DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Good US-20220063617-A1.
1. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
An agricultural vehicle comprising:
a baler that is either connected to or integrated with the agricultural vehicle, the baler having a pickup unit including a rotatable reel for introducing crop material into a baling chamber of the baler;
(Good [0021] The baler 10 may be a “round” baler, which produces cylindrically shaped bales, or a large or small “square” baler, which produces rectangular bales such as the ones shown in FIG. 2. The pickup 14 of the baler 10 may include a plurality of outward-extending tines attached to a rotating cylinder. The tines receive, contact, and grab the cut crop 20 from the windrow 18. The gathered crop 20 is then fed, or passed, from the pickup 14 to other components of the baler 10 which compress and tie the crop 20 into a bale.)
Good: FIG.2
Good: FIG.3-4
a drive system for rotating the reel (i.e. electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like) ; and
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. An exemplary load sensor 24 includes a fluid pressure sensor to sense or detect hydraulic fluid pressure of the hydraulic fluid used in the pickup 14. A value of the hydraulic fluid pressure generally corresponds, or positively correlates, to a level of the load on the pickup 14. That is, a high value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a large load on the pickup 14. And, a low value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a small load on the pickup 14. The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
a feedrate control system that is configured for calculating a value indicative of an amount of crop entering the baler at the pickup unit [0006] and adjusting a function of the vehicle based on the calculated value [0007].
(Good [0006] An embodiment of the system broadly comprises a flow rate sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The flow rate sensor is configured to monitor a feed point of the pickup, sense a flow rate of a crop into the pickup, and output a flow rate signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the flow rate of the crop into the pickup. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the flow rate signal, receive a speed signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler, compare the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result, and output an electronic speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the comparison result. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal.)
(Good [0035] Referring to step 102, a flow rate of a crop 20 into the pickup 14 is determined or sensed. The flow rate is determined by the flow rate sensor 22, which outputs an electronic flow rate signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the flow rate of the crop 20 into the pickup 14.)
(Good [0007-0009] Another embodiment of the system broadly comprises a load sensor, a windrow sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The load sensor is configured to sense a load on a pickup of the baler and output a load signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the load on the pickup. The windrow sensor is configured to monitor a ground area in front of the baler, determine a cross-sectional area of the windrow, and output a windrow signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to a cross-sectional area of the windrow. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the load signal, receive the windrow signal, receive a crop moisture signal and/or data about a moisture level of a crop to be baled, and output a speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to values from the load signal, the windrow signal, and the crop moisture signal and/or data. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal… An embodiment of the method broadly comprises monitoring the pickup and determining a flow rate of a crop into the pickup; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler; comparing the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result; and adjusting the speed of the tractor according to the comparison result. Another embodiment of the method broadly comprises sensing a load on a pickup of the baler during operation; monitoring a ground area in front of the baler and determining a cross-sectional area of the windrow; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a moisture level of the crop; and adjusting a speed of the tractor according to the load of the pickup, the cross-sectional area of the crop, and the moisture level of the crop.)
4. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the feedrate control system comprises a sensor for sensing the amount of crop entering the baler at the pickup unit, and the feedrate control system is configured for calculating the value indicative of the amount of crop entering the baler at the pickup unit based upon the sensed amount of crop.
Good: FIG.3-4
(Good [0003] Given the conditions of the crop and the throughput of the pickup, there is a maximum speed at which the baler can travel before the amount of the crop coming into the pickup exceeds its capacity and either the baler starts pushing the crop, instead of baling it, or the baler becomes plugged downstream from the pickup.)
(Good [0006] An embodiment of the system broadly comprises a flow rate sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The flow rate sensor is configured to monitor a feed point of the pickup, sense a flow rate of a crop into the pickup, and output a flow rate signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the flow rate of the crop into the pickup. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the flow rate signal, receive a speed signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler, compare the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result, and output an electronic speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the comparison result. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal.)
