DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 1/16/2026.
Claims 1, 2, and 4-16 have been amended.
Claims 1-16 are pending and have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.FR2206847, filed on 7/5/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-16 are directed to a method. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 1, 16:
storing, a data structure, comprising identifiers, and modifiable
encoding each identifier into a code on a label, on a ready to wear item or accessory
affiliating each label with an item
assigning each identifier in the data structure to at least one category in the data structure; and
simultaneously modifying the data related to multiple items by modifying data related to a category of these items.
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
2. collecting and recording, with the platform, usage data of the identifiers and/or usage data of the data related to the item.
4. issuing the EDI file by an enterprise resource planning (ERP) software of a purchaser of the labels.
5. issuing the EDI file by an enterprise resource planning (ERP) software of the manufacturer of the labels.
6. triggering the modification by linking the code of the labels of a category to the corresponding items
7. wherein assigning the identifier to a category called "end of life" and preventing the modification of content data.
8. storing unique identifiers.
9. generating the identifiers by a cryptographic algorithm based on a timestamp.
10. providing, with the algorithm, pseudo-random alphanumeric sequences intended to constitute a part of the identifier.
13. selecting multiple labels by entering a grouping identifier of a predefined grouping category.
The claims provide a manner of assigning identifiers to a category of items and modifying the data related to multiple items by modifying data related to the category. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody a mental process that can be performed either in the human mind or with pen and paper.
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: database (claim 1, 16); server (claim 1, 16); online platform executed on the server (claim 1, 16); encoding each identifier into a 2D code or a QR code on a label, on a ready-to-wear item or accessory, (claim 1, 16); wherein the modification of the data is carried out by integrating a synchronization file of an electronic data interchange, known as "EDI" file. (claim 3); wherein the method further comprises generating a target URL with the data related to the item. (claim 11); wherein the method further comprises generating a source URL, and several source URLs include a common root with the data related to the item (claim 12); wherein the method further comprises scanning a grouping QR code to carry out the entry of the grouping category identifier (claim 14) wherein the method further comprises allowing the entry of the grouping category identifier by scanning a grouping QR code present on a packaging of grouped labels (claim 15);
The database, server including a database and online platform are recited at a high level of generality. These generic computing components are merely used to “apply it” (the abstract idea). Nothing in the claims improves upon technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations including “encoding each identifier into a 2D code or a QR code on a label, on a ready-to-wear item or accessory”, “wherein the modification of the data is carried out by integrating a synchronization file of an electronic data interchange, known as "EDI" file.”, “wherein the method further comprises scanning a grouping QR code to carry out the entry of the grouping category identifier”, and “wherein the method further comprises allowing the entry of the grouping category identifier by scanning a grouping QR code present on a packaging of grouped labels” amount to mere computer implementation and do not go beyond the “apply it” level. Nothing in the claims improves upon EDI file technology, QR code technology, or a technical field. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations including w wherein the method further comprises generating a target URL with the data related to the item and wherein the method further comprises generating a source URL, and several source URLs include a common root with the data related to the item merely provide a general link to a particular technological environment in which to practice the abstract idea. The use of URL’s merely provides an address for a resource in a computing environment (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea and provide a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. online
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2014/0203085) in view of Bajovic (US 2022/0283760) in view of https://www.sqlshack.com/delete-cascade-and-update-cascade-in-sql-server-foreign-key/ - “DELETE CASCADE and UPDATECASCADE in SQL Server foreign key” - by Ranga Babu - 7/3/2019 hereafter “Babu”
As per claims 1 and 16:
Park teaches:
A method for data management related to a ready-to-wear item or accessory in the fields of fashion, textile, and clothing, said method comprising the steps of:
storing on a server, a database, comprising identifiers, and modifiable via an online platform executed on the server; (Fig 1, element 10; ([0076] Further, the ID 35 assigned to the QR code is set by the account management module 12, and the QR code with the set ID is registered with the code database 16. [0091] To this end, in the editing and storing step, at least a part of the example information included in advance and supplied by the seller as the information to be displayed in the reader when the QR code is scanned by the reader may be set to be non-editable. With regard to this, at least a part of the information set to be non-editable is preferably managed by the seller. [0092] For example, when the QR code is configured to contain 10 moving pictures, 9 of them may be freely edited, set, or modified by the purchaser, but the remaining one moving picture may not be edited, set, or modified by the purchaser. A predetermined connection URL is set at the place where the non-editable moving picture is located, and the seller may provide, for example, advertisements, questionnaires, movie trailers, music videos of singers, funny videos, and the like through the moving picture linked to the connection URL while changing them at any time as needed. However, it is apparent that this scenario is not limited to providing moving pictures, and may be similarly applied to photos, texts, link URL information, and the like. [0093] In this way, the seller can set a part of the information previously filled by the seller to be non-editable by a purchaser and continuously update the information or information connected therewith, thereby utilizing them to provide specific advertisements or useful information.)
