DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-5 filed on 12/27/2024 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannar et al. (WO2006128253A1) in view of Clark et al. (Sci Rep 10, 14922 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-020-71822-0).
Regarding claim 1 Kannar (Example 3) teaches melting cocoa butter, adding a fruit derived bioactive powder that may be freeze dried fruit (page 16 line 2), mixing to obtain a substantially even dispersion, and cooling the cocoa butter containing product to solidify it. Kannar further summarizes melting/crystallization behavior of cocoa butter and the importance of formation of stable crystals which occurs in in the claimed temperature range of 34-35 deg. C. The objective during the manufacture of chocolate is therefore to ensure that the cocoa butter in the matrix is in the most stable beta form prior to cooling to solidify the product. Failure to control this. results in poor color, fat instability and poor textural properties the final product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have cocoa butter in the claimed range. Kannar does not specifically disclose a melanger for mixing.
Clark et. al., however, discloses that a melanger is a stone wet grinder conventionally employed in refining chocolate compositions and expressly demonstrates introducing liquefied cocoa butter and particulate ingredients to produce a visibly homogeneous mixture. Clark further teaches that melanging provides both mixing and particle size refining functions and that melangers are commonly employed at ambient processing temperatures, which are conducive to retaining bioactivity in natural materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have conducted the mixing operation in a melanger at around ambient temperature conditions with a reasonable expectation of successfully producing an infusion of small particle size dispersion of a particulate fruit powder in cocoa butter in solid form with retention of bioactives therein.
Regarding the time, Clark discloses a particle size of around 20 microns after about 8 hours in the melanger, with a starting particle size of 50+ microns. Clark therefore identifies melanger time as a result effective variable depending upon the equipment, process conditions and initial particle size (Table 1). Clark further identifies 20 microns as a desirable particle size of chocolate components for good chocolate quality (see Materials and Methods). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the melanging time to obtain a substantially uniform particle size in melanging, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Kannar discloses exemplary dried currants, cranberries, grapes, grapeseed (page 16 line 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider freeze-dried powders from any fruit as claimed to deliver bioactives by combining in a cocoa butter delivery system, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 3, Clark identifies 20 microns as a desirable particle size of chocolate components for good chocolate quality (see Materials and Methods) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the melanging time to obtain a substantially uniform particle size in melanging, and thereby a smooth and creamy texture in the infused product, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, the infused cocoa butter in Kannar infused with freeze-dried fruit powder in a melanger is expected to retain at least 90% of the antioxidants and bioactive compounds originally present in the freeze-dried fruit powder, as claimed, as the infusion therein has been achieved by identical methods, at around ambient temperature.
Regarding claim 5, Kannar discloses a functional food, chocolate, comprising cocoa butter infused with bioactives, motivating one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a functional chocolate comprising freeze-dried fruit powder infused in cocoa butter as a delivery system for antioxidants and bioactives, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-5 are therefore prima facie obvious in view of the art.
Correspondence
/SUBBALAKSHMI PRAKASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793