DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are pending in this application.
Claims 6, 12, and 18 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 7, and 13 are amended.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Foreign Reference WO2024085580A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Publication 20210284200 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a system for providing functional safety in a Software Defined Vehicle (SDV) using sensors framework (Kim: Pg. 9 Lines 46-47 ; signal processing devices may execute a plurality of virtual machines), comprising: an Emergency Controller (EC) (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 40-45; the processor controls it to operate in an emergency mode); a plurality of Zonal Controllers (ZCs), each corresponding to one of a plurality of zones of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 12 Lines 38-39; plurality of area signal processing devices); a plurality of sets of Primary Sensors (PSs), each set of PSs corresponding to one of the plurality of zones and coupled to a corresponding ZC of that zone (Kim: Pg. 5 Lines 40-42, Pg. 17 Lines 50-51; sensor devices and processors inside the vehicle may be placed in each of the plurality of zones; main sensor devices); a plurality of sets of Secondary Sensors (SSs), each set of SSs corresponding to one of the plurality of zones and coupled to a corresponding ZC of another zone (Kim: Pg. 15 Lines 54-58; second sensor data or second camera data received from an auxiliary sensor device (SNb) or an auxiliary camera); and ……. , wherein the EC or the plurality of ZCs are dynamically configured to receive sensor data from one of: the plurality of sets of PSs, the plurality of sets of SSs, or the plurality of sets of TSs based on a determination of one of a plurality of modes of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 4-6, 3 Lines 28-30; processor centrally stores second sensor data or second camera data received from a sensor device or camera different from the sensor device or camera), and wherein the one of the plurality of modes is determined based on monitoring of the plurality of sets of PSs or the plurality of sets of SSs corresponding to the plurality of zones (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 50-43, Pg. 2 Lines 31-33; normal mode; control the emergency mode or degraded mode to operate based on the error grade or recovery grade).
Kim doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), each set of TSs corresponding to one of the plurality of zones and coupled to the EC ……… wherein the SDV is determined to be in an emergency mode as the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring, and wherein in the emergency mode, the EC is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs.
However Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), each set of TSs corresponding to one of the plurality of zones and coupled to the EC (Liu: Pg. Para. 33; set of shared sensors includes side-inclined LIDARs, side rear-view facing radars, rear-view facing camera, and a front-view facing radar) ……… wherein the SDV is determined to be in an emergency mode as the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring (Liu: Pg. Para. 29-30; while backup or secondary ADS may take over the control of the ADV in response to determining that the primary ADS fails to function properly), and wherein in the emergency mode, the EC is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs.
Liu teaches a primary set of sensors, a secondary set of sensors as the redundant sensors, and a third set of sensors as the shared set of sensors (Liu: Para. 33). When the primary sensors are being used in normal mode the secondary sensors are in standby mode. Liu teaches the secondary sensors take over when the primary sensors fails to operate properly (Liu: Para. 29-30). Liu teaches the primary sensors are responsible for normal autonomous driving, while shared or redundant sets of sensors may take over the control in response to determining that the primary sensors fails to function properly (Liu: Para. 29). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to have an emergency mode using the shared sensors when both the primary and redundant sets of sensors fail.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because the shared set of sensors allows for safe vehicle function if both the first and second sets of sensors fail (Liu: Para. 26, 29).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, comprising: a Central Controller (CC) coupled to each of the plurality of ZCs and the EC, wherein one of the CC or the plurality of ZCs is configured as a Vehicle Safety Monitor (VSM) (Kim: Pg. 5 Lines 47-51, Fig. 5; signal processing device 170a may be a High Performance Computing (HPC) gateway; integrated HPC and can exchange data with an external communication module or a processor within a plurality of zones (Z1 to Z4)), and wherein the VSM is configured to dynamically activate one of: the plurality of sets of PSs or the plurality of sets of SSs corresponding to the plurality of zones based on the monitoring (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 40-43; in normal mode, sensor data received from a sensor device or camera data received from a camera are transmitted to the central signal processing device).