(Good [0035] Referring to step 102, a flow rate of a crop 20 into the pickup 14 is determined or sensed. The flow rate is determined by the flow rate sensor 22, which outputs an electronic flow rate signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the flow rate of the crop 20 into the pickup 14.)
(Good [0007-0009] Another embodiment of the system broadly comprises a load sensor, a windrow sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The load sensor is configured to sense a load on a pickup of the baler and output a load signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the load on the pickup. The windrow sensor is configured to monitor a ground area in front of the baler, determine a cross-sectional area of the windrow, and output a windrow signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to a cross-sectional area of the windrow. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the load signal, receive the windrow signal, receive a crop moisture signal and/or data about a moisture level of a crop to be baled, and output a speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to values from the load signal, the windrow signal, and the crop moisture signal and/or data. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal… An embodiment of the method broadly comprises monitoring the pickup and determining a flow rate of a crop into the pickup; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler; comparing the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result; and adjusting the speed of the tractor according to the comparison result. Another embodiment of the method broadly comprises sensing a load on a pickup of the baler during operation; monitoring a ground area in front of the baler and determining a cross-sectional area of the windrow; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a moisture level of the crop; and adjusting a speed of the tractor according to the load of the pickup, the cross-sectional area of the crop, and the moisture level of the crop.)
5. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 4, wherein the sensor is a LIDAR sensor or a non-contact sensor.
(Good [0012] The system 12, as shown in FIG. 3, broadly comprises a flow rate sensor 22, a load sensor 24, a windrow sensor 26, a processing element 28, and a tractor speed controller 30. The flow rate sensor 22 generally monitors a front end of the baler 10, that is, the feed point of the pickup 14, and determines or senses a flow rate, or feed rate, of the crop 20 into the pickup 14. The flow rate sensor 22 may include radio frequency transceivers such as radar transceivers, laser light transceivers such as lidar transceivers)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Good US-20220063617-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Smith US-11974522-B2.
2. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the drive system comprises
(i) an engine of the vehicle,
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. An exemplary load sensor 24 includes a fluid pressure sensor to sense or detect hydraulic fluid pressure of the hydraulic fluid used in the pickup 14. A value of the hydraulic fluid pressure generally corresponds, or positively correlates, to a level of the load on the pickup 14. That is, a high value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a large load on the pickup 14. And, a low value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a small load on the pickup 14. The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
(ii) ****, and
(iii) ****.
Smith US-11974522-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for methods and control systems for controlling baler power-take off speed including “…(i) an engine of the vehicle, (ii) a power take-off (PTO) shaft of the vehicle that receives power from the engine, and (iii) a PTO shaft of the baler that is connected to the PTO shaft of the vehicle and the reel for rotating the reel.”;
(Smith [0034] The baler 110 generally includes a frame 112, a hitch 114 pivotally connected to the agricultural vehicle 102, a baler PTO shaft 116 with a PTO clutch 118 affixed thereto, and wheels 120. The baler PTO shaft 116 is connected to and driven by the PTO 106 of the agricultural vehicle 102. The baler PTO shaft 116 drives a driving mechanism 122 which in turn powers the various operational systems of the baler 110. The baler PTO shaft 116 and/or the PTO clutch 118 may have a mechanical stop, e.g. a pawl, which may stop the baler PTO shaft 116 from rotating. The baler 110 can also be connected to the agricultural vehicle 102 by way of an ISOBUS connection. As the baler 110 is towed by the agricultural vehicle 102, the baler 110 picks up crop material and forms a bale of crop material.)
(Smith [0044] As can be appreciated, the components of balers may operate at different speeds, affecting the formation of the bales in the bale chamber. These speeds may include PTO speed, bale chamber speed, pick up speed and travel or ground speed. PTO speed is the speed of the PTO shaft 116 that draws energy from a tractor to drive mechanisms in the baler 10. Part of the PTO drive train is coupled to the bale chamber 126 by way of the driving mechanism 122. Another part of the PTO drive train is coupled to the pickup unit 124...)