affiliating each label with an item (Fig. 2; [0054] When the QR code display object 30 is provided, for example, in the form of a transfer sheet, the corresponding product 40 is a product having a flexible surface, for example, cloth, a suit of clothes, or a curtain, and a method of displaying the QR code on the QR code display object 30 is printing with transfer ink or the like. [0059] For example, as shown in FIG. 2(b), a QR code may be displayed directly on a suit of clothes as the QR code display object 30 by means of printing or textile printing. As another example, as shown in FIG. 2(c), a QR code may be displayed directly on the surface of a mug as the QR code display object 30 by means of printing with enamel or porcelain ink. As yet another example, as shown in FIG. 2(d), a QR code may be displayed directly on the surface of a nameplate as the QR code display object 30, which is an acrylic or metal pendant hung on a bag, etc., by means of printing, embossing work, or intaglio work.)
assigning each identifier in the database to at least one category in the database; and ([0076] Further, the ID 35 assigned to the QR code is set by the account management module 12, and the QR code with the set ID is registered with the code database 16. [0077] Further, the QR code and ID 35 generated and registered in this way, along with information on the editing URL 34 for providing a function of editing information constituting the contents of the QR code, are manufactured into the QR code display object 30, and the manufactured QR code display object 30 is distributed to and sold through the selling shop 20. [0080] However, in the logging-in step, whether or not the purchaser has a regular ID capable of accessing the editing URL for all the QR codes possessed by the purchaser is be checked, the regular ID may be generated when the purchaser does not have the regular ID (S15), and the ID acquired by purchasing the QR code display object is preferably connected with the regular ID. The regular ID consists of a string of letters in order to facilitate the convenience of memorizing, and can be considered a purchaser-centric ID acting as one ID for all the QR codes possessed by the purchaser. Examiner Comment: Each item of the user’s with a QR code is assigned an ID. The ID’s are all associated with the Regular ID such that all of the user’s item’s ID”s are linked to the user’s Regular ID. The examiner considers the Regular ID as the category such as all items belonging to the user.)
Park does not expressly teach encoding each identifier into a 2D code or a QR code on a label, on a ready to wear item or accessory.
Bajovic teaches:
encoding each identifier into a 2D code or a QR code on a label, on a ready to wear item or accessory, and ([0032] The clothing item ID can be an alphanumeric string that uniquely identifies a single clothing item. [0035] FIG. 2 shows a clothing item with a clothing item ID encoded within the clothing item. The clothing item 200 is a garment, however, the clothing item 200 can be a footwear, a purse, a backpack, a hat, a cap, a hair accessory, a sling, a baby carrier, and/or any item capable of being worn by a person. The clothing item 200 can have the clothing item ID recorded within the clothing item. For example, the clothing item ID can be recorded in a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, a near field communication (NFC) tag, a quick response (QR) code, a barcode, a Bluetooth transmitter, a wireless frequency (Wi-Fi) transmitter, or a global positioning system (GPS) transmitter, etc. The clothing item ID so recorded can be affixed on the clothing item label 210, on the clothing item tag 220, or within the fabric of the clothing item 200, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include encoding each identifier into a 2D code or a QR code on a label, on a ready to wear item or accessory as taught by Bajovic with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in order to allow users to access information about their items ([0001]).