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a method for providing functional safety in a Software Defined Vehicle (SDV) using sensors framework, the method comprising: determining one of a plurality of modes of the SDV based on: monitoring of a plurality of sets of Primary Sensors (PSs) or a plurality of sets of Secondary Sensors (SSs) corresponding to a plurality of zones of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 50-43, Pg. 2 Lines 31-33; normal mode; control the emergency mode or degraded mode to operate based on the error grade or recovery grade), wherein the SDV comprises: an Emergency Controller (EC) (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 40-45; the processor controls it to operate in an emergency mode), a plurality of Zonal Controllers (ZCs), each corresponding to one of the plurality of zones of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 12 Lines 38-39; plurality of area signal processing devices), ……… , wherein each set of PSs from the plurality of sets of PSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to a corresponding ZC of that zone (Kim: Pg. 5 Lines 40-42, Pg. 17 Lines 50-51; sensor devices and processors inside the vehicle may be placed in each of the plurality of zones; main sensor devices), wherein each set of TSs from the plurality of sets of TSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to the EC (Kim: Pg. 15 Lines 54-58; second sensor data or second camera data received from an auxiliary sensor device (SNb) or an auxiliary camera), wherein each set of PSs from the plurality of sets of PSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to a corresponding ZC of that zone (Kim: Pg. 12 Lines 38-39; plurality of area signal processing devices), dynamically receiving, by the EC or the plurality of ZCs, sensor data from one of: the plurality of sets of PSs, the plurality of sets of SSs, or the plurality of sets of TSs based on the determination of one of the plurality of modes of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 4-6, 3 Lines 28-30; processor centrally stores second sensor data or second camera data received from a sensor device or camera different from the sensor device or camera).
Kim doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), wherein each set of TSs from the plurality of sets of TSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to the EC …….. determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as an emergency mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring; and dynamically receiving, by the EC, the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs upon determining the emergency mode.
However Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), wherein each set of TSs from the plurality of sets of TSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to the EC (Liu: Pg. Para. 33; set of shared sensors includes side-inclined LIDARs, side rear-view facing radars, rear-view facing camera, and a front-view facing radar) ……… determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as an emergency mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring (Liu: Pg. Para. 29-30; while backup or secondary ADS may take over the control of the ADV in response to determining that the primary ADS fails to function properly), and dynamically receiving, by the EC, the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs upon determining the emergency mode.
Liu teaches a primary set of sensors, a secondary set of sensors as the redundant sensors, and a third set of sensors as the shared set of sensors (Liu: Para. 33). When the primary sensors are being used in normal mode the secondary sensors are in standby mode. Liu teaches the secondary sensors take over when the primary sensors fails to operate properly (Liu: Para. 29-30). Liu teaches the primary sensors are responsible for normal autonomous driving, while shared or redundant sets of sensors may take over the control in response to determining that the primary sensors fails to function properly (Liu: Para. 29). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to have an emergency mode using the shared sensors when both the primary and redundant sets of sensors fail.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because the shared set of sensors allows for safe vehicle function if both the first and second sets of sensors fail (Liu: Para. 26, 29).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the method of claim 7, wherein the SDV comprises: a Central Controller (CC) coupled to each of the plurality of ZCs and the EC, wherein one of the CC or the plurality of ZCs is configured as a Vehicle Safety Monitor (VSM) (Kim: Pg. 5 Lines 47-51, Fig. 5; signal processing device 170a may be a High Performance Computing (HPC) gateway; integrated HPC and can exchange data with an external communication module or a processor within a plurality of zones (Z1 to Z4)), and wherein the monitoring comprising: dynamically activating, by the VSM, one of: the plurality of sets of PSs or the plurality of sets of SSs corresponding to the plurality of zones (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 40-43; in normal mode, sensor data received from a sensor device or camera data received from a camera are transmitted to the central signal processing device).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the method of claim 7, comprising: determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as a fault-operational mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs as faulty based on the monitoring (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 13-16, Pg. 4 Lines 20-22; if the amount of sensor data or camera data received is less than or equal to the first reference value, the processor determines that the performance of the sensor device or camera is degraded and sends the performance deterioration information or deterioration mode entry information to the central signal processing device; the processor may control transmission of diagnosis result data of sensor data or camera data to the area signal processing device based on sensor data or camera data received from the area signal processing device); and dynamically receiving, by each of the plurality of ZCs, the sensor data from the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone upon determining the fault-operational mode (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 50-43, Pg. 2 Lines 31-33; normal mode; control the emergency mode or degraded mode to operate based on the error grade or recovery grade).