DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first voltage generator”, “distribution voltage generator”, “decoding unit”, “regulator unit”, “gamma reference voltage generator”, “second voltage generator”, “third voltage generator” in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2020/0286448).
In regard to claim 1, Kim et al. teach a voltage generator comprising: a first voltage generator configured to generate a first voltage based on a first input voltage (fig. 4 AMP_REF1, DEC_TOP and AMP_TOP Kim et al. discloses a buffer amplifier circuit as the first voltage generator. This is equivalent to applicant’s amplifier circuit shown in fig. 3); a distribution voltage generator configured to generate distribution voltages by performing voltage distribution on the first voltage (RST2, Kim et al. shows a resistance string which is the same as applicant’s distribution voltage generator); a decoding unit configured to generate reference voltages by decoding the distribution voltages (DEC1-DEC10, paragraph 113 of Kim et al. shows these elements are decoders which is the same as applicant’s decoders); and a regulator unit configured to generate driving voltages by adjusting voltage levels of the reference voltages (AMP_G1-AMP_G10. Paragraph 63 of applicant’ specification describes the regulators as a unit that adjusts driving voltages which is an amplifier. This is the same as the amplifiers of Kim et al.) wherein at least one of the driving voltages is supplied to a gamma reference voltage generator (elements 330 and RST3. The gamma voltage generator is in the data driver which is on the IC. Figs. 1 and 2 of applicant’s specification describe the voltage generator as a circuit. Fig. 5 of Kim et al. shows an art recognized equivalent circuit) which generates a gamma reference voltage (see VG1-VG2047 output from RST3) provided to a data driver (DEC 360 and paragraph 96. The decoder converts the digital signal into an analog data signal. This is a data driver), and wherein the at least one of the driving voltages includes a top gamma reference voltage or a bottom gamma reference voltage used for generating the gamma reference voltage (fig. 6, paragraphs 99 and 100. Kim et al. teach the driving voltages being output by the amplifiers AMP_G1-AMP_G10. AMP_G1 outputs VG1 which is divided the resistor string RST3. VG1 and VG2047 are the top and bottom gamma reference voltages, which are both output by the amplifiers. Paragraph 99 and 100 show the decoder uses the gamma reference voltages and the data signal to choose an appropriate gamma voltage).
In regard to claim 9, Kim et al. teach a driver integrated circuit (IC) (paragraph 69) comprising: a voltage generator configured to generate driving voltages (element 330. The gamma voltage generator is in the data driver which is on the IC. Figs. 1 and 2 of applicant’s specification describe the voltage generator as a circuit. Fig. 5 of Kim et al. shows an art recognized equivalent circuit.); a gamma reference voltage generator configured to receive at least one of the driving voltages to generate a gamma reference voltage (element 360 and paragraph 100. Paragraph 52 of applicant’s specification describes the gamma reference voltage generator as part of the timing controller of data driver. Kim et al. show element 360 in the data driver); a data driver configured to generate data voltages based on the gamma reference voltage (fig. 3 and element 130); and a timing controller configured to control the data driver and the gamma reference voltage generator (element 140), wherein the voltage generator includes: a first voltage generator configured to generate a first voltage based on a first input voltage for driving at least one of the data driver and the gamma reference voltage generator (fig. 4 AMP_REF1, DEC_TOP and AMP_TOP Kim et al. discloses a buffer amplifier circuit as the first voltage generator. This is equivalent to applicant’s amplifier circuit shown in fig. 3); a distribution voltage generator configured to generate distribution voltages by performing voltage distribution on the first voltage (RST2, Kim et al. shows a resistance string which is the same as applicant’s distribution voltage generator); a decoding unit configured to generate reference voltages by decoding the distribution voltages DEC1-DEC10, paragraph 113 of Kim et al. shows these elements are decoders which is the same as applicant’s decoders); and a regulator unit configured to generate the driving voltages by adjusting voltage levels of the reference voltages AMP_G1-AMP_G10. Paragraph 63 of applicant’ specification describes the regulators as a unit that adjusts driving voltages which is an amplifier. This is the same as the amplifiers of Kim et al.) wherein at least one of the driving voltages is supplied to the gamma reference voltage generator to generate the gamma reference voltage (fig. 3 element 330 feeds voltages into element 360. Element RST3 generates and outputs the gamma voltages), and wherein the at least one of the driving voltages includes a top gamma reference voltage or a bottom gamma reference voltage used for generating the gamma reference voltage (fig. 6, paragraphs 99 and 100. Kim et al. teach the driving voltages being output by the amplifiers AMP_G1-AMP_G10. AMP_G1 outputs VG1 which is divided the resistor string RST3. VG1 and VG2047 are the top and bottom gamma reference voltages, which are both output by the amplifiers. Paragraph 99 and 100 show the decoder uses the gamma reference voltages and the data signal to choose an appropriate gamma voltage).
In regard to claim 15, Kim et al. teach all the elements of claim 15 (see claim 9 rejection above) including a display device (fig. 1) comprising: a display panel including pixels to which at least one of driving voltages is input (PXL and DL1-DLm); a gate driver configured to apply gate signals to the pixels (element 120); and a driver integrated circuit (IC) configured to generate the driving voltages and to apply data voltages to the pixels (element 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 11-13, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Kim (US 2011/0050670).
