Detailed Action
Responsive to correspondence
This office action is in response to correspondence filed on 12/23/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/27/2025 was filed before the first action on the merits. This submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, this has been fully considered by the Office.
Abstract
The abstract filed 12/23/2025 appears to be acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2778406 A1 to GRAGGEN et al. (GRAGGEN) in view of U.S Publication number 2016/0222830 A1 to AGA et al. (AGA).
Re: Claim 1:
GRAGGEN discloses:
A system comprising:
a thermodynamic cycle system operable in an energy storage mode (See Figs.1-5),
wherein operating the thermodynamic cycle system in the energy storage mode comprises:
circulating a working fluid through at least, a compressor (See Figs.1-5: compressor 25) and a first heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: first heat exchanger 21), and transferring heat from the working fluid to the first thermal storage medium at the first heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: ¶0023: heat exchanger 21 the hot working fluid transfers thermal energy to the cool thermal storage fluid coming from thermal cool storage 12), resulting in the hot first thermal storage medium (See Figs.1-5: thermal hot storage 11),
wherein operating the thermodynamic cycle system in the power generation mode comprises:
transferring heat from the hot first thermal storage medium to the working fluid via the first heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: ¶0026: working fluid reaches its highest temperature in the thermodynamic discharging cycle as it is heated in the ETES heat exchanger 21. Here the working fluid flows countercurrent to the hot thermal storage fluid coming from thermal hot storage 11), driving a turbine (See Figs.1-5: turbine 25) by expansion of the heated working fluid, and driving a generator (See Figs.1-5: generator as shown) with the turbine (See Figs.1-4: turbine 26),
wherein operating the thermodynamic cycle system in the power generation mode comprises a high-pressure working fluid path comprising a working fluid path from the first heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: working fluid path from the first heat exchanger 21 extending to turbine 26) to the turbine, and
wherein operating the thermodynamic cycle system in power generation mode further comprises a low-pressure working fluid path (See Figs.1-5: extending from turbine 26 after expansion) , wherein the low-pressure working fluid path comprises a second working fluid path from the turbine (See Figs.1-5: turbine 26) to a second heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: a second heat exchanger 24), wherein heat is removed from the working fluid at the second heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: ¶0024: heat is removed from the second heat exchanger 24) ;
a third heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: third heat exchanger 22);
a first thermal storage medium fluid path (See Figs.1-5: first thermal storage medium fluid path 32) operable to circulate the hot first thermal storage medium through the third heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: third heat exchanger 22 as shown in figure 5); and
a first fluid path (See Figs.1-5: first fluid path extending from turbine 26) operable to receive a first fluid from a power generation plant (See Figs.1-5: power generation plant 20), to circulate the first fluid through the third heat exchanger (See Figs.1-5: third heat exchanger 22) in thermal contact with a fluid; ), and to return the first fluid to the power generation plant (See Figs.1-5: the first fluid is returned to power generation plant via third heat exchanger 22 and compressor 25)
GRAGGEN substantially discloses all the limitations of claim 1, GRAGGEN is silent regarding:
thermodynamic cycle system operable in an energy storage mode to convert electricity into stored thermal energy in a hot first thermal storage medium and further operable in a power generation mode to convert at least a portion of the stored thermal energy into electricity,
a first thermal storage medium fluid path operable to circulate the hot first thermal storage medium through the third heat exchanger; and
third heat exchanger in thermal contact with the hot first thermal storage medium wherein the first fluid receives heat from the hot first thermal storage medium, and to return the first fluid to the power generation plant.
However, AGA teaches:
thermodynamic cycle system operable in an energy storage mode to convert electricity into stored thermal energy in a hot first thermal storage medium and further operable in a power generation mode to convert at least a portion of the stored thermal energy into electricity (AGA: See Fig. 2: ¶0025, ¶0031: discloses a heat pump and a thermodynamics cycle in an energy storage mode and convert at least a portion of stored energy into electricity),
a first thermal storage medium fluid path (AGA: See Fig. 2: fluid path extending from thermal storage 36) operable to circulate the hot first thermal storage medium through the third heat exchanger (AGA: See Fig. 2: third heat exchanger 13); and
third heat exchanger (AGA: See Fig. 2: third heat exchanger 13) in thermal contact with the hot first thermal storage medium wherein the first fluid receives heat from the hot first thermal storage medium (AGA: See Fig. 2: ¶0037: high pressure first working fluid is used to preheat low pressure working fluid in a recuperator 13 so as to limit the outlet pressure of compressor 18.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure GRAGGEN to provide a third heat exchanger which uses thermal storage medium for preheating working fluid of a power generator plant and providing electrical heating derived from renewable energy sources, which is an art known system and provides a cost-efficient system for storing energy , heating working fluid thereby an economical way of generating electricity.
Re: Claim 4:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of claim 1, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 1, and further comprising an electric heater (AGA: See Fig. 1: electric heater 50) in thermal contact with the hot first thermal storage medium (AGA: See Fig. 1: hot thermal storage medium via storage 32-36).
Re: Claim 5:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of claim 4, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 4, and wherein the electric heater is operable to heat the hot first thermal storage medium above a temperature achievable by transferring heat from the working fluid to the warm first thermal storage medium (AGA: See Figs. 1-3C: ¶0030-¶0031: the electrical heater member 50 may receive the first thermal fluid heated up to a moderate temperature and further heat thereto up to a predetermined temperature, for example about 500° C. to 600° C).
