DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Appl/Pat. No
Claim Correspondence
Appl. 19004018
1, 2, 16, 17, 18, 19
3
4
5, 20
6
7
9
10
11
12
13
Pat. 12223471
1, 12, 18
3, 14
2, 13, 19
4, 15, 20
5, 16
6, 17
7
8
9
10
11
Claims 1-7, 9-13 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12223471. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of instant appl. is broader than claim 1 of Patent.
Claim 1 of Appl. 19004018
Claim 1 of Pat. 12223471
A computing platform comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing platform to:
A computing platform comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing platform is configured to:
determine that a plurality of client stations are concurrently rendering a three-dimensional (3D) model of a given construction project, wherein each client station of the plurality of client stations is associated with a respective user; and for each client station of the plurality of client stations:
determine that a plurality of client stations each associated with a respective user are concurrently rendering a three-dimensional (3D) model of a given construction project;
(i) provide respective presence information indicating, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a respective identification of the respective user associated with the other client station, and (b) a respective position and a respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model; and
provide, to each client station, respective presence information indicating (i) an identification of the respective user associated with each other client station concurrently rendering the 3D model, and (ii) a respective position and orientation at which each other client station is rendering the 3D model;
(ii) based on the respective presence information provided to the client station, cause the client station to display a view that includes, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a representation of the respective user associated with the other client station and (b) an indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model.
based on the respective presence information, cause each client station to display a view that includes (i) a representation of the respective user associated with each other client station concurrently rendering the 3D model and (ii) an indication of the respective position and orientation at which each other client station is rendering the 3D model;
receive, from a first client station of the plurality of client stations, an indication of a change in one or both of the position or orientation at which the first client station is rendering the 3D model; based on the indication, update the respective presence information; and based on updated respective presence information, cause at least a second client station of the plurality of client stations to display an updated view that reflects the change in one or both of the position or orientation at which the first client station is rendering the 3D model.
Appl/Pat. No.
Claim Correspondence
Claim 1 of Appl. 19004018
1, 2, 16, 17, 18, 19
3
4
5, 20
9
10
11
12
Claim 1 of Pat. 11900322
1, 13, 14, 18, 19
4
2
12
8, 17
9
11
10
Claims 1-5, 9-12 and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4, 8-14, and 17-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11900322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of instant appl. is broader than claim 1 of Patent.
Claim 1 of Appl. 19004018
Claim 1 of Pat. 11900322
A computing platform comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing platform to:
A computing system comprising: at least one processor; a non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the computing system is configured to:
determine that a plurality of client stations are concurrently rendering a three-dimensional (3D) model of a given construction project, wherein each client station of the plurality of client stations is associated with a respective user; and for each client station of the plurality of client stations: : (i) provide respective presence information indicating, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model,
provide presence information to a first client station associated with a first individual that is viewing and interacting with a first rendered three-dimensional (3D) model of a construction project via the first client station, wherein the presence information comprises
(a) a respective identification of the respective user associated with the other client station, and (b) a respective position and a respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model; and
(1) information identifying at least a second individual that is concurrently viewing and interacting with a second rendered 3D model of the construction project via a second client station, and (2) information indicating a position and orientation at which the second rendered 3D model is being rendered at the second client station for viewing and interaction by the second individual; based on the presence information,
(ii) based on the respective presence information provided to the client station, cause the client station to display a view that includes, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a representation of the respective user associated with the other client station and (b) an indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model.
cause the first client station to present a view of the first rendered 3D model that includes (i) a visual representation of the second individual and (ii) an indication of the position and orientation at which the second rendered 3D model is being rendered at the second client station;
receive, from the second client station, an indication of a change in one or both of the position or orientation at which the second rendered 3D model is being rendered at the second client station; update the presence information based on the received indication; and based on the updated presence information, cause the first client station to present an updated view of the first rendered 3D model that reflects the change in one or both of the position or orientation at which the second rendered 3D model is being rendered at the second client station.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. ( US Patent Publication: 20130120367, “Miller”) in view of Miyashita et al. (US Patent No. 6057856 “Miyashita”).
