DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Objection to specification is withdrawn in view of amendments. Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn in view of amendments. The Applicant argues on page 10 and 11 of applicant’s remarks that “Critically, there is no discussion in Raud of setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system, as is recited in each of independent claims 1, 9, 11, and 12. Raud does not discuss this concept at all. The Office Action does not provide any pinpoint citations to Raud for this concept. Applicant could not locate any teaching or suggestion in Raud. Even assuming arguendo that a person of ordinary skill in the art would combine Suzuki and Raud, the combination still fails to teach or suggest the claimed invention. Neither Suzuki nor Raud, alone or in combination, teaches the specific sequence of: (1) determining, based on map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion of a road section; (2) estimating a braking energy need for reaching that target speed; (3) setting a determined distribution of braking power between the propulsion system and wheel brakes based on both the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system; and (4) controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Suzuki teaches determining, based on map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion of a road section (See at least Abstract, Para [0011]). Raud teaches estimating of the propulsion drives in terms of their performance at braking (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 5). Raud also teaches setting a determined distribution of braking power between the propulsion system and wheel brakes based on both the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 7, Fig 1 shows power distribution among propulsion system and wheel brakes). Zhang teaches controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power (See at least Page 1 Col 2, Fig 1). Hence, the prior arts anticipate the claimed invention in combination. The Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975).
Therefore, Applicant's arguments filed on 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of new ground of rejection provided below which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the last limitation of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-6, 9, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki) in view of Raud et al. (Z. Raud, V. Vodovozov, N. Lillo and A. Rassõlkin, "Reserves for regenerative braking of battery electric vehicles," 2014 Electric Power Quality and Supply Reliability Conference (PQ), Rakvere, Estonia, 2014, pp. 189-194) (Hereinafter Raud), and further in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang Junzhi, Lu Xin, Chen Shanglou and Zhang Pengjun, "Coordinated control for regenerative braking system," 2008 IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference, Harbin, 2008, pp. 1-6) (Hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki teaches a method of controlling operation of a vehicle, wherein the method is performed by a control arrangement, and wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”), wheel brakes, an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”), and a regenerative braking system controllable to reqeneratively brake the vehicle (See at least Para [0029] “…Given that the motor is adopted as the prime mover 1, a regenerative braking force derived from a regenerative torque of the motor is applied to the vehicle Ve when the accelerator pedal 4 is returned…”), wherein the method comprises, when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
determining, based on the map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion of a road section
on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Abstract “… The control system calculates a target deceleration to travel through a target site at a target speed in accordance with a decelerating factor…”, Para [0011] “… calculate a target deceleration to travel through a target site existing predetermined distance ahead of the vehicle at a target speed, in accordance with a decelerating factor determined based on information ahead of the vehicle; …”);
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out …
estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section;
setting a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system; and
controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power.
Raud teaches …
estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section (See at least Abstract “… The force, power and energy estimating procedures are discussed…”, Page 189 Col 2 Para 5 “This paper represents some estimates of the propulsion drives in terms of their performance at braking and downhill motion important from the viewpoint of the common vehicle efficiency.” Page 190 Col 1 Para 5 “where PL is the traction power required for keeping the BEV at the desired speed v”); and
setting a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 7 “Then, the traction force, power, and energy estimates are explained and dimensioning procedures are arranged to find the regenerative energy distribution.”, Fig 1. shows power distribution among propulsion system and wheel brakes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Raud and include the feature of estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road and setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Page 193 Col 2 Para 5 “VII. CONCLUSION- … The DTC provides the possibility to save energy thanks to the stable regenerative current”).
Zhang teaches …
controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “(3) Meet the braking power distribution by coordinately controlling braking components’ state with good drivability and appropriate braking force.”, Fig. 1 shows that braking power is also provided by propulsion system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Zhang and include the feature of controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power, thereby energy management is improved (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “The driver intent identification algorithm was developed, and the traditional base-line energy management strategy was improved.”).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises:
estimating a braking need of the vehicle based on the map data (See at least Para [0040] “... By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”), and
wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling the braking power based on the estimated braking need (See at least
Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
7. Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises the step of:
determining, based on the map data, a distance between the vehicle and a portion of the road section comprising a geometrical, regulatory, and/or navigational alteration (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”), and
wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling the braking power based on the determined distance (Para [0040] “...
