Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 19/003,334 filed on December 27, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzel et al (US Pat No 7642768) in view of Sugar et al (US Pat No 10126334).
Regarding claim 1, Kinzel discloses a current sensor assembly (500), comprising:
at least a portion of a printed circuit board (20); at least one sensor (10)disposed on the portion of the printed circuit board (col 6 lines 55-58 discloses on PCB), the at least one sensor being configured to measure current flowing through the portion of the printed circuit board (col 3 lines 5-10 discloses measuring current flowing through the PCB); and a processing unit (36) configured to: receive one or more current measurements from the at least one sensor (claim 18 discloses controller to receive measurements). Kinzel does not fully disclose determine an actual current value associated with the current flowing through the portion of the printed circuit board by scaling the one or more current measurements.
However, Sugar discloses determine an actual current value associated with the current flowing through the portion of the printed circuit board by scaling the one or more current measurements (claim 1 discloses scaling values of the measurements).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kinzel in view of Sugar in order to determine currents values across the PCB.
Regarding claim 2, Kinzel discloses wherein the printed circuit board includes one or more conductive tracks (using at lease 21a and 21b).
Regarding claim 3, Kinzel discloses wherein the one or more conductive tracks are disposed on the printed circuit board in parallel to the at least one sensor (shown in fig 5A that are at least parallel to the sensor).
Regarding claim 4, Kinzel does not fully disclose wherein the processing unit is further configured to scale the one or more current measurements based on a number of conductive tracks of the one or more conductive tracks.
However, Sugar discloses wherein the processing unit is further configured to scale the one or more current measurements based on a number of conductive tracks of the one or more conductive tracks (claim 1 discloses scaling values of the measurements).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kinzel in view of Sugar in order to determine currents values across the pcb.
Regarding claim 5, Kinzel discloses wherein the processing unit is further configured to scale the one or more current measurements by multiplying the one or more current measurements by the number of conductive tracks of the one or more conductive tracks (using the processor would be able to deal with measurements based on need).
Regarding claim 7, Kinzel discloses wherein the one or more conductive tracks are configured to receive an amount of currently equal to an amount of current flowing through the at least one sensor (col 6 lines 50-67 discloses the tracks are used to receive current. Therefore, equal to current flowing through the sensor).
Regarding claim 8, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least one sensor includes a Hall-effect sensor. (claim 16 discloses having a Hall device).
Regarding claim 9, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least one sensor has a current capacity that is less than an estimated current of the printed circuit board (col 6 lines 65-67 discloses can be for lower current sensors. Therefore, would have a capacity less than the estimated current).
Regarding claim 10, Kinzel discloses wherein the printed circuit board includes at least one busbar (col 6 lines 50-67 discloses using 110/ 120 as conductors).
Regarding claim 11, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least one busbar is disposed parallel to the at least one sensor (shown in figs 1-5A as being parallel).
Regarding claim 17, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least one busrbar is disposed on the printed circuit board equidistant between a current incoming portion and a current outgoing portion (as shown in fig 5A as being disposed on the PCB).
Regarding claim 18, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least one busbar is configured to receive an amount of currently equal to an amount of current flowing through the at least one sensor (col 6 lines 50-67 discloses receiving current flowing through the sensor).
Regarding claim 20, Kinzel discloses wherein the printed circuit board is associated with a power system (col 7 lines 37-49 discloses the sensor is associated with the power systems).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzel et al (US Pat No 7642768) in view of Sugar et al (US Pat No 10126334) in further view of Ma et al (USPGPub 20200367328).
Regarding claim 6, Kinzel in view of Sugar does not fully disclose wherein an impedance of the one or more conductive tracks is matched with an impedance of the at least one sensor.
However, Ma discloses wherein an impedance of the one or more conductive tracks is matched with an impedance of the at least one sensor (par 197 discloses detection circuitry including impedance matching). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kinzel in view of Sugar in further view of Ma in order to ensure max accuracy of the measuring sensor.
Claims 12-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinzel et al (US Pat No 7642768) in view of Sugar et al (US Pat No 10126334) in further view of Schwazberger et al (US Pat No. 11467188).
Regarding claim 12, Kinzel in view of Sugar does not fully disclose wherein the at least one busbar includes at least two conductors.
However, Schwazberger discloses the at least one busbar includes at least two conductors. (figs 1A shows 18 and 19 as conductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kinzel in view of Sugar in further view of Schwazbeger in order to determine current in the elements.
Regarding claim 13, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least two conductors have equal impedance (the conductors are the same they would have equal impedance).
Regarding claim 14, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least two conductors are of equal length (as shown in figs 1-5A as equal length).
Regarding claim 15, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least two conductors are of equal width (as shown n figs 1-5A as equal width).
Regarding claim 16, Kinzel discloses wherein the at least two conductors are of equal diameter (as shown in figs 1-5A).
Regarding claim 19, Kinzel in view of Sugar does not fully disclose the processing unit is configured to detect fluctuations in current flowing through the printed circuit board.
However, Schwazberger discloses the processing unit is configured to detect fluctuations in current flowing through the printed circuit board (col 9 lines 30-56 discloses detecting faults). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kinzel in view of Sugar in further view of Schwazbeger in order to determine faults in elements.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chraim et al (US Pat No 9547026): discloses energy monitor
Ausserlechner et al (USPGPub 20130138372): discloses current sensor with busbar and calibration.
Conclusion
/DOMINIC E HAWKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858