Park in view of Bajovic does not expressly teach simultaneously modifying the data related to multiple items by modifying data related to a category of these items.
Babu teaches:
simultaneously modifying the data related to multiple items by modifying data related to a category of these items. (UPDATE CASCADE: When we create a foreign key using UPDATE CASCADE the referencing rows are updated in the child table when the referenced row is updated in the parent table which has a primary key. See example using UPDATE CASCADE. Changing the CountryID in the Countries for a row which also updates the referencing rows in the child table States. Changing Country ID in the parent table to 3 changes the CountryID in the child table for each of the states to 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include simultaneously modifying the data related to multiple items by modifying data related to a category of these items s taught by Babu with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in order to update the entries of a child table when the referenced row is updated in the parent table which has a primary key.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 2:
Park further teaches:
wherein said method further comprises collecting and recording, with the platform, usage data of the identifiers and/or usage data of the data related to the item. (paragraph [0032] In accordance with yet another aspect of the present invention, there is provided a method of providing information by using the QR code display object, the method including: an approving step of obtaining a purchaser's approval for authority to use information edited and stored by the purchaser in the editing and storing step; a collecting step of collecting information for which the purchaser's approval is obtained; and a post-processing step of providing the collected information on the Internet. [0095] The approving step is the step in which the seller obtains the purchaser's approval for authority to use the information edited and stored by the purchaser in the editing and storing step. That is, the approval step is the step in which the seller secures approval to use the information, in which the status of the members of the area, edited by the purchaser of the QR code display object 30, is reflected, later on. This may be implemented by inquiring whether the purchaser consents to the agreement while displaying the agreement before terminating the editing screen of FIG. 3. [0096] The collecting step is the step of collecting information for which the purchaser's approval is obtained. Accordingly, the seller can collect information on the status of the members of areas from a plurality of purchasers. [0097] The post-processing step is the step of providing the collected information on the Internet. Accordingly, the collected information on the status of the members of areas can be provided in the Internet map service 70 as illustrated in FIG. 1.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 6:
Park in view of Bajovic does not expressly teach wherein the modification is triggered by the affiliation of the labels of a category to the corresponding items.
Babu teaches:
wherein said method further comprises triggering the modification by linking the 2D code or the QR code of the labels of a category to the corresponding items. (UPDATE CASCADE: When we create a foreign key using UPDATE CASCADE the referencing rows are updated in the child table when the referenced row is updated in the parent table which has a primary key. See example using UPDATE CASCADE. Changing the CountryID in the Countries for a row which also updates the referencing rows in the child table States. Changing Country ID in the parent table to 3 changes the CountryID in the child table for each of the states to 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said method further comprises triggering the modification by linking the 2D code or the QR code of the labels of a category to the corresponding items as taught by Babu with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in order to update the entries of a child table when the referenced row is updated in the parent table which has a primary key.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 7:
Park further teaches:
Wherein the method further comprises assigning the identifier to a category called "end of life" and preventing the modification of content data ([0030] Further, in the editing and storing step, at least a part of example information included in advance and supplied by a seller as the information to be displayed in the reader when the QR code is scanned by the reader may be set to be non-editable. [0091] To this end, in the editing and storing step, at least a part of the example information included in advance and supplied by the seller as the information to be displayed in the reader when the QR code is scanned by the reader may be set to be non-editable. With regard to this, at least a part of the information set to be non-editable is preferably managed by the seller.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 8:
Bajovic further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises storing unique identifiers ([0032] The clothing item ID can be an alphanumeric string that uniquely identifies a single clothing item. [0035] FIG. 2 shows a clothing item with a clothing item ID encoded within the clothing item. The clothing item 200 is a garment, however, the clothing item 200 can be a footwear, a purse, a backpack, a hat, a cap, a hair accessory, a sling, a baby carrier, and/or any item capable of being worn by a person. The clothing item 200 can have the clothing item ID recorded within the clothing item. For example, the clothing item ID can be recorded in a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, a near field communication (NFC) tag, a quick response (QR) code, a barcode, a Bluetooth transmitter, a wireless frequency (Wi-Fi) transmitter, or a global positioning system (GPS) transmitter, etc. The clothing item ID so recorded can be affixed on the clothing item label 210, on the clothing item tag 220, or within the fabric of the clothing item 200, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the method further comprises storing unique identifiers as taught by Bajovic with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Babu in order to allow users to access information about their items ([0001]).