In regard to claim 3, 11 and 18, Kim et al. teach all the elements of claim 3 except wherein the first voltage generator includes: a second voltage generator configured to receive the first input voltage to generate a second voltage; a first amplifier including a first input terminal configured to receive the second voltage, a second input terminal connected to a first node, and an output terminal configured to output a preliminary voltage; a first resistance element including a first electrode connected to a ground and a second electrode connected to the first node; a second resistance element including a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to the output terminal of the first amplifier; a third voltage generator configured to receive the preliminary voltage to generate a third voltage; a second amplifier including a first input terminal configured to receive the third voltage, a second input terminal connected to a second node, and an output terminal configured to output the first voltage; a third resistance element including a first electrode connected to the ground and a second electrode connected to the second node; and a fourth resistance element including a first electrode connected to the second node and a second electrode connected to the output terminal of the second amplifier.
Kim teaches wherein the first voltage generator includes: a second voltage generator configured to receive the first input voltage to generate a second voltage (element 210 and paragraph 58, a bandgap reference voltage generator generates a constant voltage based on an input voltage. This is the same as applicant’s BGR1); a first amplifier including a first input terminal configured to receive the second voltage (AMP receives VB11 from element 210), a second input terminal connected to a first node (the other terminal of AMP connected to R12 and R11), and an output terminal configured to output a preliminary voltage (V2); a first resistance element including a first electrode connected to a ground and a second electrode connected to the first node (R11 connected to ground and the second terminal of the AMP which is the first node); a second resistance element including a first electrode connected to the first node and a second electrode connected to the output terminal of the first amplifier (R12); a third voltage generator configured to receive the preliminary voltage to generate a third voltage (element 250 and paragraph 63. The booster receives the preliminary voltage V2. Applicant describes the third voltage generator as bandgap reference voltage. Both the booster of Kim et al. and applicant’s bandgap reference voltage provide a voltage and are equivalents); a second amplifier including a first input terminal configured to receive the third voltage (paragraph 52 and element 270. The amplifier receives the boosted voltage V3 as a power source), a second input terminal connected to a second node (see node connected to R13 and R14), and an output terminal configured to output the first voltage (V4); a third resistance element including a first electrode connected to the ground and a second electrode connected to the second node (R13); and a fourth resistance element including a first electrode connected to the second node and a second electrode connected to the output terminal of the second amplifier (R14).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the circuit of Kim et al. with the boosting circuit of Kim. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to substitute the circuit of Kim et al. with the boosting circuit of Kim because Kim shows it is known to use the claimed boosting circuit to provide a stable voltage in a display. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the use of Kim’s boosting circuit in the display of Kim et al. would work the same as it does in the display of Kim and would provide predictable results.
In regard to claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the first amplifier further includes a power terminal configured to receive the first input voltage (paragraph 58, V1 is the power source of the bandgap voltage generator).
In regard to claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the second amplifier further includes a power terminal configured to receive the preliminary analog reference voltage (fig. 2, element 272 receives V3).
In regard to claims 6, 13 and 19, Kim teaches wherein the first voltage generator is configured to generate the first voltage (V4) based on the first input voltage (V1) and a second input voltage (fig. 3 element 240 and Vref1-Vref3) that is smaller than the first input voltage (paragraph 60).
In regard to claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the first amplifier further includes a power terminal configured to receive the first input voltage (paragraph 58, V1 is the power source of the bandgap voltage generator), and wherein the second amplifier further includes a power terminal configured to receive the preliminary voltage (fig. 2, element 272 receives V3).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Sung Ha Kim (US 2022/0199005).
In regard to claim 17, Kim et al. teach all the elements of claim 17 except wherein the gate driver is configured to receive at least one of the driving voltages to generate the gate signals.
Sung Ha Kim teaches wherein the gate driver is configured to receive at least one of the driving voltages to generate the gate signals (element 160 provides the power the gamma voltage generation device and the gate driving device).
The two are analogous art because they both deal with the same field of invention of displays.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the apparatus of Kim et al. with the power control for the gate driver of Sung Ha Kim. The rationale is as follows: Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to provide the apparatus of Kim et al. with the power control for the gate driver of Sung Ha Kim because the single power controller of Sung Ha Kim for both the gate driver and data driver would work predictably in the apparatus of Kim et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a single circuit for power would reduce the number of parts and circuit complexity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Kim shows the second voltage generator (element 210) receiving the first input voltage V1 (paragraph 58). Kim fails to show the second voltage generator receiving a second input voltage that is smaller than the first input voltage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 14 that Kim et al. shows the driving voltages (VG0-VG2047) not being supplied to a gamma reference voltage generator which generates a gamma reference voltage. The office action states the driving voltages are the voltages output by the amplifiers AMP_G1-AMP_G10. These driving voltages are then provided to a resistor string which outputs the gamma reference voltages as shown in fig. 6. Paragraphs 99 and 100 show the decoder receives the data signal and gamma voltages and chooses the appropriate gamma reference voltage based on the gray level. This data voltage being output by the decoder is the action of a data driver.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH R HALEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621