DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 9, 13-16 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
The specification objections in the previous Office Action have been addressed and are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, “the coprocessor is configured to perform the operation on the first operand on a data return path outside the shader while the first operand is being returned from the memory management unit toward the shader.” The Applicant indicates that support for this amendment is found at ¶ [0008] of the specification as filed. However, ¶ [0008] indicates that the data is not sent to the general purpose registers in the GPU. Therefore, ¶ [0008] does not support “while the first operand is being returned toward the shader. ¶ [0008] also does not support operating on the operand at the same time, i.e., “while,” the operand is being returned. Therefore, the amendment contains matter unsupported by the written description. Claims 9 and 13 include similar limitations and are similarly rejected.
Claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 are rejected as depending from rejected base claims and failing to cure the indefiniteness of those base claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, “the coprocessor is configured to perform the operation on the first operand on a data return path outside the shader while the first operand is being returned from the memory management unit toward the shader.” This language contradicts the written description, making it impossible to definitely determine the scope of the claims. The specification describes the coprocessor performing operations on data that is retrieved from memory without the data being first stored in the shader. However, the claim has been amended to recite that the coprocessor operates on data while the data is being returned to the shader. This inconsistency renders the scope of the claims indefinite. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as, “the coprocessor is configured to perform the operation on the first operand on a data return path outside the shader after the first operand is returned from the memory management unit to the coprocessor.” Claims 9 and 13 include similar limitations and are similarly rejected.
Claims 2-8, 10-12, and 14-20 are rejected as depending from rejected base claims and failing to cure the indefiniteness of those base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,002,881 by York et al. (hereinafter referred to as “York”) in view of US Publication No. 2023/0297508 by Zirr et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Zirr”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 13, taking claim 1 as representative, York discloses:
…[an apparatus that] comprises a…[core], a memory management unit, and a coprocessor connected between the …[core] and the memory management unit, and wherein (York discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, a system comprising a core, a memory, and a coprocessor. As disclosed at col. 56, lines 56-59, the core includes a memory management unit. As disclosed at col. 5, lines 20-26, the system allows transfer of data directly between memory and the coprocessor and from the coprocessor to the core, which discloses the coprocessor being connected between the core and the memory management unit.):
the …[core] is configured to send a read instruction to the memory management unit, wherein the read instruction comprises an address of a first operand and a first identifier, and the first identifier indicates to perform an operation on the first operand in the coprocessor (York discloses, at col. 5, lines 20-26, the core sending an instruction to load data from the memory to the coprocessor. As disclosed at col. 11, the instruction includes a field identifying an address of the operand, e.g., Rn, and an identifier, e.g., Piccolo1, indicating to perform an operation on the operand in the coprocessor.);
the memory management unit is configured to: obtain the first operand from a first memory (York discloses, at col. 5, lines 20-26, loading data from the memory to the coprocessor.); and
send the first operand to the coprocessor (York discloses, at col. 5, lines 20-26, loading data from the memory to the coprocessor.); and
the coprocessor is configured to perform the operation on the first operand on a data return path outside the shader while the first operand is being returned from the memory management unit toward the shader to obtain an operation result (York discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the coprocessor operates on the loaded data. The coprocessor is on a data return path outside the shader and operates on the first operand that is returned from the memory management unit to the coprocessor.).
York does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned apparatus is a graphics processing apparatus and the aforementioned apparatus comprises a shader.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Zirr discloses:
a graphics processor comprising a shader (Zirr discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, a graphics processor comprising a shader.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify York to include the GPU and shader disclosed by Zirr in order to improve performance in processing graphics data.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, taking claim 2 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
a first end of the …[core] is coupled to a first end of the memory management unit, a first end of the coprocessor is coupled to a second end of the …[core], and a second end of the coprocessor is coupled to a second end of the memory management unit (York discloses, at Figure 1, the core is coupled to both the memory and coprocessor and the coprocessor is also coupled to the memory.).
York does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned apparatus comprises a shader.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Zirr discloses:
a shader (Zirr discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, a graphics processor comprising a shader.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify York to include the GPU and shader disclosed by Zirr in order to improve performance in processing graphics data.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, taking claim 3 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
the …[core] comprises a scheduler and a second memory (York discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, the core includes a decoder and a register bank, which discloses a scheduler and a second memory.); and
a first end of the scheduler is coupled to a first end of the second memory, a second end of the scheduler is coupled to the first end of the memory management unit, the second end of the memory management unit is coupled to the second end of the coprocessor, and the first end of the coprocessor is coupled to the first end of the second memory (York discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, the decoder is connected to the register file and the memory control unit, the memory control unit is coupled to the coprocessor, and the coprocessor is coupled to the register file. See also col. 13, lines 33-34, which discloses moving data from the coprocessor output to the core register file.).
