Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2025, 01/13/2026, 03/02/2026, 04/10/2026, 05/04/2026, 08/11/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al. (US 20060245882 A1) in view of KOGA et al. (US 20210339648 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Khan et al. teaches a vehicle comprising:
a chassis (108b);
a body (108) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1A), the body comprising a first body rail (first downward protrusion see Fig. 1B) and a second body rail (second downward protrusion Fig. 1B);
a first accessory coupled to the body (102);
a second accessory coupled to the body (112); and
a hydraulic system ([0051]; Fig. 3) configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first accessory and the second accessory ([0052], [0053], [0056]) the hydraulic system comprising:
a first manifold (ARM VALVE) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), wherein the first manifold is configured to distribute a first portion of the hydraulic fluid to the first accessory ([0051]; Fig. 3),
first conduits (C1; see annotated Fig. 3 below) fluidly coupled between the pump (2) and the first manifold (Fig. 3)
a second manifold (BODY VALVE) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), the second manifold positioned rearward of the first manifold (Fig. 1A), wherein the second manifold is configured to distribute a second portion of the hydraulic fluid to the second accessory ([0056]; Fig. 3), and
second conduits (C2; see annotated Fig. 3) fluidly coupled between the first conduits and the second manifold (annotated Fig. 3);
Khan et al. does not teach an electric power takeoff coupled to the body, the electric power takeoff configured to pressurize the hydraulic fluid, the first conduits fluidly coupled between the electric power takeoff and the first manifold, and wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail.
Koga et al. teaches a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis (12) a body (14) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1); a first accessory (32) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); a second accessory (26) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); and a hydraulic system configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first accessory and the second accessory, the hydraulic system ([0026]) comprising: an electric power takeoff (100) coupled to the body (Fig. 4), the electric power takeoff configured to pressurize the hydraulic fluid ([0032]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydraulic system of Khan et al. with the electric power takeoff system of Koga et al. so the first conduits are fluidly coupled between the electric power takeoff and the first manifold for the purpose of being able to control the hydraulic system using power from the electrical system rather than the engine thereby reducing noise and tailpipe emissions.
Khan et al. in view of Koga et al. does not specifically teach wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first conduits to extend through the first body rail, so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 2, Kahn et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of Claim 1, wherein the body further comprises: a pair of midposts (Khan et al. P1 on each side of the body; see annotated Fig. 1A below) extending substantially vertical(annotated Fig. 1A) and configured to support a portion of the body(Kahn et al. Fig. 1A); and a pair of rearposts (Kahn et al. P2 on each side of the body; see annotated Fig. 1A below) extending substantially vertical and configured to support a portion of the body (Khan et al. Fig. 1A), the rearposts positioned rearward of the midposts (Kahn et al. see annotated Fig. 1A); wherein the first manifold is positioned proximate one of the midposts (Kahn et al. annotated Fig. 1A); and wherein the second manifold is positioned proximate one of the rearposts (Kahn et al. annotated Fig. 1A).
Annotated Figure 1A
Regarding Claim 3, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 2 wherein the hydraulic system further comprises third conduits (Khan et al. conduits between ARM valve and 7) fluidly coupled between the first manifold and the first accessory (Khan et al. Fig. 3)
Khan et al. as modified above does not specifically teach wherein a portion of the third conduits extend through the first body rail and the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure, and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the third conduits to extend through the first body rail so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Regarding Claim 4, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 3, wherein the first accessory is a lift apparatus (Kahn et al. [0045]; Fig. 2]) configured to engage a refuse container to collect refuse stored within the refuse container (Kahn et al. [0045]; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Khan et al. as modified above teaches wherein the hydraulic system further comprises third conduits (Khan et al. C3 see updated annotated Fig. 3 below) fluidly coupled between the second manifold and the second accessory (Khan et al. see annotated Fig. 3 below; cylinder 17 controls second accessory [0056]),
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach wherein a portion of the second conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange a portion of the second conduits to extend through at least one of the first body rail and second body rail so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Regarding Claim 6, Khan et al. as modified teaches the vehicle of claim 5,
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach wherein the third conduits extend through both the first body rail and the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure, and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the third conduits to extend through the first body rail and second body rail so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Regarding Claim 7, The vehicle of claim 5, wherein the second accessory is a tailgate pivotably coupled to the body (Khan et al. second accessory 112 is a tailgate [0056]), the tailgate include a hydraulic actuator (Khan et al. 17) fluidly coupled to the third conduits(Khan et al. see updated annotated Fig. 3 above), the hydraulic actuator configured to reposition the tailgate between an open configuration and a closed configuration ([0056]; [0058]).
