface that interacts/communicates with at least with sensors 408 which is located in the “platform 406” that comprises transformer coils; thus, being part of the transformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Robinson’s teachings where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer with the device for driving a rotary platform disclosed by Karplus and Cram because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having an interface in the vehicle constitutes an alternative design, as suggested by Robinson (par. [0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Karplus discloses a system (at least Figs. 1, 3-4), comprising:
a first platform (Fig. 3 and par. [0084], “Second Platform 330 can be configured as a stator platform”) configured for attachment to a vehicle (par. [0005], where the stator platform includes a planar mounting surface for mounting/attaching, including mounting/attaching to at least vehicle 100 in Fig. 1);
a second platform (Fig. 3, “First Platform 310”; Fig. 4, “platform 410”) spaced apart from the first platform by a gap (Fig. 3, gap between “First Platform 310” and “Second Platform 330” and Fig. 4, “distance 408” corresponding to “gap”), wherein the second platform is configured to rotate relative to the first platform (Figs 3 and 4A-4B, par [0084], “platform 310 rotates relative to platform 330”);
an apparatus coupled to the second platform (”First Platform 310”), wherein the apparatus comprises a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device (Fig. 3, “sensors 312”; par. [0002], “remote sensing systems (e.g., RADARs, LIDARs…”) configured to generate data (Par. [0071]-[0072], “data collected by sensor 312” , reads on generating data);
a wireless data transformer (Fig. 3 and par. [0073], “wireless (or wired) transmission of power between platforms 310 and 330… interface 318 may include transformer coil(s) (not shown)”, where the windings for data transmission at both the stationary portion and the rotating portions, read on “data transformer”) configured to transmit the data generated by the one or more sensors LIDAR via the gap (pars. [0002] and [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302…”, where modulated signals are encoded signals), wherein the wireless data transformer comprises a first conductive structure in the first platform (Fig. 3 and pars. [0084],[0087], “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”) and a second conductive structure in the second platform, wherein the first and second conductive structures are inductively coupled together across the gap (Fig. 3, “transformer coil(s) (not shown)”), wherein the first and second conductive structures are inductively coupled together across the gap (pars. [0027], [0087], “power interface 318 to induce an electrical current through the corresponding transformer coil”);
a wireless power transformer configured to transmit power to the apparatus via the gap (Fig. 3 and par. [0027];(Fig. 3 and par. [0073], “wireless (or wired) transmission of power between platforms 310 and 330… interface 318 may include transformer coil(s) (not shown)”), wherein the wireless power transformer comprises a primary winding in the first platform (Fig. 3 and pars. [0026]-[0027], “second platform [330] overlapping the plurality of magnets in the first platform [310] can be densely packed with conductive material (i.e., multiple coils or windings) of the rotary platform”; [0084],[0087], “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”) and a secondary winding in the second platform rotating portion (pars. [0026]-[0027], “second platform [330] overlapping the plurality of magnets in the first platform can be densely packed with conductive material (i.e., multiple coils or windings) of the rotary platform”; [0087], “power interface 318 to induce an electrical current through the corresponding transformer coil”); and
a communication interface (Fig. 3, “interface 336”) in the second platform (Fig. 3, “second platform 330”, where the location can be interchangeable), where the communication interface is configured to (i) encode the data generated by the LIDAR (pars. [0003] and [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302…”, where modulated signals are encoded signals) to provide encoded data, (ii) modulate a signal that to provide a data-modulated signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal via the wireless data transformer (par. [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302 for receipt by a light detector included in platform 330….”).
Karplus does not specifically disclose wherein the data generated by the LIDAR is encoded with error correction codes, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the LIDAR device, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle.
