Final Rejection
Claims 15-19 are cancelled by Applicant
Claims 1-13, 20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101
Claims 1-2, 4, 12, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, 13, 20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 14 is allowed
Claim 21 is objected to as containing allowable subject matter
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13, 20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims recite mental processes. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims generally link abstract ideas to a generic computer and perform mere data gathering in relation to the mental processes. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they include mere instructions to perform mental processes on a generic computer.
Claims 1-13, 20, and 22-25 involve pattern-matching analysis based on observed data and selection of a generic remediation based on the analysis.
Claim(s) 1-13 and 22-25 recite(s) methods and claim(s) 20 recite(s) computer program products. Therefore, claim(s) 1-13, 20, and 22-25 fall(s) within a statutory category.
Claim 1 recites abstract ideas.
identifying an anomaly of the computer environment in dependence on the processing corresponds to observations, which are mental processes. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation in light of the specification encompasses humans identifying anomalies ([0028], [0106]).
Claim 1 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
A computer implemented method amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract ideas on a computer, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
training a machine learning model with use of supervised learning, wherein the training includes applying to the machine learning model training data that includes historical logging data and historical metrics data of a computer environment, the training data being labeled with anomaly label data; inferencing the machine learning model for output of a data collection profile amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment in dependence on one or more attribute of the data collection profile amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
performing an action for remediation of the anomaly amounts to an attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 2 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the historical logging data and historical metrics data of a computer environment define a superset of observatory data parameters amounts to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, wherein the set of observatory data parameters includes a count of observatory parameters less than a count of observatory data parameters of the superset of observatory data parameters amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 3 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the training the machine learning model includes performing the training to filter out observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data so that certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data are identified by the training amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
wherein the data collection profile references the certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data, wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment in dependence on one or more attribute of the data collection profile includes selectively organizing certain observatory data of the current logging data and metrics data in dependence on a determination of the certain observatory data is observatory data of the certain observatory data parameters amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 4 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the training the machine learning model includes performing the training to filter out observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data so that certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data are identified by the training amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
wherein the data collection profile references the certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 5 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, and wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment includes determining that current observatory data of the current logging data and metrics data is included in the set of observatory data parameters, responsively organizing the current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern data structure amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 6 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly data pattern amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
wherein the method includes storing the anomaly data pattern into a data repository amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 7 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, and wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment includes determining that current observatory data of the current logging data and metrics data is included in the set of observatory data parameters, responsively organizing the current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern data structure amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly data pattern amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
wherein the method includes storing the anomaly data pattern into a data repository amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 8 refines recited abstract ideas.
wherein the method includes determining a similarity between the current observatory data pattern data structure and the anomaly data pattern, wherein the identifying the anomaly of the computer environment in dependence on the processing includes performing the identifying in dependence on the determining the determining the similarity between the current observatory data pattern data structure and the anomaly data pattern corresponds to observations, which are mental processes. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitation in light of the specification encompasses humans identifying anomalies by comparing data ([0028], [0087], [0106]).
Claim 8 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, and wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment includes determining that current observatory data of the current logging data and metrics data is included in the set of observatory data parameters, responsively organizing the current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern data structure amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly data pattern amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
wherein the method includes storing the anomaly data pattern into a data repository amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 9 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes presenting text based data specifying the anomaly amounts to mere data output, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 10 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes presenting text based data specifying the anomaly and a root cause of the anomaly amounts to mere data output, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 11 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes presenting text based data specifying a recommended remediation for remediating the anomaly amounts to mere data output, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 12 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes implementing the remediation in the computer environment amounts to an attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim 13 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes retrieving a recommended remediation from a data repository amounts to mere data gathering, which is insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
wherein the recommended remediation has been determined by inferencing a trained predictive model trained by machine learning with training data that comprises performance data of the computer environment observed in response to historical applied remediations applied to the computer environment amounts to merely using a computer in its ordinary capacity, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions because the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(I)(A).
Claim(s) 20, the computer program product(s) that implement(s) the method(s) of claim(s) 1, respectively, is/are rejected on the same grounds as claim(s) 1, respectively.
Claim 20 additionally recites the following abstract idea:
determining that … fails to match (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), judgments, particularly “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” and identifying patterns are mental processes) …
Claim 20 does not recite additional limitations that integrate the judicial exceptions into practical application.
