DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamiya (US 20100157094 A1) in view of TANAKA et al. (US 20200007799 A1;hereafter US 20200007799 A1).
As of Claim 1: Takamiya teaches a method of detecting a defocus of an image sensor, comprising: providing an image sensor comprising a plurality of pixels (¶¶0062,0091 and note that the pixels S.sub.VC configured as described above are arranged regularly in the y-direction and an object image obtained from this pixel group is designated as image C. Also, the pixels S.sub.TD are arranged regularly in the y-direction and an object image obtained from this pixel group is designated as image D. Then, by detecting relative position of images C and D thus acquired, it is possible to detect a defocus amount of an object image which has a luminance distribution in the y-direction.), a pixel comprising a first subpixel and a second subpixel, wherein the first subpixel comprises m photodiode units providing first readout values and a first microlens structure overlaying the photodiode units (¶¶0082-0084 and note that FIGS. 5A and 5B show an arrangement and structure of image sensing pixels. FIG. 5A is a plan view of image sensing pixels in 2 rows.times.2 columns. As is well known, in a Bayer array, G pixels are arranged diagonally, the remaining two pixels being an R pixel and B pixel. The structure of 2 rows.times.2 columns is arranged in a repetitive fashion.), the second subpixel comprises m photodiode units providing second readout values
TANAKA is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced TANAKA teaches would have prompted a predictable variation of Takamiya by applying TANAKA’s known principal of a second microlens structure overlaying the photodiode units, and the first microlens structure is structurally different from the second microlens structure (¶¶0096-0097 and note that as illustrated in FIG. 6, a light shielding member 16A is arranged on the front surface side (microlens L side) of a photodiode PD of the first phase difference detection pixel ZA, and a light shielding member 16B is arranged on the front surface side of the photodiode PD of the second phase difference detection pixel ZB. The microlens L and the light shielding members 16A and 16B have a pupil separation function. In FIG. 6, the light shielding member 16A shields the left half of the light-receiving surface of the photodiode PD from light. Thus, the first phase difference detection pixel ZA receives only a luminous flux passing on the left side of an optical axis among luminous fluxes passing through an exit pupil of the imaging lens 12. In addition, in the present example, the G filter is arranged below the microlens L as a color filter CF.), wherein m is a positive integer; interpolating the first readout values of the photodiode units of the first subpixel to positions of n of the photodiode units of the second subpixel to obtain interpolated values, wherein n is a positive integer (¶¶0126-0128 and note that FIG. 8 is a diagram conceptually illustrating each frame in time series order of the motion picture input into the interface 63. The frame images input into the interface 63 are a first frame 201, a second frame 202, and a third frame 203 that are sequentially continuous. For example, in the case of interpolating the pixel value of the phase difference detection pixel in the second frame 202, the second frame 202 is the current frame, and the first frame 201 is the past frame. In addition, in the case of interpolating the pixel value of the phase difference detection pixel in the third frame 203, the third frame 203 is the current frame, and the second frame 202 is the past frame. In the case of interpolating the pixel value of the phase difference detection pixel in the first frame 201, the first frame 201 is the current frame. Since the first frame 201 is the initial frame, the past frame is not present.); and obtaining an imbalance value by using the interpolated values and the second readout values provided by the n of the photodiode units of the second subpixel (¶¶0096,0221 and note that FIG. 19, the timing of reading the pixel data overlaps with the timing of the subsequent light exposure. That is, the light exposure and the reading are performed in parallel. In the case of the sensor 61 of the global shutter type, an accumulation unit (not illustrated) that accumulates signals retained in the photodiode is comprised in all pixels separately from the photodiode in which charges are retained during the light exposure. After the light exposure is completed, the signals retained in all photodiodes are moved to the accumulation units.).
In view of the motivations such as gain value estimation parameter obtained by the parameter obtaining unit includes at least one of information related to a shape of a lens pupil through which a luminous flux received by the imaging element passes, or information related to incident ray angle characteristics of the phase difference detection pixel and the normal pixel thereby further improving display image having a favorable image quality can be generated and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Takamiya.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 2: Takamiya in view of TANAKA further teaches obtaining a defocus map based on the imbalance value (Takamiya ¶¶0087,0091).