Cram discloses wherein the data generated by the sensor[LIDAR] is encoded with error correction codes (Figs. 1-4 and pars. [0031],[0037], “the transceivers 114 and 116 may support any suitable error correction…LDPC FEC… using the ITU-T G.hn standard (G.9960 and G.9961 specifications)”, where transceivers read on interfaces), (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal (par. [0031], “transceiver 114 generates a modulated data signal 118… using a suitable modulation scheme…. such as OFDM or other modulation” where OFDM splits transmitted signals into multiple orthogonal sub-carriers), and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer (Fig. 3, par. [0056], “an on-board computer, control system, or other internal component of the vehicle 300 to provide data to or receive data from the one or more electronic components 306 through the slip ring 102…”), and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data (pars. [0070]-[0071], where “transceiver 116” demodulates the data and provides it to one or more components within the vehicle 300, the computer 406 or other processing system.”), (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors [LIDAR device](par. [0070], “the transceiver 116 optionally performing high-level decoding of the data, such as by reordering the data and performing a decoding of the data (thereby reversing the corresponding operations performed by the transceiver 114.”), and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle (par. [0071], “the transceiver 116 providing the recovered data to one or more components within the vehicle 300, the computer 406.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Cram’s teachings wherein the data is encoded with error correction codes, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle with the device for driving a rotary platform that uses LIDAR disclosed by Karplus because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that G.hn would provide the advantage of providing higher rate transmissions, lower equipment development, fast network troubleshooting resolution and transmissions among others. In addition, transmitting data/information to the vehicle computer would allow for further processing and use of the data, since the vehicle computer comprises the memory and processing capabilities to analyze the data collected by the sensors and use it according to programed instructions stored in the computer.
Karplus and Cram do not explicitly disclose where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer.
In related art concerning devices and methods for a sensor platform of a vehicle, Robinson discloses where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer (Figs 4A-4B and par. [0100], “controller 414 can …implemented as a computing system outside device 400 (e.g., computing system 210, etc.)”, where “computer system 210” is located in the vehicle, please see Fig. 2 and where “computing system 210” corresponds to an interface that interacts/communicates with at least with sensors 408 which is located in the “platform 406” that comprises transformer coils; thus, being part of the transformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Robinson’s teachings where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer with the device for driving a rotary platform disclosed by Karplus and Cram because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having an interface in the vehicle constitutes an alternative design, as suggested by Robinson (par. [0100]).
Regarding claim 17, Karplus discloses a method (At least Figs. 3-4 and 9, where fig. 9 describes the method) comprising:
rotating a rotating portion of a sensing device relative to a stationary portion of the sensing device, wherein the rotating portion is spaced apart from the stationary portion by a gap (Figs 3 and 4A-4B, par [0084], “platform 310 rotates relative to platform 330”), and wherein the stationary portion is coupled to a vehicle (par. [0005], where the stator platform includes a planar mounting surface for mounting/attaching/coupling, including mounting/attaching/coupling to at least vehicle 100 in Fig. 1);
transmitting power to the rotation portion via a wireless power transformer (Fig. 3 and par. [0073], “wireless (or wired) transmission of power between platforms 310 and 330… interface 318 may include transformer coil(s) (not shown)”), wherein the wireless power transformer comprises a primary winding in the stationary portion (Fig. 3 and par. [0084],[0087], “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”) and a secondary winding in the rotating portion (par. [0087], “power interface 318 to induce an electrical current through the corresponding transformer coil”);
generating data by a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device in the rotating portion (Pars. [0003], [0071]-[0072], “data collected by sensor 312” , reads on generating data);
encoding, by a communication interface in the rotating portion, the data generated by the LIDAR device (par. [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302…”, where modulated signals are encoded signals to provide encoded data;
modulating, by the communication interface (par. [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302…”, where modulated signals are encoded signals), a signal to provide a data-modulated signal; and
transmitting, by the communication interface, the data-modulated RF signal to the stationary portion via a wireless data transformer (par. [0072], “[C]ommunication interface 316 emit modulated light signal 302 for receipt by a light detector included in platform 330….”, where the windings for data transmission at both the stationary portion and the rotating portions, read on “data transformer”), wherein the wireless data transformer comprises a first conductive structure in the stationary portion (Fig. 3 and par. [0084],[0087] “plurality of conductive structures 340” and “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”) and a second conductive structure in the rotating portion (Fig. 3, “transformer coil(s) (not shown)”).
