DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 12-13, 16-18, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,282. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘282 anticipates the subject matter in the instant claims. Claim 21 recites a method comprising capturing, using an ultrasound image sensor, an image sequence of a blood flow in a target region of a blood vessel (encompassed by capturing in claim 1 of ‘282); measuring, based on the image sequence, a central frequency corresponding to a first Doppler frequency shift of the blood flow viewed with the ultrasound image sensor in the target region of the blood vessel, and a second Doppler frequency shift corresponding to one or more objects suspended within the blood flow viewed with the ultrasound image sensor (encompassed by measuring in claim 1 of ‘282); determining, based on the central frequency and the second Doppler frequency shift, a differential in speed between the one or more objects suspended within the blood flow and the blood flow (encompassed by determining in claim 1 of ‘282); and detecting, based at least on the differential speed, that the one or more objects correspond to one or more anomalies present in the blood flow (encompassed by detecting in claim 1 of ‘282). Claim 22 is encompassed by claim 13 of ‘282. Claim 23 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘282. Claim 24 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘282. Claim 25 is encompassed by claim 13 of ‘282. Claim 26 is encompassed by claim 18 of ‘282. Claim 27 is encompassed by claim 1 of ‘282. Claim 28 is encompassed by claim 2 of ‘282. Claim 29 is encompassed by claim 16 of ‘282. Claim 30 is encompassed by claim 17 of ‘282. Claim 31 is encompassed by claim 15 of ‘282. Claim 32 is encompassed by claim 19 of ‘282. Claim 33 is encompassed by claim 19 of ‘282. Claim 34 is encompassed by claim 5 of ‘282. Claim 35 is encompassed by claim 12 of ‘282. Claim 36 is encompassed by claim 20 of ‘282. Claim 37 is encompassed by claim 20 of ‘282.
Claims 38-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,282 in view of Heldt et al. (US 2022/0181008). Patent ‘282 in view of Heldt et al. renders the subject matter in the instant claims obviuos. Patent ‘282 encompasses the steps of measuring, determining, and detecting (see above). Patent ‘282 does not claim a non-transitory computer-readable medium. However, Heldt et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor non-transitory computer-readable medium stores executable instructions for ultrasound systems ([0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided patent ‘282 with a non-transitory computer-readable medium as it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art for non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions to cause a processor to perform a method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moehring et al. (US 5,348,015).
Moehring et al. discloses a method comprising capturing, using an ultrasound image sensor, an image sequence of a blood flow in a target region of a blood vessel (col. 7, lines 28-31); measuring, based on the image sequence, a central frequency corresponding to a first Doppler frequency shift of the blood flow viewed with the ultrasound image sensor in the target region of the blood vessel (col. 7, lines 28-31), and a second Doppler frequency shift corresponding to one or more objects suspended within the blood flow viewed with the ultrasound image sensor (col. 1, lines 31-37, col. 5, lines 25-42); determining, based on the central frequency and the second Doppler frequency shift, a differential in speed between the one or more objects suspended within the blood flow and the blood flow (col. 1, lines 31-37, col. 5, lines 25-42; col. 5, line 53 to col. 6, line 32); and detecting, based at least on the differential speed, that the one or more objects correspond to one or more anomalies present in the blood flow (col. 5, line 53 to col. 6, line 32).
With respect to claim 35, Moehring et al. discloses treating a medical condition corresponding to the one or more anomalies detected in the blood flow (col. 4, 45-54).
With respect to claim 36, Moehring et al. discloses wherein the one or more anomalies are one or more blood clots (col. 1, lines 18-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehring et al. (US 5,348,015) in view Jumbe et al. (US 2021/0345939).
Moehring et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a trained machine learning model. However, Jumbe et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor incorporating artificial intelligence through a trained machine learning model to analyze sensor data and increase accuracy of predictive models across patient populations ([0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Moehring et al. with machine learning as taught by Jumbe et al. in order to incorporate artificial intelligence to analyz the sensor data.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehring et al. (US 5,348,015) in view Moehring (US 6,196,972).
Moehring et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except wherein the ultrasound image sensor uses Color Doppler to construct the image sequence. However, Moehring teaches in the same field of endeavor using Color Doppler to indicate the direction of blood flow and varying intensity is well known (abstract; col. 3, lines 40-52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Moehring et al. with Color Doppler as taught by Moehring in order to indicate direction of blood flow and varying intensity.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehring et al. (US 5,348,015) in view Heldt et al. (US 2022/0181008.
Moehring et al. discloses an ultrasound image sensor (100) and a method comprising capturing, using an ultrasound image sensor, an image sequence of a blood flow in a target region of a blood vessel (col. 7, lines 28-31); measuring, based on the image sequence, a central frequency corresponding to a first Doppler frequency shift of the blood flow viewed with the ultrasound image sensor in the target region of the blood vessel (col. 7, lines 28-31), and a second Doppler frequency shift corresponding to one or more objects suspended within the blood flow viewed with the ultrasound image sensor (col. 1, lines 31-37, col. 5, lines 25-42); determining, based on the central frequency and the second Doppler frequency shift, a differential in speed between the one or more objects suspended within the blood flow and the blood flow (col. 1, lines 31-37, col. 5, lines 25-42; col. 5, line 53 to col. 6, line 32); and detecting, based at least on the differential speed, that the one or more objects correspond to one or more anomalies present in the blood flow (col. 5, line 53 to col. 6, line 32). Moehring et al. does not teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium. However, Heldt et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor non-transitory computer-readable medium stores executable instructions for ultrasound systems ([0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Moehring et al. with a non-transitory computer-readable medium as it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art for non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions to cause a processor to perform a method.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moehring et al. (US 5,348,015) in view Heldt et al. (US 2022/0181008 as applied to claim 38, further in view of Jumbe et al. (US 2021/0345939).
Moehring et al. discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for a trained machine learning model. However, Jumbe et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor incorporating artificial intelligence through a trained machine learning model to analyze sensor data and increase accuracy of predictive models across patient populations ([0092]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Moehring et al. with machine learning as taught by Jumbe et al. in order to incorporate artificial intelligence to analyze the sensor data.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-33 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed combination of subject matter further comprising measuring relative position of the one or more object within a cross section of the blood vessel; detecting based at least on the differential in speed and one or more risk thresholds for the one or more anomalies associated with a threshold differential in speed, that the one or more objects correspond to the one or more anomalies present in the blood flow; and locations of the blood clots suspended with the sample blood flows relative to blood vessels, and distances between the blood clots suspended with the sample blood flows and one or more other blood clots suspended within the sample blood flows.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hileman et al. (US 5,441,051) discloses using amplitude in Doppler signal to count emboli in the blood stream.
/PETER LUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797