As of Claim 3: Takamiya in view of TANAKA further teaches performing an up-sample step prior to obtaining the defocus map (Takamiya ¶¶0087,0091).
As of Claim 14: Takamiya in view of TANAKA further teaches at least one of the first subpixel and the second subpixel is configured to detect green (TANAKA ¶0085).
As of Claim 15: Takamiya in view of TANAKA further teaches m is greater than or identical to n (TANAKA ¶0085).
Claims 16&17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamiya (US 20100157094 A1) in view of TANAKA et al. (US 20200007799 A1;hereafter US 20200007799 A1), and further in view of DENG et al. (US 20080007839 A1).
As of Claim 16: DENG is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced DENG teaches would have prompted a predictable variation of Liu by applying DENG’s known principal of one of the first microlens structure and the second microlens structure comprises one microlens overlaying four photodiode units, and the other of the first microlens structure and the second microlens structure comprises four microlenses respectively overlaying four photodiode units (¶¶0020, 0026,0033-0036,0050-0054 and note that the thickness of the microlens material layer 115, whereas the second photolithographic step is configured such that the additionally exposed portions of the microlens material 115 (those not protected by the photoresist elements 172) only extend a portion into the thickness of the microlens material layer 115. In another embodiment, the effectiveness of both photolithographic steps may be substantially equal with respect to the depth to which the resulting exposed portions extend into the microlens material layer 115. That is, the first exposure step may expose about half the thickness of the microlens material 115 not protected by the photoresist elements 170, and the second exposure step may expose the remaining thickness of these portions of the microlens material 115 while also exposing only a portion of the thickness of the portions of the microlens material 115 which were previously protected by the photoresist elements 170.).
In view of the motivations such as light that is incident on each microlens is focused towards a corresponding photo-sensor thereby further improving image quality can be generated and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Takamiya.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 17: Takamiya in view of Deng in view of TANAKA further teaches the first microlens structure comprises a first microlens overlaying four photodiode units of the first subpixel and the second microlens structure comprises a second microlens overlaying four photodiode units of the second subpixel, and the first microlens has a different height from the second microlens units (DENG ¶¶0020, 0026,0033-0036,0050-0054).
Claims 18&19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamiya (US 20100157094 A1) in view of DENG et al. (US 20080007839 A1).
As of Claim 18: Takamiya teaches an image sensor comprising: a defocus detection pixel comprising a first subpixel and a second subpixel (¶¶0087,0091 and note that the pixels S.sub.VC configured as described above are arranged regularly in the y-direction and an object image obtained from this pixel group is designated as image C. Also, the pixels S.sub.TD are arranged regularly in the y-direction and an object image obtained from this pixel group is designated as image D. Then, by detecting relative position of images C and D thus acquired, it is possible to detect a defocus amount of an object image which has a luminance distribution in the y-direction.) wherein the first subpixel comprises m photodiode units providing first readout values
DENG is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced DENG teaches would have prompted a predictable variation of Takamiya by applying DENG’s known principal of a first microlens structure overlaying the photodiode units, the second subpixel comprises m photodiode units providing second readout values and a second microlens structure overlaying the photodiode units, and the first microlens structure has a different height from the second microlens structure, and wherein m is an integer greater than 1(¶¶0050-0054 and note that the thickness of the microlens material layer 115, whereas the second photolithographic step is configured such that the additionally exposed portions of the microlens material 115 (those not protected by the photoresist elements 172) only extend a portion into the thickness of the microlens material layer 115. In another embodiment, the effectiveness of both photolithographic steps may be substantially equal with respect to the depth to which the resulting exposed portions extend into the microlens material layer 115. That is, the first exposure step may expose about half the thickness of the microlens material 115 not protected by the photoresist elements 170, and the second exposure step may expose the remaining thickness of these portions of the microlens material 115 while also exposing only a portion of the thickness of the portions of the microlens material 115 which were previously protected by the photoresist elements 170.).
