DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Mizokawa et al. (US 20100068013 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mizokawa discloses:
A positioning apparatus, comprising:
a support tray (61) comprising a flat portion configured to support a wafer storage container (110) and an open region, wherein:
the support tray is moveable in a horizontal direction such that the flat portion of the support tray moves between an upper surface of a load port and a lower surface of the wafer storage container located on the upper surface of the load port (Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200];
the support tray is movable in an upwards direction to lift the wafer storage container from the upper surface of the load port (Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200]; and
the support tray is movable in a downward direction to place the wafer storage container onto the load port such that a lower surface of the wafer storage container that is exposed in the open region of the support tray contacts the upper surface of the load port (Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200].
Regarding Claim 2, Mizokawa discloses:
the flat portion of the support tray is located on two opposite sides of the open region (Fig. 9 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 14 & Fig. 15A & Fig. 15B & Fig. 15C & Fig. 15D).
Regarding Claim 3, Mizokawa discloses:
the support tray further comprises at least one sidewall extending adjacent to the flat portion of the support tray [edges extending along the support tray between the bottom surface of the support tray and upper surface of the support tray].
Regarding Claim 4, Mizokawa discloses:
at least one vertical support member (2 & 3 & 4 & 5) that supports the support tray (Fig. 1 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 10 & Fig. 11 & Fig. 20).
Regarding Claim 5, Mizokawa discloses:
the positioning apparatus comprises a pair of vertical support members (71) located on opposite sides of the flat portion of the support member (Fig. 6 & Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 6, Mizokawa discloses:
the support tray comprises a pair of slots through which respective vertical support members of the pair of vertical support members extend (Fig. 6 & Fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 7, Mizokawa discloses:
a vertical translation mechanism (62) configured to translate the support tray in a vertical direction with respect to the vertical support members [0094 & 0095 & 0096]; and
a horizontal positioning mechanism (63 & 64) configured to move the support tray in a horizontal direction with respect to the vertical support members [].
Regarding Claim 8, Mizokawa discloses:
the wafer storage container is a front opening unified pod (FOUP) [abstract & 0071 & 0072].
Regarding Claim 9, Mizokawa discloses:
A positioning apparatus operatively coupled to a load port (12 & 13) of a processing apparatus for processing semiconductor wafers contained in a wafer storage container, comprising:
a support tray (61) that is configured to support a wafer storage container (110) above an upper surface (42a & 42b & 42c & 42d) of the load port, wherein the support tray is movable vertically and horizontally with respect to the upper surface of the load port Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200], and the support tray comprises a flat portion configured to support the wafer storage container and an open region and the support tray is moveable horizontally between the upper surface of the load port and a lower surface of the wafer storage container located on the upper surface of the load port Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200], wherein:
in a first mode of operation, the positioning apparatus is configured to cause the support tray to remove a first wafer storage container from the upper surface of the load port and displace the first wafer storage container horizontally with respect to the upper surface of the load port to enable a second wafer storage container to be placed on the upper surface of the load port by a material handling system, and to position the first wafer storage container to be transferred to the material handling system (Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200], and
in a second mode of operation, the positioning apparatus is configured to cause the support tray to move to a position to receive a second wafer storage container from the material handling system while a first wafer storage container is located on the upper surface of the load port, and to move the second wafer storage container vertically and horizontally to place the second wafer storage container onto the upper surface of the load port after the first wafer storage container is transferred to the material handling system (Fig. 12A & Fig. 12B & Fig. 12C & Fig. 12D & Fig. 22A & Fig. 22B & Fig. 22C & Fig. 22D) [0124 & 0125 & 0126 & 0127 & 0128 & 0129 & 0130 & 0131 & 0132 & 0133 & 0134 & 0135 & 0136 & 0195 & 0196 & 0197 & 0198 & 0199 & 0200].
Regarding Claim 12, Mizokawa discloses:
the wafer storage container is a front opening unified pod (FOUP).
Claim(s) 13-16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Ono et al. (US 5527390 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Ono discloses:
A method, comprising:
moving a plurality of retractable members (88b & 419) [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 16 Lines 15-21] vertically downward to contact one or more features of a wafer storage container located on a support surface [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21];
continuing to move the plurality of retractable members vertically downward such that a force exerted on the retractable members by the one or more features (460) of the wafer storage container causes each of the retractable members to pivot to a retracted position [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21]; and
moving the plurality of retractable members vertically below the one or more features of the wafer storage container to cause each of the retractable members to pivot to an extended position wherein upper surfaces of each of the retractable members are located beneath the one or more features of the wafer storage container [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21].