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for providing functional safety in a software defined vehicle (SDV) using sensors framework, the computer-executable instructions configured for: determining one of a plurality of modes of the SDV based on monitoring of a plurality of sets of Primary Sensors (PSs) or a plurality of sets of Secondary Sensors (SSs) corresponding to a plurality of zones of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 50-43, Pg. 2 Lines 31-33; normal mode; control the emergency mode or degraded mode to operate based on the error grade or recovery grade), wherein the SDV comprises: an Emergency Controller (EC) (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 40-45; the processor controls it to operate in an emergency mode), a plurality of Zonal Controllers (ZCs), each corresponding to one of the plurality of zones of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 12 Lines 38-39; plurality of area signal processing devices), ………. , wherein each set of PSs from the plurality of sets of PSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to a corresponding ZC of that zone (Kim: Pg. 12 Lines 38-39; plurality of area signal processing devices), wherein each set of SSs from the plurality of sets of SSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to a corresponding ZC from another zone (Kim: Pg. 15 Lines 54-58; second sensor data or second camera data received from an auxiliary sensor device (SNb) or an auxiliary camera), and dynamically receiving, by the EC or the plurality of ZCs, sensor data from one of: the plurality of sets of PSs, the plurality of sets of SSs, or the plurality of sets of TSs based on the determination of one of the plurality of modes of the SDV (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 4-6, 3 Lines 28-30; processor centrally stores second sensor data or second camera data received from a sensor device or camera different from the sensor device or camera).
Kim doesn’t explicitly teach a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), wherein each set of TSs from the plurality of sets of TSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to the EC …….. determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as an emergency mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring; and dynamically receiving, by the EC, the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs upon determining the emergency mode.
However Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), wherein each set of TSs from the plurality of sets of TSs corresponds to one of the plurality of zones and is coupled to the EC (Liu: Pg. Para. 33; set of shared sensors includes side-inclined LIDARs, side rear-view facing radars, rear-view facing camera, and a front-view facing radar) ……… determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as an emergency mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring (Liu: Pg. Para. 29-30; while backup or secondary ADS may take over the control of the ADV in response to determining that the primary ADS fails to function properly), and dynamically receiving, by the EC, the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs upon determining the emergency mode.
Liu teaches a primary set of sensors, a secondary set of sensors as the redundant sensors, and a third set of sensors as the shared set of sensors (Liu: Para. 33). When the primary sensors are being used in normal mode the secondary sensors are in standby mode. Liu teaches the secondary sensors take over when the primary sensors fails to operate properly (Liu: Para. 29-30). Liu teaches the primary sensors are responsible for normal autonomous driving, while shared or redundant sets of sensors may take over the control in response to determining that the primary sensors fails to function properly (Liu: Para. 29). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to have an emergency mode using the shared sensors when both the primary and redundant sets of sensors fail.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because the shared set of sensors allows for safe vehicle function if both the first and second sets of sensors fail (Liu: Para. 26, 29).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the SDV comprises: a Central Controller (CC) coupled to each of the plurality of ZCs and the EC, wherein one of the CC or the plurality of ZCs is configured as a Vehicle Safety Monitor (VSM) (Kim: Pg. 5 Lines 47-51, Fig. 5; signal processing device 170a may be a High Performance Computing (HPC) gateway; integrated HPC and can exchange data with an external communication module or a processor within a plurality of zones (Z1 to Z4)), and wherein the monitoring comprising: dynamically activating, by the VSM, one of: the plurality of sets of PSs or the plurality of sets of SSs corresponding to the plurality of zones (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 40-43; in normal mode, sensor data received from a sensor device or camera data received from a camera are transmitted to the central signal processing device).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the computer-executable instructions are configured for: determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as a fault-operational mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs as faulty based on the monitoring (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 13-16, Pg. 4 Lines 20-22; if the amount of sensor data or camera data received is less than or equal to the first reference value, the processor determines that the performance of the sensor device or camera is degraded and sends the performance deterioration information or deterioration mode entry information to the central signal processing device; the processor may control transmission of diagnosis result data of sensor data or camera data to the area signal processing device based on sensor data or camera data received from the area signal processing device); and dynamically receiving, by each of the plurality of ZCs, the sensor data from the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone upon determining the fault-operational mode (Kim: Pg. 1 Lines 50-43, Pg. 2 Lines 31-33; normal mode; control the emergency mode or degraded mode to operate based on the error grade or recovery grade).