In view of the motivations such as light that is incident on each microlens is focused towards a corresponding photo-sensor thereby further improving image quality can be generated and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Takamiya.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 19: Takamiya in view of Deng further teaches a height difference between the first microlens structure and the second microlens structure is 10% to 30% of a height of a shorter one of the first microlens structure and the second microlens structure (DENG ¶¶0050-0054 and note that the microlens material elements 117a and 117b are each substantially aligned over a corresponding, where the microlens material elements 117a are substantially greater in thickness relative to the microlens material elements 117b. The thickness of the microlens material elements 117b may be about 50% of the thickness of the microlens material elements 117a, although this value may range between about 20% and about 80% within the scope of the present disclosure.).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamiya (US 20100157094 A1) in view of DENG et al. (US 20080007839 A1), and further in view of TANAKA et al. (US 20200007799 A1;hereafter US 20200007799 A1).
As of Claim 20:TANAKA is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced TANAKA teaches would have prompted a predictable variation of Takamiya by applying TANAKA’s known principal of a readout circuitry electrically connected to the defocus detection pixel, wherein the readout circuitry is configured to: interpolate the first readout values of the photodiode units of the first subpixel to positions of n of the photodiode units of the second subpixel to obtain interpolated values; and use the interpolated values and the second readout values provided by the n of the photodiode units of the second subpixel to obtain an imbalance value, wherein n is an integer (¶¶0096-0097 and note that as illustrated in FIG. 6, a light shielding member 16A is arranged on the front surface side (microlens L side) of a photodiode PD of the first phase difference detection pixel ZA, and a light shielding member 16B is arranged on the front surface side of the photodiode PD of the second phase difference detection pixel ZB. The microlens L and the light shielding members 16A and 16B have a pupil separation function. In FIG. 6, the light shielding member 16A shields the left half of the light-receiving surface of the photodiode PD from light. Thus, the first phase difference detection pixel ZA receives only a luminous flux passing on the left side of an optical axis among luminous fluxes passing through an exit pupil of the imaging lens 12. In addition, in the present example, the G filter is arranged below the microlens L as a color filter CF.), wherein m is a positive integer; interpolating the first readout values of the photodiode units of the first subpixel to positions of n of the photodiode units of the second subpixel to obtain interpolated values, wherein n is a positive integer (¶¶0126-0128 and note that FIG. 8 is a diagram conceptually illustrating each frame in time series order of the motion picture input into the interface 63. The frame images input into the interface 63 are a first frame 201, a second frame 202, and a third frame 203 that are sequentially continuous. For example, in the case of interpolating the pixel value of the phase difference detection pixel in the second frame 202, the second frame 202 is the current frame, and the first frame 201 is the past frame. In addition, in the case of interpolating the pixel value of the phase difference detection pixel in the third frame 203, the third frame 203 is the current frame, and the second frame 202 is the past frame. In the case of interpolating the pixel value of the phase difference detection pixel in the first frame 201, the first frame 201 is the current frame. Since the first frame 201 is the initial frame, the past frame is not present.); and obtaining an imbalance value by using the interpolated values and the second readout values provided by the n of the photodiode units of the second subpixel (¶¶0096,0221 and note that FIG. 19, the timing of reading the pixel data overlaps with the timing of the subsequent light exposure. That is, the light exposure and the reading are performed in parallel. In the case of the sensor 61 of the global shutter type, an accumulation unit (not illustrated) that accumulates signals retained in the photodiode is comprised in all pixels separately from the photodiode in which charges are retained during the light exposure. After the light exposure is completed, the signals retained in all photodiodes are moved to the accumulation units.).
In view of the motivations such as gain value estimation parameter obtained by the parameter obtaining unit includes at least one of information related to a shape of a lens pupil through which a luminous flux received by the imaging element passes, or information related to incident ray angle characteristics of the phase difference detection pixel and the normal pixel thereby further improving display image having a favorable image quality can be generated and one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Takamiya.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638