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 11:
Park further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises generating a target URL with the data related to the item. ([0025] Further, the editing URL may be included in the QR code such that an editing screen of the editing URL appears in the reader when the QR code is scanned by the reader.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 13:
Park in view of Bajovic does not expressly teach wherein the selection of multiple labels is carried out by entering a grouping identifier of a predefined grouping category.
Babu further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises selecting of multiple labels by entering a grouping identifier of a predefined grouping category (UPDATE CASCADE: When we create a foreign key using UPDATE CASCADE the referencing rows are updated in the child table when the referenced row is updated in the parent table which has a primary key. See example using UPDATE CASCADE. Changing the CountryID in the Countries for a row which also updates the referencing rows in the child table States. Changing Country ID in the parent table to 3 changes the CountryID in the child table for each of the states to 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the method further comprises selecting of multiple labels by entering a grouping identifier of a predefined grouping category as taught by Babu with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in order to update the entries of a child table when the referenced row is updated in the parent table which has a primary key.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2014/0203085) in view of Bajovic (US 2022/0283760) in view of https://www.sqlshack.com/delete-cascade-and-update-cascade-in-sql-server-foreign-key/ - “DELETE CASCADE and UPDATECASCADE in SQL Server foreign key” - by Ranga Babu - 7/3/2019 hereafter “Babu” in view of Choudhury et al (US 2020/0167755)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 3:
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the modification of the data is carried out by integrating a synchronization file of an electronic data interchange, known as "EDI" file.
Choudhury teaches:
wherein the modification of the data is carried out by integrating a synchronization file of an electronic data interchange, known as "EDI" file. ([0069] In another embodiment, the management portal 602 may further allow bulk data feeds such as via secured file transfer protocol (FTP), electronic data interchange (EDI), or Blockchain data transmission to update or modify records stored in the database.)
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the EDI file updating of Choudhury for the update cascading technique of Babu. Thus, the mechanism of updating using an EDI file to update database entries instead of update cascading is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in view of Choudhury teaches the limitations of claim 3. As per claim 4:
Park teaches:
{modifying information by} a purchaser of the labels. ([0092] For example, when the QR code is configured to contain 10 moving pictures, 9 of them may be freely edited, set, or modified by the purchaser, but the remaining one moving picture may not be edited, set, or modified by the purchaser. A predetermined connection URL is set at the place where the non-editable moving picture is located, and the seller may provide, for example, advertisements, questionnaires, movie trailers, music videos of singers, funny videos, and the like through the moving picture linked to the connection URL while changing them at any time as needed. However, it is apparent that this scenario is not limited to providing moving pictures, and may be similarly applied to photos, texts, link URL information, and the like. [0093] In this way, the seller can set a part of the information previously filled by the seller to be non-editable by a purchaser and continuously update the information or information connected therewith, thereby utilizing them to provide specific advertisements or useful information.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the EDI file is issued by an enterprise resource planning (ERP) software.
Choudhury further teaches:
wherein said method further comprises issuing the EDI file by an enterprise resource planning (ERP) software ([0069] In another embodiment, the management portal 602 may further allow bulk data feeds such as via secured file transfer protocol (FTP), electronic data interchange (EDI), or Blockchain data transmission to update or modify records stored in the database.)
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the EDI file updating of Choudhury for the update cascading technique of Babu. Thus, the mechanism of updating using an EDI file to update database entries instead of update cascading is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in view of Choudhury teaches the limitations of claim 3. As per claim 5.