Claims 3-5, 9-10, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (Foreign Reference WO2024085580A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Publication 20210284200 A1) and in further view of Watts et al. (US Publication 2026/0001566 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of ZCs is configured to monitor the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone and the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone based on determination of a plausibility score of the received sensor data.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein each of the plurality of ZCs is configured to monitor the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone and the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone based on determination of a plausibility score of the received sensor data (Watts: Para. 23; the other sensors may provide their sensor information to one or more of the zone ECUs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach wherein the SDV is determined to be in a normal mode as the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV upon detection of each of the plurality of sets of PSs as operational based on the monitoring, and wherein in the normal mode, each of the plurality of ZCs is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the SDV is determined to be in a normal mode as the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV upon detection of each of the plurality of sets of PSs as operational based on the monitoring, and wherein in the normal mode, each of the plurality of ZCs is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone (Watts: Para. 21; the respective zone ECU for each respective zone may receive the raw sensor data from the respective sensors included in that respective zone).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the SDV is determined to be in a fault-operational mode as the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs as faulty based on the monitoring (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 13-16, Pg. 4 Lines 20-22; if the amount of sensor data or camera data received is less than or equal to the first reference value, the processor determines that the performance of the sensor device or camera is degraded and sends the performance deterioration information or deterioration mode entry information to the central signal processing device; the processor may control transmission of diagnosis result data of sensor data or camera data to the area signal processing device based on sensor data or camera data received from the area signal processing device).
Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach wherein in the fault-operational mode, each of the plurality of ZCs is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein in the fault-operational mode, each of the plurality of ZCs is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone.
Watts teaches each zone ECU can perform functions for another zone ECU (Watts: Para. 21). Watts teaches identifying a mode of travel and allocating the processing power based on that determination. The system teaches for a forward driving mode, less processing power will be needed for the rear zone's data and the rear zone ECU could perform path planning and/or vehicle control processing to aid the forward zone ECU (Watt: Para. 58). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the rear zone ECU process sensor data for the forward zone ECU during forward travel in order to process all the data within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach determining, by each of the plurality of ZCs, a plausibility score of the received sensor data to monitor the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone and the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, by each of the plurality of ZCs, a plausibility score of the received sensor data to monitor the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone and the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone (Watts: Para. 23; the other sensors may provide their sensor information to one or more of the zone ECUs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as a normal mode upon detection of each of the plurality of sets of PSs as operational based on the monitoring; and dynamically receiving, by each of the plurality of ZCs, the sensor data from the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone upon determining the normal mode.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as a normal mode upon detection of each of the plurality of sets of PSs as operational based on the monitoring; and dynamically receiving, by each of the plurality of ZCs, the sensor data from the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone upon determining the normal mode (Watts: Para. 21; the respective zone ECU for each respective zone may receive the raw sensor data from the respective sensors included in that respective zone).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach determining, by each of the plurality of ZCs, a plausibility score of the received sensor data to monitor the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone and the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, by each of the plurality of ZCs, a plausibility score of the received sensor data to monitor the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone and the corresponding set of SSs from the another zone (Watts: Para. 23; the other sensors may provide their sensor information to one or more of the zone ECUs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Liu don’t explicitly teach determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as a normal mode upon detection of each of the plurality of sets of PSs as operational based on the monitoring; and dynamically receiving, by each of the plurality of ZCs, the sensor data from the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone upon determining the normal mode.