A computer program product comprising: a computer readable storage medium readable by one or more processing circuit and storing instructions for execution by one or more processor for performing operations amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract ideas on a computer, which is mere instructions to apply an exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
… a current observatory data pattern data structure organized from the current logging data and metrics data (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) … an anomaly data pattern (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) stored in a data repository (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), “using a computer in its ordinary capacity … e.g. to receive, store, or transmit data … does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application”);
responsive to the determining that the current observatory data pattern data structure fails to match the anomaly data pattern, sending prompting data that prompts entry of new anomaly label data for the current observatory data pattern data structure (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application; MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), “using a computer in its ordinary capacity … e.g. to receive, store, or transmit data … does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application”; MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity; MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity);
and retraining the machine learning model (well-understood, routine, and conventional activity is not enough to integrate the claims into a practical application) using the new anomaly label data (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) and inferencing the retrained machine learning model (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application) for output (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) of an updated data collection profile (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
It is well-understood, routine, and conventional to retrain models, particularly off new labels and/or expert feedback, as shown by the following:
Data Camp, “Feedback Loop, Re-Training, and Labeling”
Stack Overflow, “Incorporating User Feedback in a ML Model,” 2017
Chen et al., “Perspectives on Incorporating Expert Feedback into Model Updates,” Patterns, Vol. 4, Issue 7, 2023
The additional elements of the claim do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application. The claims simply state mental processes with mere instructions to perform these abstract ideas on a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)(3)). The computer is cited at such a high level of generality that it cannot be determined to be a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)) and is simply linking the judicial exception to a particular technology (MPEP 2106.05(h)). The claim recites only the idea of a solution, but fails to recite details as to how the solution to the problem is accomplished, because it leaves a majority of the analysis to the generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)).
Claim 22 further recites additional elements and mental processes.
wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data includes organizing (organizing is considered a mental process of an evaluation or opinion with regards to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)) current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity) data structure (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application), wherein the identifying the anomaly includes (identifying is a mental process of a judgment with regards to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)) …
All remaining limitations are analyzed above with respect to Claim 20.
Claim 23 recites:
wherein the data collection profile specifies a metrics collection interval, a set of collected metrics, a log-data span time, and a set of collected log keys, and wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data includes monitoring current metrics data according to the metrics collection interval and the set of collected metrics and monitoring current logging data according to the log-data span time and the set of collected log keys (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity; monitoring, as claimed, is considered an observation with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), and thus a mental process).
Claim 24 recites:
wherein the training the machine learning model includes filtering out (a judgment of what should be filtered out is considered a mental process with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)) least relevant logging data parameters, least relevant metrics data parameters, and least relevant time periods from historical observatory data so that the data collection profile excludes the least relevant logging data parameters, the least relevant metrics data parameters, and the least relevant time periods from live real-time organizing of current logging data and current metrics data (MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity).
Claim 25 recites:
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes inferencing a remediation optimizing machine learning model using an anomaly identifier associated with the anomaly and a plurality of applied remediation identifiers (MPEP 2106.05(f), mere instructions to apply an abstract idea on a generic computer is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application), outputting predicted performance observatory data for respective applied remediation identifiers of the plurality of applied remediation identifiers (MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity; MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity), ranking remediations according to the predicted performance observatory data, and selecting a remediation for the anomaly based on the ranking (determining a ranking based off observations and selecting an item based on ranking are considered determinations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions, and thus are considered mental processes with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)).
