DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/23/2024 and 09/23/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 21 Line 17 - “rate och change” should read “rate of change”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 9 recites “A computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium”; and it’s not clear if the non-transitory computer-readable medium is part of the scope of the claim. In order to overcome the rejection, the applicant is suggested to re-write the claim as “A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium”.
Claims 14-17 are also rejected by the virtue of their dependency on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being read upon by Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki teaches a method of controlling operation of a vehicle, wherein the method is performed by a control arrangement, and wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”), wheel brakes, and an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”), wherein the method comprises, when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
controlling a braking power provided by at least one of the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on map data representative of a road section on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Fig 2, Para [0035] “In the one-pedal mode, specifically, the drive force and the brake force are controlled in accordance with a position of the accelerator pedal 4 with reference to a map shown in FIG. 2. In FIG. 2, the horizontal axis represents a position of the accelerator pedal 4, and the vertical axis represents acceleration. As can be seen from FIG. 2, a range of position of the accelerator pedal 4 is divided into a decelerating range and an accelerating range across a reference position θth…”).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises:
estimating a braking need of the vehicle based on the map data (See at least Para [0040] “... By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”), and
wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling the braking power based on the estimated braking need (See at least
Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
7. Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises the step of:
determining, based on the map data, a distance between the vehicle and a portion of the road section comprising a geometrical, regulatory, and/or navigational alteration (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”), and
wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling the braking power based on the determined distance (Para [0040] “...
By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”, Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
8. Regarding Claim 6, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 5. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the portion of the road section comprises at least one of:
a geometrical alteration in the form of at least one of a change in curvature of the road, a change in inclination of the road, a change in width of the road, or a change in type of road surface (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”);
a regulatory alteration in the form of at least one of a speed limit change, a stop duty, a traffic signal location, a yield point, or and a change in lane usage rules (See at least Para [0040] “If the vehicle Ve is not propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is NO, it is not necessary to control the deceleration by the accelerator pedal 4 and hence the routine returns. By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”);
a navigational alteration in the form of at least one of a road exit, an intersection, a crossing, or a roundabout (See at least Para [0040] “If the vehicle Ve is not propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is NO, it is not necessary to control the deceleration by the accelerator pedal 4 and hence the routine returns. By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”).
Regarding Claim 7, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 1. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises the steps of:
determining, based on the map data, a target speed to be reached at a portion the road section (See at least Abstract “… The control system calculates a target deceleration to travel through a target site at a target speed in accordance with a decelerating factor…”, Para [0011] “… calculate a target deceleration to travel through a target site existing predetermined distance ahead of the vehicle at a target speed, in accordance with a decelerating factor determined based on information ahead of the vehicle; …”); and
controlling the braking power for reaching the target speed at the portion the road section (See at least Abstract “… The control system calculates a target deceleration to travel through a target site at a target speed in accordance with a decelerating factor…”, Para [0011] “… calculate a target deceleration to travel through a target site existing predetermined distance ahead of the vehicle at a target speed, in accordance with a decelerating factor determined based on information ahead of the vehicle; …”).
8. Regarding Claim 9, Suzuki teaches a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium, said computer program product for controlling operation of a vehicle, wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”), wheel brakes, and an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”), wherein said computer program product comprising computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
control a braking power provided by at least one of the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on map data representative of a road section on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Fig 2, Para [0035] “In the one-pedal mode, specifically, the drive force and the brake force are controlled in accordance with a position of the accelerator pedal 4 with reference to a map shown in FIG. 2. In FIG. 2, the horizontal axis represents a position of the accelerator pedal 4, and the vertical axis represents acceleration. As can be seen from FIG. 2, a range of position of the accelerator pedal 4 is divided into a decelerating range and an accelerating range across a reference position θth…”).
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki teaches a control arrangement configured to control operation of a vehicle wherein the vehicle comprises a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”), wheel brakes, and an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”), wherein the control arrangement is configured to, when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
control a braking power provided by at least one of the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on map data representative of a road section on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Fig 2, Para [0035] “In the one-pedal mode, specifically, the drive force and the brake force are controlled in accordance with a position of the accelerator pedal 4 with reference to a map shown in FIG. 2. In FIG. 2, the horizontal axis represents a position of the accelerator pedal 4, and the vertical axis represents acceleration. As can be seen from FIG. 2, a range of position of the accelerator pedal 4 is divided into a decelerating range and an accelerating range across a reference position θth…”).