Regarding claim 1, Miller teaches A computing platform (Fig. 1) comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, ([0028] “……The centralized computing device 18 may include hardware, software, and/or firmware components similar to the computing devices 12 and 14, in an embodiment. The centralized engine 19 may include a set of computer-executable instructions that are executable by a processor of the collaboration computing device 18 and are stored in non-transitory, tangible program storage”) cause the computing platform to:
determine that a plurality of client stations are concurrently rendering a three-dimensional (3D) model of a given construction project, wherein each client station of the plurality of client stations is associated with a respective user (Abstract: “When multiple users simultaneously view and/or collaboratively develop a three-dimensional (3D) model using respective independent computing devices, one of the participating users may locally modify a viewpoint of the 3D model,”) and
for each client station of the plurality of client stations:
(i) provide respective presence information indicating, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a respective identification of the respective user associated with the other client station, and (b) a respective position and a respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model ( Refer to Fig 7, and step 318, “[0082] At block 318, a viewpoint update indication may be generated. In an embodiment, the viewpoint update indication is generated by the viewpoint controller engine 72, and includes data corresponding to the information specifying one or more modifications to the viewpoint of the 3D model received in the local viewpoint modification indication. …… The viewpoint update indication may include an indication of the first client device or user of the first client device (e.g., an indication of the party or entity that originated the one or more modifications), in an embodiment” The referenced first client device is the claimed other client station.
Paragraph [0070] indicates that the view point information includes position and orientation of the second 3d model. [0070]”…For example, the user-initiated command may include one or more instructions to change a position, an orientation, a degree of zoom, an angle, and/or other characteristic of the rendering of the 3D model with respect to a plane of the output device 42 on which the 3D model is rendered. [0071] At block 270, a local viewpoint modification indication is generated and transmitted to the centralized server 18. The local viewpoint modification indication may include a representation of the specific local modification(s) made to the local viewpoint at the client device 12”);
Even though Miller teaches based on the respective presence information provided to the client station, cause the client station to display a view of the first rendered 3D model (Abstract: “When multiple users simultaneously view and/or collaboratively develop a three-dimensional (3D) model using respective independent computing devices, one of the participating users may locally modify a viewpoint of the 3D model,”) but is silent about a view includes, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a representation of the respective user associated with the other client station and (b) an indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model.
Miyashitha teaches client station display a view that includes, for other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a representation of the respective user associated with the other client station and (b) an indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering 3D model (Fig. 10 shows a first user’s view that includes representation of other user and its position and orientation Col 10 59- Col 11 11 lines 10 “Avatar C sees an image as shown in FIG. 10 for example from the position and viewpoint in the virtual reality space. Namely, data associated with the basic objects constituting the virtual reality space are provided to the client terminal 13-1 from the information server terminal 10 to be stored in a RAM 43 (or a storage device 50). Then, from the RAM 43 (or the storage device 50), data are read out of a virtual reality space that can be seen when the same is seen from specific viewpoint and position and the read data are supplied to the display device 45. Then, when the viewpoint and position of avatar C are changed by operating a viewpoint input device 49c and a movement input device 49d, data corresponding the change are read from the RAM 43 (or the storage device 50) to be supplied to the display device 45, thereby changing the virtual reality space (the three-dimensional image) being displayed on the display device 45”);
Miller and Miyashitha are analogous as art as they from eth filed of collaborative editing of models.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller to have included based on the respective presence information provided to the client station, cause the client station to display a view that includes, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a representation of the respective user associated with the other client station and (b) an indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model similar to display a view that includes, for other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, (a) a representation of the respective user associated with the other client station and (b) an indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering 3D model as taught by Miyashitha.
The motivation to include the modification is to provide status/view of rendering by another user in a collaborative editing project for dynamically updating display of the current user.
