DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2024 the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narla (US 2018/0037121) in view of James et al. (US 2016/0176305).
Regarding claim 1, Narla teaches A method (see figure 1 and par. [0033-0040]) comprising: converting, by a direct current (DC)-to-alternating current (AC) converter (fig. 1@ DC/AC inverter 111), first DC power from a DC power source (fig. 1@ PV string(s) 104) connected to an input of the DC-to-AC converter (111) to first AC power at an output of the DC-to-AC converter (111), wherein the input of the DC-to-AC converter (111) is galvanically connected to the output of the DC-to-AC converter (111); drawing second AC power from an AC grid (fig. 1@ AC grid 114); combining the first AC power and the second AC power into combined AC power (see par. [0040], in instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140); providing the combined AC power to an electric vehicle (EV) charging connector (see par. [0040] and fig. 1@ AC car port 123 for charging EV 140); converting, by a DC-to-DC converter (fig. 1@ DC/DC 109), second DC power from the DC power source (104) connected to an input of the DC-to-DC converter to third DC power at an output of the DC-to- DC converter (see figure 1: output of the DC-to- DC converter 109); providing the third DC power to the EV charging connector (see figure 1: DC output from converter 142 to charge vehicle 140).
However, Narla does not explicitly teach the DC-to-DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to-DC converter.
James teaches the DC-to-DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to-DC converter (fig. 12@ isolated DC-DC Converter 1250) (a high frequency transformer providing galvanic isolation, see par. [0056] and [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Narla with the teachings of James by having the DC-to-DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to-DC converter in order to provide a transformer galvanically isolating in order to protect against electric shock, to suppress electrical noise in sensitive devices, or to transfer power between two circuits which must not be connected.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the combining the first AC power and the second AC power comprises combining, using an AC charging circuit, the first AC power and the second AC power (see par. [0040], in instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140; Narla).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches limiting, by a first current-limiting circuitry (fig. 1A@ S1 and S3), a first current drawn from the AC grid during the drawing of the second AC power from the AC grid; limiting, by a second current-limiting circuitry (S1, S3, S4), a second current drawn from the DC power source during the converting of the first DC power to the first AC power or the converting of the second DC power to the third DC power (see figures 1 and 1A; and par. [0040-0045]; Narla).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches operating the DC-to-AC converter to limit a current drawn from the DC power source to not exceed a first threshold; and operating a circuit breaker to limit a current drawn from the AC grid to not exceed a second threshold during the drawing of the second AC power from the AC grid, wherein the second threshold is lower than the first threshold (see par. [0040-0046], the controller may issue control signals to selectively open or close the switches based on the performance of the solar energy generation and storage system (e.g., system 100 of FIG. 1). For example, the controller monitors the AC grid. If the voltage of the AC grid drops below a predetermined value, the controller may activate switches S3 and S4 in the manner that power to the backup load(s) is supplied by the DC/AC inverter instead by the AC grid; and in instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140; Narla).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches providing, via a cable (see figure 1 and par. [0038], System 100 also includes electric vehicle charging capability. Electric vehicle (EV) includes bidirectional AC/DC converter that can be connected to AC car port of storage inverter via a charging cable and car plug), the combined AC power and the third DC power to the EV charging connector (123), wherein the cable comprises: a first end configured to be connected to the output of the DC-to-DC converter (109) and an output of an AC charging circuit, wherein the AC charging circuit combines the first AC power and the second AC power to output the combined AC power; and a second end configured to be connected to the EV charging connector (123), (see figure 1; Narla).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the cable comprises: a first connector (fig. 1@ DC car port 156) at the second end connected to the EV charging connector and configured to be connected to an onboard charger; and a second connector (fig. 1@ a connector is connected to battery pack 102) at the second end connected to the EV charging connector and configured to be connected to a battery of the EV (see figure 1 and par. [0039], System 100 may also include a DC car port 156 that enables a low-voltage DC charging of EV 140 when the EV battery 144 is a low-voltage battery (e.g. 48 V) and can be charged directly from the battery pack 102; Narla).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches providing the combined AC power to an electrical panel (see par. [0046], circuit breaker panel), wherein the electrical panel is coupled to the output of the DC-to-AC converter and configured to distribute the combined AC power, and wherein the electrical panel comprises: a first panel connection configured to be connected to an AC charging circuit (see figure 1A; Narla), wherein the AC charging circuit is configured to combine the first AC power and the second AC power to generate the combined AC power (par. [0040], in instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114; Narla); and a second panel connection configured to be connected to an additional load (fig. 1A@ Backup load(s)).
Regarding claim 10, Narla teaches A method (see figure 1 and par. [0033-0040]) comprising: converting, by an alternating current (AC)-to-direct current (DC) converter (fig. 1@ bidirectional AC/DC converter 142), first AC power from an AC power source (fig. 1@ AC grid 114) connected to an input of the AC-to-DC converter (142) to first DC power at an output of the AC-to-DC converter (142), wherein the input of the AC-to-DC converter (142) is galvanically connected to the output of the AC-to-DC converter (see figure 1); drawing second DC power from a DC power source (fig. 1@ battery pack 102); combining the first DC power and the second DC power into combined DC power (see figure 1); converting, by a DC-to-DC converter (fig. 1@ 120), the combined DC power connected to an input of the DC-to-DC converter to third DC power at an output of the DC-to-DC converter (120); providing the third DC power to an electric vehicle (EV) charging connector (see figure 1: DC output from converter 142 to charge vehicle 140).
