DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al 2014/0269826 A1 in view of Higashi et al 2011/0171380A1.
Wu et al disclose the claimed invention as recited in the claims as shown below:
1.A substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a processing chamber 100; and
a rotating mechanism (part of the 103) configured to rotate about a center axis of a shaft 132, wherein
the shaft includes a flow path (Par. 0014, a conduit 130 that provides fluid communication between a source of cooling gas (not shown) and a substrate receiving surface 116) configured to flow gases through the shaft.
2.The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the rotating mechanism
comprises the shaft. (Par. 0014, a conduit 130 that provides fluid communication between a source of cooling gas (not shown) and a substrate receiving surface 116)
Wu et al does not disclose close a rotating mechanism.
Higashi et al disclose a substrate processing apparatus having a chamber 103 and a rotating shaft 104b which allows the workpiece to be rotated as a substitute for a non rotating shaft and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed by providing the WU et ad device by modifying the device by substituting a non rotating shaft with a rotating shaft yielding the predictable result which allows workpieces to be moved rotationally. KSR
In regard to claims 7 ,14, 16, and 19-20, Wu et al in Figure one shows the claims limitations as noted.
7 and 14. The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the shaft extends through a center of the rotating mechanism; and
the rotating mechanism comprises a lift pad 168 and is configured to lift via the lift 114 pad a center area of a substrate.
In regard to claims 8-9 and 15 see the modified Wu et al device discloses the limitations as shown above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 10-13, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The 892 form discloses prior art being made of record.
LEE D. WILSON
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
Ldw
/LEE D WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 September 16, 2026