9. Regarding Claim 12, Suzuki teaches a vehicle comprising;
a propulsion system (See at least Para [0038] In order to avoid such disadvantages, the brake force control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is configured to detect a reason to decelerate the vehicle Ve during propulsion in the one-pedal mode…”);
wheel brakes (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”),
an accelerator pedal (See at least Para [0025] “Embodiments of the present invention will now be explained with reference to the accompanying drawings. Referring now to FIG. 1, there is shown an example of a drive system and a control system of a vehicle Ve to which the brake control system according to the exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure is applied. The vehicle Ve comprises a prime mover (referred to as “PWR” in FIG. 1) 1, a pair of front wheels 2, a pair of rear wheels 3, an accelerator pedal 4, a brake pedal 5, …”, Para [0031] “The detector 7 collects data about conditions of the vehicle Ve including conditions of the accelerator pedal 4 and the brake pedal 5…”); and
a control arrangement configured to control operation of a vehicle and is configured to, when an actuation state of the accelerator pedal is below a threshold state (See at least Para [0011] “The brake force control system according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is provided with a controller that controls a brake force based on a deceleration determined with respect to a position of an accelerator pedal within a predetermined range…”):
control a braking power provided by at least one of the propulsion system and the wheel brakes based on map data representative of a road section on which the vehicle is/will be travelling (See at least Fig 2, Para [0035] “In the one-pedal mode, specifically, the drive force and the brake force are controlled in accordance with a position of the accelerator pedal 4 with reference to a map shown in FIG. 2. In FIG. 2, the horizontal axis represents a position of the accelerator pedal 4, and the vertical axis represents acceleration. As can be seen from FIG. 2, a range of position of the accelerator pedal 4 is divided into a decelerating range and an accelerating range across a reference position θth…”).
10. Regarding Claim 14, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 9. Suzuki further teaches the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
estimate a braking need of the vehicle based on the map data (See at least Para [0040] “... By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”), and
wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control the braking power based on the estimated braking need (See at least
Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
11. Regarding Claim 17, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 9. Suzuki further teaches the computer program product according to claim 9, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
determine, based on the map data, a distance between the vehicle and a portion of the road section comprising a geometrical, regulatory, and/or navigational alteration (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”), and
wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of the braking power based on the determined distance (Para [0040] “... By
contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”, Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
12. Regarding Claim 18, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 11. Suzuki further teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11 further configured to:
estimate a braking need of the vehicle based on the map data (See at least Para [0040] “... By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”), and
wherein control the braking power comprises:
control of the braking power based on the estimated braking need (See at least
Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
12. Regarding Claim 21, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 11. Suzuki further teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11 further configured to:
determine, based on the map data, a distance between the vehicle and a portion of the road section comprising a geometrical, regulatory, and/or navigational alteration (See at least Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”), and
wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of the braking power based on the determined distance (Para [0040] “...
By contrast, if the vehicle Ve is propelled in the one-pedal mode so that the answer of step S1 is YES, the brake force control system determines the possibility of execution of decelerating operation (i.e., an existence of a decelerating factor) based on information ahead of the vehicle Ve. If it is estimated that the vehicle will be decelerated, the brake force control system estimates a target deceleration expected by the driver during decelerating the vehicle Ve. For example, the decelerating factor includes a situation when travelling through a curve in a stable manner, a situation when decelerating the vehicle Ve to keep a distance from the vehicle ahead, and a situation when stopping the vehicle Ve at a traffic light or an intersection…”, Para [0041] “In order to estimate the target deceleration expected by the driver, at step S2, the brake force control system calculates: a radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve; a speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve; and a distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve. For example, the radius r of a curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and the distance L1 to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a map data of a navigation system, the distance L2 to the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be detected by a millimeter-wave radar, and the speed V1 of the vehicle ahead of the vehicle Ve may be calculated based on a time rate of change in the distance L2 and a speed V2 of the vehicle Ve. Optionally, in order to estimate the target deceleration, an inclination of a road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, visibility of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the road to the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve, a friction coefficient of the curve ahead of the vehicle Ve and so on may be obtained in addition to the above-mentioned parameters. Thus, at step S2, the parameters involved in controlling speed and deceleration of the vehicle Ve are calculated.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim(s) 3, 4, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki) in view of Yhr et al. (US 20250100389 A1) (Hereinafter Yhr).
16. Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 2.
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 2, wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold, and
controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold.
Yhr teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein controlling the braking power comprises:
controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”), and
controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold and controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
16. Regarding Claim 4, modified Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 3. However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the method according to claim 3, wherein the method comprises:
setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system.
Yhr teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the method comprises:
setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system (See at least Para [0064] “The determined brake power state is compared S3 with a predetermined set of rules. Each rule of the predetermined set of rules is associated with a specific type of brake power state. For example, if the brake power state is the above described brake power demand level for a wheel of the vehicle 100, the predetermined rule is preferably a predetermined threshold brake power level...”, Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
16. Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 14.
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the computer program product according to claim 14, wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold, and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold.
Yhr teaches the computer program product according to claim 14, wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”), and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold and controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
17. Regarding Claim 16, modified Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 15. However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the computer program product according to claim 15, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system.
Yhr teaches the computer program product according to claim 15, wherein said computer program product further comprises computer instructions to cause one or more computing devices to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system (See at least Para [0064] “The determined brake power state is compared S3 with a predetermined set of rules. Each rule of the predetermined set of rules is associated with a specific type of brake power state. For example, if the brake power state is the above described brake power demand level for a wheel of the vehicle 100, the predetermined rule is preferably a predetermined threshold brake power level...”, Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
17. Regarding Claim 19, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 18.
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the control arrangement according to claim 18, wherein the control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold, and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold.
