Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 06/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/24/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wright (US Patent 6,866,899, with text citations to attached version with numbered paragraphs).
Regarding claim 1, Wright teaches a method of manufacturing an adhesive member (abstract, paras. 0021-0028, and other sections cited below), the method comprising:
providing a preliminary resin layer including a photopolymerization initiator (para. 0023) having a maximum absorption wavelength in a first wavelength range (para. 0022);
forming an intermediate resin layer by irradiating the preliminary resin layer with a first ultraviolet light having a wavelength different from the first wavelength range (paras. 0021-0022, 0025); and
forming an adhesive member by irradiating the intermediate resin layer with a second ultraviolet light having a wavelength within the first wavelength range (paras. 0021-0022, 0025).
Regarding claim 3, Wright teaches in the irradiating the second ultraviolet light to the intermediate resin layer, the first ultraviolet light having the wavelength different from the first wavelength range is not irradiated (paras. 0022-0028).
Regarding claim 4, Wright teaches in the irradiating the second ultraviolet light to the intermediate resin layer, the first ultraviolet light having the wavelength different from the first wavelength range is simultaneously irradiated to the intermediate resin layer (paras. 0021-0022, 0025).
Regarding claim 5, Wright teaches in the irradiating the first ultraviolet light, the first ultraviolet light includes sub-ultraviolet lights so that a sub-ultraviolet light having a wavelength smaller than the first wavelength range and a sub-ultraviolet light having a wavelength greater than the first wavelength range among the sub-ultraviolet lights are simultaneously irradiated (paras. 0021-0022, 0025).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kim (KR 20140114469, previously made of record on an IDS filing).
Regarding claim 2, Wright teaches the predetermined time interval is determined based on a fluidity of the preliminary resin layer (paras. 0016, 0041), but does not teach the other features in the claims 2 and 6-9.
However, regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a second starting point at which the second ultraviolet light is irradiated is spaced apart from a first starting point at which the first ultraviolet light is irradiated by a predetermined time interval (Figs. 6-7), with this configuration predictably enabling sequential irradiation at different wavelengths.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the irradiating the first ultraviolet light and the irradiating the second ultraviolet light are performed by an ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus including a plurality of first ultraviolet emission units which irradiate the first ultraviolet light and a plurality of second ultraviolet emission units which irradiate the second ultraviolet light (Figs. 1-6), with this configuration predictably enabling sequential irradiation at different wavelengths.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus irradiates the first ultraviolet light while the ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus is fixed on the preliminary resin layer, and the ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus irradiates the second ultraviolet light while the ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus is fixed on the intermediate resin layer (Figs. 1-6), with this configuration predictably enabling sequential irradiation at different wavelengths.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus irradiates the first ultraviolet light to an entirety of an area of the preliminary resin layer, and the ultraviolet light irradiating apparatus irradiates the second ultraviolet light to an entirety of an area of the intermediate resin layer (Figs. 1-6), with this configuration predictably enabling sequential irradiation at different wavelengths.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the plurality of first ultraviolet emission units is arranged in a matrix form in a plan view, and the plurality of second ultraviolet emission units is arranged in a matrix form in the plan view (Figs. 1, 6-7), with this configuration predictably enabling sequential irradiation at different wavelengths.
The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2143.I (rationale A) and KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745