DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to the set of claims received on 24 December 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Claims 16-19 appear to be directed toward the embodiment disclosed in Figures 28-39, and are dependent upon claim 11. Claim 11 appears to be directed toward the embodiments disclosed in Figures 15-27 and 44-47. There are no drawings showing a combination of these embodiments. Therefore, the combination of the embodiment of Figures 28-39 with the embodiments of Figures 15-27 and 44-47 (i.e. as required by claims 16-19) must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because of the following:
In Figure 1, it appears that reference number 102 should be replaced with reference number 134 (see Figure 11, and paragraphs 0060-0061 of the current specification for support). Reference number 102 is not present in the current specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations a “set screw,” “foot engagement member,” and “threaded knob.” It appears that these limitations are directed toward the embodiment disclosed in Figures 28-39 (see paragraphs 0076-0077 and 0079-0081). Claim 11 recites the limitations a “first base system,” “first arm,” “second base system,” “second arm,” and “guide wire.” It appears that these limitations are directed toward the embodiment disclosed in Figures 15-27 and 44-47 (see paragraphs 0072-0075 and 0092-0098). Since claim 16 depends upon claim 11 and given the disclosure, it is unclear as to exactly how the “set screw” (i.e. understood as 522) is coupled to a “bone plate” (i.e. understood as 600) when the “first arm” (i.e. understood as 410) is coupled to the “first base system” (i.e. understood as 110 or 710). It is also unclear as to exactly how the “foot engagement member” (i.e. understood as 550) is coupled to the “second arm” (i.e. understood as 410) when the “guide wire” (i.e. 406) is inserted through the “second arm.” The examiner notes the statements of interchangeability as disclosed in paragraph 0100; however, as best understood by the examiner there is nothing in the disclosure to indicate how these specific embodiments work together. Since claims 17-19 are dependent upon claim 16, they contain the same issue.
Double Patenting
Statutory
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 2 and 14 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,171,442. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Non-Statutory
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 13 and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,171,442. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims are merely broader than the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pincock (U.S. Patent 2,434,431).
Pincock discloses (as to claim 1) a device (10) capable of joint compression (see Note below, and column 1, lines 1-8) comprising a base system (i.e. system defined by portion of 11 from which 15, 16, and 18 extend; portion of 12 from which 11, and 14 extend; and 15, 16, and 18); and at least one arm (i.e. a first arm defined by portion of 11 to which 38 is connected, and a second arm defined by portion of 12 to which 33 is connected) coupled to the base system, wherein (as to claim 2) the base system comprises a first member (i.e. member defined by portion of 11 from which 15, 16, and 18 extend); a second member (i.e. member defined by portion of 12 from which 11, and 14 extend); at least one parallel member (15, 16, and 18) coupling the first member to the second member, wherein the second member translates along (e.g. via 13, 14 and 23) the at least one parallel member (see column 2, lines 12-40), and wherein (as to claim 4) the at least one parallel member comprises a screw (18) (see Figures 1-6, and column 1, line 1 – column 3, line 52).
Note: Regarding the effect of the preamble, statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention must be evaluated to determine whether or not the recited purpose or intended use results in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art. Furthermore, a preamble generally is not limiting when the claim body describes a structurally complete invention such that deletion of the preamble phrase does not affect the structure or steps of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2111.02(II)). Regarding functional language, "[a]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (see MPEP 2114(II)).
Claims 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alvarez Cambras (U.S. Patent 4,624,249).
Alvarez Cambras discloses (as to claim 1) a device (see Figure 1) capable of joint compression (see Note above, and column 2, lines 18-24) comprising a base system (1); and at least one arm (9) coupled to the base system, wherein (as to claim 2) the base system comprises a first member (e.g. a first instance of 4 located along the right-most instance of 1 as best seen in Figure 1); a second member (i.e. a second instance of 4 located along the right-most instance of 1 as best seen in Figure 1); at least one parallel member (e.g. right-most instance of 1 as best seen in Figure 1) coupling the first member to the second member, wherein the second member translates along (i.e. via a threaded connection) the at least one parallel member (see claim 1), and wherein (as to claim 11) the base system comprises a first base system (i.e. right-most instance of 1 as best seen in Figure 1); a first arm (i.e. right-most instance of 9 as best seen in Figure 1) coupled to the first base system; a second base system (i.e. left-most instance of 1 as best seen in Figure 1); and a second arm (i.e. left-most instance of 9 as best seen in Figure 1) coupled to the second base system; and wherein the first base system is coupled to the second base system by a guide wire (16) inserted through the first arm on a first end (i.e. end of 9 adjacent the bone as best seen in Figure 1) and the second arm on a second end (i.e. end of 9 adjacent the bone as best seen in Figure 1) (see Figures 1-5, and column 2, line 61 – column 4, line 12).
Claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hergenroeder (U.S. Patent 4,968,316).
Hergenroeder discloses a surgical method comprising using a joint compression device (10) on at least one joint (i.e. ankle) of a patient, the joint compression device comprising a base system (i.e. system defined by 14 and 14’); and at least one arm (12 and 12’) coupled to (i.e. via 16, 16’, 18 and 18’) the base system; attaching the base system to the patient (see Figure 4); and applying compression across the at least one joint with the joint compression device to fuse the joint (see column 5, line 35 – column 6, line 7) (see Figures 1-4, and column 3, line 59 – column 6, line 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 16-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-10 and 16-19 in the instant application have not been rejected using prior art because no references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which disclose, or suggest, the following:
Regarding claim 5, in combination with the limitations required by claims 1-3, no prior art reference could be found disclosing or making obvious wherein the at least one parallel member further comprises at least one bar.
Regarding at least claim 6, in combination with the limitations required by claims 1-3, no prior art reference could be found disclosing or making obvious wherein the at least one arm comprises a first arm coupled to the first member; and a second arm coupled to the second member..
Regarding at least claim 16, in combination with the limitations required by claims 1-2 and 11, no prior art reference could be found disclosing or making obvious wherein the joint compression device further comprises a set screw coupled to a bone plate; a foot engagement member coupled to the second arm; and a threaded knob rotatably coupled to the foot engagement member to secure the foot engagement member at a desired position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeVasConCellos (U.S. Patent 10,441,317) discloses a compression device comprising a base system and at least one arm coupled to the base system.
Cole (U.S. Patent 7,311,711) discloses a compression device comprising a base system and at least one arm coupled to the base system.
/LARRY E WAGGLE, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775