Yhr teaches the computer program product according to claim 14, wherein control of the braking power comprises:
control of both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”), and
control of the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold (See at least Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of controlling both the propulsion system and the wheel brakes to brake the vehicle if the braking need exceeds a threshold and controlling the propulsion system to solely brake the vehicle if the current braking need is below the threshold, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
18. Regarding Claim 20, modified Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 19. However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out the control arrangement according to claim 19 further configured to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system.
Yhr teaches the control arrangement according to claim 19 further configured to:
set the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system (See at least Para [0064] “The determined brake power state is compared S3 with a predetermined set of rules. Each rule of the predetermined set of rules is associated with a specific type of brake power state. For example, if the brake power state is the above described brake power demand level for a wheel of the vehicle 100, the predetermined rule is preferably a predetermined threshold brake power level...”, Para [0065] “During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled S4 to generate electric power. During the braking operation, the electric machine 101, 101′ is also controlled S5, by receiving a signal from the control unit 130, to feed generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the above described brake power state fails to fulfil at least one rule of the predetermined set of rules. To put it differently, and as an example, the electric machine 101, 101′ is controlled to feed at least a portion of the generated electric power to the eddy current wheel brake 210, 210′ when the electric machine 101, 101′ is unable to solely provide the desired brake torque to the wheel 160, 160′ of the vehicle 100.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Yhr and include the feature of setting the threshold based on a current available braking capacity of the propulsion system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Para [0014] “When the brake power demand level fails to fulfil the at least one rule, the electric machine is unable to generate sufficient brake power to the wheel. An advantage is thus that the electric machine and the eddy current wheel brake in conjunction generates the brake power to the wheel, where the eddy current wheel brake is operated by electric power generated by the electric machine during the braking operation. An energy efficient power dissipation is hereby obtained. The brake power level on the wheel is thus amplified compared to braking solely using the electric machine.”).
15. Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki) in view of Raud et al. (Z. Raud, V. Vodovozov, N. Lillo and A. Rassõlkin, "Reserves for regenerative braking of battery electric vehicles," 2014 Electric Power Quality and Supply Reliability Conference (PQ), Rakvere, Estonia, 2014, pp. 189-194) (Hereinafter Raud).
16. Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 7. Suzuki further teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the propulsion system comprises a regenerative braking system controllable to regeneratively brake the vehicle (See at least Para [0029] “…Given that the motor is adopted as the prime mover 1, a regenerative braking force derived from a regenerative torque of the motor is applied to the vehicle Ve when the accelerator pedal 4 is returned…”), and wherein the method comprises the steps of: …
However, Suzuki does not explicitly spell out …
estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road; and
setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system.
Raud teaches …
estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road (See at least Abstract “… The force, power and energy estimating procedures are discussed…”, Page 189 Col 2 Para 5 “This paper represents some estimates of the propulsion drives in terms of their performance at braking and downhill motion important from the viewpoint of the common vehicle efficiency.” Page 190 Col 1 Para 5 “where PL is the traction power required for keeping the BEV at the desired speed v”); and
setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system (See at least Page 189 Col 2 Para 7 “Then, the traction force, power, and energy estimates are explained and dimension ing procedures are arranged to find the regenerative energy distribution.”, Fig 1. shows power distribution among propulsion system and wheel brakes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Raud and include the feature of estimating a braking energy need for reaching the target speed at the portion the road and setting a distribution between braking power provided by the propulsion system and braking power provided by the wheel brakes based on the estimated braking energy need and a current available braking capacity of the regenerative braking system, thereby provide energy efficiency (See at least Page 193 Col 2 Para 5 “VII. CONCLUSION- … The DTC provides the possibility to save energy thanks to the stable regenera tive current”).
15. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20200254983 A1) (Hereinafter Suzuki) in view of Asbogard et al. (US 2024/0100958 A1) (Hereinafter Asbogard).
16. Regarding Claim 13, Suzuki teaches all the elements of claim 12.
Although Suzuki discloses a conventional vehicle (See at least [0009] “… Thus, the conventional vehicles in which the one-pedal mode is available have to be improved to allow the driver to control the brake force finely only by operating the accelerator pedal…”), he does not explicitly spell out the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the vehicle is a heavy road vehicle.
Asbogard teaches the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the vehicle is a heavy road vehicle (See at least Para [0001] “The disclosure relates generally to vehicles. In particular aspects, the disclosure relates to a method for controlling braking of a vehicle. The disclosure can be applied in heavy-duty vehicles, such as trucks, buses, and construction equipment…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Asbogard and include the feature of the vehicle being a heavy road vehicle, thereby improve energy efficiency of a heavy road vehicle and improve driver comfort during vehicle operation (See at least Para [0004] “… The first aspect of the disclosure may seek to improve the energy efficiency of an associated vehicle. A technical benefit may include more energy efficient braking of the vehicle, a more simple braking interface for the driver, as well as improved driver comfort during operation of the vehicle.”).
Conclusion
17. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Snead (US 12522065 B2) teaches methods, systems, and apparatus for a regenerative braking and powertrain pedal system. The powertrain system includes an electric motor that is configured to generate regenerative energy and provide a regenerative braking torque.
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658