DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach method for video processing applied to a decoder (see abstract, fig. 1: in-loop filter is implemented in a HEVC decoder), the method comprising: receiving an input image (see fig. 1); processing the input image by one or more convolution layers (see fig. 1, § 2.2: convolution layers); processing the input image by multiple residual blocks by using partition information of the input image as reference so as to obtain reference information features (see fig. 1, 4: each SIF implements a residual block); generating different-scales features based on the reference information features and processing the different-scales features by multiple convolutional layer sets (see fig. 1: SIF is generated by SIFE at different levels, i.e., different scales); processing the different-scales features by reference spatial attention blocks (RSABs) so as to form a combined feature (see fig. 1: SIFE considered as a reference spatial attention block); and concatenating the combined feature with the reference information features so as to form an output image (see fig. 1: addition of extracted features with the combined features followed by CNN, p. 3 col 1: concatenating operation).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the one or more convolution layers belong to a feature extraction part of a framework (see fig. 1: LFE).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the multiple residual blocks belong to a reference information generation (RIG) part of a framework (see fig. 1, 4).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teach method of claim 1, wherein the combined feature is concatenated by a reconstruction part of a framework (see fig. 1: final addition).
With regard to claims 13-15, see discussion of claims 1-3, respectively.
With regard to claim 20, see discussion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regard to claim 12, D1 teach method of claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the reconstruction part includes three branch paths for processing luma and chroma components, respectively. However, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to process the three different components of Y, U and V color model resulting in predictable and enhanced results. Alternatively, Examiner also take Official Notice to the fact that it is extremely well known in the art before the effective filing date to process the color components separately and one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate known teachings into the configuration of D1 yielding predictable and enhanced results.
Claims 4-10 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Art
Vlutters et al.2 is related to process for converting an arbitrary input digital pathology image into an output digital pathology image that shares statistical information with a reference image.
Conclusion
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 Wang, Dezhao, et al. "Partition tree guided progressive rethinking network for in-loop filtering of HEVC." 2019 IEEE International Conference on Image Processing (ICIP). IEEE, 2019.
2 US Publication No. 2021/115941.