Claim 16 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Miller, “[0032] In an embodiment, the communication system 10 includes a model database storage 20 to store model data corresponding to various 3D models. Similar to the data storage 36, the model storage device 20 may be implemented on one or more non-transitory, tangible computer-readable storage mediums. The model storage device 20 of the system 10 may be accessed by the client device 12 via the network 16, as illustrated in FIG. 1.”) and its elements are similar in scope and functions of the elements of the device claim 1 and therefore claim 18 is rejected with same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 18 is directed to a method and its steps are similar in scope and functions of the elements of the device claim 1 and therefore claim 13 is rejected with same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 2, 17 and 19 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches receive, from a first client station of the plurality of client stations, an indication of a change in one or both of the position or the orientation at which the first client station is rendering the 3D model; (Miller Refer to Fig. 7 step 320 viewpoint update information ( change in position/orientation is sent and received by a server. [0070]”…For example, the user-initiated command may include one or more instructions to change a position, an orientation, a degree of zoom, an angle, and/or other characteristic of the rendering of the 3D model with respect to a plane of the output device 42 on which the 3D model is rendered.”);
based on the indication, update the respective presence information associated with the first client station; and based on updated respective presence information, cause at least a second client station of the plurality of client stations to display an updated view that reflects the change in one or both of the position or the orientation at which the first client station is rendering the 3D model. Miller According to Fig. 7 blocks 315-320 can be repeated. That means client can update/modify 3d model and send it to server and server will provide the updated information to one or more client devices.
The referenced first client device is the claimed second client station.
Paragraph [0070] indicates that the view point information includes position and orientation of the second 3d model.
[0082] “….… The viewpoint update indication may include an indication of the first client device or user of the first client device (e.g., an indication of the party or entity that originated the one or more modifications), in an embodiment”.
[0084] “Blocks 315-320 may be repeated any suitable number of times while the first client device (or user of the first client device) continues to modify the viewpoint of the 3D model”.
[0083] “At block 320, the viewpoint update indication may be caused to be transmitted to one or more other client devices in the system 10”
Miyashitha Col 15 lines 4- 17 “As described above, the user can update the position or viewpoint of his own avatar by operating the viewpoint input device 49c or the movement input device 49d. If the update of the position or viewpoint of the avatar is instructed by using this capability, the CPU 41 receives the instruction via the interface 48. According to the instruction, the CPU 41 performs processing for outputting positional data or viewpoint data corresponding to the updated position or viewpoint as update information to the shared server terminal 11. In other words, the CPU 41 controls the communication device 44 to transmit the update information to the shared server terminal 11.
Receiving the update information from the client terminal, the shared server terminal 11 outputs the update information to other client terminals in step S44 of FIG. 18”).
Regarding claim 3 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches before causing the second client station to display the updated view that reflects the change in one or both of the position or the orientation at which the first client station is rendering the 3D model, provide the updated respective presence information to at least the second client station ((Miller “other party” provides viewpoint update indication to the “another party” and then “another party” updates the viewpoint. Based on the update another party will display view with position and orientation based on Miyashitha’s teaching.
Miller [0073] “As another party has control of the virtual camera trained on the 3D model, at block 275, a viewpoint update indication may be received corresponding to a change made to a remote version of the viewpoint by the other party. The viewpoint update indication may represent the specific remote changes made to the remote version of the viewpoint as serialized data, and the viewpoint update indication may include an identification of the other party. Based on the received viewpoint update indication, at block 278, the local version of the viewpoint of the 3D model may be updated”).
Regarding claim 4 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches before providing the respective presence information to each client station, receive respective initial presence information from each of the plurality of client stations. ( Miller [0068] “At block 252, a user-initiated command or request to reserve control of the viewpoint modification of a 3D model is received. For example, the user-initiated request may be received via a user interface 4”.
Bian S202 provides initial presence information and s203 provide presence information.
S202: Information of at least one target user to which the target house object is added is determined.
Page 6 lines 66-75 “It should be noted that, in the specific implementation, it also can create a user list for the target house object, adding the request to at least one target user of the target house object is added to the user list, so as to record the association relationship between the target house object and each target user. In addition, in the actual application, it also can determine the specific target user corresponding to the role information of the target user, the role information of the target user is added to the user list. The role information can be provided when the user is registered, and stored in the user information database of the system”).