Karplus does not specifically disclose wherein data is encoded with error correction codes, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to the stationary portion via the wireless data transformer and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors (LIDAR device], and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle.
Cram discloses wherein the data is encoded with error correction codes (Figs. 1-4 and pars. [0031],[0037], “the transceivers 114 and 116 may support any suitable error correction…LDPC FEC… using the ITU-T G.hn standard (G.9960 and G.9961 specifications)”, where transceivers read on interfaces), (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal (par. [0031], “transceiver 114 generates a modulated data signal 118… using a suitable modulation scheme…. such as OFDM or other modulation” where OFDM splits transmitted signals into multiple orthogonal sub-carriers), and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer (Fig. 3, par. [0056], “an on-board computer, control system, or other internal component of the vehicle 300 to provide data to or receive data from the one or more electronic components 306 through the slip ring 102…”), and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data (pars. [0070]-[0071], where “transceiver 116” demodulates the data and provides it to one or more components within the vehicle 300, the computer 406 or other processing system.”), (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors [LIDAR device](par. [0070], “the transceiver 116 optionally performing high-level decoding of the data, such as by reordering the data and performing a decoding of the data (thereby reversing the corresponding operations performed by the transceiver 114.”), and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle (par. [0071], “the transceiver 116 providing the recovered data to one or more components within the vehicle 300, the computer 406.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Cram’s teachings wherein the data is encoded with error correction codes, (ii) modulate a radio frequency (RF) signal that includes a plurality of sub-carriers with the encoded data to provide a data-modulated RF signal, and (iii) transmit the data-modulated RF signal to a vehicle communication interface in the vehicle via the wireless data transformer, and wherein the vehicle communication interface is configured to (a) demodulate the data-modulated RF signal to recover the encoded data, (b) decode the encoded data to recover the data generated by the one or more sensors, and (c) transmit the data to a computing device in the vehicle with the device for driving a rotary platform using LIDAR devices disclosed by Karplus because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that G.hn would provide the advantage of providing higher rate transmissions, lower equipment development, fast network troubleshooting resolution and transmissions among others. In addition, transmitting data/information to the vehicle computer would allow for further processing and use of the data, since the vehicle computer comprises the memory and processing capabilities to analyze the data collected by the sensors and use it according to programed instructions stored in the computer.
Karplus and Cram do not explicitly disclose where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer.
Robinson discloses where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer (Figs 4A-4B and par. [0100], “controller 414 can …implemented as a computing system outside device 400 (e.g., computing system 210, etc.)”, where “computer system 210” is located in the vehicle, please see Fig. 2 and where “computing system 210” corresponds to an interface that interacts/communicates with at least with sensors 408 which is located in the “platform 406” that comprises transformer coils; thus, being part of the transformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Robinson’s teachings where the communication interface in the rotating portion communicates with a vehicle communication interface of the vehicle via the wireless data transformer with the device for driving a rotary platform disclosed by Karplus and Cram because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that having an interface in the vehicle constitutes an alternative design, as suggested by Robinson (par. [0100]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 10, respectively. Karplus further discloses wherein the first conductive structure comprises a first conductive loop (Fig. 3 and par. [0084],[0087], “interface 338 may comprise a transformer coil (not shown)”)) and the second conductive structure comprises a second conductive loop (Fig. 3, “transformer coil(s) (not shown)”).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 2 and 11, respectively. Karplus further discloses wherein the first conductive loop is on a first printed circuit board (PCB) in the stationary portion, and wherein the second conductive loop is on a second PCB in the rotating portion (par. [0023], “the device also includes a plurality of conductive structures included in the second platform in a substantially coplanar arrangement around the axis of rotation. For example, the conductive structures can be implemented as patterned traces or tracks disposed in a first layer of a printed circuit board (PCB)… the second platform also includes a second plurality of conductive structures that are also coplanar (e.g., disposed in a second layer of the PCB)”).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 2 and 11, respectively. Karplus further discloses wherein the first conductive loop is a first multi-turn loop and the second conductive loop is a second multi-turn loop (par. [0026], where coils comprise multiple turns or windings).
Regarding claims 6, 15 and 18, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 17, respectively.