York does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned apparatus comprises a shader.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Zirr discloses:
a shader (Zirr discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, a graphics processor comprising a shader.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify York to include the GPU and shader disclosed by Zirr in order to improve performance in processing graphics data.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, taking claim 4 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
the scheduler is configured to send the read instruction to the memory management unit (York discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, forwarding instructions from the decoder to the memory control unit, which includes the aforementioned coprocessor memory access instructions.);
the second memory is configured to receive the operation result obtained by the coprocessor (York discloses, at col. 13, lines 33-34, moving output data from the coprocessor output to the core register file.); and
the scheduler is further configured to: receive a first indication sent by the coprocessor, wherein the first indication indicates that the operation on the first operand is completed (York discloses, at col. 57, line 51-col. 58, line 4, the coprocessor signals to the core that the read operation is complete.); and
process the operation result based on the operation result and an indication of a program (York discloses, at col. 57, line 51-col. 58, line 4, the core updates the address information based on completion.).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, taking claim 5 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
the coprocessor comprises a cache, a register, a selector, and a computing circuit (York discloses at Figure 5 and related description, a cache, a register bank, and a processor core. York also discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, multiplexers, which discloses selectors.);
…a first end of the selector, a first end of the register is coupled to a second end of the selector, and a third end of the selector is coupled to a first end of the computing circuit (York discloses, at Figure 4, selecting between two register locations and forwarding the selected data to the processor core.);
a second end of the computing circuit is coupled to the second end of the memory management unit (York discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the coprocessor is coupled to the memory.); and
a third end of the computing circuit is coupled to the first end of the second memory (York discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the coprocessor is coupled to core, which discloses memory therein.).
York does not explicitly disclose a first end of the cache is coupled to aforementioned selector.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Zirr discloses:
data cache (Zirr discloses, at Figure 2A and related description, data cache.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify York to include the data cache disclosed by Zirr in order to improve performance by providing an alternative source for data, e.g., a source that can be preloaded with previously used data.
Regarding claims 6, 10, and 18, taking claim 6 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
…the computing circuit is configured to: receive the first operand from the memory management unit (York discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the coprocessor operates on data received from the memory.);
receive, …a third operand in the register (York discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, the coprocessor operates on data retrieved from a register bank.),
…obtain the operation result based on the first operand and the third operand (York discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, the coprocessor operates on data, which discloses two operands and a result.).
York does not explicitly disclose the shader further comprises an arithmetic logical circuit, a first end of the arithmetic logical circuit is coupled to a third end of the scheduler, and a second end of the arithmetic logical circuit is coupled to a second end of the cache; the arithmetic logical circuit is configured to: receive an operation instruction sent by the scheduler; and obtain a second operand through computing according to the operation instruction; the cache is configured to store the second operand; and from the selector, the second operand from the cache or wherein the second operand is a preconfigured constant value; and obtain the operation result based on the first operand and the second operand.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Zirr discloses:
a compute unit that comprises an arithmetic logical circuit coupled to a thread dispatcher and cache (Zirr discloses, at Figure 2D, a GPU comprising cores that receive instructions and data via a cache, which discloses the shader further comprises an arithmetic logical circuit, a first end of the arithmetic logical circuit is coupled to a third end of the scheduler, and a second end of the arithmetic logical circuit is coupled to a second end of the cache, the arithmetic logical circuit is configured to: receive an operation instruction sent by the scheduler; obtaining a second operand through computing according to the operation instruction; the cache is configured to store the second operand; selecting the second operand from the cache, and obtain the operation result based on the first operand and the second operand.);
an operand is a preconfigured constant value (Zirr discloses, at Figure 2D and related description, a constant cache, which discloses operands that are preconfigured constants.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify York to include the data cache disclosed by Zirr in order to improve performance by providing an additional computing mechanism and an alternative source for data.
Regarding claims 7, 11, and 19, taking claim 7 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
the computing circuit is configured to: obtain a first intermediate operation result after performing computing on the first operand and the second operand, or obtain a first intermediate operation result after performing computing on the first operand and the third operand (York discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, multiplying two values to obtain a product, which discloses an intermediate operation result.); and
add the first intermediate operation result as an addend to at least one other intermediate operation result to obtain the operation result York discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, accumulating the product with another value.).
Regarding claims 8, 12, and 20, taking claim 8 as representative, York, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. York also discloses:
the computing circuit comprises: at least one multiplication circuit and at least one addition circuit, wherein: each multiplication circuit in the at least one multiplication circuit is configured to perform a multiply operation; each addition circuit in the at least one addition circuit is configured to perform an add operation (York discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, a multiplier and an adder.); and
a combination of a subset of the at least one multiplication circuit and a subset of the at least one addition circuit is used for a floating-point multiply–add operation or a floating-point multiply–accumulate operation (York discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, performing a multiply accumulate operation. As disclosed at col. 1, lines 47-51, the coprocessor can operate on floating point values.).
Response to Arguments
On page 11 of the response filed May 11, 2026 (“response”), the Applicant argues, “York appears to describe a sequence in which data is first transferred from memory, stored into a coprocessor's registers, and thereafter operated upon by the coprocessor's instructions. See id. However, York still has not been shown to teach or suggest that the operation on the first operand is performed "on a data return path outside the shader while the first operand is being returned from the memory management unit toward the shader," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added). In particular, the above-cited portions of York appears to describe separating memory loading from subsequent coprocessor execution. York, however, has not been shown to teach or suggest performing the operation "while the first operand is being returned from the memory management unit toward the shader." Instead, York appears to describe that data was "earlier transferred," then stored in the coprocessor's registers, and then used by instructions.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner maintains that York discloses the claimed elements. It is inherent that data must first be retrieved then operated on. That is, if the data has not been retrieved, it would be impossible to operate on the data.
As discussed above, the newly added limitation is contradictory to the written description and has been interpreted as being consistent with the specification. That is, the specification does not disclose the coprocessor operating on an operand while the operand is being forwarded to the shader. Instead, the specification describes the coprocessor operating on an operand that has been forwarded to the coprocessor without the operand being forwarded to the shader. This is also what York discloses. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN DOMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183