Regarding claims 5 and 20 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches wherein the representation of the respective user associated with the other client station comprises one or more of (i) a name of the respective user, (ii) a visual indicator of the respective user, or (iii) a real-time video of the respective user. (Miller Refer to Fig 7, and step 318, “[0082] At block 318, a viewpoint update indication may be generated. In an embodiment, the viewpoint update indication is generated by the viewpoint controller engine 72, and includes data corresponding to the information specifying one or more modifications to the viewpoint of the 3D model received in the local viewpoint modification indication. …… The viewpoint update indication may include an indication of the first client device or user of the first client device (e.g., an indication of the party or entity that originated the one or more modifications), in an embodiment” ).
Regarding claim 6 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches wherein the indication of the respective position and the respective orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model comprises the representation of the respective user being positioned at the position and the orientation at which the other client station is rendering the 3D model (Miyashitha (Fig. 10 shows a first user’s view that includes representation of other user and its position and orientation Col 10 59- Col 11 11 lines 10 “Avatar C sees an image as shown in FIG. 10 for example from the position and viewpoint in the virtual reality space. Namely, data associated with the basic objects constituting the virtual reality space are provided to the client terminal 13-1 from the information server terminal 10 to be stored in a RAM 43 (or a storage device 50). Then, from the RAM 43 (or the storage device 50), data are read out of a virtual reality space that can be seen when the same is seen from specific viewpoint and position and the read data are supplied to the display device 45. Then, when the viewpoint and position of avatar C are changed by operating a viewpoint input device 49c and a movement input device 49d, data corresponding the change are read from the RAM 43 (or the storage device 50) to be supplied to the display device 45, thereby changing the virtual reality space (the three-dimensional image) being displayed on the display device 45”);
Regarding claim 8 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches provide one or more of (i) a follow tool that enables a first client station of the plurality of client stations to monitor a view of the 3D model being displayed by a second client station of the plurality of client stations, (ii) a tracking tool that enables a first client station of the plurality of client stations to track interactions of a second client station of the plurality of client stations with the 3D model, (iii) a sharing tool that enables a first client station of the plurality of client stations to (a) capture a view of the 3D model being displayed by a second client station of the plurality of client stations and (b) send the captured view to one or more other client stations, and (iv) a chat tool that enables a first client station of the plurality of client stations to send messages to the other client stations of the plurality of client stations (Miller Col 13 lines 1-15 “Referring back to FIG. 1, Gail may then decide to invite another user, Stan, to edit or further develop the model in collaboration with Gail. To this end, Gail may activate a control provided by the 3D modeling application 50 and/or the collaboration API 52 (e.g., a toolbar icon or a button labeled “invite”) to generate an invitation to Stan in the form of an electronic message transmitted over the network 16, for example. The 3D modeling application 50 and/or the collaboration API 52 may automatically prompt the user to supply a name for the model 100 and verify, using the collaboration server 18, whether the supplied name is unique. User Gail, for example, may name the model 100 GailsModel. In some embodiments, the 3D modeling application 50 and/or the collaboration API 52 then uploads the model data 62 to the model storage 20 automatically or in response to a corresponding command from Gail”).
Regarding claim 10 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches detect a request from a given client station of the plurality of client stations to initiate a chat with one or more of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model; and based on the request, facilitate the chat between the given client station and the one or more of the other client stations (Miyashitha Col 27 lines 46-65 “By loading a world called chatroom the server terminal can be connected to share a same VRML virtual space with other users, walking together, turning off a room light, having a chat, and doing other activities.
(239) This Capability is Started as Follows:
(240) (1) Make sure that the user's personal computer is linked to the Internet.
(241) (2) Load the Chatroom of the sample world into CyberPassage Browser. This is done by loading ".backslash.Sony.backslash.readme.htm" from the sample CD-ROM 101 clicking "Chat Room".
(242) (3) Appearance of "Connected to VS Server" in the message window indicates successful connection.
(243) Thus, the connection to the server has been completed. Interaction with other users is of the following two types:
(244) Telling Others of an Action:
(245) This is implemented by clicking any of "Hello", "Smile", "Wao!", "Wooo!!", "umm . . .", "Sad", "Bye" and so on in the "Action" window. The actions include rotating the user himself (avatar) right or left 36 degrees, 180 degrees or 360 degrees”).