Smith: FIG.1
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that FIG.1 of Smith is comparable to FIG.1 of the present application and is therefore assumed to be capable of similar functionality and operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include an engine of the vehicle, a power take-off (PTO) shaft of the vehicle that receives power from the engine, and a PTO shaft of the baler that is connected to the PTO shaft of the vehicle and the reel for rotating the reel with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Smith, for the benefit of allowing single vehicles to operate multiple implements without the need for dedicated power sources, reducing the need for multiple specialized machines.
3. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 2, wherein the feedrate control system is configured to adjust a ground speed of the vehicle based upon the calculated value.
(Good [0006] An embodiment of the system broadly comprises a flow rate sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The flow rate sensor is configured to monitor a feed point of the pickup, sense a flow rate of a crop into the pickup, and output a flow rate signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the flow rate of the crop into the pickup. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the flow rate signal, receive a speed signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler, compare the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result, and output an electronic speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the comparison result. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal.)
(Good [0007-0009] Another embodiment of the system broadly comprises a load sensor, a windrow sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The load sensor is configured to sense a load on a pickup of the baler and output a load signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the load on the pickup. The windrow sensor is configured to monitor a ground area in front of the baler, determine a cross-sectional area of the windrow, and output a windrow signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to a cross-sectional area of the windrow. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the load signal, receive the windrow signal, receive a crop moisture signal and/or data about a moisture level of a crop to be baled, and output a speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to values from the load signal, the windrow signal, and the crop moisture signal and/or data. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal… An embodiment of the method broadly comprises monitoring the pickup and determining a flow rate of a crop into the pickup; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler; comparing the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result; and adjusting the speed of the tractor according to the comparison result. Another embodiment of the method broadly comprises sensing a load on a pickup of the baler during operation; monitoring a ground area in front of the baler and determining a cross-sectional area of the windrow; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a moisture level of the crop; and adjusting a speed of the tractor according to the load of the pickup, the cross-sectional area of the crop, and the moisture level of the crop.)
6. Good US-20220063617-A1 lacks:
The agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises a hydraulic motor having an output shaft that is connected to the reel for rotation of the reel.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. An exemplary load sensor 24 includes a fluid pressure sensor to sense or detect hydraulic fluid pressure of the hydraulic fluid used in the pickup 14. A value of the hydraulic fluid pressure generally corresponds, or positively correlates, to a level of the load on the pickup 14. That is, a high value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a large load on the pickup 14. And, a low value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a small load on the pickup 14. The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
Smith US-11974522-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for methods and control systems for controlling baler power-take off speed including wherein “the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises a hydraulic motor having an output shaft that is connected to the reel for rotation of the reel”;
(Smith [0037] It should be appreciated that the rollers 128, 130 may comprise a floor roller, starter roller, fixed roller(s), pivot roller(s), stripper roller, and/or follower roller(s). It should also be appreciated that the bale density pressure mechanism 134 may include one or more hydraulic cylinders and tensioning devices, such as coil springs, which are operably coupled to one or more of the rollers 128, 130 and/or the belt(s) 132 for adjusting density pressure applied to the bale. It is noted that the bale density pressure mechanism 134 is shown schematically)
Smith: FIG.1
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that FIG.1 of Smith is comparable to FIG.1 of the present application and is therefore assumed to be capable of similar functionality and operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises a hydraulic motor having an output shaft that is connected to the reel for rotation of the reel with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Smith, for the benefit of providing a drive system for a rotating component.
8. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 6 further comprising one or more sensors for measuring a hydraulic pressure of a fluid within a hydraulic circuit ****.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. An exemplary load sensor 24 includes a fluid pressure sensor to sense or detect hydraulic fluid pressure of the hydraulic fluid used in the pickup 14. A value of the hydraulic fluid pressure generally corresponds, or positively correlates, to a level of the load on the pickup 14. That is, a high value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a large load on the pickup 14. And, a low value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a small load on the pickup 14. The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
Smith US-11974522-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for methods and control systems for controlling baler power-take off speed including a system “ to which the hydraulic motor is connected”;
(Smith [0037] It should be appreciated that the rollers 128, 130 may comprise a floor roller, starter roller, fixed roller(s), pivot roller(s), stripper roller, and/or follower roller(s). It should also be appreciated that the bale density pressure mechanism 134 may include one or more hydraulic cylinders and tensioning devices, such as coil springs, which are operably coupled to one or more of the rollers 128, 130 and/or the belt(s) 132 for adjusting density pressure applied to the bale. It is noted that the bale density pressure mechanism 134 is shown schematically)
Smith: FIG.1
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that FIG.1 of Smith is comparable to FIG.1 of the present application and is therefore assumed to be capable of similar functionality and operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises a hydraulic motor with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Smith, for the benefit of providing a drive system for a rotating component.
9. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 8, wherein the feedrate control system is configured for calculating the value indicative of the amount of crop entering the baler at the pickup unit based on the measured hydraulic pressure.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. An exemplary load sensor 24 includes a fluid pressure sensor to sense or detect hydraulic fluid pressure of the hydraulic fluid used in the pickup 14. A value of the hydraulic fluid pressure generally corresponds, or positively correlates, to a level of the load on the pickup 14. That is, a high value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a large load on the pickup 14. And, a low value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a small load on the pickup 14. The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
10. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of the variable speed drive system as a function of the calculated value.
(Good [0006] An embodiment of the system broadly comprises a flow rate sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The flow rate sensor is configured to monitor a feed point of the pickup, sense a flow rate of a crop into the pickup, and output a flow rate signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the flow rate of the crop into the pickup. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the flow rate signal, receive a speed signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler, compare the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result, and output an electronic speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the comparison result. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal.)
(Good [0035] Referring to step 102, a flow rate of a crop 20 into the pickup 14 is determined or sensed. The flow rate is determined by the flow rate sensor 22, which outputs an electronic flow rate signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the flow rate of the crop 20 into the pickup 14.)
(Good [0007-0009] Another embodiment of the system broadly comprises a load sensor, a windrow sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The load sensor is configured to sense a load on a pickup of the baler and output a load signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the load on the pickup. The windrow sensor is configured to monitor a ground area in front of the baler, determine a cross-sectional area of the windrow, and output a windrow signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to a cross-sectional area of the windrow. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the load signal, receive the windrow signal, receive a crop moisture signal and/or data about a moisture level of a crop to be baled, and output a speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to values from the load signal, the windrow signal, and the crop moisture signal and/or data. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal… An embodiment of the method broadly comprises monitoring the pickup and determining a flow rate of a crop into the pickup; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler; comparing the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result; and adjusting the speed of the tractor according to the comparison result. Another embodiment of the method broadly comprises sensing a load on a pickup of the baler during operation; monitoring a ground area in front of the baler and determining a cross-sectional area of the windrow; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a moisture level of the crop; and adjusting a speed of the tractor according to the load of the pickup, the cross-sectional area of the crop, and the moisture level of the crop.)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Good US-20220063617-A1 and Smith US-11974522-B2, as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of PEDRONI US-20220030774-A1.
7. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 6, wherein the hydraulic **** is fluidly connected to **** the tractor.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. An exemplary load sensor 24 includes a fluid pressure sensor to sense or detect hydraulic fluid pressure of the hydraulic fluid used in the pickup 14. A value of the hydraulic fluid pressure generally corresponds, or positively correlates, to a level of the load on the pickup 14. That is, a high value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a large load on the pickup 14. And, a low value of the hydraulic fluid pressure corresponds to a small load on the pickup 14. The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
Smith US-11974522-B2 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for methods and control systems for controlling baler power-take off speed including “a hydraulic motor”;
(Smith [0037] It should be appreciated that the rollers 128, 130 may comprise a floor roller, starter roller, fixed roller(s), pivot roller(s), stripper roller, and/or follower roller(s). It should also be appreciated that the bale density pressure mechanism 134 may include one or more hydraulic cylinders and tensioning devices, such as coil springs, which are operably coupled to one or more of the rollers 128, 130 and/or the belt(s) 132 for adjusting density pressure applied to the bale. It is noted that the bale density pressure mechanism 134 is shown schematically)
Smith: FIG.1
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that FIG.1 of Smith is comparable to FIG.1 of the present application and is therefore assumed to be capable of similar functionality and operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises a hydraulic motor with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Smith, for the benefit of providing a drive system for a rotating component.