Regarding Claim 14, Ono discloses:
moving the plurality of retractable members vertically upward to contact the one or more features of the wafer storage container located on the support surface [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21];
continuing to move the plurality of retractable members vertically upward to lift the wafer storage container from the support surface [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21].
Regarding Claim 15, Ono discloses:
moving the plurality of retractable members in a horizontal direction to laterally displace the wafer storage container with respect to the support surface [Column 16 Lines 10-14].
Regarding Claim 16, Ono discloses:
moving the plurality of retractable members in the horizontal direction comprises pivoting the plurality of retractable members away from the support surface (Fig. 16) [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21].
Regarding Claim 18, Ono discloses:
the plurality of retractable members are located on at least two opposing sides of the wafer storage container (Fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 19, Ono discloses:
the features of the wafer storage container comprise handles located on opposite sides of the wafer storage container (Fig. 18 & Fig. 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizokawa et al. (US 20100068013 A1) in view of Ono et al. (US 5527390 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Mizokawa does not teach:
a control system configured to cause the positioning apparatus to switch between the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation.
Ono teaches:
A positioning apparatus, comprising:
a support tray (419) comprising a flat portion configured to support a wafer storage container (CR) and an open region, wherein:
the support tray is moveable in a horizontal direction such that the flat portion of the support tray moves between an upper surface of a load port and a lower surface of the wafer storage container located on the upper surface of the load port (405) [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21];
the support tray is movable in an upwards direction to lift the wafer storage container from the upper surface of the load port [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21]; and
the support tray is movable in a downward direction to place the wafer storage container onto the load port such that a lower surface of the wafer storage container that is exposed in the open region of the support tray contacts the upper surface of the load port [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21];
a control system (212) configured to cause the positioning apparatus to switch between the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation [Column 14 Lines 7-34 & Column 17 Lines 1-22].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automated positioning apparatus for positioning storage containers on load ports taught by Mizokawa with the automated positioning apparatus for positioning storage containers on load ports having a control system configured to cause the positioning apparatus to switch between the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation taught by Ono in order to provide a control system capable of controlling the automated transfer process in order to ensure accurate positioning of the storage container and efficient operation of the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Mizokawa does not teach:
the control system controls the positioning apparatus to operate in the first mode of operation to reduce a time required to transfer the first wafer storage container to the material handling system and to operate in the second mode of operation to reduce a time required to transfer the second wafer storage container to the load port.
Ono teaches:
the control system controls the positioning apparatus to operate in the first mode of operation to reduce a time required to transfer the first wafer storage container to the material handling system and to operate in the second mode of operation to reduce a time required to transfer the second wafer storage container to the load port [Column 14 Lines 7-34 & Column 17 Lines 1-22].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the automated positioning apparatus for positioning storage containers on load ports taught by Mizokawa with the automated positioning apparatus for positioning storage containers on load ports having a control system configured to cause the positioning apparatus to switch between the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation where the control system controls the positioning apparatus to operate in the first mode of operation to reduce a time required to transfer the first wafer storage container to the material handling system and to operate in the second mode of operation to reduce a time required to transfer the second wafer storage container to the load port taught by Ono in order to provide a control system capable of controlling the automated transfer process in order to ensure accurate positioning of the storage container and efficient operation of the system and increase throughput.
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 5527390 A).
Regarding Claim 17, Ono teaches:
the force exerted on the retractable members by the one or more features of the wafer storage container is greater than a force that biases the retractable members into the extended position [Column 7 Lines 35-41 & Column 15 Lines 59-67 & Column 16 Lines 1-21].
Ono does not teach:
each of the retractable hooks is biased into the extended position by a spring mechanism.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a spring biasing mechanism for biasing the retractable hooks into the extended position in order to provide a failsafe for maintaining engagement of the hooks and preventing accidental disengagement of the hooks and dropping the carrier since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that springs for biasing gripping members were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 20, Ono teaches:
the wafer storage container is a semiconductor carrier with a front opening (Fig. 19).
Ono does not teach:
the wafer storage container is a front opening unified pod (FOUP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an FOUP for storing and transporting the wafers in order to prevent damage and contamination of the stored and transported wafers by providing a secure storage means since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that FOUPs for storing and transporting wafers were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652