Re: Claim 6:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of claim 5, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 5, and wherein the electric heater operates when the thermodynamic cycle system operates in the energy storage mode (AGA: See 1-3C: ¶0033: the heat pump cycle 10 and the electrical heater member 50 act as a charging system for converting electrical energy into the thermal energy).
Re: Claim 8:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of any of claim 4, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 4, and wherein the electric heater includes a heater arranged in-line with a fluid line connected to an inlet of the hot thermal storage medium tank (AGA: See Figs. 1-3C: electric heater 50 positioned in line with a fluid line as shown)
Claim(s) 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2778406 A1 to GRAGGEN et al. (GRAGGEN) in view of U.S Publication number 2016/0222830 A1 to AGA et al. (AGA) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S Publication number 2007/0220889 A1 to NAYEF et al. (NAYEF).
Re: Claim 3:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of claim 1, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 1, and a grid system to supply electricity (AGA: See Fig.1), however GRAGGEN is silent regarding: wherein the thermodynamic cycle system, when in the energy storage mode, receives from the power generation plant, apart from any intervening electrical grid, the electricity for conversion into the stored thermal energy.
However, NAYEF teaches:
wherein the thermodynamic cycle system, when in the energy storage mode, receives from the power generation plant, apart from any intervening electrical grid, the electricity for conversion into the stored thermal energy (NAYEF: ¶0011-¶0018).
It is well known in the art that thermal storage medium is heated by an electric heater and such electric heater may consume electricity generated by wind turbine plant or solar energy or nuclear energy power plant or thermal power plant or an electric grid as labeled in figure 1, such a system is explicitly taught by NAYEF (NAYEF: See Fig. 1: ¶0011-¶0018, ¶0024: which discloses use of electricity from variety of power sources including thermal power plant and that electricity produced by the generators 4,7,10 directed through an electrical transformer 11 and then to a power grid for distribution or, alternatively, to a unit or units 12 that consume the electricity produced and further electric grid may be used to provide electricity to electric heaters (NAYEF: ¶0018, ¶0024), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide electric heating in a thermal storage using any alternate source or two sources such as thermal power plant depending upon economics of the system and alternatively from electric grid.
Re: Claim 9:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of any of claim 4, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 4, and a grid system to supply electricity (AGA: See Fig.1), however GRAGGEN is silent regarding: wherein the thermodynamic cycle system, when in the energy storage mode, receives from the power generation plant, apart from any intervening electrical grid, the electricity for conversion into the stored thermal energy.
However, NAYEF teaches:
wherein the thermodynamic cycle system, when in the energy storage mode, receives from the power generation plant, apart from any intervening electrical grid, the electricity for conversion into the stored thermal energy (NAYEF: ¶0011-¶0018).
It is well known in the art that thermal storage medium is heated by an electric heater and such electric heater may consume electricity generated by wind turbine plant or solar energy or nuclear energy power plant or thermal power plant or an electric grid as labeled in figure 1, such a system is explicitly taught by NAYEF (NAYEF: See Fig. 1: ¶0011-¶0018, ¶0024: which discloses use of electricity from variety of power sources including thermal power plant and that electricity produced by the generators 4,7,10 directed through an electrical transformer 11 and then to a power grid for distribution or, alternatively, to a unit or units 12 that consume the electricity produced and further electric grid may be used to provide electricity to electric heaters (NAYEF: ¶0018, ¶0024), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide electric heating in a thermal storage using any alternate source or two sources such as thermal power plant depending upon economics of the system and alternatively from electric grid.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2778406 A1 to GRAGGEN et al. (GRAGGEN) in view of U.S Publication number 2016/0222830 A1 to AGA et al. (AGA) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of and further in view of U.S Patent number 5384489 to BELLAC (BELLAC).
Re: Claim 7:
GRAGGEN modified by AGA discloses:
The system of any of claim 4, modified GRAGGEN discloses all the limitation of claim 4, and the electric heater and a hot-side thermal storage medium, the modified GRAGGEN is silent regarding:
wherein the electric heater includes a heater arranged within a hot first thermal storage medium tank.
However, BELLAC teaches:
wherein the electric heater includes a heater (BELLAC: See Fig.1: col. 4 lines 27-35, col. 5 lines 1-9: electric heater 34 as depicted in figure 1 is positioned within a hot thermal energy storage) arranged within a hot thermal storage medium tank.
However, it is well known in the art that electric heaters may be positioned within thermal energy storages , such a system is explicitly taught by BELLAC (BELLAC: See Fig.1: col. 4 lines 27-35, col. 5 lines 1-9: electric heater 34 as depicted in figure 1 is positioned within a hot thermal energy storage), therefore , it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modified GRAGGEN to include the teachings of BELLAC, because BELLAC teaches an art known method/system of positioning electric heaters within thermal energy storages which would have yielded predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter and Prior Art
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 contains an allowable subject matter because the prior art of record failed to disclose or teach a platform having non-radius edges between the contoured surface and the first and second aft edges.
In the closest prior art, GRAGGEN and AGA teaches a thermodynamics cycle system as claimed in claim 1, however fails to discloses a second fluid; and a fourth heat exchanger operable as a preheater of the working fluid when the thermodynamic cycle system is operating in the energy storage mode, wherein the second fluid carries heat from the power generation plant and transfers at least a portion of the carried heat to the working fluid at the fourth heat exchanger, and wherein the fourth heat exchanger is arranged in a working fluid path upstream of a working fluid inlet of the compressor.
Therefore, it would not be obvious to make the claimed structure because the prior art of the record fails to teach a platform having non-radius edges between the contoured surface and the first and second aft edges.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQ MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
December 31, 2025