PEDRONI US-20220030774-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for producing bales of forage and the like wherein “…a fluid distributor that is configured to be fluidly connected to a pump…”;
(PEDRONI [0041] The press according to the disclosure draws the movement from a coupler actuated by a cardan joint applied to a power take-off of a tractor, which in turn drives one or more hydraulic pumps which, by means of a distributor and hydraulic valves, on board the press, moves the elements of the press. The press can also operate directly connected to the distributor of the tractor or on a self-propelled machine.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include a fluid distributor that is configured to be fluidly connected to a pump with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by PEDRONI, for the benefit of providing a means for moving elements of the vehicle [0041].
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Good US-20220063617-A1, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zona US-20130276648-A1.
11. Good US-20220063617-A1 lacks
The agricultural vehicle of claim 1, wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises an electric motor having an output shaft that is connected to the reel for rotation of the reel.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. ... The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
Zona US-20130276648-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for agricultural press for production of round bales having rollers driven by electric motors wherein “…wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises an electric motor having an output shaft that is connected to the reel for rotation of the reel”;
(Zona [0041] In the case of the preferred embodiment according to the invention, the press has once again a load-bearing structure of the space-frame type as described above, obtained by casting, with a similar structure articulated to the load-bearing structure, but in this case, rotation of the rollers 5 of the pressing chamber (which may be of the fixed-volume or variable-volume type) is driven by means of electric motors present onboard the press.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include wherein the drive system is a variable speed drive system that comprises an electric motor having an output shaft that is connected to the reel for rotation of the reel with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Zona, for the benefit of providing an electrical means for providing the power needed in rotating/operating system components.
12. Good US-20220063617-A1 lacks
The agricultural vehicle of claim 11, wherein the electric motor is configured to be electrically connected to an electrical port on the tractor (i.e. electrically connected).
Zona US-20130276648-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for agricultural press for production of round bales having rollers driven by electric motors wherein “…the electric motor is configured to be electrically connected to an electrical port on the tractor”;
(Zona [0041] In the case of the preferred embodiment according to the invention, the press has once again a load-bearing structure of the space-frame type as described above, obtained by casting, with a similar structure articulated to the load-bearing structure, but in this case, rotation of the rollers 5 of the pressing chamber (which may be of the fixed-volume or variable-volume type) is driven by means of electric motors present onboard the press.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include wherein the electric motor is configured to be electrically connected to an electrical port on the tractor with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Zona, for the benefit of providing an electrical means for providing the power needed in rotating/operating system components.
13. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 11 further comprising a sensor for measuring a current draw ****.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. ... The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
Zona US-20130276648-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for agricultural press for production of round bales having rollers driven by electric motors wherein the system comprises “…an electric motor”;
(Zona [0041] In the case of the preferred embodiment according to the invention, the press has once again a load-bearing structure of the space-frame type as described above, obtained by casting, with a similar structure articulated to the load-bearing structure, but in this case, rotation of the rollers 5 of the pressing chamber (which may be of the fixed-volume or variable-volume type) is driven by means of electric motors present onboard the press.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include an electric motor with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Zona, for the benefit of providing an electrical means for providing the power needed in rotating/operating system components.
14. Good US-20220063617-A1 discloses
The agricultural vehicle of claim 13, wherein the feedrate control system is configured for calculating the value indicative of the amount of crop entering the baler (i.e. a load) at the pickup unit based on the measured current draw.
