DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “the portion of the third color resist is not overlapped with the first color resist and the second color resist in a normal direction of the substrate”, the recitation renders the claim indefinite since the meets and bounds of the claim are unclear. Base claim 1 requires “a portion of the third color resist is disposed in at least one of the first sub-pixel region and the second sub-pixel region”, however, dependent claim 9 requires “the portion of the third color resist is not overlapped with the first color resist and the second color resist”, which contradicts the limitation of claim 1. Claims 10-15 are rejected due to their dependency status from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0077239 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a color filter substrate, comprising: a substrate (310) having a pixel region, wherein the pixel region comprises a first sub-pixel region (R), a second sub-pixel region (G) and a third sub-pixel region (B); and a color resist structure (321) disposed on the substrate, the color resist structure comprising: a first color resist (321R) disposed in the first sub-pixel region; a second color resist (321G) disposed in the second sub-pixel region; and a third color resist (324b), wherein a portion of the third color resist (324) is disposed in at least one of the first sub-pixel region (R) and the second sub-pixel region (G), and another portion of the third color resist (324b) is disposed in the third sub-pixel region (B), wherein the first color resist, the second color resist and the third color resist have different colors from each other (¶s[0052,0054,0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein one of the first color resist and the second color resist is a green resist (321G, ¶[0054]), the other one of the first color resist and the second color resist is a red resist (321R, ¶[0054]), and the third color resist is a blue resist (324b, ¶[0060]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein the portion of the third color resist (324b) is disposed in the first sub-pixel region and the second sub-pixel region (Fig. 4), and the portion of the third color resist (324b) covers the first color resist (321R) and the second color resist (321G) in a normal direction of the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein in the normal direction, the portion of the third color resist (324b) disposed in the first sub-pixel region and the second sub-pixel region has a first thickness (t2, Fig. 1), the another portion of the third color resist (324b) disposed in the third sub-pixel region has a second thickness (t1, Fig. 1), and the first thickness is less than the second thickness (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein the first thickness (t2) is greater than or equal to 0.2 micrometers and less than or equal to 0.5 micrometers (¶[0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein the second thickness (t1) is greater than or equal to 0.5 micrometers and less than or equal to 3 micrometers (¶[0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein in the normal direction, a thickness of at least one of the first color resist and the second color resist is greater than or equal to 0.5 micrometers and less than or equal to 3 micrometers (¶s[0057-0058], based on the difference between the first thickness t2 and the second thickness t1 being equal to the thickness of the first color resist and the second color resist).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a color filter substrate wherein the first color resist (321R) is disposed in a whole area of the first sub-pixel region, the second color resist (321G) is disposed in a whole area of the second sub-pixel region, and the portion of the third color resist (324) is disposed in the whole area of the first sub-pixel region and the whole area of the second sub-pixel region (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a display device, comprising: the color filter substrate (3000); and an array substrate (1000), wherein the array substrate and the color filter substrate are disposed opposite to each other (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0077239 A1) in view of Chae et al. (US 2008/0252829 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kim fails to disclose a transparent conductive layer disposed on the color resist structure.
Chae discloses a color filter substrate, comprising: a substrate (102) having a pixel region, wherein the pixel region comprises a first sub-pixel region (R), a second sub-pixel region (G) and a third sub-pixel region (B); and a color resist structure (106) disposed on the substrate, and further comprising a transparent conductive layer disposed on the color resist structure acting as a common electrode of the LCD display. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate a transparent conductive layer as disclosed by Chae in the color filter substrate of Kim in order to provide a common electrode of the LCD display.
Regarding claim 17, Kim fails to disclose wherein in the normal direction, a thickness of the transparent conductive layer is greater than or equal to 1200 angstroms and less than or equal to 1700 angstroms. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to provide a thickness of the transparent conductive layer being greater than or equal to 1200 angstroms and less than or equal to 1700 angstroms, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 2022/0221756 A1) discloses a color filter panel including: a base substrate having a first pixel area, a second pixel area, and a light blocking area between the first pixel area and the second pixel area; a first color filter on the base substrate in the first pixel area; a second color filter on the base substrate in the second pixel area; a first photoluminescence pattern on the first color filter in the first pixel area and configured to convert a color of light; and a second photoluminescence pattern on the second color filter in the second pixel area and configured to convert a color of light, the second photoluminescence pattern partially overlaps the first photoluminescence pattern in the light blocking area.
Zha et al. (US 2022/0043297 A1) discloses a liquid crystal display panel comprising a first substrate and a second substrate, a color filter layer disposed on the second substrate, the color filter layer including color resist blocks and a light shielding portion.
Hu (US 2021/0208452 A1) discloses a display panel comprising a first substrate, a light shielding layer disposed on the first substrate and defined a plurality of pixel areas, a color filter layer disposed on the plurality of pixel areas, the color filter layer including a first colored resist layer, a second colored resist layer, a third colored resist layer and a fourth colored resist layer, and wherein the fourth colored resist layer comprises a plurality of different colored resistor materials sequentially stacked from bottom to top.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879