DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Accordingly, the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025 has been considered by the examiner, to the extent possible in view of the long list of documents. The Applicants should note that it is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. For example, eliminate clearly irrelevant and only marginally pertinent information, and especially cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, a highlight of those documents brought to the Applicants’ attention and/or are known to be of most significance would be helpful to avoid possibly missing such a significant reference. [See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).]
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,442,995. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rewording of the limitations “display panel” and “lens surface” as claimed in the instant application from a “curved display panel” and a “curved lens surface” removal of the limitations “a see-through display…overlaid on a see-through view of the surrounding environment” renders claims 1-17 as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 10,442,995.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,226,489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rewording of the limitations “display panel” and “lens surface” as claimed in the instant application from a “curved display panel” and a “curved lens surface” removal of the limitations “a see-through display…overlaid on a see-through view of the surrounding environment” renders claims 1-17 as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,226,489.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,668,939. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rewording of the limitations “display panel” and “lens surface” as claimed in the instant application from a “curved display panel” and a “curved lens surface” removal of the limitations “a see-through display…overlaid on a see-through view of the surrounding environment” renders claims 1-17 as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,668,939.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,971,554. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rewording of the limitations “emission surface” and “lens surface” as claimed in the instant application from “curved emission surface” and “curved lens surface” and the removal of the limitations “the curved emission surface is configured to transmit image light…an environment associated with the optical system” renders claims 1-17 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,971,554.
Claims 1-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,513. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rewording of the limitations “emission surface” and “lens surface” as claimed in the instant application from “curved emission surface” and “curved lens surface” and the removal of the limitations “the curved emission surface is configured to transmit image light…an environment associated with the optical system” renders claims 1-17 of the instant application as broadened and obvious variants of claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,222,513.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cobb (US 2002/0196554; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Cobb discloses, an optical system (Figs. 1-2a) comprising:
a display panel (see 56, 68, 84) located on an optical axis, the display panel comprising an emission surface (see 56, 68, 84), the emission surface including a first emission surface point where the optical axis intersects the emission surface (see Fig. 2a), the emission surface having a first radius of curvature at the first emission surface point (see Fig. 2a);
a lens (30) located on the optical axis (see Fig. 2a), the lens comprising a lens surface (see 30), the lens surface including a first lens surface point (see Fig. 2a), the lens surface having a second radius of curvature at the first lens surface point (see Fig. 2a), wherein:
the emission surface comprises a first side of the display panel (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the first side of the display panel is proximal to the lens (see Figs. 1 and 2a),
the lens surface comprises a first side of the lens (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the first side of the lens is proximal to the display panel (see Figs. 1 and 2a), and
the second radius of curvature at the first lens surface point is substantially equal to the first radius of curvature at the first emission surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a); and
an optical element (92) on the optical axis and between the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the optical axis traverses the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a),
wherein the emission surface is configured to transmit image light from the display panel through the lens surface (Para. 0045 and see Figs. 1 and 2a).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Cobb discloses, the emission surface includes a second emission surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the lens surface of the lens includes a second lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point are separated by a first distance (see Figs. 1 and 2a), and the second emission surface point and the second lens surface point are separated by a second distance substantially equal to the first distance between the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Cobb discloses, first points of the emission surface and second points of the lens surface of the lens are separated by substantially constant distances (see Figs. 1 and 2a).
Regarding claims 4, 10 and 15, Cobb discloses, the emission surface and the lens surface of the lens are substantially the same in shape (see Figs. 1 and 2a).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Cobb discloses, the emission surface and the lens surface of the lens are not substantially the same in shape (see 18, 30 of Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 7, 12 and 17, Cobb discloses, the display panel comprises a display panel comprising the emission surface (see 18 of Fig. 6).
Regarding claims 8, Cobb discloses, a method of manufacturing an optical system (Figs. 1 and 2a), comprising:
providing a display panel (see 56, 68, 84);
locating the display panel on an optical axis (Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the display panel comprises an emission surface (see 56, 68, 84), the emission surface including a first emission surface point where the optical axis intersects the emission surface (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the emission surface having a first radius of curvature at the first emission surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a);
providing a lens (30);
locating the lens on the optical axis (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the lens has a lens surface, the lens surface including a first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the lens surface having a second radius of curvature at the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein:
the emission surface comprises a first side of the display panel (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the first side of the display panel is proximal to the lens (see Figs. 1 and 2a),
the lens surface comprises a first side of the lens (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the first side of the lens is proximal to the display panel (see Figs. 1 and 2a), and
the second radius of curvature is substantially equal to the first radius of curvature at the first emission surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a); and
providing an optical element (92) on the optical axis and between the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the optical axis traverses the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a),
wherein the emission surface is configured to transmit image light from the display panel through the lens surface (Para. 0045 and see Figs. 1 and 2a).
Regarding claims 13, Cobb discloses, a method of operating an optical system (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the optical system comprises:
a display panel (see 56, 68, 84) located on an optical axis, the display panel comprising an emission surface (see 56, 68, 84), the emission surface including a first emission surface point where the optical axis intersects the emission surface (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the emission surface having a first radius of curvature at the first emission surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a);
a lens (30) located on the optical axis (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the lens comprising a lens surface (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the lens surface including a first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), the lens surface having a second radius of curvature at the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein:
the emission surface comprises a first side of the display panel (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the first side of the display panel is proximal to the lens (see Figs. 1 and 2a),
the lens surface comprises a first side of the lens, wherein the first side of the lens is proximal to the display panel (see Figs. 1 and 2a), and
the second radius of curvature at the first lens surface point is substantially equal to the first radius of curvature at the first emission surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a); and
an optical element (92) on the optical axis and between the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the optical axis traverses the first emission surface point and the first lens surface point (see Figs. 1 and 2a), wherein the method comprises:
transmitting, via the emission surface, image light from the display panel through the lens surface (Para. 0045 and see Figs. 1 and 2a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cobb (US 2002/0196554; already of record) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in view of Border et al. (US 9,091,851; already of record).
Cobb remains as applied to claims 1 and 13 above.
Cobb does not disclose the curved emission surface is configured to transmit image light from the display panel through the curved lens surface to present augmented reality content associated with an environment associated with the optical system.
Border teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an optical system that it would have been desirable to make the curved emission surface is configured to transmit image light from the display panel through the curved lens surface to present augmented reality content associated with an environment associated with the optical system (Col. 7, lines 61-67 and Col. 8, lines 1-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the curved emission surface is configured to transmit image light from the display panel through the curved lens surface to present augmented reality content associated with an environment associated with the optical system as taught by the optical system of Border in the optical system of Cobb since Border teaches it is known to include these features in an optical system for the purpose of providing an optical system with enhanced contrast and reduced size.
Regarding claim 16, Cobb in view of Border discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Border further teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an optical system that it would have been obvious to make presenting, via the transmitted image light, augmented reality content associated with the environment (Col. 7, lines 61-67 and Col. 8, lines 1-24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the above mentioned limitations as taught by the optical system of Border in the optical system of Cobb since Border teaches it is known to include these features in an optical system for the purpose of providing an optical system with enhanced contrast and reduced size.
Conclusion
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 09/02/2026