DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an ambient light sensor configured to”, “an accumulation lookup table configured to”, “a compensation lookup table configured to” in claims 1, 21; “an accumulation lookup table configured to” in claim 7; “a compensation lookup table configured to” in claim 8; “an accumulation memory configured to” in claim 2; “a compensation memory configured to” in claim 3; “a data compensator configured to” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10-14, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (2020/0111455) in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0247588, hereinafter Lee588).
As to Claim 1, Lee et al. discloses A display device, comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels (fig.1, pixels PX);
an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as an RGB spectrum sensor); and
an image sticking compensator configured to perform an image sticking compensation operation on the pixels (fig.1-2,8; image sticking compensator 200),
wherein the image sticking compensator includes: an accumulation lookup table configured to generate a wavelength spectrum of an accumulated deterioration amount of the pixels based on the accumulated deterioration amount of the pixels ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}, fig.2,8; compensator 240 may include memory 242 which may include a plurality of lookup tables including respective age values and compensation values corresponding to respective grayscales, where the lookup tables may be distinguished according to colors of the pixels; para.0093, 0098-0099); and
a compensation lookup table configured to generate a compensation value of the pixels for compensating an input image data based on a wavelength spectrum of the ambient light and the wavelength spectrum of the accumulated deterioration amount ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}, fig.1-2,8; para. 0044-0045,0094-0095; 0098-0099),
wherein an ambient light lookup table included in the image sticking compensator or the ambient light sensor is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}.
Lee et al. does not expressly disclose an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as an illuminance sensor); a wavelength spectrum of the ambient light; wherein an ambient light lookup table included in the image sticking compensator or the ambient light sensor is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware},
Lee588 discloses an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as an illuminance sensor) (fig.1, ambient light sensor 15; para.0024), a wavelength spectrum of the ambient light (para.0024,0076, 0078-0079,0081, 0084-0087 ); wherein an ambient light lookup table included in the image sticking compensator or the ambient light sensor is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}, para.0024,0076,0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee et al. with the teachings of Lee588, such that the compensator (of Lee et al.) may generate age compensation data based on the pixel luminance and pixel light exposure obtained based on wavelength spectrum of the ambient light (as disclosed by Lee588).
The motivation being to provide compensation data taking into account pixel aging effects, thereby compensating for undesired aging-induced color shift and display images more accurately.
As to Claim 2, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the image sticking compensator further includes: an accumulation memory configured to store the accumulated deterioration amount of the pixels {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a non-volatile memory or a flash memory}; fig.2, para.0052).
As to Claim 3, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the image sticking compensator further includes: a compensation memory configured to store the compensation value {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as a volatile memory}; fig.8, memory 242, para.0093) and a data compensator configured to compensate the input image data based on the compensation value {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}; fig.2,8; compensation data output 246; para.0092,0095).
As to Claim 6, Lee et al. in view Lee588 wherein each of the pixels includes a red sub-pixel, a green sub-pixel, and a blue sub-pixel (Lee-para.0048; Lee588-para.0028, 0047), and wherein the accumulated deterioration amount includes a red accumulated deterioration amount which is an accumulated deterioration amount of the red sub-pixel, a green accumulated deterioration amount which is an accumulated deterioration amount of the green sub-pixel, and a blue accumulated deterioration amount which is an accumulated deterioration amount of the blue sub-pixel (Lee-para.0060,0098; Lee588-para.0047).
As to Claim 7, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the accumulation lookup table is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the accumulated deterioration amount based on the red accumulated deterioration amount, the green accumulated deterioration amount, and the blue accumulated deterioration amount (Lee-para.0060, 0098-0099).
As to Claim 8, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the compensation lookup table is configured to generate a wavelength spectrum of an image perceived by a user by applying the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light to the wavelength spectrum of the accumulated deterioration amount (Lee-para.0060, 0098-0099; Lee588- para.0024,0076,0084).
As to Claim 10, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the ambient light sensor is an illuminance sensor (Lee588-fig.1, para.0024).
As to Claim 11, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the ambient light sensor is an RGB spectrum sensor and configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel (Lee588-fig.1, para.0024).
As to Claim 12, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein each of the pixels includes a plurality of cells, and the input image data is additionally compensated according to a characteristics of each of the cells (Lee-para.0048,0098; Lee588-para.0031,0047,0054).
As to Claims 13-14, 17-19 are method claims drawn to the apparatus of Claim 1, 6-8 and are rejected for the reasons as set forth above.
Claim(s) 4-5, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (2020/0111455) in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0247588, hereinafter Lee588), further in view of Wilson (US 2011/0199350).