For at least the reasons provided above, claim(s) 1-13, 20, and 22-25 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 12, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 20220291989 (“Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches
A computer implemented method comprising: ([0109]: computer implemented method)
training a machine learning model with use of supervised learning, wherein the training includes applying to the machine learning model training data that includes historical logging data and historical metrics data of a computer environment, the training data being labeled with anomaly label data; ([0087]-[0089], [0092], [0096]: use supervised learning to train a machine learning model on a computer system’s historical logs and historical operational parameters labeled with root causes of degradation)
inferencing the machine learning model for output of a data collection profile; ([0099], [0100]: obtain a log level from the machine learning model)
processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment in dependence on one or more attribute of the data collection profile; ([0098], [0102], [0103]: obtain current logs and operational parameters based on the configuration of the log level)
identifying an anomaly of the computer environment in dependence on the processing; and ([0100], [0101]: identify a cause of degradation of the computer system)
performing an action for remediation of the anomaly. ([0104], [0105]: perform a remedial action for the cause of degradation)
Regarding claim 2, Wang further teaches
wherein the historical logging data and historical metrics data of a computer environment define a superset of observatory data parameters, and wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, wherein the set of observatory data parameters includes a count of observatory parameters less than a count of observatory data parameters of the superset of observatory data parameters. ([0102]: a log level can generate operational parameters for variables that are a subset of variables of the historical logs and historical operational parameters)
Regarding claim 4, Wang further teaches
wherein the training the machine learning model includes performing the training to filter out observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data so that certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data are identified by the training, wherein the data collection profile references the certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data. ([0082], [0102]: training to select a log level that generates operational parameters for variables that are a subset of variables of the historical logs and historical operational parameters)
Regarding claim 12, Wang further teaches
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes implementing the remediation in the computer environment. ([0104], [0105]: perform a remedial action for the cause of degradation)
With regards to Claim 23, Wang further teaches:
wherein the data collection profile specifies a metrics collection interval, a set of collected metrics, a log-data span time, and a set of collected log keys, and wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data includes monitoring current metrics data according to the metrics collection interval and the set of collected metrics and monitoring current logging data according to the log-data span time and the set of collected log keys (Paragraphs 0036 and 0098-0103, various metrics considered in the process, including time series of operational parameter values, time series of log data, various operational parameters, portions of log data, and log data, and their relation to how data is collected). Please note that log keys are being broadly interpreted as data contained in a log, as they are broadly described in Paragraph 0066 of the specification. All other limitations are also given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
With regards to Claim 25, Wang further teaches:
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes inferencing a remediation optimizing machine learning model using an anomaly identifier associated with the anomaly and a plurality of applied remediation identifiers, outputting predicted performance observatory data for respective applied remediation identifiers of the plurality of applied remediation identifiers, ranking remediations according to the predicted performance observatory data, and selecting a remediation for the anomaly based on the ranking (Paragraph 0100, ranking and machine learning inputs and outputs; Paragraphs 0104-0105 and 0026, cause associated with remediation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220291989 (“Wang”) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20060075308 (“Haselden”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang further teaches
wherein the training the machine learning model includes performing the training to filter out observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data so that certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data are identified by the training, wherein the data collection profile references the certain observatory data parameters of the historical logging data and historical metrics data ([0082], [0102]: training to select a log level that generates operational parameters for variables that are a subset of variables of the historical logs and historical operational parameters)
processing current logging data and metrics data ([0098], [0102], [0103]: obtain current logs and operational parameters based on the configuration of the log level)
Wang does not further teach the remaining limitations.
Haselden teaches
wherein the processing current logging data…of the computer environment in dependence on one or more attribute of the data collection profile includes selectively organizing certain observatory data of the current logging data…in dependence on a determination of the certain observatory data is observatory data of the certain observatory data parameters. ([0033]-[0035]: if a logging configuration indicates that information in a log entry should be collected based on filtering rules, format the collected information into a specified format)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Haselden’s log formatting with Wang’s logging.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to make the combination to improve flexibility and extensibility in log collection (Haselden, [0042], [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Haselden further teaches
wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, and wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data of the computer environment includes determining that current observatory data of the current logging data and metrics data is included in the set of observatory data parameters, responsively organizing the current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern data structure. (Wang, [0098], [0102], [0103]: obtain current logs and operational parameters based on the configuration of the log level. Haselden, [0033]-[0035]: if a logging configuration indicates that information in a log entry should be collected based on filtering rules, format the collected information into a specified format)
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220291989 (“Wang”) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20160203036 (“Mezic”).
Regarding claim 6, Wang further teaches
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly ([0100], [0101]: obtain a cause of degradation of the computer system from the machine learning model)
Wang does not further teach the remaining limitations.
Mezic teaches
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly data pattern and wherein the method includes storing the anomaly data pattern into a data repository. ([0055]: cause a machine learning model to generate a fault signature and store the fault signature in a store)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Mezic’s fault signature with Wang’s degradation analysis.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to make the combination to improve the accuracy of fault detection in data-based systems (Mezic, [0030], [0033]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220291989 (“Wang”) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20060075308 (“Haselden”) and US Patent Application Publication No. 20160203036 (“Mezic”).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches
processing current logging data and metrics data ([0098], [0102], [0103]: obtain current logs and operational parameters based on the configuration of the log level)
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly ([0100], [0101]: obtain a cause of degradation of the computer system from the machine learning model)
Wang does not further teach the remaining limitations.
