DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending before the Office for review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIKKAWA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0328320).
With regards to claim 1, Kikkawa discloses a semiconductor treatment liquid comprising (i) at least one selected from the group consisting of hypochlorous acid, hypobromous acid and ions thereon (Paragraphs [0069], [0093], [0171and(iii) an onium ion (Paragraph [0147]).
Kikkawa does not explicitly disclose a semiconductor treatment liquid for removing ruthenium silicide from a substrate containing ruthenium silicide, the semiconductor treatment liquid comprising (ii) at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogen fluoride and a fluoride ion.
Kikkawa discloses treating a transition metal including ruthenium, wherein the metal may be an alloy of a transition metal including ruthenium; where the metal is a silicide of the metal (Paragraphs [0056], [0062]) and wherein the treatment liquid comprises a halogen containing solution wherein the halogen comprises fluorine (Paragraph [0170]) which renders obvious a semiconductor treatment liquid for removing ruthenium silicide from a substrate containing ruthenium silicide, the semiconductor treatment liquid comprising (ii) at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogen fluoride and a fluoride ion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Kikkawa to include the ruthenium silicide and fluoride ions as rendered obvious by Kikkawa because the reference of Kikkawa discloses the inclusion of the halogen additive forms a halogen oxyacid which provides a stable etching composition for transition metals (Paragraph [0189]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired treatment liquid using the fluoride halogen source as rendered obvious by Kikkawa. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Kikkawa render obvious wherein the component (i) is at least one selected from the group consisting of hypochlorous acid and a hypochlorite ion. (Paragraphs [0090], [0093]).
With regards to claim 3, the modified teachings of Kikkawa render obvious wherein a total concentration of the component (i) in the semiconductor treatment liquid is preferably 0.1 µmol/L or more and 4 mol/L or less (Paragraph [0090]) which overlaps Applicant’s claimed amounts of 0.001 mol/L to 0.50 mol/L in terms of halogen element content. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 4, the modified teachings of Kikkawa render obvious wherein the halogen fluorine containing source is present in amounts sufficient to form the halogen oxyacid in the composition (Paragraph [0170]) in order to provide a treatment liquid with a sufficient etching rate that maintains flatness of the transition metal (Paragraph [0189]). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the concentration of the fluoride source to amounts including Applicant’s claimed amount of 0.001 mol/L to 10.0 mol/L in order to provide the halogen fluorine containing source in amounts sufficient to form the halogen oxyacid in the composition (Paragraph [0170]) in order to provide a treatment liquid with a sufficient etching rate that maintains flatness of the transition metal (Paragraph [0189]) as taught by the modified teachings of Kikkawa. (Paragraphs [0170], [0186] MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
With regards to claim 5, the modified teachings of Kikkawa render obvious wherein a total concentration of the component (iii) in the semiconductor treatment liquid is 0.1 µmol/L to 0.001 mol/L (Paragraph [0149]) which overlaps Applicant’s claimed amount of 0.001 mol/L to 10.0 mol/L. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 6, the modified teachings of Kikkawa render obvious wherein the semiconductor treatment liquid has a pH from 7-14 (Paragraph [0167]) which overlaps Applicant’s claimed amount of pH of 0.0 to 10.0 at 25°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 7, the modified teachings of Kikkawa render obvious wherein the component (iii) is an onium ion represented by claims Formula (1) (Paragraph [0152]).
With regards to claim 8, Kikkawa a method of manufacturing a semiconductor element, the method comprising brining a substrate containing a transition metal into contact with a semiconductor treatment liquid, the semiconductor treatment liquid comprising (i) at least one selected from the group consisting of hypochlorous acid, hypobromous acid and ions thereon (Paragraphs [0069], [0093], [0171and(iii) an onium ion (Paragraph [0147]).
Kikkawa does not explicitly disclose a semiconductor treatment liquid for removing ruthenium silicide from a substrate containing ruthenium silicide, the semiconductor treatment liquid comprising (ii) at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogen fluoride and a fluoride ion.
Kikkawa discloses treating a transition metal including ruthenium, wherein the metal may be an alloy of a transition metal including ruthenium; where the metal is a silicide of the metal (Paragraphs [0056], [0062]) and wherein the treatment liquid comprises a halogen containing solution wherein the halogen comprises fluorine (Paragraph [0170]) which renders obvious a semiconductor treatment liquid for removing ruthenium silicide from a substrate containing ruthenium silicide, the semiconductor treatment liquid comprising (ii) at least one selected from the group consisting of hydrogen fluoride and a fluoride ion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of Kikkawa to include the ruthenium silicide and fluoride ions as rendered obvious by Kikkawa because the reference of Kikkawa discloses the inclusion of the halogen additive forms a halogen oxyacid which provides a stable etching composition for transition metals (Paragraph [0189]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired treatment liquid using the fluoride halogen source as rendered obvious by Kikkawa. MPEP 2143D
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kraus et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0123235).
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713