By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”, Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
8. Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 5. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the portion of the road section comprises at least one of:
a geometrical alteration in the form of at least one of a change in curvature of the road, a change in inclination of the road, a change in width of the road, or a change in type of road surface (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”);
a regulatory alteration in the form of at least one of a speed limit change, a stop duty, a traffic signal location, a yield point, or and a change in lane usage rules (See at least Para [0040] “If the vehicle Ve is not propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is NO, it is not necessary to control the deceleration by the accelerator pedal 4 and hence the routine returns. By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”);
a navigational alteration in the form of at least one of a road exit, an intersection, a crossing, or a roundabout (See at least Para [0040] “If the vehicle Ve is not propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is NO, it is not necessary to control the deceleration by the accelerator pedal 4 and hence the routine returns. By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”).
8. Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium, said computer program product for controlling operation of a vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”), wheel brakes, an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”), and a regenerative braking system controllable to reqeneratively brake the vehicle (See at least Para [0029] “…Given that the motor is adopted as the prime mover 1, a regenerative braking force derived from a regenerative torque of the motor is applied to the vehicle Ve when the accelerator pedal 4 is returned…”), wherein said computer program product comprising computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
determine, based on the map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion of a road section
on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Abstract “… The control system calculates a target deceleration to travel through a target site at a target speed in accordance with a decelerating factor…”, Para [0011] “… calculate a target deceleration to travel through a target site existing predetermined distance ahead of the vehicle at a target speed, in accordance with a decelerating factor determined based on information ahead of the vehicle; …”);
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out …
estimate a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section;
set a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system; and
control the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power.
Raud teaches …
estimate a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section (See at least Abstract “… The force, power and energy estimating procedures are discussed…”, Page 189 Col 2 Para 5 “This paper represents some estimates of the propulsion drives in terms of their performance at braking and downhill motion important from the viewpoint of the common vehicle efficiency.” Page 190 Col 1 Para 5 “where PL is the traction power required for keeping the BEV at the desired speed v”); and
set a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 7 “Then, the traction force, power, and energy estimates are explained and dimensioning procedures are arranged to find the regenerative energy distribution.”, Fig 1. shows power distribution among propulsion system and wheel brakes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Raud and include the feature of estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road and setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Page 193 Col 2 Para 5 “VII. CONCLUSION- … The DTC provides the possibility to save energy thanks to the stable regenerative current”).
Zhang teaches …
control the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “(3) Meet the braking power distribution by coordinately controlling braking components’ state with good drivability and appropriate braking force.”, Fig. 1 shows that braking power is also provided by propulsion system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Zhang and include the feature of controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power, thereby energy management is improved (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “The driver intent identification algorithm was developed, and the traditional base-line energy management strategy was improved.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki teaches a control arrangement configured to control operation of a vehicle wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”), wheel brakes, an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”), and a regenerative braking system controllable to reqeneratively brake the vehicle (See at least Para [0029] “…Given that the motor is adopted as the prime mover 1, a regenerative braking force derived from a regenerative torque of the motor is applied to the vehicle Ve when the accelerator pedal 4 is returned…”), wherein the control arrangement is configured to, when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
determine, based on the map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion of a road section
on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Abstract “… The control system calculates a target deceleration to travel through a target site at a target speed in accordance with a decelerating factor…”, Para [0011] “… calculate a target deceleration to travel through a target site existing predetermined distance ahead of the vehicle at a target speed, in accordance with a decelerating factor determined based on information ahead of the vehicle; …”);
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out …
estimate a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section;
set a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system; and
control the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power.
Raud teaches …
estimate a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section (See at least Abstract “… The force, power and energy estimating procedures are discussed…”, Page 189 Col 2 Para 5 “This paper represents some estimates of the propulsion drives in terms of their performance at braking and downhill motion important from the viewpoint of the common vehicle efficiency.” Page 190 Col 1 Para 5 “where PL is the traction power required for keeping the BEV at the desired speed v”); and
set a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 7 “Then, the traction force, power, and energy estimates are explained and dimensioning procedures are arranged to find the regenerative energy distribution.”, Fig 1. shows power distribution among propulsion system and wheel brakes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Raud and include the feature of estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road and setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Page 193 Col 2 Para 5 “VII. CONCLUSION- … The DTC provides the possibility to save energy thanks to the stable regenerative current”).
