DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as filed on December 24, 2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites limitation “a surface” in sixth line of the claim, but the limitation is indefinite, because it is unclear as to whether the limitation is referring to same surface recited in sixth thru seventh lines of the claim, or to a surface. Therefore, Examiner suggests the limitation should be amended, without adding new matter, in a manner that resolves the indefiniteness issue.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of
structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover
the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and
equivalents thereof.
performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in
support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure,
material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “an acquisition unit configured to” recited in second line of claim 1 is considered to read on acquisition unit 11 (pgs. 3 and 6, paragraphs[0011] and [0019] respectively; 11 FIG. 1); and “an generation unit configured to” recited in fourth line of claim 1 is considered to read on generation unit 12 (pg. 3, paragraph[0011]; 12 FIG. 1).
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 limitation(s) “an acquisition unit configured to” and “a generation unit configured to” recited in second line and fourth line, respectively of the claim invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In particular, no structure or material that is capable of performing the claimed functions are present or shown in any of the figures and substantively linked to the claimed function. Therefore, claim 1 is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Accordingly, any claim(s) dependent on claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based at least on same above reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0335409 A1 (hereinafter Yamamoto).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches an information processing apparatus comprising: an acquisition unit configured to acquire an image including a specific object as a subject (10 and 40; 41, 42, 46, 48 FIGS. 1-5, paragraph[0035] of Yamamoto teaches FIG. 4 is a schematic functional block diagram showing an example of an image processing apparatus according to the embodiment; and this image processing apparatus 40 is equipped with a camera 41, an image capturing section 42, a 3D model generation section 43, a partial area generation section 44, an output section 45, a partial area image capturing section 46, a reflection model generation section 47, a texture image generation section 48, a highlight detection section 49, and a notification section 50, and See also at least ABSTRACT, and paragraphs[0021]-[0023], [0033]-[0034], [0036], and [0038]-[0041] of Yamamoto (i.e., Yamamoto teaches an image processing apparatus that includes a camera and imaging capturing section for capturing input image of an object as well as images from a plurality of viewpoints and a selected angle)); and
a generation unit configured to generate a three-dimensional model of the specific object, based on the image acquired by the acquisition unit, information indicating a shape according to the specific object, and an angle at which a surface of each portion of the specific object is captured (101, 103, 109, and 202 FIGS. 1-5, paragraph[0033] of Yamamoto teaches next, FIG. 3 shows a state wherein a target object 2, a three-dimensional model of which is to be created, is photographed from the circumference thereof; the user photographs the object 2 from various positions and angles by moving the camera module 12 (the electronic device 10) around the circumference of the object 2; the three-dimensional model generation program 202 generates three-dimensional model data corresponding to the object 2 using images captured by the photographing; the three-dimensional model generation program 202 can create an excellent three-dimensional model having no missing portions because the surface of the object 2 is photographed without omission; and the electronic device 10 notifies the user of the position (angle) at which the object 2 should be photographed next if necessary by means of vibration generated from the vibration module 14, sound output from the speakers 18A and 18B, information displayed on the screen of the LCD 17A, etc, and See also at least ABSTRACT, and paragraphs[0021]-[0023], [0034]-[0036], and [0038]-[0060] of Yamamoto (i.e., Yamamoto teaches a processor that executes a three-dimensional model generation program, which is loaded from a hard disk drive onto main memory, that generates three-dimensional model data which corresponds to and indicates the three-dimensional shape of the object using images captured by the camera that photographs the object including the surface of the object at a selected angle in order to create a three dimensional model from the images captured from the plurality of viewpoints)).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto teaches an information processing method comprising: acquiring an image including a specific object as a subject (FIGS. 1-5, paragraph[0035] of Yamamoto teaches FIG. 4 is a schematic functional block diagram showing an example of an image processing apparatus according to the embodiment; and this image processing apparatus 40 is equipped with a camera 41, an image capturing section 42, a 3D model generation section 43, a partial area generation section 44, an output section 45, a partial area image capturing section 46, a reflection model generation section 47, a texture image generation section 48, a highlight detection section 49, and a notification section 50, and See also at least ABSTRACT, and paragraphs[0021]-[0023], [0033]-[0034], [0036], and [0038]-[0041] of Yamamoto (i.e., Yamamoto teaches an image processing apparatus that includes a camera and imaging capturing section for capturing input image of an object as well as images from a plurality of viewpoints and a selected angle)); and
generating a three-dimensional model of the specific object, based on the acquired image, information indicating a shape according to the specific object, and an angle at which a surface of each portion of the specific object is captured (FIGS. 1-5, paragraph[0033] of Yamamoto teaches next, FIG. 3 shows a state wherein a target object 2, a three-dimensional model of which is to be created, is photographed from the circumference thereof; the user photographs the object 2 from various positions and angles by moving the camera module 12 (the electronic device 10) around the circumference of the object 2; the three-dimensional model generation program 202 generates three-dimensional model data corresponding to the object 2 using images captured by the photographing; the three-dimensional model generation program 202 can create an excellent three-dimensional model having no missing portions because the surface of the object 2 is photographed without omission; and the electronic device 10 notifies the user of the position (angle) at which the object 2 should be photographed next if necessary by means of vibration generated from the vibration module 14, sound output from the speakers 18A and 18B, information displayed on the screen of the LCD 17A, etc, and See also at least ABSTRACT, and paragraphs[0021]-[0023], [0034]-[0036], and [0038]-[0060] of Yamamoto (i.e., Yamamoto teaches a processor that executes a three-dimensional model generation program, which is loaded from a hard disk drive onto main memory, that generates three-dimensional model data which corresponds to and indicates the three-dimensional shape of the object using images captured by the camera that photographs the object including the surface of the object at a selected angle in order to create a three dimensional model from the images captured from the plurality of viewpoints)).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, because for each of claims 2-5 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621