Park teaches:
{modifying information by} manufacturer of the labels. ([0049] The QR code is a ready-made QR code generated in advance and provided by a provider. [0090] The seller, that is, the provider, may configure a part of the information contained in the QR code as an active means to be used for communication with the purchaser. [0092] For example, when the QR code is configured to contain 10 moving pictures, 9 of them may be freely edited, set, or modified by the purchaser, but the remaining one moving picture may not be edited, set, or modified by the purchaser. A predetermined connection URL is set at the place where the non-editable moving picture is located, and the seller may provide, for example, advertisements, questionnaires, movie trailers, music videos of singers, funny videos, and the like through the moving picture linked to the connection URL while changing them at any time as needed. However, it is apparent that this scenario is not limited to providing moving pictures, and may be similarly applied to photos, texts, link URL information, and the like. [0093] In this way, the seller can set a part of the information previously filled by the seller to be non-editable by a purchaser and continuously update the information or information connected therewith, thereby utilizing them to provide specific advertisements or useful information.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the EDI file is issued by an enterprise resource planning (ERP) software.
Choudhury further teaches:
wherein said method further comprises issuing the EDI file by an enterprise resource planning (ERP) software ([0069] In another embodiment, the management portal 602 may further allow bulk data feeds such as via secured file transfer protocol (FTP), electronic data interchange (EDI), or Blockchain data transmission to update or modify records stored in the database.)
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself – that is in the substitution of the EDI file updating of Choudhury for the update cascading technique of Babu. Thus, the mechanism of updating using an EDI file to update database entries instead of update cascading is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2014/0203085) in view of Bajovic (US 2022/0283760) in view of https://www.sqlshack.com/delete-cascade-and-update-cascade-in-sql-server-foreign-key/ - “DELETE CASCADE and UPDATECASCADE in SQL Server foreign key” - by Ranga Babu - 7/3/2019 hereafter “Babu” in view of Li et al (WO 2020/010490)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 9.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises generating the identifiers by a cryptographic algorithm based on a timestamp.
Li teaches:
wherein the method further comprises generating the identifiers by a cryptographic algorithm based on a timestamp. (page 6: B uses the addresses of A and B, the current timestamp ts, and a random salt to generate the unique identifier.)
It would have been obvious to include w wherein the method further comprises generating the identifiers by a cryptographic algorithm based on a timestamp as taught by Li with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in order to provide a secure identifier.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in view of Li teaches the limitations of claim 9. As per claim 10.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises providing with the algorithm pseudo-random alphanumeric sequences intended to constitute a part of the identifier.
Li teaches:
wherein the method further comprises providing with the algorithm pseudo-random alphanumeric sequences intended to constitute a part of the identifier. (page 6: B uses the addresses of A and B, the current timestamp ts, and a random salt to generate the unique identifier.)
It would have been obvious to include wherein the method further comprises providing with the algorithm pseudo-random alphanumeric sequences intended to constitute a part of the identifier as taught by Li with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in order to provide a secure identifier.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2014/0203085) in view of Bajovic (US 2022/0283760) in view of https://www.sqlshack.com/delete-cascade-and-update-cascade-in-sql-server-foreign-key/ - “DELETE CASCADE and UPDATECASCADE in SQL Server foreign key” - by Ranga Babu - 7/3/2019 hereafter “Babu” in view of Purves (US 2015/0019444)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 12:
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises generating a source URL, and several source UR:’s include a common root with the data related to the item.
Purves teaches:
wherein the method further comprises generating a source URL, and several source UR:’s include a common root with the data related to the item ([0020] As another example, a logo of a company, such as Visa or V.me, may indicate that the only links (e.g., link information encoded within QR codes, etc.) to be trusted are ones whose Uniform Resource Locators (URLs) have the domain root visa.com.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include wherein the method further comprises generating a source URL, and several source UR:’s include a common root with the data related to the item as taught by Purves with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in order to indicate which links can be trusted (paragraph [0020]).