Karplus does not specifically disclose wherein the data-modulated RF signal is an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) signal.
Cram discloses wherein the data-modulated RF signal is an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) signal (par. [0031], …”Various modulation schemes can be used here, such as OFDM or other modulation techniques…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Cram’s teachings wherein the data-modulated RF signal is an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) signal with the device for driving a rotary platform disclosed by Karplus because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that OFDM spectrum is composed of overlapped narrow subcarriers which makes efficient usage of frequency spectrum compare to traditional technics such as FDM. Also, OFDM broadband channel is divided into smaller narrowband subchannels which makes OFDM resistive to frequency selective fading and OFDM is robust against narrow band co-channel interference, among others.
Regarding claims 7, 16 and 19, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 6, 15 and 18, respectively.
Karplus does not specifically disclose wherein the communication interface is configured to transmit and receive data in accordance with G.hn specifications.
Cram discloses wherein the communication interface is configured to transmit and receive data in accordance with G.hn specifications (par. [0031], “ITU-T G.hn standard (G.9960 and G.9961 specifications”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Cram’s teachings wherein the communication interface is configured to transmit and receive data in accordance with G.hn specifications with the device for driving a rotary platform disclosed by Karplus and Robinson because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that G.hn would provide the advantage of providing higher rate transmissions, lower equipment development, fast network troubleshooting resolution and transmissions among others.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 2 and 11, respectively. Karplus further discloses wherein the first conductive loop (Fig. 4C and pars. [0107],[0111], “conductive structures (442, 444, 446, 448, 450, 452, 454, 456, 458, 459, etc.) may comprise electrically conductive material (e.g., copper, etc.) in a circular arrangement around axis 406…”) at least partially surrounds the primary winding (“second coil that extends around axis 406”) and the second conductive loop at least partially surrounds the secondary winding (where structures similar to those in Fig. 4C apply to “rotor platform 410”).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 17, respectively.
Karplus and Cram do not specifically disclose wherein the communication interface is further configured to receive a vehicle-originating data-modulated RF signal from the vehicle communication interface via the wireless data transformer.
Robinson discloses wherein the communication interface is further configured to receive a vehicle-originating data-modulated RF signal from the vehicle communication interface via the wireless data transformer (par. [0064], where a different vehicle communication interface is “ wireless communication interface 252” that communicates with sensors and where it uses different data-modulated RF signals, e.g., “IEEE 802.11 (including any IEEE 802.11 revisions), cellular technology (such as GSM, CDMA, UMTS, EV-DO, WiMAX, or LTE), Zigbee, dedicated short range communications (DSRC), and radio frequency identification (RFID) communications, among other possibilities.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Robinson’s teachings about a data-modulated RF communication interface capable of communicating with sensors with the platform disclosed by Karplus and Cram because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that data-modulated RF signal would constitute an alternative communication available to the inventor from different communication protocols available before the effective filing date of the invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karplus in view of Cram and Robinson; and further in view of US 20130272177 A1 (Wei et al., hereinafter Wei).
Regarding claim 9, Karplus, Cram and Robinson disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Karplus, Cram and Robinson do not explicitly disclose wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate with the vehicle communication interface using time-division duplexing.
In related art concerning dynamic frame structure for synchronous time-division duplexing digital subscriber lines, Wei discloses wherein the communication interface is configured to communicate with the vehicle communication interface using time-division duplexing (par. [0032], “synchronized TDD based DSL system …may be an ADSL2 system, an ADSL2+ system, a VDSL2 system, or any other DSL system defined by the International Telecommunication Union Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) G.hn or G.fast standards.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Wei’s teachings about a using time-division duplexing in the G.hn communications with the platform disclosed by Karplus, Cram and Robinson because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that TDD facilitates flexible spectrum use since it uses the same frequency for transmission and reception and allows dynamic allocation of resources; therefore, transmission can be adjusted in any direction based on the amount of data available for transmission on each side of the communication pair.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0320807 A1 relates to autonomous driving system that uses broadband signals to convey sensor information to a vehicle interface.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Examiner AU 2649