(Good [0023] The load sensor 24 generally senses or detects a load on the pickup 14 during operation and may include transducers or other devices to sense or detect electric voltage, electric current, fluid pressure, air pressure, or the like. ... The load sensor 24 outputs an electronic load signal and/or data that includes a level and/or value that varies according to, is proportional to, or positively correlates to, the load on the pickup 14.)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Good US-20220063617-A1 and Zona US-20130276648-A1, as applied to claim 14 above and further in view of Smith US-20220192098-A1.
15. Good US-20220063617-A1 lacks
The agricultural vehicle of claim 14, wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of the **** system as a function of the calculated value.
(Good [0007-0009] Another embodiment of the system broadly comprises a load sensor, a windrow sensor, a processing element, and a tractor speed controller. The load sensor is configured to sense a load on a pickup of the baler and output a load signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to the load on the pickup. The windrow sensor is configured to monitor a ground area in front of the baler, determine a cross-sectional area of the windrow, and output a windrow signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to a cross-sectional area of the windrow. The processing element is configured or programmed to receive the load signal, receive the windrow signal, receive a crop moisture signal and/or data about a moisture level of a crop to be baled, and output a speed signal with a level and/or data value that varies according to values from the load signal, the windrow signal, and the crop moisture signal and/or data. The tractor speed controller is configured to receive the speed signal and adjust a speed of the tractor according to the level and/or data value of the speed signal… An embodiment of the method broadly comprises monitoring the pickup and determining a flow rate of a crop into the pickup; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a speed of a tractor pulling the baler; comparing the flow rate from the flow rate signal with the speed from the speed signal and/or data to generate a comparison result; and adjusting the speed of the tractor according to the comparison result. Another embodiment of the method broadly comprises sensing a load on a pickup of the baler during operation; monitoring a ground area in front of the baler and determining a cross-sectional area of the windrow; receiving a signal and/or data regarding a moisture level of the crop; and adjusting a speed of the tractor according to the load of the pickup, the cross-sectional area of the crop, and the moisture level of the crop.)
Smith US-20220192098-A1 discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for methods and control systems for controlling baler power-take off speed including “…wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of the variable speed drive system as a function of the calculated value.”;
(Smith [0018] The bale chamber 126 may be in the form of a continuously variable bale chamber 126. Within the bale chamber 126, the crop material is rolled into a bale of a predetermined size.)
(Smith [0023] The controller 150 may be configured to receive at least one operating condition value corresponding to the at least one sensed operating condition and/or receive at least one bale ejection value corresponding to the at least one sensed bale ejection condition. The controller 150 may also be configured to control the formation of the bale by adjusting the rotational speed of the PTO shaft 116 in response to receiving the at least one operating condition value and/or at least one bale ejection value. Therein, the controller 150 may adjust the PTO speed based on one or more parameters including, but not limited to, the actual feed rate, baler capacity, minimum PTO speed, maximum PTO speed, PTO torque, ground speed, bale size, bale position during the ejection process, tailgate position, and/or ramp position. ...)
Smith: FIG.1
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that FIG.1 of Smith is comparable to FIG.1 of the present application and is therefore assumed to be capable of similar functionality and operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Good to include wherein the controller is configured to adjust a speed of the variable speed drive system as a function of the calculated value with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Smith, for the benefit of adjusted operations in order to avoid jamming or malfunctions.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Collier-DeChristopher (US-20160021822-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for “… [0025] Feeder house 38 defines and bounds a picking chamber 40 which cut plants CP enter through inlet end 36. Feeder house 38 includes plant conveying apparatus 42 bounding and enclosing an upper periphery of chamber 40, here preferably comprising an endless belt 44 encircling a roller 46 and a drive roller 48. Drive roller 48 is suitably rotatably driven by a drive 50, that can comprise, for instance, a suitable hydraulic drive motor, electric drive motor, a belt, chain, or shaft drive, as desired or required, for moving a lower feed surface of belt 44 rearwardly through chamber 40, as denoted by arrows M. Belt 44 can include features 52, as desired or required, suitable for engaging and propelling cotton plants conveyed to inlet end 36 by center belt 34, rearwardly through chamber 40. As non-limiting examples, features 52 can include ribs, slats, raised elements, etc.”;
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30.
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663