Claim(s) 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2014/0203085) in view of Bajovic (US 2022/0283760) in view of https://www.sqlshack.com/delete-cascade-and-update-cascade-in-sql-server-foreign-key/ - “DELETE CASCADE and UPDATECASCADE in SQL Server foreign key” - by Ranga Babu - 7/3/2019 hereafter “Babu” in view of Nobuyuki et al (JP 2011170824)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu teaches the limitations of claim 13. As per claim 14:
Park teaches:
{scanning} QR codes ([0019] Further, the present invention provides a method of selling a QR code by using the QR code display object, which allows a user to purchase the QR code display object and QR codes in order to edit information to be displayed when the QR codes are scanned, reconstruct the information into contents in which the user's own information is reflected, and use the reconstructed information.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises scanning a grouping {bar} code to carry out the entry of the grouping category identifier.
Nobuyuki teaches:
wherein the method further comprises scanning a grouping {bar} code to carry out the entry of the grouping category identifier (Each paper document group is assigned a paper document group ID (object ID) that uniquely identifies the paper document group. A box containing each paper document group displays a paper document group ID and a paper document group ID written in a barcode. FIG. 7A shows an example of a screen for inputting the paper document group ID with the barcode reader R. As shown in the figure, the worker of the work terminal A reads the barcode written on the paper document group with the barcode reader R. The barcode is decoded by the barcode reader R, and the decoded paper document group ID is input to the input field. The worker selects the “execute” button, and the paper document group ID is input to the progress status registration unit 32.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the method further comprises scanning a grouping {bar} code to carry out the entry of the grouping category identifier as taught by Nobuyuki with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in order to manage a series of items.
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in view of Nobuyuki teaches the limitations of claim 14. As per claim 15:
Park teaches:
{scanning} QR codes ([0019] Further, the present invention provides a method of selling a QR code by using the QR code display object, which allows a user to purchase the QR code display object and QR codes in order to edit information to be displayed when the QR codes are scanned, reconstruct the information into contents in which the user's own information is reflected, and use the reconstructed information.)
Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises allowing the entry of the grouping category identifier by scanning a grouping {bar} code present on a packaging of grouped labels.
Nobuyuki further teaches:
wherein the method further comprises allowing the entry of the grouping category identifier by scanning a grouping {bar} code present on a packaging of grouped labels (Each paper document group is assigned a paper document group ID (object ID) that uniquely identifies the paper document group. A box containing each paper document group displays a paper document group ID and a paper document group ID written in a barcode. FIG. 7A shows an example of a screen for inputting the paper document group ID with the barcode reader R. As shown in the figure, the worker of the work terminal A reads the barcode written on the paper document group with the barcode reader R. The barcode is decoded by the barcode reader R, and the decoded paper document group ID is input to the input field. The worker selects the “execute” button, and the paper document group ID is input to the progress status registration unit 32.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the method further comprises allowing the entry of the grouping category identifier by scanning a grouping {bar} code present on a packaging of grouped labels as taught by Nobuyuki with the QR code linked ID’s for products of Park in view of Bajovic in view of Babu in order to manage a series of items.
Response to Arguments
The examiner has considered but does not find persuasive applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC 101. The mere inclusion of a 2D code or QR code does not overcome the 101 rejection. The 2D code or QR code is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere computer implementation. Nothing in the claims improves upon 2D code or QR code technology. The 2D code or QR code merely uses the codes with the particular data of the invention. As a result, such rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to rejections under 35 USC 103 are moot in light of new grounds of rejection which have been necessitated by amendment. With regard to arguments regarding Babu not teaching “simultaneously modifying the data related to multiple items by modifying data related to a category of these items” the examiner respectfully disagrees. Babu clearly teaches the known database technique of cascading in which a single entry for a category is changed and all the corresponding data entries are also changed. For examiner, the category of Country ID of the United States is changed to 3 and as a result each individual state’s country ID is subsequently modified. This clearly reads on modifying the data related to multiple items (i.e. states) by modifying data related to a category of those items (i.e. Country ID). Further, applicant appears to be attempting to read limitations from the spec into the claims. If applicant feels that there are distinctions outlined in paragraphs [0131] and [0133] then the examiner recommends adding such features to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER STROUD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3621B
/CHRISTOPHER STROUD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621