DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawaguchi et al. (JP 2003306169 – see IDS).
The Kawaguchi cites herein are from the IDS supplied English translation.
Regarding claim 1: Kawaguchi discloses an instrument panel reinforcement 10 (Fig. 1; [0012]). Kawaguchi discloses a main body 10, 13, 14 having a tubular shape extending from a first end to a second end along a vehicle-width direction (Figs. 1, 4; [0012], [0013]). Kawaguchi discloses at least one flattened portion 16, 19, 36 formed in the main body at a position apart from the first end and the second end and allowing a peripheral component to be arranged thereon (Figs. 2, 3, 5; [0013]-[0016], [0019]). Kawaguchi discloses that the at least one flattened portion is a dent in the main body, having a cross-section perpendicular to the vehicle-width direction in a dented shape such that an inner space within the main body is flattened in a first direction, the first direction being a direction perpendicular to the vehicle-width direction (Figs. 2, 3, 5; [0013]-[0016], [0019]). Kawaguchi discloses that the at least one flattened portion includes a mounting portion where inner-circumferential surfaces of the main body, which face each other, are substantially in contact with each other, and on which the peripheral component is mounted (Figs. 2, 3, 5; [0013]-[0016], [0019]).
Regarding claim 2: Kawaguchi discloses that the mounting portion is substantially flat (Fig. 5 – modified dent/flattened portion of Figs. 2 and 3 showing a flat bottom).
Regarding claim 3: Kawaguchi discloses that the mounting portion is located, as viewed in the vehicle-width direction, inside an outer diameter region, the outer diameter region being situated between tangents to a cross section of an outer-circumferential surface of a part of the main body adjacent to the at least one flattened portion that are made at two points where the cross section and a line extending in the first direction through a center point of the main body intersect (Figs. 1-6 – Figs. 4-6 being modifications of Figs. 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Vehicle instrument panels and dashboards are very well known in the art. Further, it is well known to provide reinforcement structure behind the instrument panel and/or dashboard. These reinforcements and their associated structural components are also well known. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Kawaguchi et al. (JP 2003306169 – see IDS), Da Costa Pito et al. (US 20120001448), Nagai (US 20140232140), Nakamura et al. (US 20190375295), Chiba et al. (US 11661112), Pfitzer et al. (US 20210380172), Nakamura (US 9868334), Gorman et al. (US 9120454), Kwolek (US 20110187144), and Gotz et al. (US 20010035642). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, an instrument panel reinforcement having a main body having a tubular shape extending from a first end to a second end along a vehicle-width direction, at least one flattened portion formed in the main body at a position apart from the first end and the second end and allowing a peripheral component to be arranged thereon, that the flattened portion is a dent in the main body having a cross-section perpendicular to the vehicle-width direction in a dented shape such that an inner space within the main body is flattened in a first direction, the first direction being a direction perpendicular to the vehicle-width direction, and that the flattened portion includes a mounting portion where inner-circumferential surfaces of the main body, which face each other, are substantially in contact with each other, and on which the peripheral component is mounted. Thus, upon reviewing these cited publications, and their included references, it appears that the claimed subject matter might teach a generally known concept. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically recited positional relationships of the recited structural components. Specifically, the art does not disclose the detailed positional relationships and geometric configuration of the flattened portions of the recited reinforcement and the remaining recited apparatus structure and the overall relationship to the vehicle. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural and positional relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
7/30/2026