Regarding Claim 8, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein:
the first body rail and the second body rail define an inner volume positioned between the first body rail and the second body rail (Khan et al. Fig. 1B area between downward protrusions);
(i) the body and (ii) each of the first body rail and the second body rail define an outer volume positioned outward of the inner volume (Khan et al. Fig. 1B area outside downward protrusions); and
a first portion of the first conduits is positioned within the inner volume (Khan et al. as modified has conduits going through the first rail and therefore must have a portion in the inner volume), a second portion of the first conduits is positioned within at least one of the outer volumes (the accessory is in the outer volume and therefore a portion of the conduits must be in the outer volume; Khan et al. Fig. 1B), and a portion of the second conduits is positioned within at least one of the outer volumes (the second manifold is in the inner volume and a portion of the first conduits are out therefore a portion of the second conduits must be in the outer volume).
Regarding Claim 9, Kahn et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 8, wherein the second conduits are fluidly coupled to the first conduits at a location within at least one of the outer volumes (the second manifold is in the inner volume and a portion of the first conduits are out therefore a portion of the second conduits must be in the outer volume).
Regarding Claim 13, the vehicle of claim 1, wherein: the electric power takeoff is coupled to a forward end of the body (Kota et al. Fig. 4; the E-PTO is on a forward end); and the second manifold is coupled to the body proximate a rearward end of the body (Khan et al. Fig. 1A second manifold is closer to end than first manifold).
Regarding Claim 15, Khan et al. teaches a refuse vehicle comprising:
a chassis (108b);
a body (108) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1A), the body comprising a first body rail(first downward protrusion see Fig. 1B) and a second body rail (second downward protrusion see Fig. 1B), the body defining a refuse compartment configured to receive refuse ([0045]);
a lift apparatus (102) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), the lift apparatus configured to engage a refuse container ([0045]) to provide refuse stored within the refuse container to the refuse compartment ([0045]);
a first actuator (7) configured to reposition the lift apparatus between a raised configuration and a lowered configuration ([0051]);
a tailgate (112) pivotably coupled to the body ([0045]; Fig. 1);
a second actuator (17) configured to reposition the tailgate between an open configuration ([0056]) that allows access into the refuse compartment and a closed configuration that prevents access into the refuse compartment ([0056]); and
a hydraulic system ([0051]; Fig. 3) configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first actuator and the second actuator ([0052], [0053], [0056]) the hydraulic system comprising:
a first manifold (ARM VALVE) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), wherein the first manifold is configured to distribute a first portion of the hydraulic fluid to the first actuator ([0051]; Fig. 3),
first conduits (C1; see annotated Fig. 3 above) fluidly coupled between a pump and the first manifold (annotated Fig. 3),
a second manifold (BODY VALVE) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), the second manifold positioned rearward of the first manifold (Fig. 1A), wherein the second manifold is configured to distribute a second portion of the hydraulic fluid to the second actuator ([0056]; Fig. 3),
second conduits (C2; see annotated Fig. 3) fluidly coupled between the first conduits and the second manifold (annotated Fig. 3), and
third conduits (C3 see updated annotated Fig. 3 above) fluidly coupled between the second manifold and the second actuator (updated annotated Fig. 3);
Khan et al. does not teach an electric power takeoff coupled to the body, the electric power takeoff configured to pressurize the hydraulic fluid, the first conduits fluidly coupled between the electric power takeoff and the first manifold, and wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail.
Koga et al. teaches a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis (12) a body (14) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1); a first accessory (32) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); a second accessory (26) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); and a hydraulic system configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first accessory and the second accessory, the hydraulic system ([0026]) comprising: an electric power takeoff (100) coupled to the body (Fig. 4), the electric power takeoff configured to pressurize the hydraulic fluid ([0032]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydraulic system of Khan et al. with the electric power takeoff system of Koga et al. so the first conduits are fluidly coupled between the electric power takeoff and the first manifold for the purpose of being able to control the hydraulic system using power from the electrical system rather than the engine thereby reducing noise and tailpipe emissions.
Khan et al. in view of Koga et al. does not specifically teach wherein the third conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the third conduits to extend through the first body rail so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Regarding Claim 16, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 15.