Zhang teaches …
control the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “(3) Meet the braking power distribution by coordinately controlling braking components’ state with good drivability and appropriate braking force.”, Fig. 1 shows that braking power is also provided by propulsion system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Zhang and include the feature of controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power, thereby energy management is improved (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “The driver intent identification algorithm was developed, and the traditional base-line energy management strategy was improved.”).
9. Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki teaches a vehicle comprising;
a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”);
wheel brakes (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”),
an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”); and
a regenerative braking system controllable to reqeneratively brake the vehicle (See at least Para [0029] “…Given that the motor is adopted as the prime mover 1, a regenerative braking force derived from a regenerative torque of the motor is applied to the vehicle Ve when the accelerator pedal 4 is returned…”),
a control arrangement configured to control operation of a vehicle and is configured to, when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
determine, based on the map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion of a road section
on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Abstract “… The control system calculates a target deceleration to travel through a target site at a target speed in accordance with a decelerating factor…”, Para [0011] “… calculate a target deceleration to travel through a target site existing predetermined distance ahead of the vehicle at a target speed, in accordance with a decelerating factor determined based on information ahead of the vehicle; …”);
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out …
estimate a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section;
set a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system; and
control the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power.
Raud teaches …
estimate a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section (See at least Abstract “… The force, power and energy estimating procedures are discussed…”, Page 189 Col 2 Para 5 “This paper represents some estimates of the propulsion drives in terms of their performance at braking and downhill motion important from the viewpoint of the common vehicle efficiency.” Page 190 Col 1 Para 5 “where PL is the traction power required for keeping the BEV at the desired speed v”); and
set a determined distribution of braking power between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 7 “Then, the traction force, power, and energy estimates are explained and dimensioning procedures are arranged to find the regenerative energy distribution.”, Fig 1. shows power distribution among propulsion system and wheel brakes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Raud and include the feature of estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road and setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Page 193 Col 2 Para 5 “VII. CONCLUSION- … The DTC provides the possibility to save energy thanks to the stable regenerative current”).
Zhang teaches …
control the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “(3) Meet the braking power distribution by coordinately controlling braking components’ state with good drivability and appropriate braking force.”, Fig. 1 shows that braking power is also provided by propulsion system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Zhang and include the feature of controlling the braking power provided by the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on the determined distribution of braking power, thereby energy management is improved (See at least Page 1 Col 2 “The driver intent identification algorithm was developed, and the traditional base-line energy management strategy was improved.”).
10. Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 9. Suzuki further teaches the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
estimate a braking need of the vehicle based on the map data (See at least Para [0040] “... By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”), and
wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control the braking power based on the estimated braking need (See at least
Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
11. Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 9. Suzuki further teaches the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
determine, based on the map data, a distance between the vehicle and a second portion of the road section comprising a geometrical, regulatory, and/or navigational alteration (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”), and
wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of the braking power based on the determined distance (Para [0040] “... By
contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”, Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
12. Regarding Claim 18, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 11. Suzuki further teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11 further configured to:
estimate a braking need of the vehicle based on the map data (See at least Para [0040] “... By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”), and
wherein control the braking power comprises:
control of the braking power based on the estimated braking need (See at least
Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
12. Regarding Claim 21, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 11. Suzuki further teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11 further configured to:
determine, based on the map data, a distance between the vehicle and a second portion of the road section comprising a geometrical, regulatory, and/or navigational alteration (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”), and
wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of the braking power based on the determined distance (Para [0040] “...
By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”, Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
15. Claim(s) 3, 4, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki) in view of Raud et al. (Z. Raud, V. Vodovozov, N. Lillo and A. Rassõlkin, "Reserves for regenerative braking of battery electric vehicles," 2014 Electric Power Quality and Supply Reliability Conference (PQ), Rakvere, Estonia, 2014, pp. 189-194) (Hereinafter Raud), Zhang et al. (Zhang Junzhi, Lu Xin, Chen Shanglou and Zhang Pengjun, "Coordinated control for regenerative braking system," 2008 IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference, Harbin, 2008, pp. 1-6) (Hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of Yhr et al. (US 20250100389 A1) (Hereinafter Yhr).
16. Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 2.
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 2, wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold, and
controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold.
Yhr teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”), and
controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold and controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
16. Regarding Claim 4, modified Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 3. However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 3, wherein the method comprises:
setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system.
Yhr teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the method comprises:
setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system (See at least Para [0064] “The determined brake power state is compared S3 with a predetermined set of rules. Each rule of the predetermined set of rules is associated with a specific type of brake power state. For example, if the brake power state is the above described brake power demand level for a wheel of the vehicle 100, the predetermined rule is preferably a predetermined threshold brake power level...”, Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
16. Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 14.
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the computer program product according to claim 14, wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold, and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold.
Yhr teaches the computer program product according to claim 14, wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”), and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold and controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
17. Regarding Claim 16, modified Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 15. However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the computer program product according to claim 15, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system.
Yhr teaches the computer program product according to claim 15, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system (See at least Para [0064] “The determined brake power state is compared S3 with a predetermined set of rules. Each rule of the predetermined set of rules is associated with a specific type of brake power state. For example, if the brake power state is the above described brake power demand level for a wheel of the vehicle 100, the predetermined rule is preferably a predetermined threshold brake power level...”, Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
17. Regarding Claim 19, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 18.
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the control arrangement according to claim 18, wherein the control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold, and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold.
Yhr teaches the computer program product according to claim 14, wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”), and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold and controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
18. Regarding Claim 20, modified Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 19. However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the control arrangement according to claim 19 further configured to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system.
Yhr teaches the control arrangement according to claim 19 further configured to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system (See at least Para [0064] “The determined brake power state is compared S3 with a predetermined set of rules. Each rule of the predetermined set of rules is associated with a specific type of brake power state. For example, if the brake power state is the above described brake power demand level for a wheel of the vehicle 100, the predetermined rule is preferably a predetermined threshold brake power level...”, Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
15. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki) in view of of Raud et al. (Z. Raud, V. Vodovozov, N. Lillo and A. Rassõlkin, "Reserves for regenerative braking of battery electric vehicles," 2014 Electric Power Quality and Supply Reliability Conference (PQ), Rakvere, Estonia, 2014, pp. 189-194) (Hereinafter Raud), Zhang et al. (Zhang Junzhi, Lu Xin, Chen Shanglou and Zhang Pengjun, "Coordinated control for regenerative braking system," 2008 IEEE Vehicle Power and Propulsion Conference, Harbin, 2008, pp. 1-6) (Hereinafter Zhang), and further in view of Asbogard et al. (US 2024/0100958 A1) (Hereinafter Asbogard).
16. Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 12.
Although Suzuki discloses a conventional vehicle (See at least [0009] “… Thus, the conventional vehicles in which the one-pedal mode is available have to be improved to allow the driver to control the brake force finely only by operating the accelerator pedal…”), he does not explicitly spell out the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the vehicle is a heavy road vehicle.
Asbogard teaches the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the vehicle is a heavy road vehicle (See at least Para [0001] “The disclosure relates generally to vehicles. In particular aspects, the disclosure relates to a method for controlling braking of a vehicle. The disclosure can be applied in heavy-duty vehicles, such as trucks, buses, and construction equipment…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Suzuki with the teachings of Asbogard and include the feature of the vehicle being a heavy road vehicle, thereby improve energy efficiency of a heavy road vehicle and improve driver comfort during vehicle operation (See at least Para [0004] “… The first aspect of the disclosure may seek to improve the energy efficiency of an associated vehicle. A technical benefit may include more energy efficient braking of the vehicle, a more simple braking interface for the driver, as well as improved driver comfort during operation of the vehicle.”).
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Snead (US 12522065 B2) teaches methods, systems, and apparatus for a regenerative braking and powertrain pedal system. The powertrain system includes an electric motor that is configured to generate regenerative energy and provide a regenerative braking torque.
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658