Regarding claim 11 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches detect a request from a given client station of the plurality of client stations to share a captured portion of the 3D model with one or more of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model (Miller, [0065]….. Gail may singly generate a 3D model and display the 3D model to Bob. Either Gail or Bob may gain control of the viewpoint modification and modify the viewpoint of the displayed 3D model, and these viewpoint modifications may be propagated to the other party in real-time using embodiments of the techniques discussed herein.” Here Gail is the first client and he requests his rendered view to be seen by the second client.); and
based on the request, cause each of the one or more of the other client stations to display the captured portion of the 3D model ( Miller, Here the second client Bob renders and views a second 3d model that includes the shared captured view that came from first client. “[0065]….. Gail may singly generate a 3D model and display the 3D model to Bob. Either Gail or Bob may gain control of the viewpoint modification and modify the viewpoint of the displayed 3D model, and these viewpoint modifications may be propagated to the other party in real-time using embodiments of the techniques discussed herein.”).
Regarding claim 12 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches determine an interaction between the respective user of a given client station of the plurality of client stations and a given physical element in the 3D model; update the respective presence information to include information about the interaction; and cause each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model to display a respective indication of the interaction between the respective user of the given client station and the given physical element. (Miller, Gail is the first client and he generates a model 100 that has physical element “house” represented and interacted by Gail. Miller, “[0048] To consider an example scenario illustrating a real-time shared viewing experience with reference to FIGS. 1-4, user Gail operating the client device 12 begins to develop a 3D model such a model 100 illustrated in FIG. 2. User Gail initially is a single developer of the model 100. Gail may enter commands at the user interface 40 of the client device 12, and the 3D model application 50 may operate in accordance with the entered commands to generate the model 100. As can be seen in FIG. 2, the model 100 includes a house component 102 and a garage component 104”. Paragraph [0048] discloses Gail creates a model 100 including house where Gail interacted with house element in the model. “[0054] Referring back to FIG. 1, Gail may then decide to invite another user, Stan, to edit or further develop the model in collaboration with Gail. To this end, Gail may activate a control provided by the 3D modeling application 50 and/or the collaboration API 52 (e.g., a toolbar icon or a button labeled "invite") to generate an invitation to Stan in the form of an electronic message transmitted over the network 16, for example. The 3D modeling application 50 and/or the collaboration API 52 may automatically prompt the user to supply a name for the model 100 and verify, using the collaboration server 18, whether the supplied name is unique. User Gail, for example, may name the model 100 Gail’s Model. In some embodiments, the 3D modeling application 50 and/or the collaboration API 52 then uploads the model data 62 to the model storage 20 automatically or in response to a corresponding command from Gail.” In Paragraph [0054], the server receives the indication that Gail interacted with a physical element represented in model 100 based on Gail’s invitation. The server loads the model 100 from generated by Gail.)
Regarding claim 14 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches wherein the plurality of client stations is two client stations (Miller Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 15 Miller modified by Miyashitha teaches wherein the plurality of client stations comprises three or more client stations (Miller support multiple users “Claim 4……. receiving, from a third computing device, an indication of a last update to the 3D model; based on the stored indications of the plurality of updates, generating a list of updates to the 3D model that are subsequent to the last update; and causing the list of updates to be transmitted to the third computing device”).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller modified by Miyashitha and further in view of Gifford et al. (US Patent No. 9894075 “Gifford”).
Regarding claim 7 Miller modified by Miyashitha is silent about wherein the respective presence information further comprises, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, one or more of (i) a client station type of the other client station, (ii) a physical location associated with the other client station, or (iii) a type of application that is being used by the other client station to access the 3D model.
