DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Steer-by-Wire Neutral Position Calibration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “gradually” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination any reference resetting this value satisfies “gradually”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Miyakawa (U.S. Pat. No. 12,528,537).
Regarding claim 1, Miyakawa discloses a steer-by-wire steering system mounted on a vehicle, comprising:
an operation member (19) operable by a driver;
a steering actuator (12) having a drive source (col. 6, line 25 discloses a motor) and configured to steer a wheel by a force of the drive source;
a controller (15) configured to control the steering actuator so as to cause the wheel to be steered in accordance with an operation of the operation member, wherein, when a stored neutral position, which is a neutral steering position stored for controlling the steering actuator, deviates from an actual neutral position, which is an actual neutral steering position, the controller executes, in a state in which the operation of the operation member to cause the vehicle to travel straight by the driver of the vehicle is maintained (This is construed as being in the state to travel straight if the vehicle is moving), a neutral position deviation elimination process in which the stored neutral position is brought closer to the actual neutral position (col. 10, lines 26-37 discloses the maintaining of a neutral position of the steering wheel so that the neutral position is reset to this position as the reference neutral).
Regarding claim 2 which depends from claim 1, Miyakawa discloses wherein the neutral position deviation elimination process is a process of gradually changing the stored neutral position toward the actual neutral position (as per 112 rejection col. 11, lines 4-12 is gradual).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 1, Miyakawa discloses wherein the controller ends the neutral position deviation elimination process on condition that an operation position of the operation member is located at a neutral operation position that is a position at which the operation member is to be located when the vehicle travels straight (the switch sets the current position as the neutral and so then ends).
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 1, Miyakawa discloses further comprising an operation reaction force applying device (13) configured to apply, to the operation member, an operation reaction force that is a reaction force against the operation of the operation member, wherein the controller is configured to:
execute a control for applying the operation reaction force that includes a component for returning the operation position of the operation member to a neutral operation position that is a position at which the operation member is to be located when the vehicle travels straight (col. 7, lines 35-41); and
end the neutral position deviation elimination process on condition that the operation reaction force disappears or an operation force of the driver against the operation reaction force disappears (col. 11, lines 8-12).
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 1, Miyakawa discloses wherein a plurality of driving support controls, each of which involves automatic steering of the wheel, is executed in the vehicle (like reaction force from a motor); and wherein the steer-by-wire steering system is configured to allow at least one of the plurality of driving support controls even during execution of the neutral position deviation elimination process (col. 11, lines 4-30 discloses the various ways that this motor still operates during this calibration).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 5, Miyakawa discloses wherein the plurality of driving support controls includes a safety-oriented support control for prioritizing safety of traveling of the vehicle over an accuracy of the neutral steering position, and wherein the steer-by-wire steering system is configured to allow at least the safety-oriented support control even during execution of the neutral position deviation elimination process (col. 11, lines 4-30 discloses the various ways that this motor still operates during this calibration. The reaction force motor is for safety so that the driver feels resistance while turning which provides feedback).
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747