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach wherein the third conduits extend through both the first body rail and the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure, and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the third conduits to extend through the first body rail and second body rail so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Regarding Claim 17, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 15
Khan et al. as modified above does not specifically teach wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure, and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention arrange the first conduits to extend through the first body rail, so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al. (US 20060245882 A1) in view of KOGA et al. (US 20060245882 A1) as applied to claim 1-9, 13, and 15-17 above, and further in view of KOGA et al. (US 20210339648 A1) hereinafter referred to as DAVIS.
Regarding Claim 10, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 8
Khan et al. as modified does not teach further comprising a plurality of batteries electrically coupled to the electric power takeoff system, wherein a portion of each of the batteries is positioned within the inner volume.
Davis teaches a vehicle having a chassis (12); a body (14) coupled to the chassis (Fig. 11B), a first accessory (lifting arms Fig. 11B) coupled to the body (Fig. 11B); a second accessory (34) coupled to the body (Fig. 11B); and a hydraulic system ([0037]), and a plurality of batteries (100) wherein a portion of each of the batteries is positioned within an inner volume (see Fig. 11B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle body of Khan et al. with the batteries of Dabis so the plurality of batteries is electrically coupled to the electric power takeoff system for the purpose of having the power source of the electric system of the vehicle in a place that is protected from impacts.
Regarding Claim 11, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 10, wherein the first portion of the first conduits is positioned forward of the batteries (the arm of the manifold is in front of the body so the first conduits would be as well Khan et al. Fig. 1A; Davis Fig. 11B).
Regarding Claim 12, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 11,
the vehicle further comprises third conduits (C3 see updated annotated Fig. 3 above) fluidly coupled between the second manifold and the second accessory (Updated annotated Fig. 3),
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach wherein a first portion of the third conduits is positioned within a first of the outer volumes, a second portion of the third conduits is positioned within the inner volume rearward of the batteries, and a third portion of the third conduits is positioned within a second of the outer volumes however this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention arrange a first portion of the third conduits positioned within a first of the outer volumes, a second portion of the third conduits is positioned within the inner volume rearward of the batteries, and a third portion of the third conduits is positioned within a second of the outer volumes so the conduits are protected from outside impacts and do not interfere with any other components in the inner volume.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al. (US 20060245882 A1) in view of KOGA et al. (US 20060245882 A1) as applied to claim 1-9, 13, and 15-17 above, and further in view of VELDBOOM et al. (US 20240191441 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the vehicle of claim 1 wherein the first conduits extend through the at least one of the first body rails or the second body rails
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rails or the second body rails forward of the first manifold.
Veldboom et al. teaches a vehicle having a chassis (22); a body (12, 216) coupled to the chassis (Fig. 2), the body comprising a first body rail (left rail of 12; Fig. 3) and a second body rail(right rail of 2; Fig. 3); a first accessory (104) coupled to the body (Fig. 2); a second accessory (150) coupled to the body (Fig. 2); and a hydraulic system ([0050]), the hydraulic system comprising: a power takeoff (216), a first manifold (500), and a second manifold (600) wherein the first manifold is coupled at a position on the body (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the position of the first manifold of khan et al. so it has at a position rearward of the first accessory so the first the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rails or the second body rails forward of the first manifold for the purpose of the first manifold no longer being on the moving lift arm thereby reducing the chance of damage.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al. (US 20060245882 A1) in view of KOGA et al. (US 20060245882 A1) as applied to claim 1-9, 13, and 15-17 above, and further in view of GILLMORE et al. (US 20150175353 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 15,
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach a tailgate locking assembly repositionable between a locked configuration to selectively lock the tailgate to the body when the tailgate is in the closed configuration and an unlocked configuration; a third actuator configured to reposition the tailgate locking assembly between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration; and fourth conduits fluidly coupled between the second manifold and the third actuator to supply the hydraulic fluid to the third actuator to operate the third actuator; wherein the fourth conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail.
Gilmore et al. teaches teaches a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis (20) a body (40) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1); a first accessory (32) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); a second accessory (26) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); a hydraulic system ([0014]) and a tailgate locking assembly (60) repositionable between a locked configuration ([0021]) to selectively lock the tailgate to the body when the tailgate is in the closed configuration([0021]) and an unlocked configuration ([0026]); an actuator(100) configured to reposition the tailgate locking assembly between the locked configuration and the unlocked configuration ([0026]); and conduits (146) fluidly coupled between a manifold (144) and the actuator to supply the hydraulic fluid to the third actuator to operate the third actuator ([0027]); wherein the fourth conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tail gate of Khan et al. with the locking mechanism of Gilmore et al. so fourth conduits are fluidly coupled between the second manifold and the third actuator for the purpose of being able to lock the tailgate so it does not accidently open during the operation of lifting the refuse vehicle body.