Haselden teaches
wherein the data collection profile references a set of observatory data parameters, and wherein the processing current logging data…of the computer environment includes determining that current observatory data of the current logging data…is included in the set of observatory data parameters, responsively organizing the current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern data structure ([0033]-[0035]: if a logging configuration indicates that information in a log entry should be collected based on filtering rules, format the collected information into a specified format)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Haselden’s log formatting with Wang’s logging.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to make the combination to improve flexibility and extensibility (Haselden, [0042], [0046]).
Wang in view of Haselden does not further teach the remaining limitations.
Mezic teaches
wherein the inferencing the machine learning model includes inferencing the machine learning model for output of an anomaly data pattern and wherein the method includes storing the anomaly data pattern into a data repository. ([0055]: cause a machine learning model to generate a fault signature and store the fault signature in a store)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Mezic’s fault signature with Wang in view of Haselden’s degradation detection.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to make the combination to improve the accuracy of fault detection in data-based systems (Mezic, [0030], [0033]).
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 20220291989 (“Wang”) in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20230018199 (“Mahamuni”).
Regarding claim 9, Wang does not further teach the remaining limitations.
Mahamuni teaches
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes presenting text based data specifying the anomaly. ([0089]: display to an admin a justification for a root cause of failure using logs and messages)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine Mahamuni’s failure presentation with Wang’s degradation analysis.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to make the combination to assist admins with present and future failure handling (Mahamuni, [0018], [0019]).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Mahamuni further teaches
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes presenting text based data specifying the anomaly and a root cause of the anomaly. (Mahamuni, [0089]: display to an admin a justification for a root cause of failure using logs and messages)
Regarding claim 11, Wang in view of Mahamuni further teaches
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes presenting text based data specifying a recommended remediation for remediating the anomaly. (Mahamuni, [0089], [0090]: display to an admin a justification for a recommended failure remediation using logs and messages)
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Mahamuni further teaches
wherein the performing the action for remediation of the anomaly includes retrieving a recommended remediation from a data repository, wherein the recommended remediation has been determined by inferencing a trained predictive model trained by machine learning with training data that comprises performance data of the computer environment observed in response to historical applied remediations applied to the computer environment. (Mahamuni, [0073], [0114], [0115]: retrieve a recommended remediation from a knowledge base, which determines the recommended remediation from a machine learning model that has been trained on the feedback of previously applied remediations)
Claims 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kholodkov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2025/0147754 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kholodkov.
With regards to Claim 20, Wang teaches:
A computer program product comprising: a computer readable storage medium readable by one or more processing circuit and storing instructions for execution by one or more processor for performing operations comprising: ([0109]: memory storing program instructions executable by one or more processor to perform the methods)
determining that a current observatory data pattern data structure organized from the current logging data and metrics data fails to match an anomaly data pattern stored in a data repository (Fig. 13; Paragraphs 0100-0103, if the probability of a match is low, the method repeats);
and retraining the machine learning model … and inferencing the retrained machine learning model for output of an updated data collection profile (Fig. 13; Paragraphs 0098-0103, obtaining new data from the machine learning model due to and insufficient result; Paragraph 0095, additional training and updating via user feedback; Paragraph 0023, log levels).
Please see the above rejection of Claim 1 for citations of the remaining limitations.
Kholodkov teaches the following not explicitly taught by Wang:
responsive to the determining that the current observatory data pattern data structure fails to match the anomaly data pattern, sending prompting data that prompts entry of new anomaly label data for the current observatory data pattern data structure (Paragraph 0027, request for human review due to inability to be classified);
… using the new anomaly label data (Paragraph 0027, human user determining a new category and retraining based off of this feedback) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in which said subject matter pertains to, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, retrain the model using a human created label in the machine of Wang, as taught by Kholodkov, in order to identify errors that could not be previously identified by the model and further fine-tune the training of the model (Kholodkov, Paragraph 0027).
With regards to Claim 22, Wang teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches:
wherein the processing current logging data and metrics data includes organizing current observatory data into a current observatory data pattern data structure (Paragraphs 0085, 0094, 0098, 0100, and 0102-0103, organizing the various parameters and log related data), wherein the identifying the anomaly includes (Fig. 13; Paragraphs 0098-0103, process used to identify anomaly) …
Wang in view of Kholodkov teaches the remaining limitations of Claim 22. Please see the above rejection of Claim 20 for citations of these limitations, as well as the motivation to combine references in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Coble et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0144558 A1), hereinafter referred to as Coble.