Gifford teaches respective presence information comprises, for each of the other client stations one or more of (i) a client station type of the other client station, (ii) a physical location associated with the other client station, or (iii) a type of application that is being used by the other client station to access the 3D model (“Claim 13. The computer system of claim 12, wherein the computer program is configured to send the physical mailing address associated with the virtual mailing address to the second user in response to a request from the second user for the physical mailing address of the first user”);
Gifford and Miller modified by Miyashitha are analogous art as both of them are related to data processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller modified by Miyashitha to have the respective presence information that further comprises, for each of the other client stations concurrently rendering the 3D model, one or more of (i) a client station type of the other client station, (ii) a physical location associated with the other client station, or (iii) a type of application that is being used by the other client station to access the 3D model similar to have respective presence information that comprises, for each of the other client stations one or more of (i) a client station type of the other client station, (ii) a physical location associated with the other client station, or (iii) a type of application that is being used by the other client station to access the 3D model as taught by Gifford.
The motivation for the above is to inform status of each client to other clients.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller modified by Miyashitha and further in view of Davis et al. ( US patent Publication: 20150172418, “Davis”).
Regarding claims9, Miller modified by Miyashitha doesn’t expressly teach, detect a request from a first client station of the plurality of client stations to monitor a respective view being displayed by a second client station of the plurality of client stations; and based on the request, cause the first client station to display a view that corresponds to the respective view being displayed by the second client station.
However, Davis teaches, detect a request from a first client station of the plurality of client stations to monitor a respective view being displayed by a second client station of the plurality of client stations; and based on the request, cause the first client station to display a view that corresponds to the respective view being displayed by the second client station ( Refer to Fig.3, Client-1 is the claimed first client, CP engine 130 is the claimed server and client-N is the second client.”[0018] Referring to FIG. 3, illustrative alignment process 300 aligns user-1 (e.g., using client device 120A) with user-N (e.g., using client device 120C). Initially, user-1 sends a request to synchronize with user-N to CP engine 130 (305). Collaborative presence engine 130 may note the request and pass it to user-N (310). In response, user-N collects all of the information necessary for user-1 to replicate user-N's context (315) and forwards the collected view information to CP engine 130 (320) which may record the establishment of a collaborative presence group, its members, and location within the model (325) before, or simultaneously to, forwarding the view information to user-1's client device (330). On reception, user-1's client device may use the view information to render a view identical to that of user-N so that at time t.sub.1, user-1 and user-N are synchronized.”)
Miller modified by Miyashitha and Davis are analogous as both of them are from the field of collaborative design of BIM (Building Information Model).
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller modified by Miyashitha to have modified Miller to have included detect a request from a first client station of the plurality of client stations to monitor a respective view being displayed by a second client station of the plurality of client stations; and based on the request, cause the first client station to display a view that corresponds to the respective view being displayed by the second client station as taught by Davis.
The motivation to include the modification is to enhance Miller to have a client control rendering of models based on chosen client’s rendered view or create a synchronize with other clients design.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller modified by Miyashitha and further in view of Jacobi et al. (US Pat. Pub. No 20120310602 “Jacobi”)
Regarding claim 13 Even though Miller modified by Miyashitha wherein the interaction comprises a new coordination issue related to the given physical element (Miller “[0021] In embodiments where the development system is collaborative, the 3D model development system may provide collaborative functionality via an application programming interface (API), according to an embodiment. The API may allow users to select various mechanisms for resolving or preventing conflicts between concurrent edits, such as locking function”) but is silent about creating a new coordination issue related to the given physical element;
Jacobi teaches creating a new coordination issue related to the given physical element (“[0027] As discussed above, at the conclusion of the construction phase of a building lifecycle, various contractors may have developed numerous separate BIMs. To make those BIMs useful to an FM group, it may be necessary to combine these BIMs into a single virtual model. Such a process is called "coordination" and may consist of stacking the models, identifying clashes, identifying other coordination issues, and resolving all clashes and coordination issues”);
Jacobi and Miller modified by Miyashitha are analogous as art as they from eth filed of editing of models.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miller modified by Miyashitha by creating a new coordination issue related to the given physical element as taught by Jacobi.
The motivation for the above is to properly record the issues during collaborative editing.
Miller modified by Miyashitha and Jacobi teaches wherein the respective indication of the interaction comprises a representation of the new coordination issue related to the given physical element (Miller “[0022]…. The collaboration server may resolve conflicts between concurrent operations by several users or propagate updates to models to client devices for local conflict resolution, depending on the embodiment”).
Conclusion
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612