Khan et al. as modified above does not teach wherein the fourth conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention arrange a the fourth conduits so it extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail for the purpose of protecting the conduits from outside impacts
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KHAN et al. (US 20060245882 A1) in view of HOU (US 20150232269 A1) and KOGA et al. (US 20060245882 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Khan et al. teaches a refuse vehicle comprising:
a chassis (108b);
a body (108) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1A), the body comprising a first body rail(first downward protrusion see Fig. 1B) and a second body rail (second downward protrusion see Fig. 1B), the body defining a refuse compartment configured to receive refuse ([0045]) and an opening extending through a top of the body ([0045]);
a lift apparatus (102) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), the lift apparatus configured to engage a refuse container ([0045]) to provide refuse stored within the refuse container to the refuse compartment through the opening ([0045]);
a first actuator (7) configured to reposition the lift apparatus between a raised configuration and a lowered configuration ([0051]);
a hydraulic system ([0051]; Fig. 3) configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first actuator ([0052], [0053]), the hydraulic system comprising:
a first manifold (ARM VALVE) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), wherein the first manifold is configured to distribute a first portion of the hydraulic fluid to the first actuator([0051]; Fig. 3),
first conduits (C1; see annotated Fig. 3 above) fluidly coupled between a pump and the first manifold (annotated Fig. 3),
a second manifold (BODY VALVE) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A), the second manifold positioned rearward of the first manifold (Fig. 1A), wherein the second manifold is configured to distribute a second portion of the hydraulic fluid to a second actuator ([0056]; Fig. 3), and
second conduits (C2; see annotated Fig. 3) fluidly coupled between the first conduits and the second manifold (see annotated Fig. 3 above);
Khan et al. does not teach a topdoor assembly coupled to the body;
a second actuator configured to reposition the topdoor assembly between an open configuration that allows access into the refuse compartment through the opening and a closed configuration that covers the opening, an electric power takeoff coupled to the body, the electric power takeoff configured to pressurize the hydraulic fluid, wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail.
Hou teaches teaches a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis (12) a body (14) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1A); a first accessory (24) coupled to the body (Fig. 1A); a second accessory (30) coupled to the body ([0016]); and a hydraulic system configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first accessory and the second accessory, the hydraulic system ([0016]) comprising: a power takeoff (50) a topdoor assembly (30) coupled to the body ([0016]);
an actuator (80b) configured to reposition the topdoor assembly between an open configuration that allows access into the refuse compartment through the opening and a closed configuration that covers the opening ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle body of Khan et al. with the topdoor assembly of Hou so when not in operation the refuse body can close the opening reducing odor.
Koga et al. teaches a refuse vehicle comprising a chassis (12) a body (14) coupled to the chassis (see Fig. 1); a first accessory (32) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); a second accessory (26) coupled to the body (Fig. 1); and a hydraulic system configured to pressurize a hydraulic fluid to operate the first accessory and the second accessory, the hydraulic system ([0026]) comprising: an electric power takeoff (100) coupled to the body (Fig. 4), the electric power takeoff configured to pressurize the hydraulic fluid ([0032]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydraulic system of Khan et al. with the electric power takeoff system of Koga et al. so the first conduits fluidly coupled between the electric power takeoff and the first manifold for the purpose of being able to control the hydraulic system using power from the electrical system rather than the engine thereby reducing noise and tailpipe emissions.
Khan et al. in view of Hou and Koga et al. does not specifically teach wherein the first conduits extend through at least one of the first body rail or the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. is not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the first conduits to extend through the first body rail, so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Regarding Claim 20, Khan et al. as modified above teaches the refuse vehicle of claim 19, wherein the hydraulic system further comprises third conduits (conduits between ARM valve and 7) fluidly coupled between the first manifold and the first actuator (Fig. 3)
Khan et al. as modified above does not specifically teach wherein the third conduits extend through the first body rail and the second body rail however it is noted that the conduits of the hydraulic system of Khan et al. are not shown on the vehicle and may have an equivalent structure, and this is an obvious rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04(VI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the third conduits to extend through the first body rail so the conduits are protected from outside impacts.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Steffens et al. (US 20220072736 A1) and Takahashi et al. (US 10280592 B2) teach similar vehicles with hydraulic systems.
/A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655