With regards to Claim 24, Wang teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches:
wherein the training the machine learning model … the data collection profile … from live real-time organizing of current logging data and current metrics data (Fig. 13 and Paragraphs 0102, 0099, and 0095, organizing time series data and iteratively training in order to receive a data collection profile).
Coble teaches the following not explicitly taught by Wang:
… includes filtering out least relevant logging data parameters, least relevant metrics data parameters, and least relevant time periods from historical observatory data so that … excludes the least relevant logging data parameters, the least relevant metrics data parameters, and the least relevant time periods (Paragraph 0023, filtering out various irrelevant parameters and time periods) …
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in which said subject matter pertains to, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, filter out irrelevant data, as taught by Coble, in the method of Wang, in order to focus on relevant data and minimize storage burden (Coble, Paragraph 0023).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As discussed in the interview held on June 4th, 2026, the collection profile being modified based on the determination of similarity overcomes the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 due to integrating the claims into a practical application. Additionally, the combination of limitations as recited in Claim 14 cannot be found in the prior art, rendering Claim 14 as allowable due to the unique combination of elements.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 21 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter along the same rationale as that of Claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 30th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claims should not be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regards to Claim 1, certain features upon which Applicant relies to show that the invention is not a mental process, such as resource-economization, changes to the processing, and large amounts of data, are not claimed. It should be noted with regards to the changing of the processing, if this feature were to be claimed such as in Claims 14 and 21, Claim 1 would overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. Applicant further argues that, “Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method involving a specific sequence of operations performed in the context of a computer environment.” Implementing a mental process on a computer, using a computer as a tool, and applying an invention to a field of use like computing are not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(2); MPEP 2106.05(f)(2); MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Applicant argues that the invention provides a technological improvement to the training of a machine learning algorithm, but the details of the training are not sufficient enough to show such an improvement (MPEP 2106.05(a)), and instead, the training is a part of using the computer as a tool to complete the mental processes of Claim 1, due to the generality of the exception and description of technical elements (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Applicant argues that the computer is used to determine what data to collect, but this is using a computer to complete an existing process, which is considered mere instructions to apply an exception on a computer and not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). The claims merely insert data into a model, output data, and use the mental process of identifying (MPEP 2106.05(g), mere data gathering; MPEP 2106.05(f), apply it; MPEP 2106.05(g), the display and output of data is considered insignificant extra-solution activity; MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A), “observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions,” are mental processes; Specification, Paragraph 0002, human IT teams analyze logs for troubleshooting).
Applicant further argues that due to the speed of the process being implemented on a computer, the invention provides an improvement to the technology; however, "claiming the improved speed or efficiency inherent with applying the abstract idea on a computer" does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide an inventive concept, as stated in MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Examiner reasserts that the invention as claimed in Claim 1 is an attempt to cover any solution to any identified problem. As previously stated, tying the invention to the field of use of computing is not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(h)). The claim recites only the idea of a solution due to the lack of details of the solution. The solution is not a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Applicant also argues that a technical improvement is provided by processing a data profile, but the data profile is not described and claimed in such detail as to be considered a technological improvement as opposed to mere data gathering. Details of how the data is structured are not given, and thus the limitation is seen as collecting and comparing known information, which is not a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A)). Applicant further argues that the anomaly detection and remediation is an improvement to the technology, but the technological aspects are not described in great enough detail for the claim to be considered a technological improvement and are rather considered an improvement to a mental process, which is still considered a mental process under MPEP 2106.04(a)(II) (also see Paragraph 0002 of the specification in which a human accomplishes this process).
Examiner reiterates that Claim 1 contains both abstract ideas and insignificant additional elements. Please see the above rejection for mapping of the limitations to these respective categories.
With regards to Claim 2, The Office maintains that Claim 2 is mere data gathering and insignificant extra-solution activity. Applicant argues that “the claim is not directed to collecting information for its own sake.” MPEP 2106.05(g) explains that this extra-solution activity can be post-solution or pre-solution to aid in the abstract idea but is still not considered enough to integrate the claims into a practical application.
With regards to Claims 3 and 4, Applicant argues that the organizing of the data ties the claims to a practical application. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims 3 and 4 recite organizing and processing data so that the computer may better complete the mental process of identifying. Data gathering to aid in a mental process and using a computer to implement or aid in an existing process are not enough to integrate the claims into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g) and MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Furthermore, using the aspects of the computer to improve the mental process of identifying is an improvement to a mental process, which is still considered an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a)(II)).