However, Narla does not explicitly teach of the DC-to-DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to-DC converter.
James teaches the DC-to-DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to-DC converter (fig. 12@ isolated DC-DC Converter 1250) (a high frequency transformer providing galvanic isolation, see par. [0056] and [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Narla with the teachings of James by having the DC-to-DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to-DC converter in order to provide a transformer galvanically isolating in order to protect against electric shock, to suppress electrical noise in sensitive devices, or to transfer power between two circuits which must not be connected.
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches wherein the combining the first DC power and the second DC power comprises combining, using a common DC bus (see figure 3: the DC bus connected from PV system 332 and battery 334 to DC transfer relay), the first DC power (332) and the second DC power (334), (see figure 3; James).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches limiting, by a first current-limiting circuitry (fig. 1A@ S1 and S3), a first current drawn from the AC power source during the converting of the first AC power to the first DC power; and limiting, by a second current-limiting circuitry (S1, S3, S4), a second current drawn from the DC power source during the drawing of the second DC power from the DC power source (see figures 1 and 1A; and par. [0040-0045]; Narla).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches combining, by a DC charging circuit (fig. 3@ 350), the combined DC power with at least one additional DC power to generate second combined DC power (see figure 3: PV system 332 and battery 334); and providing the second combined DC power to the EV (fig. 3@ 352) charging connector (see figure 3; James).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches wherein the providing the third DC power to the EV charging connector comprises providing, via a cable (see figure 1 and par. [0038], System 100 also includes electric vehicle charging capability. Electric vehicle (EV) includes bidirectional AC/DC converter that can be connected to AC car port of storage inverter via a charging cable and car plug), the third DC power to the EV charging connector, and wherein the cable comprises: a first end configured to be connected to the output of the DC-to-DC converter (109); and a second end configured to be connected to the EV charging connector (123), (see figure 1; Narla).
Regarding claim 17, Narla teaches An apparatus (see figure 1 and par. [0033-0040]) comprising: a direct current (DC)-to-alternating current (AC) converter (fig. 1@ DC/AC inverter 111) comprising: an input configured to receive first DC power from a DC power source (fig. 1@ PV string(s) 104), and an output configured to provide first AC power ( AC power output from DC/AC inverter 111), wherein the input of the DC-to- AC converter (111) is galvanically connected to the output of the DC-to-AC converter (111); an AC charging circuit configured to combine the first AC power and second AC power into combined AC power (see par. [0040], in instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140), wherein the second AC power is drawn from an AC grid (fig. 1@ AC grid 114); a charging interface configured to provide the combined AC power to an electric vehicle (EV) (140) charging connector (see par. [0040] and fig. 1@ AC car port 123 for charging EV 140); and a DC-to-DC converter (fig. 1@ DC/DC 109) comprising: an input configured to receive second DC power from the DC power source (104), and an output configured to provide third DC power (see figure 1), wherein the charging interface is further configured to provide the third DC power to the EV charging connector (see figure 1: DC output from converter 142 to charge vehicle 140).
However, Narla does not explicitly teach the input of the DC-to- DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to- DC converter.
James teaches the input of the DC-to- DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to- DC converter (fig. 12@ isolated DC-DC Converter 1250) (a high frequency transformer providing galvanic isolation, see par. [0056] and [0088]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Narla with the teachings of James by having the input of the DC-to- DC converter is galvanically isolated, using a transformer, from the output of the DC-to- DC converter in order to protect against electric shock, to suppress electrical noise in sensitive devices, or to transfer power between two circuits which must not be connected.
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches a first current-limiting circuitry (fig. 1A@ S1 and S3) configured to limit a first current drawn from or provided to the AC grid during drawing of the second AC power from the AC grid (see figures 1 and 1A; and par. [0040-0045]; Narla); and a second current-limiting circuitry (S1, S3, S4) configured to limit a second current drawn from the DC power source during converting, by the DC-to-AC converter, the first DC power to the first AC power or converting, by the DC-to-DC converter, the second DC power to the third DC power (par. [0040-0045]; Narla).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches wherein the DC-to-AC converter is configured to limit a current drawn from the DC power source to not exceed a first threshold, further comprising: a circuit breaker configured to limit a current drawn from the AC grid to not exceed a second threshold during drawing of the second AC power from the AC grid, wherein the second threshold is lower than the first threshold (see par. [0040-0046], the controller may issue control signals to selectively open or close the switches based on the performance of the solar energy generation and storage system (e.g., system 100 of FIG. 1). For example, the controller monitors the AC grid. If the voltage of the AC grid drops below a predetermined value, the controller may activate switches S3 and S4 in the manner that power to the backup load(s) is supplied by the DC/AC inverter instead by the AC grid; and in instances where the power from PV inverter 106 and storage inverter 118 is not sufficient, or more power is required, additional power may be drawn from AC grid 114 to charge EV 140; Narla).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches a cable (see figure 1 and par. [0038], System 100 also includes electric vehicle charging capability. Electric vehicle (EV) includes bidirectional AC/DC converter that can be connected to AC car port of storage inverter via a charging cable and car plug) configured to provide the combined AC power and the third DC power to the EV charging connector, wherein the cable comprises: a first end connected to an output of the DC-to-DC converter (109) and an output of the AC charging circuit; and a second end configured to be connected to the EV charging connector (123), (see figure 1; Narla).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836