As to Claim 4, Lee et al. in view of Lee588 disclose wherein the ambient light includes a red ambient light, a green ambient light, and a blue ambient light (Lee588, para.0044,0070,0078-0079,0084-0085).
Lee et al. in view of Lee588 do not expressly disclose, but Wilson discloses wherein the ambient light sensor is configured to sense the ambient light to generate an intensity of the red ambient light, an intensity of the green ambient light, and an intensity of the blue ambient light (fig.5, red/green/blue light intensity sensors 501,503,505 respectively) and provide the intensity of the red ambient light, the intensity of the green ambient light, and the intensity of the blue ambient light to the ambient light lookup table (fig.5, ambient light from sensors provided to ambient light compensation device 507; para.0035, 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee et al. in view of Lee588 with the teachings of Wilson, the motivation being to provide ambient light detection and compensation device that detects and applies the appropriate color profile to compensate for non-ideal lighting conditions, thus providing the specified color balance.
As to Claim 5, Lee et al. in view of Lee588, as modified by Wilson, disclose wherein the ambient light lookup table is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the intensity of the red ambient light, the intensity of the green ambient light, and the intensity of the blue ambient light (Lee588-0024, 0076, 0084; Wilson-para.0028-0029,0056).
As to Claims 15-16 are method claims drawn to the apparatus of Claims 4-5 and are rejected for the reasons as set forth above.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (2020/0111455) in view of Lee et al. (US 2018/0247588, hereinafter Lee588), further in view of An et al. (US 2017/0162103).
As to Claim 21, Lee et al. discloses An electronic device comprising: a display panel including a plurality of pixels (fig.1, pixels PX);
an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as an RGB spectrum sensor); and
an image sticking compensator configured to perform an image sticking compensation operation on the pixels (fig.1-2,8; image sticking compensator 200),
a power supply configured to provide a power to the display panel, the ambient light sensor, and the image sticking compensator,
wherein the image sticking compensator includes: an accumulation lookup table configured to generate a wavelength spectrum of an accumulated deterioration amount of the pixels based on the accumulated deterioration amount of the pixels ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}, fig.2,8; compensator 240 may include memory 242 which may include a plurality of lookup tables including respective age values and compensation values corresponding to respective grayscales, where the lookup tables may be distinguished according to colors of the pixels; para.0093, 0098-0099); and
a compensation lookup table configured to generate a compensation value of the pixels for compensating an input image data based on a wavelength spectrum of the ambient light and the wavelength spectrum of the accumulated deterioration amount ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}, fig.1-2,8; para. 0044-0045,0094-0095; 0098-0099),
wherein an ambient light lookup table included in the image sticking compensator or the ambient light sensor is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}.
Lee et al. does not expressly disclose an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as an illuminance sensor); a power supply configured to provide a power to the display panel, the ambient light sensor, and the image sticking compensator; a wavelength spectrum of the ambient light; wherein an ambient light lookup table included in the image sticking compensator or the ambient light sensor is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware},
Lee588 discloses an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light of the display panel {This element is interpreted under 112(f) as an illuminance sensor) (fig.1, ambient light sensor 15; para.0024), a wavelength spectrum of the ambient light (para.0024,0076, 0078-0079,0081, 0084-0087 ); wherein an ambient light lookup table included in the image sticking compensator or the ambient light sensor is configured to generate the wavelength spectrum of the ambient light based on the ambient light of the display panel ({This element is interpreted under 112(f) as any structure in hardware, software or firmware}, para.0024,0076,0084).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee et al. with the teachings of Lee588, such that the compensator (of Lee et al.) may generate age compensation data based on the pixel luminance and pixel light exposure obtained based on wavelength spectrum of the ambient light (as disclosed by Lee588).
The motivation being to provide compensation data taking into account pixel aging effects, thereby compensating for undesired aging-induced color shift and display images more accurately.
Lee et al. in view of Lee588 do not expressly disclose a power supply configured to provide a power to the display panel, the ambient light sensor, and the image sticking compensator
An et al. discloses a power supply that may supply power for operations of the electronic device (fig.13, para.0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Lee et al. in view of Lee588, with the teachings An et al., such that it provides power the display panel, the ambient light sensor, and the image sticking compensator. The motivation being to provide power for operations of the electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 9 (20) is allowable over the prior art of record since the cited references alone or in combination do not teach or suggest “wherein the compensation lookup table is configured to compare the wavelength spectrum of the image perceived by the user with a reference wavelength spectrum, which is a target wavelength spectrum of the image to be perceived by the user, to generate a final accumulated deterioration amount of the pixels, and generate the compensation value of the pixels based on the final accumulated deterioration amount” in combination with the other limitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627