However Watts, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV as a normal mode upon detection of each of the plurality of sets of PSs as operational based on the monitoring; and dynamically receiving, by each of the plurality of ZCs, the sensor data from the corresponding set of PSs from the corresponding zone upon determining the normal mode (Watts: Para. 21; the respective zone ECU for each respective zone may receive the raw sensor data from the respective sensors included in that respective zone).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the sets of sensors for each zone (Kim: Pg. 3 Lines 28-31, Pg. 13 Lines 1-4) with a third redundant set of sensors (Liu: Para. 21) and the third zone ECU and sensors (Watts: Para. 21) with a reasonable expectation of success because zone ECU includes a lower performance processor, so sensor data or processing task can be sent to other zone ECUs completing the tasks within the necessary amount of time for ensuring vehicle safety (Watts: Para. 42, 58).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 3 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s attorney argues that in Claim 1 Kim does not disclose a plurality of set of TSs, each set corresponding to one of a plurality of zones and coupled to an Emergency Controller (EC).
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that in Claim 1 Kim does not disclose an EC that is structurally and functionally distinct from a plurality of Zone Controllers.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, Kim teaches processors inside the vehicle may be placed in each of the plurality of zones (Z1 to Z4), and in the central area of the plurality of zones (Z1 to Z4) (Kim: Pg 5 Lines 40-42). Kim teaches a processor placed in each zone, so four processors are in the four zones taught by Kim. Kim teaches a processor in the central area, which is a processor distinct from each zone processor.
The applicant next argues that in Claim 1 Kim does not disclose that the EC or plurality of ZCs are dynamically configured to receive sensor data from one of the plurality of sets of PSs, SSs, or TSs based on a determination of one of a plurality of modes of the SDV.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, Kim teaches a processor in the central processing unit that receives data from the main sensor device or the main camera (Kim: Pg. 15 Lines 54-58).
The applicant next argues that in Claim 1 Kim fails to teach or suggest determining an emergency mode upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on monitoring, followed by dynamic reception of sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs by the EC.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that Watts does not disclose or suggest a dedicated third-tier sensor category that functions as a final redundancy layer and is activated only after failure of both the PSs and SSs.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that Watts does not teach a dedicated Emergency Controller coupled exclusively to a plurality of sets of TSs.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that in claim 14 Watts doesn’t teach the EC is dynamically configured to receive sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs in the emergency mode.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that in claim 1 Watts fails to disclose “wherein the SDV is determined to be in an emergency mode as the one of the plurality of modes of the SDV upon detection of one of the plurality of sets of PSs and one of the plurality of sets of SSs as faulty based on the monitoring”
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that in claim 1 Watts fails to disclose “in the emergency mode, the EC is dynamically configured to receive the sensor data from the plurality of sets of TSs.”
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that Kobayashi does not teach an Emergency Controller (EC), a plurality of sets of Tertiary Sensors (TSs), and dynamic reception of sensor data from TSs by an EC following determination of an emergency mode.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the argument is moot because it doesn’t apply to the prior art in this rejection.
The applicant next argues that claims 7 and 13 are similarly amended to claim 1, and the claim 1 arguments would similarly apply.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the examiner replies to claim 1 arguments above. The responses would similarly apply to claims 7 and 13.
The applicant next argues that dependent claims 2-5, 7-11, and 14-17 are allowable based on their dependencies.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, independent claims 1, 7, and 13 are rejected. The dependent claims are rejected at least by their dependencies.
The applicant’s arguments have failed to point out the distinguishing characteristics of the amended claim language over the prior art. For the above reasons, Kim’s vehicle sensor and processors redundancies in view of Liu’s shared third set of sensors reads on applicant’s system and method for providing functional safety in a software defined vehicle using sensors framework. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663