With regards to Claim 5, Applicant argues that the claimed data processing is a practical application. Examiner disagrees and reiterates that as stated in MPEP 2106.05(g)(3), data required and used by the mental process does not amount to significantly more.
With regards to Claims 6-8, the use of the machine learning model to output the data is not enough to integrate the claims into a practical application as argued. “Requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer,” is not considered a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)(v)). “Using a computer in its ordinary capacity … e.g. to receive, store, or transmit data … does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application,” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
With regards to Claim 8, comparing patterns is a mental process that could be done with pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III), a process that a human could do with a pen and paper is still a mental process). The claimed data structure is broad and is interpreted as human-readable data on paper or a computer. Language of the arguments specifies that the pattern is machine learning generated, showing further that the process relies on general outputs created by the computer and not an intricate technical process as being argued (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
With regards to Claims 9-13, specifying a type of data to be manipulated and outputting data are not enough to integrate the invention into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)). The remediation action is not specified and thus can only be determined to be a generic apply it step. The mental process has been completed, and a solution is merely being “applied” (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 14 is not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. As discussed in the interview held on June 4th, 2026, using the similarity to update the data collection is a practical application that enacts a change upon the computer system (the algorithm changes how the data collection is accomplished) and mirrors the eligibility of USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Example 40.
Claims 15-19 have been cancelled by Applicant and thus are not considered at this time.
With regards to Claim 20, Applicant argues that Claim 20 mirrors USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Example 40 and thus should be allowed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 20 does not change the data collection, as in Example 40 and Claim 14, and is instead focused on retraining the model in order to improve the mental process of identifying (MPEP 2106.04(a)(II)). Using a computer or a computer program to accomplish an existing process and gathering data to aid in an abstract idea are not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f), MPEP 2106.04(a)(II), and MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Applicant further argues that Claim 20 should be allowable for the same reasons as argued for Claim 1. Please see above for responses to arguments relating to Claim 1.
Claim 21 is not rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 for reasons similar to Claim 14. Please see the above rationale.
With regards to Claim 22, similar to Claim 20, there is no modification of the collection pattern and recollection is not performed based off the claimed process. Please see the above rationale.
With regards to Claim 23, MPEP 2106.05(g), “selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated” is considered insignificant extra-solution activity and not enough to integrate the claim into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
With regards to Claim 24, determination and selection are mental processes with respect to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(A). Data collection used to aid the abstract ideas is considered insignificant extra-solution activity and using a computer for abstract ideas do not integrate the claims into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(g); MPEP 2106.05(f) and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(2)). Applicant argues that Claim 24 provides an improvement to the technology, but improvements to mental processes are still considered abstract (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(2)). Additionally, the improvement consideration is considered jointly with the apply it consideration (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
With regards to Claim 25, please see the above rejection for identification of mental processes and additional elements which do not integrate the claim into a practical application.
Applicant argues that the claims should not be rejected under the prior art. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a specific order of the method) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). While certain elements of the method are dependent upon each other, there is not an order narrower than that of the method of Wang as argued.
Applicant further argues that various elements of the claims are not taught. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reasonably detailed citations are given in the above rejections. Applicant is reminded that all terms are given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Terms such as data collection profile, metrics data, parameters, and others are considered to be very broad. Examiner recommends further specifying details and properties of such terms.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
For example, Applicant argues that the log level does not anticipate the data collection profile, but features of a data collection profile that would differ from the log level are not claimed. Paragraph 0102 of Wang, cited in the above rejection of Claim 1, gives examples of how log levels determine what data to collect. Anomaly label data, historical metrics data, and historical logging data are cited above as root cause labels, historical operational parameters, and historical logs, respectively.
Examiner reasserts that all limitations rejected under prior art are given appropriate and thorough citations, including those of Claims 1, 2, and others. Please read the above rejections for further details.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner asserts that all claim limitations rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 would have been obvious in light of the prior art, as required by MPEP 2141 and 2142.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim 14 is allowed and Claim 21 is objected to for reasons explained in the above section, Allowable Subject Matter.
With regards to Claim 20, Examiner reiterates that Claim 20 does not contain all limitations of Claim 14 and does not meet the suggestions set forth in the interview. Claim 20 is rejected under the prior art. Please see the above citations for further details.
With regards to newly added Claims 22-25, please see the above rejections. New citations and references have been added accordingly to meet all limitations.
With regards to arguments discussing various case law, examiners are required to examine by the MPEP, which is in part based on case law. Examiner asserts that all appropriate requirements are met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2113 /BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113